Internet CollectionsLibrary Collections
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Declassified Documents  Tags: congress government_agencies government_information united_states declassified_documents foia  

A guide to locating declassified documents at Davidson Library.
Last update: Aug 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/declassified  Print Guide  RSS Updates

FOIA Information             Print Page
  
 

Ask a Librarian

 
 

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)/Privacy Act Information

The following titles and web sites provide good background to FOIA and Privacy Act issues and laws, including the 9 exclusions. They also provide information for those who want to file a FOIA request with an agency. Most federal agencies have web sites with information about how that agency implements FOIA as well. A search of the relevant agency website should product the necessary information.

 

FOIA Reading Rooms

As part of the FOIA, federal agencies must make certain categories of records available for public viewing.  Some agencies have created online 'reading rooms' that consist of '(1) "final opinions [and] . . . orders" rendered in the adjudication of administrative cases; (2) specific agency policy statements; (3) certain administrative staff manuals; and, (4) as of March 31, 1997, records disclosed in response to a FOIA request that "the agency determines have become or are likely to become the subject of subsequent requests for substantially the same records.'  The Department of Justice provides a website for accessing agency FOIA pages, as well as agency reports regarding FOIA Improvement plans.

(via Department of Justice informational site.)

A listing of Department of Justice hosted reading rooms can be found on this page.

Other Websites of Interest

FOIA Electronic Reading Room, Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
URL: http://www.foia.ucia.gov/
The CIA has established this site to provide the public with an overview of access to CIA information, including electronic access to previously released documents.

OpenNet, Dept. of Energy
URL: http://www.osti.gov/opennet/
OpenNet includes references to all documents declassified and made publicly available after October 1, 1994. New references are added periodically as they occur. These collections include citations to several types of documents. Some have been declassified in total, and are termed "declassified." Others have had classified or other restricted information removed to produce a "sanitized" copy. The term "redacted" is sometimes used to refer to these documents.
OpenNet is intended to make information that is no longer classified more readily available to the public. This action will support the processes envisioned by the Openness Initiative of Public Awareness, Public Education, Public Input, and Public Access.

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Electronic Reading Room, National Archives and Records Administration.
URL: http://www.archives.gov/foia/electronic-reading-room.html
This site contains information routinely available to the public as well as documents frequently requested under the Freedom of Information Act. It will continue to grow as they add records in which the public expresses an interest.

Declassification Initiatives, National Security Agency
URL: http://www.nsa.gov/public_info/declass/index.shtml
Under the provisions of Executive Order 12958, NSA reviews for declassification all permanently classified documents 25 years or older. As these documents are declassified, they are turned over to the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

 

Librarian

Profile ImageChris Granatino
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2523
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-6073
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Information

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait