Biographies & DirectoriesDictionaries & EncyclopediasYearbooks & Handbooks
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Political Science 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/politics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Polls & Statistics             Print Page
  
 

On This Page ...

Polls & Statistics

  • Election Results
  • Other Voting, Polls & Statistics Sources

 

 
 

Polls & Statistics

Election Results

  • U.S. Congress. Clerk of the House. Election Information

    • Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections.

  • California Secretary of State. California Elections and Voter Information.

    • Information about current and past general and primary elections, ballot measures, election statistics, and voter registration.

  • Santa Barbara County. Clerk-Recorder, Assessor and Elections Department. Elections web page.

    • Includes General Election results, archive of elections, polling places, turnout by precinct, sample ballot, and information on measures and propositions, etc.


Other Voting, Polls & Statistics Sources

  • America at the polls: a handbook of American presidential election statistics.

    • v. 1 Harding to Eisenhower, 1920-1956; 
      v. 2 Kennedy to Clinton, 1960-1992

    • Ref JK524 .A73 1994

  • America Votes: A Handbook of Contemporary American Election Statistics. (1956-1998)

    • Ref JK1967 .A8

  • American Attitudes: What Americans Think About Issues That Shape Their Lives

    • Ref HN90 .P8 A527 2005

    • ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in election years (and pilot studies in-between election years) to document long-term trends in voting, public opinion and political participation, as well as the political impact of historical events.

  • American Public Opinion Data, 1981-2000 [on microfiche]

    • Sources for polls listed in American Public Opinion Index (next entry).

    • HM261 .A43

  • American Public Opinion Index, 1981-2000 [print indexes]

    • Use this index with American Public Opinion Data (above). Partially superseded by Polling the Nations (see entry below).

    • Ref Index Area HM261 .A463

  • California Opinion Index (1979 to present)

    • HM261 .C25

  • California Poll / Field Poll (1979 to present)

  • European Commission. Public Opinion [web page].

    • The website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission - the executive branch of the European Union.

  • Gallup Poll Monthly

    • Ref HM261 .G3

  • Gallup Poll Cumulative Index: Public Opinion 1935-1997

    • Ref HN90 .P8 G29 1999

  • Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

    • A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a membership-based organization - with over 640 member colleges and universities around the world - that maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

  • Lijphart Election Data Archives 

    • The Lijphart Elections Archive is a research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries, dating from early 1980s through 2003

  • Political Database of the Americas (Georgetown University)

    • Provides documentary and statistical political information on Latin America, including constitutions,electoral laws, legislative and executive branch information and election data.

  • Polling the Nations (1986 to present)

    • Online database of public opinion polls from 14,000 surveys conducted from 1986 in the United States and 80other countries

  • Public Opinion Quarterly (1937 to present)

    • HM1 .P8

  • Statistics and Data for the Social Sciences

    • The UCSB Library guide to online social sciences statistics and data sources.

  • UC San Diego Social Science Data Services

    • Resources and assistance in finding and using data that supports the research and instructional needs of faculty and students in the social sciences, and related areas.

  • United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Office of the Federal Register. U.S. Electoral College.

  • Yahoo! Directory. Social Research » Data Collections


 

 

Librarian

Profile ImageRichard Caldwell
Contact Info:
Davidson Library
Room 2523D
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-5470
caldwell@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication; Political Science; Library Instruction Program Coordinator

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait