Biographies & DirectoriesDictionaries & EncyclopediasYearbooks & Handbooks
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Political Science 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/politics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Public Policy             Print Page
  
 

On This Page ...

Public Policy

  • Background & Major Issues
  • Government Agencies Involved in Policy Analysis: FEDERAL
  • Government Agencies Involved in Policy Analysis: CALIFORNIA
  • Issue / Interest Groups
  • Other Interest Group Sources
 
 

Public Policy

Background & Major Issues

  • California Journal (1971-2005)

    • A monthly publication covering California state and local issues, government and politics. .

    • Main Library JK8701 .C33

    • For current coverage, see California Journal of Politics and Policy (ISSN: 1944-4370) from the Berkeley Electronic Press.

  • Congressional Quarterly Almanac [annual]

    • Detailed coverage of important legislation and issues addressed by the U.S. Congress, from 1945 to the present day. The almanac is an annual publication that compiles the information gathered by the CQ Weekly Report (see below).

    • Ref JK8 .C71

  • CQ Researcher

    • Analysis from CQ Press on issues in the news including, for each topic, an overview; background and chronology; assessment of the current situation; pro and con statements from opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

    • Online at http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher, and in Ref (latest 5 years) & Main Library H35 .C67

  • Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report / CQ Weekly Online

    • Provides a weekly view of activity in the U.S. Congress. Covers legislation, floor action, roll call votes and major policy issues.

    • Main Library JA1 .C7 and online.

  • Encyclopedia of American Public Policy

    •  Ref JK468.P64 J33 1999

  • Encyclopedia of Policy Studies

    • Ref H97 .E6 1994

  • Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy

    • Ref JK9 .E526 2004

  • International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration

    • Ref H97 .I574 1998

  • Public Policy Dictionary 

    • Ref H97 .K78 1987 


Government Agencies Involved in Policy Analysis: FEDERAL

  • Congressional Budget Office

    • The CBO reviews congressional budgets and other legislative initiatives with budgetary implications, and provides objective and nonpartisan analyses to aid Congress in making economic and budgetary decisions.

  • Congressional Research Service

    • The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is an agency within the Library of Congress that works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing "authoritative, confidential, objective and nonpartisan" policy and legal analysis to committees and members of House and Senate.

    • CRS Reports in the public domain can be found at Open CRS - a project of the Center for Democracy & Technology.

    • Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service (Ref Index JK31 .G93) indexes studies written for the U.S. Congress that were not published by other government sources, 1916 to present. The studies and issue briefs can be found in the Microfilm Area at JK31 .M25.

  • Office of Management and Budget

    • The OMB assists the President in the preparation and administration of the federal budget, and oversees and coordinates the Administration's procurement, financial management, information and regulatory policies.

  • U.S. Congress

    • Congressional hearings and committee prints are excellent sources for policy discussion and analysis. To locate these, use LexisNexis Congressional or THOMAS.

  • U.S. Department of State

  • U.S. General Accountability Office

    • The GAO is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress and aims to help improve the performance and ensure the accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.

  • White House

For links to additional federal government sites, see the UCSB Library guide to Government Information (United States).



Government Agencies Involved in Policy Analysis: CALIFORNIA

  • California Senate Office of Research

    • The California Senate Office of Research (SOR) is a nonpartisan office charged with assisting Senate members and committees with the development of effective public policy.

  • Governor's Office

  • Legislative Analyst's Office

    • The Legislative Analyst's Office provides fiscal and policy advice to the California State Legislature, and reviews state government activities to ensure that legislative policy is implemented in a cost efficient and effective manner.

  • Little Hoover Commission

    • The Little Hoover Commission is an independent, bipartisan state oversight agency whose mission is to investigate state government operations and – through reports, recommendations and legislative proposals – to promote efficiency, economy and improved service.


For links to additional state and local government sites, see the UCSB Library guides to Goverment Information (California), Government Information (State Governments) or Government Information (Santa Barbara).


Issue / Interest Groups

  • American Enterprise Institute

    • A conservative think tank with a mission "to defend the principles and improve the institutions of American freedom and democratic capitalism - limited government, private enterprise, individual liberty and responsibility, vigilant and effective defense and foreign policies, political accountability, and open debate."

  • American Society for Public Administration 

  • Amnesty International 

  • Annenberg Public Policy Center

    • The Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania focuses on the role of communication in politics, adolescent behavior, child development, health care, civics and mental health, among other important arenas.

  • Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management 

  • Brookings Institution

    • A nonprofit public policy organization that conducts independent research and, based on that research, provides innovative and practical recommendations that aim to strengthen American democracy, to foster the economic security and social welfare of all Americans and to secure more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international relations.

  • The Carter Center

    • A not-for-profit, nongovernmental organization that seeks to promote human rights and the alleviation of human suffering through work aimed at preventing and resolving conflicts, enhancing freedom and democracy, and improving health.

  • The Cato Institute 

    • A non-profit, libertarian public policy research foundation that promotes public policies based on the principles of limited government, free markets, individual liberty, and peace.

  • Center on Budget and Policy Priorities 

    • Non-partisan research and policy institute working on federal and state fiscal policies and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income Americans.

  • Common Cause

    • A nonpartisan, nonprofit advocacy organization that strives to strengthen democracy by empowering ordinary people to make their voices heard in the political process, Common Cause serves as an independent voice for change and a watchdog against corruption and abuse of power.

  • Council of State Governments

  • Council on Foreign Relations

    • An independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank and publisher dedicated to being a resource for better understanding the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.

  • DiscoverTheNetworks.Org: A Guide to the Political Left

    • A coalition of more than 250 leftwing activist organizations working in unison to develop and disseminate progressive policy and advocacy recommendations.

  • Global Policy Forum 

    • An independent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nations.

  • Heritage Foundation

    • A policy research organization that aims to formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values and a strong national defense.

  • Hudson Institute

    • A nonpartisan policy research organization dedicated to innovative research and analysis that promotes global security, prosperity and freedom.

  • Human Rights Watch

    • Independent organization dedicated to protecting human rights by focusing international attention where human rights are violated, giving voice to the oppressed and holding oppressors accountable for their crimes.

  • International Institute for Strategic Studies

    • Seeks to provide - from an international perspective - information, analysis and understanding of military and political developments relevant to the prospects, course and consequences of conflict, and to promote the adoption of sound policies to further international peace and security.

  • National Center for Policy Analysis

    • A nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization that aims to develop and promote private alternatives to government regulation and control, solving problems by relying on the strength of the competitive, entrepreneurial private sector.

  • National Governors Association

  • Progressive Policy Institute

    • The Progressive Policy Institute is a research and education institute that seeks to define and promote a new progressive politics for America in the 21st century.

  • Public Agenda Online

    • Public Agenda - a nonpartisan and nonprofit organization - aims to provide unbiased research to help American leaders better understand the public's point of view and to help citizens know more about critical policy issues.

  • Public Policy Institute of California

    • A private, nonprofit organization dedicated to independent, nonpartisan research on California's economic, social and political issues.

  • RAND Corporation

    • To help improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis, the Rand Corporation performs commissioned research for a wide range of Federal, state, and local government agencies, as well as for for foundations, foreign governments, and private-sector firms.

  • U.S. Conference of Mayors 

  • The Urban Institute 

    • The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues with the goal of fostering sound public policy and effective government.

  • Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy

    •  This University of Arizona public policy center focuses research on issues related to the Southwestern United States--U.S.-Mexico border, enivronmental conflict resolution, water resources in the Southwest, environmental health policy, and social and policy dimensions of global change. In addition to information about publications and organization of the center and the Udall Foundation, this site provides links to related internet resources on their issues of interest.

  • World Policy Institute


Other Interest Group Sources  

  • OpenSecrets.org 

    • Click on the "Influence & Lobbying" tab

  • Political Advocacy Groups

    • A Directory of United States Lobbyists. 

  • Project Vote Smart Issue Organizations

    • Searchable by issue areas, state or keyword. Provides links to interest groups related to each issue. Also includes links to other web sites with information on political and policy issues.

  • University of Michigan Library Political Science Resources 

    • Click on "Political Science" and filter by Sub-Topic "United States" and then by sub-topic "Lobby Groups"

    • Or click on "Political Science" and filter by Sub-Topic "Think Tanks" 

  • Washington Representatives.

    • Lists people who represent and lobby for companies, associations and special interest groups in Washington, DC. 

    • JK1118 .D58 [Latest edition in Main Reference Area] 

  • Yahoo! Directory: U.S. Politics



 

Librarian

Profile ImageRichard Caldwell
Contact Info:
Davidson Library
Room 2523D
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-5470
caldwell@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Communication; Political Science; Library Instruction Program Coordinator

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait