Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Statistics and Applied Probability 

Resources of interest in statistics and applied probability
Last update: Jul 17th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/statistics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Collections             Print Page
  
 

Collection Development Policy

Statistics & Applied Probability
Collection Development Policy

 

Purpose of the Collection

The purpose of the collection activity in statistics is to support the instructional curriculum and research activity in the Department of Statistics and Applied Probability up through the doctoral level.

Academic Department/Program Description & Curriculum

The Statistics and Applied Probability Department offers three undergraduate majors: the Bachelor of Arts in Statistical Science, Bachelor of Science in Statistical Science, and Bachelor of Science in Financial Mathematics and Statistics. An undergraduate minor is offered in Statistical Science.

At the graduate level, the department offers the Master of Arts in Statistics with either the Mathematical Statistics Specialization or Applied Statistics Specialization, and the Doctor of Philosophy in Statistics and Applied Probability. There are optional PhD emphases in Financial Mathematics and Statistics and Quantitative Methods in the Social Sciences.

Scope of Coverage

Languages: Although English is the primary language, materials in other languages are also acquired on a selective basis. If at all possible, translations into English are preferred, especially for those materials which are in Russian, Japanese, and Chinese.

Chronological Limits: The emphasis is on current developments and research.

Date of Publication: The emphasis is on recent materials. Retrospective materials may be purchased as the need arises. Reprints of classical works may also be purchased when needed.

Types of Materials

Monographs: Individual titles as well as numbered monographic series are purchased. Textbooks are seldom acquired, especially at the lower division level.

Serials: Both domestic and international serials are purchased. The emphasis is on core journals to satisfy curricular interests. Electronic access is preferred.

Proceedings/Transactions: Major material from international associations, societies, and other learned institutes is acquired.

Reference Materials: Major abstracts and indexes, dictionaries in subject fields, encyclopedic works, handbooks, and other relevant reference materials are acquired. Reference materials have a high priority in acquisition.

Electronic versions: Online versions are considered and are often preferred to print. In addition to the criteria used for judging print materials (authority, content, etc.), other factors are considered. These include:

  • Method of access: non-proprietary protocols such as the World Wide Web and document formats such as HTML and PDF are preferred
  • Availability: access to the entire campus is preferred to library-only access
  • Licensing requirements
  • Availability of archives and perpetual access.


Exclusions: Popular books are generally excluded. Materials are generally acquired in one format only.

Materials at Other UC Campuses: In order to provide access to the widest range of resources, priority will be given to materials not readily available through interlibrary loan from other UC libraries.

Sources Outside UCSB: When possible, consortia and cooperative agreements are used to augment collections and maximize the utility of spending. UCSB actively works with other University of California campuses to pool resources, negotiate purchases, and share materials.

Interlibrary loan is used heavily. Many requests for older materials are satisfied through ILL, but if the demand is of a continuing nature the material is considered for acquisition.




Author: Andrea L. Duda.
Policy Last Updated: July 2009

 

 

Librarian

Profile ImageAndrea Duda
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2528
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010

805-893-2647
Send Email

Subjects:
Electrical Engineering, Interdisciplinary Sciences, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Statistics

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait