ENGR193A WRIT 109AC WRIT 109GS WRIT109EC (Business Planning) 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Business  Tags: business business_planning companies industry  

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Companies & Industries             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Business/Industry Codes

Lists and describes NAICS Codes, a system that categorizes businesses by type. Essentially updates and replaces SIC Codes (see below), but many business resources have yet to switch over from SIC.

Lists and describes SIC Codes, a system that categorizes businesses by type. SIC Codes are then referred to in a variety of business and economic resources. Being replaced by NAICS Codes.
 
 

Company Information

Provides information on approximately 1,600,000 U.S. and Canadian leading public and private businesses. Company information includes industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies. [also in print Ref HC 102 .M54]

A source of global business and non-business news from newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade and industry journals. Available in many language formats. Contains company profiles, stock quotes and charting features.

Find in-depth company information and/or create company lists for export by doing a Business search and using the Company Dossier options. Enter company name or ticker symbol. See options in left column.

Business Filings - List of each state's database of available business filings.

Directory of American firms operating in foreign countries. [Ref HG4538.A1 .D5]

Directory of foreign firms operating in the United States. [Ref HG4057 .A21943]

 

EDGAR
Access to all public companies mandatory filings to the Securities Exchange Commission. Find 10-K , 20-F and many other SEC documents.

ThomasNet.com
The online continuation of the Thomas Register of American Manufacturers. Search ThomasNet for manufacturers’ directory information and profiles, and for suppliers of parts, components, materials, equipment, and composites.

National minority and women-owned business directory [Ref HD 2346 U5 N27]

California Manufacturers Register. [SEL Ref Desk T 12 C3]

Business Rankings Annual. [Ref HG 4050 B87]
Compiles rankings (usually a top ten or less) on hundreds of business categories, compiled from many different sources.

Encyclopedia of American Industries. [Ref HC 102 E53 2008]

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys. [Ref HC 106.6 S74]
Classifies U.S. economy into 52 industries, with detailed essays on each. Includes statistics on major companies in each industry. Includes index by named company.

Business Statistics of the United States. [Ref HF 3002 U5]

Standard & Poor's analysts' handbook. [Ref HG4905 .A66]
For 100 sector/industries, stock prices, volume, dividends, etc.

Value Line Investment Survey. [REF HG 4501 V26]
Contains information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Includes up-to-date statistics on a company’s investment profile; economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of selected stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics.

ANNUAL REPORTS

Free service allows users to review an annual report in an easy and convenient manner.

 

Industry Information

Encyclopedia of American Industries. [Ref HC 102 E53 2005]
Two volume set includes several page profiles of industries by 4 digit SIC (hundreds of different industries); includes current industry snapshot and overview, major players, prospects, and more sources for information.

A source of global business and non-business news from newspapers, magazines, newswires, and trade and industry journals. Available in many language formats. Contains company and industry profiles, stock quotes and charting features.

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys. [Ref HC 106.6 S74]
Classifies U.S. economy into 52 industries, with detailed essays on each. Includes statistics on major companies in each industry. Includes index by named company.

U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook. [Ref HC 101 U54]
Classifies U.S. economy into approximately 150 industries, with essays and statistics on each industry.

Information, Finance, and Services USA [Ref HD 9981.4 I53]
Presents reports, projections, historical data, leading companies, and national and state data from all information, finance and service industries as defined by the SIC and NAICS classification systems.

Manufacturing and Distribution USA [Ref HD9721 M3495]
Presents statistics on more than 500 SIC and NIACS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries.

County Business Patterns and Zip Code Business Patterns 
Lists number and size of businesses by type of business for U.S., states, and counties. Business types are classified by NAICS North American Industry Classification System.

Business Statistics of the United States. [Ref HF 3002 U5]
U.S. historical and current economic statistics, includes exports, prices, employment, production, etc., with some data broken down by industry.

Moody's Industry Review. [Ref HG 4961 M68]
Classifies U.S. economy into 137 industries, then lists top companies in each industry with various comparative data on each. Includes index by named company.

Security Price Index Record. [Ref HG 4915 .S68] 
Recent and historical stock and bond performance for overall market and in 100 sectors/industries.

S & P Analyst's Handbook. [Ref HG 4905 .A66] 
For 100 sector/industries, stock prices, volume, dividends, etc.

Value Line Investment Survey. [REF HG 4501 V26] 
Classifies U.S. economy into 92 industries, focuses on finance and investment opportunities. Each industry includes data and investment advice on specific companies.

 

INDUSTRY RATIOS

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. [Ref HF 5681 R25 A45]

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. [Ref HF 5681 R25 I52]



 

Questions?

Profile ImageBeverly Ryan
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-7225

ryan@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, Computer Science, Military Science

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait