Off Campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Citation Guide
Need help with citations?
See the Citation Guide
Have a citation?
Use the Citation Linker to locate the article.
Writing for Economics Research Guide
See the Guide for Business for more resources.
JOURNAL AND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES
Business Source Complete
.
The index and full-text of trade and scholarly publications in business, economics, and related fields.
Always look at the options in the column on the left:
SWOT Analysis
Industry profiles
Market research reports
The index and full-text of trade and scholarly publications in business, economics, and related fields.
Always look at the options in the column on the left:
SWOT Analysis
Industry profiles
Market research reports
To search both Business Source Complete and Academic Search Complete at once:
Choose databases (near top of screen)
check boxes for both and click OK.
LexisNexis Academic 
Good for for news - general or business.
Use General search
Look at the options listed on the left when search results are displayed.
Good for for news - general or business.
Use General search
Look at the options listed on the left when search results are displayed.
LexisNexis will be changing its interface soon. This is what you might see.
Access World News (NewsBank) 
Full text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
Full text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
World Newspapers, Magazines, and News Sites in English
STATISTICAL RESOURCES
Additional statistics
Can be difficult to use, but worth trying for statistical tables. Good for demographics (population by age, sex, literacy, etc.)
and broad business categories (ex.: banking and argentina).
American Factfinder (US Census)
Demographics from U.S. Census. See the fact sheets.
Demographics from U.S. Census. See the fact sheets.
Economic Census and
County Business Patterns and Zip Code Business
Patterns
Find a NAICS Code for your type of business and enter it in the Industry Statistics Sampler (upper right) of the Economic Census. The code can also be used to get more local information about the industry at the County/Zip Code Patterns site.
Find a NAICS Code for your type of business and enter it in the Industry Statistics Sampler (upper right) of the Economic Census. The code can also be used to get more local information about the industry at the County/Zip Code Patterns site.
Who's Buying series.
Based on data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics 2005 Consumer Expenditure Survey. Chiefly tables.
Based on data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics 2005 Consumer Expenditure Survey. Chiefly tables.
Search the Library Catalog,
Title begins with: whos buying.
OTHER ONLINE RESOURCES
Business.gov
Detailed steps on launching and managing a business. Compilation of information for the small businessperson from US government sources. Covers all aspects of starting a business, including writing the business plan.
Detailed steps on launching and managing a business. Compilation of information for the small businessperson from US government sources. Covers all aspects of starting a business, including writing the business plan.
SCORE
SCORE is an SBA (US Small Business Administration) initiative that provides advice and mentoring for small businesses. There are SCORE chapters around the country: Santa Barbara Chapter.
SCORE is an SBA (US Small Business Administration) initiative that provides advice and mentoring for small businesses. There are SCORE chapters around the country: Santa Barbara Chapter.
California Business Portal. Starting a Business
From the State of California.
From the State of California.
Associations
Associations can be useful sources of information from organizations involved in a business or activity. Once you find a potentially useful organization, go to the web site and see what kind of research and publications they make available.
To find an association try searching Google:
Associations can be useful sources of information from organizations involved in a business or activity. Once you find a potentially useful organization, go to the web site and see what kind of research and publications they make available.
To find an association try searching Google:
[keyword] association OR society
(OR must be in upper case)
(OR must be in upper case)
PRINT RESOURCES
Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans.... [Ref HD 62.7 B865]
Mulit-volume set includes actual business plans for hundreds of different types of startups. Also includes a guide to the business plan.
Mulit-volume set includes actual business plans for hundreds of different types of startups. Also includes a guide to the business plan.
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys [Ref HC106.6 .S74]
The fastest way to come up to speed on the players and events impacting over fifty of the largest North American and global industries. Ideal for management consultants, strategic planners, money managers, public and academic librarians, students, and business faculty.
The fastest way to come up to speed on the players and events impacting over fifty of the largest North American and global industries. Ideal for management consultants, strategic planners, money managers, public and academic librarians, students, and business faculty.
Lifestyle Market Analyst [Ref HF5415.33 U6 L54]
For the biggest markets in the US (approx. 210), details on lifestyle and spending habits for a variety of merchandise and service categories.
For the biggest markets in the US (approx. 210), details on lifestyle and spending habits for a variety of merchandise and service categories.
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media [Ref Desk Z 6951 A97]
Five volume set lists media by city. Includes newspapers, television, and radio. Many media include advertising rates.
Five volume set lists media by city. Includes newspapers, television, and radio. Many media include advertising rates.
Small business sourcebook. [Ref HD2346.U5 S65]
For additional print resources search the Library Catalog for the subject: proposal writing in business.
See also Course Reserves: WRIT109EC.
International Business
COUNTRY OVERVIEW
Search: country review [countryname]
look for Social overview, search etiquette
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Intelligence
EIU Profiles and Reports provide analysis and forecasts of the
political, economic, social, and business environment for more than 180
countries.
Doing Business, the World Bank Group
Use the dropdowns: Select a topic and Select an economy
STAT-USA 
Go to Globus/NTDB; then Market and Country Research, then Country Commercial Guides and Market Reesearch Reports. Or, go to Globus/NTDB; then go to the Trade Library. Look at what is available in the drop down lists.
Go to Globus/NTDB; then Market and Country Research, then Country Commercial Guides and Market Reesearch Reports. Or, go to Globus/NTDB; then go to the Trade Library. Look at what is available in the drop down lists.
STATISTICAL RESOURCES
International Statistical Agencies
List compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.
List compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.
PRINT RESOURCES
Dun & Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World.[Ref HF1416 .M78 2001]
World Chamber of Commerce Directory. [Ref HF 295 W6]
International Marketing Data and Statistics. [Ref HA 42 .I57]
Questions? |
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-7225
ryan@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Economics, Computer Science, Military Science
Davidson Library, Room 2561
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-7225
ryan@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Economics, Computer Science, Military Science
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait