Off Campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Citation Guide
Need help with citations?
See the Citation Guide
See the Harvard Business School Citation Guide
Have a citation?
Use the Citation Linker to locate the article.
Business/Industry Codes
North
American Industrial Classification System (NAICS). [Ref HF1042 N67 2007]
Used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business
establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing
statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The SIC was replaced by
the NAICS starting in 1997, but data is still available with SIC-based codes.
Lists and describes SIC Codes, a system that categorizes
businesses by type. SIC Codes are then referred to in a variety of business and
economic resources. Being replaced by NAICS Codes.
Resources to Get Started
The index and full-text of trade and scholarly publications in business, economics, and related fields.
Look at the options in the column on the left:
SWOT Analysis (Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities Threats)
Industry profiles
Market research reports
Product reviews
Market research reports
Product reviews
Add words/phrases such as:
Industry Analysis Market* or advertising
Competition Trends
Operations Management
Financials Employees or personnel
Competition Trends
Operations Management
Financials Employees or personnel
Interview
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys [Reference (first floor) HC106.6 .S74]
The fastest way to come up to speed on the players and events impacting over fifty of the largest North American and global industries.
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.
A business reference source that provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. The work consists of more than 1,000 detailed profiles of the manufacturing and service industries. Search by keyword or SIC or NAICS.
Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Search by keyword or SIC or NAICS.
Newspaper Articles
LexisNexis Academic 
Good for for news - general or business.
Use Easy Search. Search the News, Major World Publications.
Good for for news - general or business.
Use Easy Search. Search the News, Major World Publications.
For companies involved in your business use Combined Search, check Company Profiles.
Look at the options listed on the left when search results are displayed
Links to Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and news aggregators.
Access World News (NewsBank) 
Full text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
Full text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
Internet Resources
U.S Small Business Administration. See the tab for Starting and Managing a Business.
California Business Portal. Starting a Business
From the State of California.
From the State of California.
SCORE
SCORE is an SBA (US Small Business Administration) initiative that provides advice and mentoring for small businesses.
SCORE is an SBA (US Small Business Administration) initiative that provides advice and mentoring for small businesses.
Associations
Associations can be useful sources of information from organizations involved in a business or activity. Once you find a potentially useful organization, go to the web site and see what kind of research and publications they make available.
To find an association try searching Google:
Associations can be useful sources of information from organizations involved in a business or activity. Once you find a potentially useful organization, go to the web site and see what kind of research and publications they make available.
To find an association try searching Google:
[keyword] association OR society
(OR must be in upper case)
(OR must be in upper case)
This version is for public (free) reports only
Free service allows users to review an annual report in an easy and convenient manner. Many companies also include a responsibility report.
from: Guide to Online MBA
Statistical Resources
Click on tab labeled "PDF version" to view current ed.
California Statistical Abstract [also in print: Ref HA 261 C295]
Click on Get Data, 2007 Economic Census (upper left)
Then: Quick Reports - data by industry or geography
Then: 2007 Economic Census - select from the U.S., states, counties, and more
or, go exploring!
County Business Patterns and Zip Code Business Patterns
Find a NAICS Code for your type of business and enter it in the Industry Statistics Sampler (upper right) of the Economic Census. The code can also be used to get more local information about the industry at the County/Zip Code Patterns site.
Find a NAICS Code for your type of business and enter it in the Industry Statistics Sampler (upper right) of the Economic Census. The code can also be used to get more local information about the industry at the County/Zip Code Patterns site.
Print Resources
Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans.... [Reference (first floor) HD 62.7 B865]
Mulit-volume set includes actual business plans for hundreds of different types of startups. Also includes a guide to the business plan. See the cumulative index in the last volume. Additional volumes online.
Mulit-volume set includes actual business plans for hundreds of different types of startups. Also includes a guide to the business plan. See the cumulative index in the last volume. Additional volumes online.
Small business sourcebook. [Reference (first floor) HD2346.U5 S65]
Business Plan [videorecording] Media Collection HD30.28 .B8525 2010
Preparing effective business plans: an entrepreneurial approach. Main Library HD30.28 .B36837 2009
Writing and presenting a business plan. Main Library HD62.5 .B675 2006
Preparing effective business plans: an entrepreneurial approach. Main Library HD30.28 .B36837 2009
Writing and presenting a business plan. Main Library HD62.5 .B675 2006
For additional print resources search the Library Catalog
Try the subjects:
proposal writing in business
or business planning
or search your topic by keywords.
See also Course Reserves: WRIT000.
Librarian |
Contact Info stulley@library.ucsb.edu 805-893-7225 Davidson Library, Room 2561 Univ. of California, Santa Barbara Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
