Off Campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Historical Newspapers
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) & Daily Defender (1956-1975) via the Black Studies Center
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (11/1/1860-4/15/1865)
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876)
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1995)
New York Times Historical (1851-2001)
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record (1819-1870)
San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) - coming soon
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-1995)
Letters & Diaries
Indexes to Archives & Primary Sources
In the First Person - a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world
Lexis Nexis Congressional (1789+) - congressional publications
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections - U.S. documentary hertiage collections in U.S. repositories
Reference Books
These reference books contain primary source documents:
- Antebellum Era: Primary Documents on Events from 1820-1860
- American Feminism: Key Source Documents, 1848-1920
Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1410.A44 2003 - Encyclopedia of American Historic Documents
Call Number: Main Reference E173.E54 2004 V. 1-3 - Documents of American History to 1898
Call Number: Main Reference E173.D59 1988 - Historic Documents
100 most important documents annually - speeches, international agreements, government reports, Supreme Court Decisions and more - Race Relations in America
Call Number: Main Reference E184.A1 D283 2006 - Historical Statistics of the United States
From colonial times
Archives & Primary Sources by Subject
For more digital archives and primary sources see Archives and Primary Sources.
Civil War & 19th Century (See also Women's History)
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Freedom's Journal, the Colored American, the North Star, The National Era
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries (1860-1866)
politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seamen, wives, and more.
American Periodical Series (1741-1900)
American periodicals published between 1741 and 1900
American State Papers (1789-1838)
legislative and executive documents of Congress
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective (11/1/1860-4/15/1865)
New York Herald; Charleston Mercury; Richmond Enquirer
Pennsylvania Newspaper Record (1819-1870)
six Pennsylvania papers
Cold War
Declassified Documents Reference System (Post WWII -1970s)
presidential library documents declassified as requested under the Freedom of Information Act
Digital National Security Archive (1945-2000)
40,000 of the most important declassified documents that led to U.S. policy decisions
Colonial America
American State Papers (1789-1838)
legislative and executive documents of Congress
Early American Newspapers (1690-1876)
colonial and early national period newspapers
Early Encounters in North America (1542-1870)
letters, diaries and memoirs, emphasis on U.S. and Canada, some Mexico
Early American Imprints (Evans) 1639-1800
full text of sources from Charles Evans's definitive bibliography on all aspects of 17th and 18th century America
Early American Imprints (Shaw-Shoemaker), 1639-1819
full text of imprints that chronicle the political and geographic growth of a developing America
Empire Online (1492+)
original documents related to empire studies from institutions around the world
Interwar Years
HEARTH (Home Economics Archive: Research Tradition, and History) (1850-1950) books and journals in home economics and related disciplines
Periodicals Archive Online (1665-1995)
general interest and scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences
Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
popular and general interest periodicals
Multidisciplinary: Periodicals, Government Documents, Books and More
American Periodical Series (1741-1900)
American periodicals published between 1741 - and 1900
American State Papers (1789-1838)
legislative and executive documents of Congress
LexisNexis Congressional (dates vary)
congressional publications; House and Senate reports, hearings; legislative histories; Serial Set
Periodicals Archive Online (1665-1995)
general interest and scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences
Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
popular and general interest periodicals
Popular Culture / Cultural Studies
Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1880) a popular 19th century women's magazine
HarpWeek (1857-1912)
- Harper's Weekly, a popular general interest magazine
HEARTH (Home Economics Archive: Research Tradition, and History) (1850-1950)
Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
popular and general interest periodicals
The Sixites: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974
also oral histories, manifestos, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary
Women's History
American Memory Women's History - Library of Congress materials
Everyday Life and Women in America (19th & 20th Centuries)
sources from The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and NYPL; books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online (1543-1945)
books, pamphlets, and periodicals documenting women's rights and consciciousness; mostly Amerian, British, French and German
Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1880)
a popular 19th century women's magazine
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Colonial to 1920)
known and unknown women
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Scholar's Editions)
document projects that interpret and present documents from women's movement histories.
For more digital archives and primary sources see Archives and Primary Sources.
Librarian |
Davidson Library, Room 2561D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Send Email
Subjects:
Feminist Studies, U.S. History, Writing Studies
Primary Sources in the Library Catalog
Library of Congress Subject Headings or Keywords to Locate Primary Sources:
- Sources (for the most precise search use "Sources" as a "Subject Keyword" in combination with keywords that describe your topic)
- Archives
- Cartoons
- Correspondence
- Diaries
- Documentary history
- Interviews
- Mauscripts
- Orations
- Personal narratives
- Speeches
Sample Search to find primary documents related to Reconstruction:
In "Advance Search" mode:
Subject Keyword = sources
Keyword = reconstruction
Sample Search to find the papers of a historical figure or paper/records of an organization, combine the relevant publication type keyword (records or papers) with the name of the person or organization. Here are four examples:
In "Basic Search" or "Advance Search" mode:
Title = papers naacp
Title = records aclu
Title = papers thomas jefferson
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait