WRIT 109AC WRIT109EC (Business Planning) 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Economics  Tags: economics  

Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/economics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Statistics             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 
 

Economic Statistics

ACCRA Cost of Living Index [Ref HD 6983 I57]
Quarterly publication tracks the cost of living for places around the country for several sectors, such as housing, health care, etc.  

Bureau of the Census Economic Indicators

Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce.
  Produces statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy

Bureau of Labor Statistics
  BLS produces the latest releases on prices/inflation, labor/employment, earnings, productivity, etc.

Also from the Bureau of Labor:
BLS US Economy at a Glance
Databases, tables and calculators.
Consumer Price Index Detailed Report
Producer Price Index Detailed Report
Employment and Earnings
Monthly Labor Review

Conference Board Economic Indicators
   The Conference Board publishes leading, coincident, and lagging indexes designed to signal peaks and troughs in the business cycle for nine countries around the world.

Economic Indicators.
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly compilation is prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance

Independent analysis of the U.S. labor market. Downloadable tables and figures from the new 2008/2009 edition

Economic Report of the President (with Budget).
Annual report from the Council of Economic Advisors highlights current economic trends and policy. Each year's issue contains a large statistical appendix, with time-series data for most popular economic statistics.

FEDSTATS 
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.

Select Business tax, on the left
Then Integrated Business Data (IBD)  Contains selected financial data on businesses form of business and industry.

Liber8 Economic information portal for librarians and students.
Economic information from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Rand California, sponsored by the think-tank, RAND, is a subscription-based service on California and U.S. public policy with an emphasis on statistics.

STAT-USA has two parts: State of the Nation - Over 50,000 current and historical U.S. statistical releases, state and regional analysis reports, forecasts, and financial data. GLOBUS & NTDB - Over 200,000 current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, country analysis, and trade and procurement leads.

Survey of Current Business.
Monthly report from the Bureau of Economic Analysis complies many popular economic and business statistics, including much of the data in Economic Indicators (above) in more detail, and some data for regions and states.
[also in print Ref H 1 S8]

LexisNexis Statistical UCSB only!
An index to published statistical tables.  Some entries also include the tables themselves.  It indexes statistics appearing in sources from the U.S. federal government, international governmental organizations, associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent researchers, state governments, and university research centers.

Historical Statistics of the United States from Colonial Times to 1970. UCSB only!
Compiles data on various topics- much of it economic- from the earliest dates such data was available. Includes source notes for further investigation. [also in print Ref Desk HA 202 B87 1987]

Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Popular annual statistical volume on all topics includes all major economic statistics. Use older volumes to get older statistics. Also in print: [
also in print HA 202 U6 (current at Ref Desk, older in main stacks)]

State and County

California Labor Market Information
Statistics and projections on state employment and earnings, much of it by county or metro area or by industry. Many data tables go back to 1983.

California County Profiles.
Downloadable files include employment, number and types of businesses, income and sales, exports, and other economic data.

2002 Economic Census
2007 economic census
Taken every five years, detailed data by U.S., state, counties, and metropolitan areas, of characteristics (including number, size, payroll, and revenue) of businesses by type of business.

State and County Quickfacts
Data on all topics, including economic and business activity, for states and counties nationwide. From the U.S, Census

County Business Patterns
Data on types and sizes of business in each county nationwide.

 

Questions?

Profile ImageBeverly Ryan
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-7225

ryan@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, Computer Science, Military Science

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait