Collection Development Policy
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Collection Development Policy
Purpose of the Collection
The purpose of the collection activity in Electrical and Computer Engineering
is to develop a research level collection and to support the instructional curriculum
and academic subject emphases of the Electrical and Computer Engineering department
and related research centers.
Academic Department/Program Description & Curriculum
The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering offers programs leading to the degrees of Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering or Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering.
Graduate studies leading to the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical and Computer
Engineering are offered in three major areas of specialization: computer engineering;
communications, control, and signal processing; and electronics and photonics.
Scope of Coverage
Subject Areas: Communications, Control, and Signal Processing, Computer Engineering and Electronics and Photonics
Languages: Although English is the primary language, materials in other languages are also acquired on a selective basis. If at all possible, translations into English are preferred, especially for those materials which are in Russian, Japanese, and Chinese.
Chronological Limits: The emphasis is current materials and research, although for some topics, historical treatments are also appropriate.
Date of Publication: The emphasis is on recent materials. Retrospective materials may be purchased as the need arises. Reprints of classical works may also be purchased when needed.
Types of Materials
Monographs: Individual titles as well as numbered monographic series are purchased. Textbooks are seldom acquired, especially at the lower division level.
Serials: Both domestic and international serials are purchased. The emphasis is on core journals to satisfy curricular interests. Electronic access is preferred.
Proceedings/Transactions: Major material from international associations, societies, and other learned institutes is acquired.
Reference Materials: Major abstracts and indexes, dictionaries in subject fields, encyclopedic works, handbooks, and other relevant reference materials are acquired. Reference materials have a high priority in acquisition.
Electronic versions: Online versions are considered and are often preferred to print. In addition to the criteria used for judging print materials (authority, content, etc.), other factors are considered. These include:
- Method of access: non-proprietary protocols such as the World Wide Web and document formats such as HTML and PDF are preferred
- Availability: access to the entire campus is preferred to library-only access
- Licensing requirements
- Availability of archives and perpetual access.
Exclusions: Popular books, industrial house organs, equipment/vendor
catalogs, reprints from journals. Materials are generally acquired in one format only.
Materials at Other UC Campuses: In order to provide access to the widest range of resources, priority will be given to materials not readily available through interlibrary loan from other UC libraries.
Sources Outside UCSB: When possible, consortia and cooperative agreements are used to augment collections and maximize the utility of spending. UCSB actively works with other University of California campuses to pool resources, negotiate purchases, and share materials.
Interlibrary loan is used heavily. Many requests for older materials are satisfied through ILL, but if the demand is of a continuing nature the material is considered for acquisition.
Author: Andrea L. Duda.
Policy Last Updated: July 2009
Librarian |
Andrea DudaDavidson Library, Room 2528
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-2647
Send Email
Subjects:
Electrical Engineering, Interdisciplinary Sciences, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Statistics
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait