Welcome!

Library Catalogs
- UCSB Library Catalog Basic Search Basic search box. Use if you are looking for a specific book. Also useful for finding books on a specific composer, or finding out if UCSB has access to a specific journal.
- UCSB Library Catalog Advanced Search A good way to search for musical works since you can combine composer (Author) and title, as well as limit by format (score, 78-rpm recording, LP, compact disc, video, etc.). You can also search by subject and limit by format. Or, search for specific M numbers.
- UC Libraries and beyond - Basic Search (Next Gen Melvyl Pilot) UCSB faculty and students may request books and scores from other UC campuses, including items held by UCSB but checked out. Items normally arrive in 3-5 days and may be picked up at Davidson Library. To search other UC campuses, select University of California Libraries from the menu. The combined UC libraries hold over 34 million items so don't over look this option! You can also search Libraries Worldwide.
- UC Libraries and beyond - Advanced Search (Next Gen Melvyl Pilot) Search UC using more complex search options, including limiting your search by format (scores, recording) and more. Select University of California Libraries from the menu. You can also search Libraries Worldwide.
UCSB Library Catalog
NextGen Melvyl Pilot Catalog
Journal Articles
The call number of Horn Call is ML1 .H67. You will find the latest issue in the reading area of the Music Library. To search for more articles on the horn, you can search in these databases:
![]()
- RILM Abstracts Find articles as well as book reviews, dissertations, etc. You can limit your searcy by language, date. Coverage goes back to 1967.
- International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Indexes the Historic Brass Society Journal back to 1989; Horn Call Annual back to 1989;
Horn Call back to 1971. Contains full text of Horn Call back to 1998. - Music Index Online Indexes Horn Call back to 1994. Database contains citations for more than 875 music periodicals back to 1973.
Browse for Scores: M
Finding horn music
-
You can find music for horn by simply browsing the shelves in the music library. In the Library of Congress system, used in academic libraries, call numbers of scores begin with the letter M, followed by a number that reflects the medium of performance. Important numbers for horn are M82 (solo unaccompanied), M257 (solo with keyboard), and M1029 (horn concertos, piano reduction). Within most numbers, scores are in order alphabetically by composer. For example, to find a piano reduction score of a Mozart horn concerto, just look under M1029 M. More numbers:
Solo unaccompanied
- M80 -- Collections of original and arranged works
- M81 -- Collections of original works
- M82 -- Separate works, original
- M83 -- Collections of arranged works
- M84 -- Separate works, arranged
Solo with piano
- M255 -- Collections of original and arranged works
- M256 -- Collections of original works
- M257 -- Separate works, original
- M258 -- Collections of arranged works
- M259 -- Separate works, arranged
Solo with full orchestra
- M1028 -- Full scores
- M1029 -- Piano reductions
Solo with string orchestra
- M1128 -- Full scores
- M1129 -- Piano reductions
Chamber music
- M288, 289 -- Two wind instruments
- M317, 417, 517 (etc.) -- Trios (quartets, quintets, etc.) for piano plus two (three, four etc.) wind instruments
- M322, 422, 522 (etc.) -- Trios (quartets, quintets, etc.) for piano plus two (three, four etc.) string(s) plus wind(s)
- M357, 457, 557 (etc.) -- Wind trios, quartets, quintets (etc.)
- M357.4, 457.4, 557.4 (etc.) -- Brass trios, quartets, quintets (etc.)
Orchestral music
- M1001 -- Symphonies
- M1002 -- Symphonic poems
- M1003 -- Variations, suites
- M1004 -- Overtures
Browse for Books, Methods, etc.: ML and MT
Finding books
- Call numbers of books begin with ML, and call numbers of instructional materials such as methods, studies, and orchestral excerpts begin with MT. Browse under these numbers to find books and instructional materials for horn.
ML
- ML933 -- General books on brass instruments
- ML955 -- General books on the horn
- ML958 -- Horn playing
MT
- MT420 -- General instructional works on the horn
- MT422 -- Systems and methods
- MT425 -- Studies and exercises
- MT426 -- Orchestral studies
UCSB Library Catalog
Browsing the catalog
-
You can also browse for scores and books using the library's catalog. In Advanced Search, select the Call Number (LC) option and type one of the M numbers in the search box. From the search shown below, can you tell how many scores of solo unaccompanied horn music the library has?

Finding books and instructional works
- Search for books on the horn and horn methods, studies, and orchestral excerpts by doing a Subject Keyword search on the words horn musical instrument:

Finding scores and recordings
- To find a specific musical work, in Advanced Search enter the composer and title, and select Scores, Compact Discs, etc. from the format menu:

- To find a work with a generic title, such as a sonata or concerto, enter the composer's name, enter sonatas horn (or concertos horn, etc.) for the title, and then select Scores, Compact Discs, etc. from the format menu:

Chamber music
- To find out what scores the library has for a particular medium of chamber music, search using specific Subjects in the library catalog. The following search will find scores of horn duets:

Try the following subjects for other chamber music combinations:
- sonatas horn 2
[sonatas for two horn; M288, M289] -
brass trios horns 3
[horn trios; M357.4, M358, M359]
-
brass quartets horns 4
[horn quartets; M457.4, M458, M459] - trios piano horn*
[trios for piano, horn, and one other instrument; M317, M322] - quartets piano horn*
[quartets for piano, horn, and two other instruments; M417, M422] - quintets piano horn*
[quintets for piano, horn, and three other instruments; M517, M522] - wind trios horn*
[wind trios that include horn; M357] - wind quartets horn*
[wind quartets that include horn; M457] - wind quintets horn*
[wind quintets that include horn; M557]
Reference
Bibliographies and discographies
Ref = reference section of the Music Library
Brüchle, Bernhard. Horn-Bibliographie. 3 vols. Ref ML128 .H67 B8
Hernon, Michael. French Horn Discography. Ref ML156.4 .H7 H5 1986
ML156.7 .B72 M37 1996
Ref ML156.4 .H7 M33 1997
Weyse, Volker. Solo-Horn und Blasorchester. ML128 .H67 W4 2000
Dictionary
Hornisten-Lexikon = Dictionary for Hornists. Ref ML955 .H67 1986
Histories
Brüchle, Bernhard, and Kurt Janetzky. Kulturgeschichte des Horns. Ref ML955 .B75
Humphries, John. The Early Horn: A Practical Guide. ML955 .H86 2000
Janetzky, Kurt, and Bernhard Brüchle. The Horn. ML955 .J313 1988
Morley-Pegge, Reginald. The French Horn. ML96.4 .M6 1973
Tuckwell, Barry. Horn. ML955 .T82 1983
Instructional Works
Farkas, Philip. The Art of French Horn Playing. MT425 .F27 1956
Farkas, Philip. The Art of Brass Playing. ML339 .F27
Farkas, Philip. The Art of Musicianship. MT75 .F37
Hill, Douglas. Collected Thoughts on Teaching and Learning, Creativity, and Horn Performance. MT420 .H55 2001
Hill, Douglas. Extended Techniques for the Horn. MT420 .H4 E9 1983
Reynolds, Verne. The Horn Handbook. MT420 .R49 1997
Schuller, Gunther. Horn Technique. MT420 .S35 1992
Yancich, Milan. A Practical Guide to French Horn Playing. MT422 .Y353
Facsimiles
Das Horn bei Mozart = Mozart and the Horn. ML96.4 .M939 1980
Biography
Pettitt, Stephen. Dennis Brain: A Biography. ML419 .B72 P5 1989
Subject Librarian |
Eunice SchroederArts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-3612
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Classics, Germanic Studies
Arts Library Hours
Fall Quarter 2009
Sept. 24 - Dec. 12:
Sun -- 2 pm - 10 pm
Exceptions:
Books and Instructional Materials
In the UCSB Library Catalog, search using the following Subject Keywords to find books on the history of the horn and its construction and literature, as well as instructional materials such as methods, books of studies, and orchstral excerpts. The catalog indicates when a book is located in the reference section of the music library, which is just beside the entrance to the book and score area.
horn music bibliography
horn musical instrument
horn musical instrument history
horn players
horn studies exercises
horn methods
Off Campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Listen to Music
![]()
- Naxos Music Library A rapidly growing database containing over 36,000 CDs, mostly classical music. Hundreds more CDs are added every month.
- Classical Music Library Over 3,600 albums of classical music.
Oxford Music Online
![]()
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait