Welcome!

Library Catalogs
- UCSB Library Catalog Basic Search Basic search box. Use if you are looking for a specific book. Also useful for finding books on a specific composer, or finding out if UCSB has access to a specific journal.
- UCSB Library Catalog Advanced Search A good way to search for musical works since you can combine composer (Author) and title, as well as limit by format (score, 78-rpm recording, LP, compact disc, video, etc.). You can also search by subject and limit by format. Or, search for specific M numbers.
- UC Libraries and beyond - Basic Search (Next Gen Melvyl Pilot) UCSB faculty and students may request books and scores from other UC campuses, including items held by UCSB but checked out. Items normally arrive in 3-5 days and may be picked up at Davidson Library. To search other UC campuses, select University of California Libraries from the menu. The combined UC libraries hold over 34 million items so don't over look this option! You can also search Libraries Worldwide.
- UC Libraries and beyond - Advanced Search (Next Gen Melvyl Pilot) Search UC using more complex search options, including limiting your search by format (scores, recording) and more. Select University of California Libraries from the menu. You can also search Libraries Worldwide.
UCSB Library Catalog
NextGen Melvyl Pilot Catalog
Journal Articles
The call number of Flute Talk is ML929 .F6. You will find the latest issue in the reading area of the music library.
To search for articles on the flute, use the following databases:
![]()
- RILM Abstracts Find articles as well as book reviews, dissertations, etc. Limit by language, date. Coverage back to 1967.
- International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Contains full text for Flutist Quarterly (Fall 2009 forward). Indexes Flutist Quarterly back to 1990 and Flute Talk back to 1996.
- Music Index Online Indexes Flute Talk back to 1988 (vol. 7). Database contains citations for more than 875 music periodicals back to 1973.
Off Campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Browse for Scores: M
Finding flute music
- You can find music for flute by simply browsing the shelves in the music library. In the Library of Congress system, used in academic libraries, call numbers of scores begin with the letter M, followed by a number that designates the medium of performance. Important numbers for flute are M62 (solo unaccompanied), M242 (flute solo with keyboard), and M1021 (flute concertos, piano reduction). Within most numbers, scores are in order alphabetically by composer. For example, to find a piano reduction score of a Mozart flute concerto, just look under M1021 M. More numbers:
Solo unaccompanied
- M60 -- Collections of original and arranged works
- M61 -- Collections of original works
- M62 -- Separate works, original
- M63 -- Collections of arranged works
- M64 -- Separate works, arranged
Solo with piano
- M240 -- Collections of original and arranged works
- M241 -- Collections of original works
- M242 -- Separate works, original
- M243 -- Collections of arranged works
- M244 -- Separate works, arranged
Solo with full orchestra
- M1020 -- Full scores
- M1021 -- Piano reductions
Solo with string orchestra
- M1120 -- Full scores
- M1121 -- Piano reductions
Chamber music
- M288, 289 -- Two wind instruments
- M317, 417, 517 (etc.) -- Trios (quartets, quintets, etc.) for piano plus two (three, four etc.) wind instruments
- M322, 422, 522 (etc.) -- Trios (quartets, quintets, etc.) for piano plus two (three, four etc.) string(s) plus wind(s)
- M357, 457, 557 (etc.) -- Wind trios, quartets, quintets (etc.)
- M357.2, 457.2, 557.2 (etc.) -- Woodwind trios, quartets, quintets (etc.)
Orchestral music
- M1001 -- Symphonies
- M1002 -- Symphonic poems
- M1003 -- Variations, suites
- M1004 -- Overtures
Browse for Books, Methods, etc.: ML and MT
Finding books
- Call numbers of books begin with ML, and call numbers of instructional materials such as methods, studies, and orchestral excerpts begin with MT. Browse under these numbers to find books and instructional materials for flute:
ML
- ML931 -- General books on woodwind instruments
- ML935 -- General books on the history of the flute
- ML936 -- History of flute construction
- ML937 -- History of flute playing
MT
- MT340 -- General instructional works on the flute
- MT342 -- Systems and methods
- MT345 -- Studies and exercises
- MT346 -- Orchestral studies
UCSB Library Catalog
Browsing the catalog
-
You can also browse for scores and books using the library's catalog. In Advanced Search, select the Call Number (LC) option and type one of the M numbers in the search box. From the search shown below, can you tell how many scores of solo unaccompanied flute music the library has?

Finding scores and recordings
- To find a specific musical work, in Advanced Search enter the composer and title, and select Scores, Compact Discs, etc. from the format menu:

- To find a work with a generic title, such as a sonata or concerto, enter the composer's name, enter sonatas flute (or concertos flute, etc.) for the title, and then select Scores, Compact Discs, etc. from the format menu:

Chamber music
- To find out what scores the library has for a particular medium of chamber music, search using specific Subjects in the library catalog. The following search will find scores of flute duets. Notice that Yes has been selected under Word(s) as Phrase:

Try the following subjects for other chamber music combinations:
- sonatas flutes 2
[sonatas for two flutes; M288, M289] - woodwind trios flutes 3
[flute trios; M357.2, M358, M359] -
woodwind quartets flutes 4
[flute quartets; M457.2, M458, M459] - trios piano flute*
[trios for piano, flute, and one other instrument; M317, M322] - quartets piano flute*
[quartets for piano, flute, and two other instruments; M417, M422] - quintets piano flute*
[quintets for piano, flute, and three other instruments; M517, M522] - wind trios flute*
[wind trios that include flute; M357] - wind quartets flute*
[wind quartets that include flute; M457] - wind quintets flute*
[wind quintets that include flute; M557]
Subject Librarian |
Eunice SchroederArts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-3612
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Classics, Germanic Studies
Arts Library Hours
Fall Quarter 2009
Sept. 24 - Dec. 12:
Sun -- 2 pm - 10 pm
Exceptions:
Books
In the UCSB Library Catalog, search using the following Subject Keywords to find books on the history of the flute and its construction and literature. Many (but not all) of the books you'll find with these subject keywords are shelved under the ML numbers shown. The catalog indicates when a book is located in the reference section of the music library, which is just beside the entrance to the book and score area.
ML128 .F7
ML128 .F7
ML935
ML935
ML936
Flute players
ML399, ML419 (and elsewhere)
Instruction and Study
In the UCSB Library Catalog, search using the following Subject Keywords to find flute methods, studies, etc. Most (but not all) instructional works with these headings are shelved under the MT classes indicated:
MT340, M342
MT345
MT342
Listen to Music
![]()
- Naxos Music Library A rapidly growing database containing over 36,000 CDs, mostly classical music. Hundreds more CDs are added every month.
- Classical Music Library Over 3,600 albums of classical music.
Oxford Music Online
![]()
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait