Copyright
- Copyright Law and Graduate Research
- Music Publishers' Association: Copyright Resource Center
- Music Library Association: Copyright Guide
- Copyright and Fair Use From Stanford University Libraries.
- Manage Your Intellectual Property From the UC Office of Scholarly Communication.
- Public Domain Music
- Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States
- U.S. Copyright Office
Selected Indexes and Databases
- Aria Database Over 1,000 arias and ensembles, indexed by title, opera, language, composer, voice type, range, keyword, and whether there is a translation or text available. The database includes the complete operatic arias of Berlioz, Mozart, Puccini, Verdi, and Wagner, as well as selections by more than 40 other composers. There is also a database of opera characters.
- ASCAP: Ace Title Search A database of songs licensed by ASCAP in the United States. Entries includes names of songwriters and contact information for publishers, as well as artists who have recorded the song commercially.
- BMI Database BMI's catalog of millions of musical works along with names of songwriters, composers, and publishers. Search by title, artist, composer/songwriter, or publisher.
- California Library Systems Cooperative Song Index Contains more than 180,000 song titles (mostly popular music) from over 2,000 collections.
- CANTUS: Database for Latin Ecclesiastical Chant An index of chants in selected manuscripts and early printed sources of the Divine Office. The site includes a table of feast names in Latin and English. Currently maintained at the University of Western Ontario.
- Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Includes records for in-progress and completed dissertations in musicology reported since 1995, as well as the contents of all printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology. Search by author or keyword, or browse by subject. The site includes an online registration form for reporting a dissertation topic or completed document.
- The Folk Song Index From the Oberlin College Libraries and Sing Out!, an index of over 2,000 anthologies of traditional songs, mostly English-language, with nearly 43,000 entries.
- Encyclopedic Discography of Victor Recordings An index to master recordings and published discs made by the Victor Talking Machine Company beginning in 1900.
- Hofmeister XIX A searchable database to the Hofmeister Monatsberichte (monthly catalogs), 1829-1900, published by Friedrich Hofmeister. The catalogs are a detailed source of information about music publication in the nineteenth century, especially in German-language areas.
- The Lied and Art Song Texts Page A database of over ten thousand art-song and part-song texts, many of which include literal translations in English and over twenty other languages. Indexed by composer, poet, language, composer title, first line, and songs in English or English translation (title and first line). The search engine searches only the texts, not the translations.
- MetOpera Database The full record of the activities of the Metropolitan Opera. This searchable database contains comprehensive information on all Met performances and performers, both in-house and on tour, up to the latest night's offering.
- Music Theory Online Dissertation Index An international index of several hundred music theory dissertations, mostly from the 1990s and later. Many of the foreign dissertations are not indexes in Dissertations and Theses.
- Necrology Index Updated daily. Maintained by the staff of the Gaylord Music Library at Washington University in St. Louis. Information is gathered from the current music press. Coverage: 1991 to present.
- Operabase A database of opera performances worldwide in over 600 theaters since 1996. Searchable by keyword (name, city, company) and browseable alphabetically (with numerous display options) or via clickable maps. Entries feature full details on each house, including contact and booking information, accessibility, neighboring venues, a link to the house's Web site, and details on current, past, and future seasons.
- UTK Analysis Index Indexes program notes and descriptive literature on musical compositions from books in LC classes MT90 - MT145. The call numbers included in citations are those of the Univ. of Tennessee music library, so when you find a relevant citation, search in the UCSB Library catalog to find the call number of the book in the UCSB music library.
- UTK Song Index An index to ca. 50,000 songs in collections owned by the music library of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Search by title, first line, song type, accompaniment type, composer, author, language, geographical/ethnic source, and other parameters. Check the UCSB Library catalog to find out whether a specific collection is held by the UCSB music library.
Subject Librarian |
Eunice SchroederContact Info:
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-3612
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Classics, Germanic Studies
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-3612
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Classics, Germanic Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait