Digital CollectionsIndexes and Other Selected Sites
DatabasesInformation for Course ListeningPolicy for Course ListeningUCSB Electronic Reserves 
ClarinetFluteHorn
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Music 

Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Digital Collections             Print Page
  

Find Digital Collections

  • UC Libraries and Beyond: Advanced Search  
    From the format menu, select Internet Resource, and search for online collections using keywords that describe your topic.
  • OAIster  
    A union catalog of digital resources. The search engine allows limiting by resource type (text, audio, image, etc.).
  • Calisphere  
    The University of California's free public gateway to more than 150,000 digitized primary sources.
  • Library of Congress Performing Arts  
    A guide to the vast performing arts collections of the Library of Congress, including many digitized resources.
 

Selected Collections

  • American Memory Performing Arts and Music Collections  
    Over thirty collections from the American Memory project of the Library of Congress, including the Leonard Bernstein Collection, Aaron Copland, and Irving Fine collections, Southern Appalachian fiddle music, folk music from the Dust Bowl, and several large collections of nineteenth-century sheet music, among many others.
  • Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads  
    Broadside ballads are songs that were published in Britain on single sheets (broadsides) and sold for a penny or half-penny from the sixteenth through the early twentieth centuries. This database provides bibliographic access via a searchable Web database to 30,000 of the ballads, along with digitized images of each ballad sheet. Note that most of the sheets do not contain musical notation, but for those that do, sound files are included.
  • Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project  
    Stream or download thousands of cylinder recordings from the Performing Arts Collections of the UCSB Library. A significant resource for the study of society and culture of the early twentieth century.
  • Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music  
    A portal to worldwide collections of medieval polyphonic music manuscripts from 800 to 1550. Provides access to high-quality images of some of the manuscripts.
  • English Broadside Ballad Archive  
    From the Early Modern Center of the English Department at UCSB, the EBBA is "dedicated to mounting online surviving early ballads printed in English," including online images of each ballad, sung versions, and background essays.
  • The Juilliard Manuscript Collection  
    An online collection of "138 music autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers' proofs, and first editions, which were donated to the Juilliard School in 2006." Included in the collection is an engraver's proof of Beethoven's Ninth Symphony and the original manuscript of Beethoven's Grosse Fuge in his arrangment for piano four hands.
  • Mudcat Cafe  
    Database of over 9,000 folk songs, many with an accompanying audio file.
  • Sheet Music Consortium  
    A searchable and browsable database providing access to online collections of historic sheet music from the combined holdings of several libraries.
  • The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings  
    Approximately 50,000 rare, digitized 78- and 45-rpm commercially produced recordings from the Frontera Collection, the largest repository of Mexican and Mexican American music in existence.
  • Union Songs  
    Texts and audio files of over 640 songs dealing with work, slavery, protest, unions, and other activisms.
 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait