Off-campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
InterLibrary Loan
Check the status of your ILL requests:
Request an item directly from Melvyl or a database (FASTEST service):
- Melvyl (books)
- Article Indexes and Databases (using "UC-eLinks")
Contact InterLibrary Loan
Help with Citations
- Chicago Quick Citation Guide
- Cite Resources: Modern Language Association (MLA) A guide from Ohio State University.
- Endnote Desktop
- Avoiding Plagiarism From Purdue University.
Finding Articles
UCSB E-Journals (main search) ![]()
Directory of Open Access Journals: Music
Find articles, citations, and more in these indexes and databases:
except as indicated
- Academic Search Complete A scholarly, multidisciplinary database. Provides citations and abstracts for over 10,000 journals, including 186 music titles. Also contains full-text access for over 5,000 journals, including over 100 music titles, mostly since 2000.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature A comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. Contains over 550,000 records on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of all document types begins in 1967. Coverage of conference proceedings goes back to 1835.
- International Index to Music Periodicals Citations for several hundred music periodicals as well as full-text access for recent years of approximately 140 titles. Many journals are indexed for their full run, but no subject headings for citations earlier than 1996.
- Music & Performing Arts Online A portal that allows simultaneous searching of International Index to Music Periodicals and International Index to the Performing Arts.
- Music Index Online Citations for over 875 music periodicals from 1973 forward. Includes full text links for JSTOR articles.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals RIPM indexes music journal literature from the late 18th century through the early 20th. Citations include extensive editorial commentary contributed by music scholars. Journals are indexed through their complete runs. See the list of titles indexed to date.
- RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 The most extensive bibliographic database available for music manuscripts dating from the seventeenth century and later. Includes entries for over 380,000 works by 18,000 composers. The manuscripts are found in 595 libraries and archives in 31 countries.
- Dissertations and Theses Indexes dissertations and master's theses from North America and around the world, back to 1861. Abstracts included from 1980 forward for dissertations, from 1988 for theses. Includes online access to UC dissertations from 1997 forward. Over 60,000 new titles added to the databases annually.
- JSTOR Access to complete full-text articles from back runs of core scholarly journals up to the latest 3-5 years.
- Canadian Music Periodical Index Freely accessible. An index of over 37,000 articles from Canadian music periodicals from the late 19th century up to the present. 630 music journals, newsletters and magazines are included, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed.
- RoJaRo Index Freely accessible. Citations to articles on all genres of popular music from a wide variety of magazines, include many small or ephemeral publications not indexed elsewhere, as well as many from outside the U.S.
Music Librarian |
Eunice SchroederArts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-3612
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Classics, Germanic Studies
Music & Politics
Music & Politics is a peer-reviewed, open access journal published by UCSB.
Latest articles, Summer 2009:
Whose Utopia? Perspectives on the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, by Rachel Beckles Willson
Public Multicultural Music and the Australian State, by Graeme Smith
Promoting Romanian Music Abroad: The Rumanian Review, 1946-1956, by Joel Crotty
"We Take Care of the Artist": The German Composers' Meeting in Berlin, 1934, by Petra Garberding
Defining the Nation, Confining the Musician: The Case of Irish Traditional Music, by Helen O'Shea
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait