Library Catalogs
- UCSB Library Catalog Basic Search To find books on a topic, start with a keyword search using words and phrases that describe the topic; modify your search using synonyms and related terms. Check subject headings of relevant records for more related terms to search.
- UCSB Library Catalog Advanced Search A good way to search for musical works since you can combine composer (Author) and title, as well as limit by format (score, 78-rpm recording, LP, compact disc, video, etc.). Also allows limiting by language, year, and library collection.
- UC Libraries and beyond - Basic Search (Next Gen Melvyl Pilot) UCSB faculty and students may request books and scores from other UC campuses, including items held by UCSB but checked out. Items normally arrive in 3-5 days and may be picked up at Davidson Library.
- UC Libraries and beyond - Advanced Search (Next Gen Melvyl Pilot) Use for more complex searches and to limit your search by year, language, format, and more.
- Center for Research Libraries Search large collections of print and digital materials in support of advanced research and teaching. These resources are available to UCSB faculty and students through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
- WorldCat Another way to search libraries in the U.S. and worldwide.
- The European Library Access to the resources of 48 national libraries in Europe, both bibliographic records and full-text digital collections, including extensive collections of digitized music manuscripts, printed music, audio, images, and books.
- Open Library A free public catalog of millions of books, including many available in full-text.
- Library of Congress Performing Arts A guide to the vast performing arts collections of the Library of Congress, including digitized materials.
Finding Music
Use the UCSB Library Catalog to find books, scores, sound recordings, videos, journal titles, and other materials.
In Basic Search, you can use Author searching not only for authors and composers but also for performers and ensembles:
- Author (last name first): bartoli cecilia
- Author Keyword: cecilia bartoli
- Author Keyword: kronos quartet
Advanced Search is recommended for searching for musical works. You can combine composer and title as well as limit your search to scores, various recording formats, or videos:
- Author: lotte lehmann
- Limit by format: 78 RPM Recordings
- Author: copland
- Title: appalachian spring
- Limit by format: Compact Discs
To find works with generic titles (i.e., sonata, symphony, concerto, quartet, etc.), it is often helpful to search for the genre in the plural:
- Author: dvorak
- Title: quintets
- Limit by format: Compact Discs
If the work includes a solo instrument, add it as a phrase:
- Author: beethoven
- Title: concertos violin (Words as Phrase? Yes)
- Limit by format: Compact Discs
It is often effective to search using an opus or thematic index number. To find a score of Mozart's Horn Concerto K. 447:
- Keyword: mozart 447
- Limit by format: Scores
Music Librarian |
Eunice SchroederArts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-3612
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Classics, Germanic Studies
My Library Account
renew books?
save searches?
check ILL requests?
Log in to your Library Account!!
Forgotten your password?
(805)893-3491
or e-mail circ@library.ucsb.edu
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait