Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Classics 

Last update: Oct 27th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/classics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference             Print Page
  
 

Reference Books

Note: Ref = Main reference area, first floor South

Bibliographic Guides

Jenkins, Fred. W. Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature.  2d ed. 2006.

PA91 .J4 2006

Whitaker, Graham. Bibliographical Guide to Classical Studies. 5 volumes to date.

PA91 .W47 1997      

Halton, Thomas P.  Classical Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography.  1986.

Ref DE59 .H34 1986 

Biography, Prosopography, Portraits

Bowder, Diana.  Who Was Who in the Greek World, 776 B.C.-30 B.C.  1982

DF208 .W48 1982b

Bowder, Diana.  Who Was Who in the Roman World, 753 B.C.-A.D. 476.  1980

DG203 .W46 1980 

Brill's New Pauly

Broughton, T. R. S.  Magistrates of the Roman Republic (MRR).  3 vols.  1951-52; rpt. 1984.

DG83.5 .A1 B73 1984

Grant, Michael.  Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D.1000.  1980.

Ref PA31 .G7

Jones, A. H. M., J. R. Martindale, and J. Morris.  The Prosopography of the Later Roman Empire.  3 vols.  1971-1992.

DG203.5 .J6

Kirchner, Johannes.  Prosopographia Attica.  2nd ed.  2 vols.  1966.

DF209.5 .K5 1966

Lightman, Marjorie and Benjamin Lightman.  A to Z of Ancient Greek and Roman Women.  Rev. ed.  2008.

Women's Studies HQ1136 .L54 2008

Prosopographia Imperii Romani Saec. I. II. III.  2nd ed.  Multivolume.  1933- .

DG203.5 .P7 1933

Radice, Betty.  Who's Who in the Ancient World.  1971.

DE7 .R33 1971

Richter, Gisela M. A.  The Portraits of the Greeks.  3 vols. and suppl.  1965-1972. 

Arts Library N7586 .R52

Greek and Latin Dictionaries and Thesauri

Bauer, Walter and Danker, Frederick W.  Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian literature.  3rd ed.  2000.

PA881 .B38 2000

Ernout, A., and A. Meillet.  Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue latine: Histoire des mots.  4th ed.  1960.

PA2342 .E7 1960

Frisk, Hjalmar.  Griechisches Etymologisches Wörterbuch.  3 vols.  1960-72.

PA422 .F7

Glare, P. G. W.  Oxford Latin Dictionary.  1982. 

Ref PA2365 .E5 O9 1982

Lampe, G. W. H.  Patristic Greek Lexicon.  1961.

Ref PA881 .L3

Lewis, C. T., and C. Short.  A Latin Dictionary.  1879. 

Ref PA2365 .E5 A7 1879c

Liddell, H. G., and R. Scott.  Greek-English Lexicon.  9th ed.  1996. 

Ref PA 445 .E5 L6 1996  

Souter, E. A.  Glossary of Later Latin to 600 A.D.  1949.

PA2365 .E5 S6

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae.  

Oversize PA2361 .T5

Walde, A.  Lateinisches Etymologisches Wörterbuch.  4th ed.  3 vols.  1965.

PA2342 .W3

Woodhouse, S. C.  English-Greek Dictionary: A Vocabulary of the Attic Language.  

Ref PA445 .E5 W6 1971  

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks 

Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt: Geschichte und Kultur Roms im Spiegel der neueren Forschung (ANRW).  Over 70 vols. to date.

DG209 .T36

Index to ANRW

Table of Contents to ANRW

Bowersock, G. W., et al., eds.  Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World.

Ref DE5 .L29 1999

The Cambridge Ancient History.  3rd ed.  14 vols. 

D57 .C17 1970   

Cancik, Hubert, and Helmuth Schneider, eds.  Der Neue Pauly: Enzyklopädie der Antike.  16 vols.

Ref DE5 .N48 1996

Cancik, Hubert, and Helmuth Schneider, eds.  Der Neue Pauly: Supplemente.  5 vols. to date.

Ref. DE5 .N48 1996 Suppl

Cotterell, Arthur, ed.  Penguin Encyclopedia of Classical Civilizations.

CB9 .P46 1995

De Grummond, Nancy Thomson.  An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology.  2 vols.

Ref DE 5 .E5 1996 

Grant, Michael, and Rachel Kitzinger, eds.  Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome3 vols. 

Ref DE59 .C55 1988 

Hornblower, S., and A. Spawforth, eds.  Oxford Classical Dictionary.  3rd ed. rev.  

Ref DE5 .O9 2003 

Klauser, Theodor, ed.  Reallexikon für Antike und Christentum: Sachwörterbuch zur Auseinandersetzung des Christentums mit der antiken Welt. 22 vols. to date plus suppls.

BR131 .R4

Lexikon der alten Welt.

Ref D54 .L4

Pauly, August Friedrich von.  Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft.  59 vols.  1893-1974.

DE5 .P3

Stillwell, Richard, et al., eds.  The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites.  

Arts Library Ref DE59 .P7  

Histories

Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World: Ancient History (series)

Call numbers vary

Boardman, John, et al., eds.  Oxford History of the Classical World. 

DE59 .O94 1986

Cambridge Ancient History.  Editions vary.  14 vols.

D57 .C17 1970

Atlases 

Located in the library’s Map and Imagery Lab (MIL), first floor North, except as indicated.

Hammond, Nicholas G. L., ed.  Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity.  

G1033 .A84 1981 

Haselberger, L., D. G. Romano, and E. A. Dumser.  Mapping Augustan Rome. 

GA895 .R7 M37 2002

Haywood, John, ed.  The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Civilizations. 

G1033 .H39 2005 

Historischer Atlas der antiken Welt.  Vol. 3 of Der neue Pauly, Supplemente.

Ref DE5 .N48 1996 Suppl v.3

Talbert, Richard J. A., et al., eds.  Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World.  

G1033 .B3 2000 

Van der Heyden, A. A. M., and H. H. Scullard, eds.  Atlas of the Classical World.  

G1033 .H4 1960 

Chronologies

Bickermann, E. J.  Chronology of the Ancient World.  2nd ed.  

D54.5 .B5 1980b

Samuel, Alan E.  Greek and Roman Chronology: Calendars and Years in Classical Antiquity.

CE42 .S3 

Mythology

Grimal, Pierre.  Dictionary of Classical Mythology.  

Ref  BL715 .G713 1986 

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC).  8 vols. 

Arts Library Ref NX 650 .M9 L48.

Reid, Jane Davidson.  Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts.  

Arts Library Ref NX 650 M9 R45 1963

Stapleton, Michael.  Illustrated Dictionary of Greek and Roman Mythology.  

BL715 .S7 1986c 

Tripp, Edward.  Crowell's Handbook of Classical Mythology.  

Ref BL 722 T7 

Literature Guides

Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World: Literature and Culture (series)

Call numbers vary  

Easterling, P. E., and B. M. W. Knox.  Greek Literature. Vol. 1 of Cambridge History of Classical Literature.

PA3052 .G73 1985

Kenney, E. J., and W. V. Clausen, eds.  Latin Literature. Vol. 2 of Cambridge History of Classical Literature
PA6003 .L3

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageEunice Schroeder
Contact Info:
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-3612
Send Email

 

Study Areas

Looking for a quiet place to study?

Check out our maps!

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait