AstronomyPhysics
AstronomyPhysics
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Physics  Tags: astronomy physics  

Resources of interest in physics and astronomy
Last update: Jul 31st, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/physics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Physics             Print Page
  
 

Physics Resources

Megasites · General Resources · Organizations · Biographical and Historical Resources


Megasites

InfoMine: Physical Sciences, Engineering, Computer Science & Math Resources
InfoMine is a cooperative project among University of California libraries to locate and provide access to high quality Internet resources.
Physics Sources from the WWW Virtual Library
Physics Sources from YAHOO
PhysLINK
Includes "Ask the Experts," jobs, software, quotations, societies, journals, and more.


General Resources

Atomic Physics on the Internet
Laboratories, research groups, and resources for atomic physics.
Computational Fluid Dynamics
A comprehensive source of annotated links on fluid dynamics.
FermiLab
Fermilab is a high-energy physics laboratory, home of the world's most powerful particle accelerator, the Tevatron.
High Energy Physics at the University of Chicago
Includes links to a variety of physics web pages.
The Laws List
Laws, rules, principles, effects, paradoxes, limits, constants, experiments, & thought-experiments in physics.
Optics.Org
Photonics resources for scientists and engineers from IOP and SPIE.
Online Particle Physics Information
Extensive collection from the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center.
PACS (Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme)
PEERS: Physics Encyclopaedia of E-Mail Records
A global e-mail directory of people working in science; a place where you can search for peers, colleagues or any useful contacts in your chosen scientific field.
Physical Reference Data from NIST
Includes physical constants, spectroscopic data, nuclear physics data, and more.
Physics World Jobs
Publishes job vacancies as they are notified.
PhysicsWorld.com
News, patents, commentary, more from the Institute of Physics.
Sources from PAMNet
(Special Libraries Association Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics Division)


Organizations

Acoustical Society of America
American Institute of Physics
American Physical Society
Institute of Physics
International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE)
Optical Society of America
Scholarly Societies in Physics from the University of Waterloo


Biographical and Historical Resources

Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics
Citations of 20th century women who have made original and important contributions to physics. The citations describe briefly, and document, selected major scientific contributions. They also contain biographical information - mainly pertaining to the scientific lives of the women.
The Discovery of the Electron
Albert Einstein Online
Einstein: Image and Impact
A tour of Einstein's life including: the formative years; the great works; E=mc²; world fame; public concerns; quantum and cosmos; the nuclear age; science and philosophy; an essay: The World As I See It
Feynman Online!
This web site is dedicated to Richard P. Feynman, scientist, teacher, raconteur, and musician. He assisted in the development the atomic bomb, expanded the understanding of quantum electrodynamics, translated Mayan hieroglyphics, and cut to the heart of the Challenger disaster.
The Galileo Project
The Galileo Project is a source of information on the life and work of Galileo Galilei (1564-1642) and the science of his time. There are glossaries, maps, timelines, searchable databases, student experiments, and more.
Lawrence and His Laboratory: A Historian's View of the Lawrence Years
This site is a tribute to the founder of the Lawrence Berkeley Lab. Ernest Orlando Lawrence, who invented the cyclotron, opened the way to "a Golden Age of particle physics and evolutionary discoveries about the nature of the universe." In addition to presenting the accomplishments of Lawrence and the laboratory from 1931 to 1958, the site displays a large collection of photos from the Berkeley Lab Online Photo Archive.
Nobel Laureates in Physics
The Stanford Linear Accelerator Center Library presents this list. Includes the award winners with brief biographical information and a description of the discovery taken from the Nobel Foundation's text describing each Laureate's discovery and other sources.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageAndrea Duda
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2528
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010

805-893-2647
Send Email

Subjects:
Electrical Engineering, Interdisciplinary Sciences, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics, Statistics

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait