Criticism and BiographyPublishers & BooksellersReference and General
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

French 

Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/french  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

If you're off campus or using your laptop, first log in to the proxy server and return here.

 

 
 

Find articles

Click the UC e-Links link to find the full text of the article, either online or in print on the library shelves. If the library does not have access to the article you need, you can request that it be sent to you through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Academic Search Complete (1984 - present)
General index to both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Searches can be limited to French language only.

Anthropological Index Online (1957 - present)
An extensive index based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at The British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world. Searches can be limited to French language only.


ARTFL Project (dates vary)
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) is a cooperative project based at the University of Chicago. The database contains close to 2,000 electronic texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 17th century onwards. Some medieval and Renaissance texts and a Provençal database.


Dissertations & Theses (all dates)
 Users affiliated with UCSB have access to the full text of many (but not all) University of California dissertations from 1998 forward. Non-UC dissertations may be purchased or in some cases ordered through Interlibrary Loan.  Use the tab along the top to limit to dissertations.


Ethnic NewsWatch (1975 - present)
A full-text collection of news, culture and history from the ethnic, minority and native press. An excellent source for francophone studies.


FRANCIS (1984 - present)
An international index to 3,000 journals across major scholarly disciplines, with a particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Coverage begins in 1984 and is updated monthly. Searches can be limited to French language only.

Historical Abstracts (1967 - present)
A bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Searches can be limited to French language. For U.S. and Canada, see America: History and Life.


ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (1843 - present)
Indexes articles and reviews on the Middle Ages and Renaissance from over 550 journals (1843-present), monographs, and other scholarly resources.


International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) (1967 - 2008)
Over 300,000 articles from regular periodicals, conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues. Searches can be limited to French language only.


JSTOR (dates vary)
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is an archive of scholarly journals available in full text from the first issue of the journal to roughly 3-5 years ago. Searching may be done by author, title, or keywords from the abstracts or the full text of the articles. Click "expand journal list" to see a current title list of journals indexed in JSTOR.  Searches can be limited to French language only.


LION (dates vary)
A vast literary database that contains, among other things, the Annual Bibliography of English Languages and Literature (ABELL). Includes the full text of more than 300,000 works of poetry, drama and prose written between the 7th century and the present day.


MLA International Bibliography (1881 - present)
The standard bibliography for all modern languages and literatures worldwide. Indexes journals, monographs, working papers and proceedings, but does not include book reviews.  Searches can be limited to French language only.


Periodicals Index Online(PIO) (1665 - 1995)
An international index to journal articles from their first issues to the 1990s. Useful for articles from the 1800s and early 1900s that are not indexed elsewhere.  Searches can be limited to French language only.


Project Muse (dates vary)
Full-text access to hundreds of university press journals, including those for French Studies. Search by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text.  Searches can be limited to French language only.


Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts (1995 - present)
Citations and abstracts of over 4700 journal articles and books in women's studies from 1995 to the present.


SUDOC (dates vary)
Catalog of documents and periodicals held by French academic libraries.

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Faulkner
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email

Subjects:
English, French

 

Citation Styles

Need help writing your citations?
Here are some style guides:

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Quick Citation Guide

Modern Languages Association (MLA)

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab for MLA help

Paraphrase vs Plagiarism?
Paraphrase = well done!
Plagiarism = F (or worse)
Know the difference
.

 

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait