Off-campus?
If you're off campus or using your laptop, first log in to the proxy server and return here.
Literary criticism in article indexes and databases
- Academic Search Complete (1984 - present)
- A multi-disciplinary database that indexes over 10,900 journals,
popular magazines, and other publications. Includes full-text access to
over 5,000 peer-reviewed journals. Some content goes back as far as 1867.
- America: History and Life (1964 - present)
- Citations to articles on the history of the United States and
Canada from prehistory to the present. Excludes world history outside
these two countries, which is covered in Historical Abstracts. The two databases can be searched simultaneously and in
conjunction with other databases available from this publisher, by
using the "choose databases" link from the top of the page.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) (1920 - present)
- Index
to books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works,
book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations
published anywhere in the world. ABELL is available through the larger
database LION: Literature Online.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
- Access to leading scholarly literature in the humanities, sciences, social sciences, and arts.
- Book Review Digest 1983-present
- An excellent source for current literary criticism, including citations and abstracts of book reviews for fiction and nonfiction.
- Historical Abstracts (1955-present)
- Citations to articles in over 40 languages on the history of the world, from 1450 to the present. Excludes the history of the US and Canada, which is covered in America: History and Life. The two databases can be searched simultaneously and in conjunction with other databases available from this publisher, by using the "choose databases" link from the top of the page.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (1843 - present)
- Approximately 1 million records from scholarly journals, essays, books and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. .
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- Alphabetically- arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods
- JSTOR (dates vary)
- An archive of the full-text content of scholarly journals from early editions to roughly 3-5 years from the present.
- LION: Literature Online (dates vary)
- A huge literary database that contains the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose written between the 7th century and the present. Includes criticism, reviews, essays, biographies, plus the full text of hundreds of literary journals. From the LION home page, click "Criticism and Reference", then limit your search to "criticism".
- Literature Resource Center
- Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of world authors from every age and literary discipline. The Advanced page allows you to limit your search to "critical essays". An excellence resource for literary biographies.
- MLA International Bibliography (1881 - present)
- One of the first places to start in a search for literary criticism of all types. The bibliography covers the world's research literature in language, linguistics, literature, and folklore in all languages. Access to scholarly research in journals, series, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. The scope is so large that you may want to first limit your search by language, format, or year.
- Periodicals Index Online (1665-1995)
- Millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. The scope is international.
- Periodicals Archive Online (1665-1995)
- An archive of many of the digitized journals indexed in Periodicals Index Online, above.
- Project MUSE
- Full-text access to hundreds of university press journals. Search by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text.
- Voice of the Shuttle
- Considered by many to be the best humanities resource on the Web, maintained by Alan Liu at UCSB and including countless links to literary and general humanities websites. Relevant topics for literary criticism include Literature (in English) and Literary Theory.
Subject Guide |
Jane FaulknerContact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email
Subjects:
English, French
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email
Subjects:
English, French
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait