Off-campus?
If you're off campus or using your laptop, first log in to the proxy server and return here.
Finding poetry criticism in article databases
Citations and full-text articles from thousands of scholarly, general interest, and popular journals. A keyword search for "crit* and irish poetry" , will look for articles on Irish poetry that appear in the literary journal Critique, as well as those that contain the words critic, criticism, critical and so forth.
- America: History and Life 1964 - present
- Contains citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. A search for keywords such as "south and poet* and crit*" will bring up all variants of those words, including poets, poetry, poetics and critical, criticism, critique, and so forth.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
- Main Ref Z2011 A5
- The Modern Humanities Research Association's renowned bibliography provides an annual list of all scholarly articles, books and reviews concerning English language and literature and related topics published anywhere in the world. See next entry for the online version of ABELL.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) 1920 - present
- The online version of ABELL is one of many databases available through LION: Literature Online. The full text of articles is available in over 175 literature journals. Click on the book page or camera icons to view articles in full text.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1975-present
- A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes nearly 2,000 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. The database itself does not include full-text, but often the orange UC-eLinks will lead to the full text of the article.
- Book Review Digest 1983-present
- An excellent source for current literary criticism, including abstracts of poetry reviews. You can do a general search by entering subject terms such as "english poetry history and criticism" or be more specific with a search such as "emily dickinson and crit* " . The * symbol will pick up variants of a word; in this case, critique, critic, criticisms and so forth.
- Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
- Ref PR 85 C29 1992
- Center for Research Libraries
- Provides access to more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.
- Contemporary Women's Issues 1992-present
- Covers over 1500 sources published by more than 200 organizations around the world. Includes reviews of feminist scholarship in literature and the arts.
- Essay & General Literature Index 1985-present
- Provides access to nearly 45,000 English-language essays in 3,500 collections and anthologies.
- Historical Abstracts 1967-present
- Citations and some full-text articles from 2,000 journals on world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. From the Advanced search screen, try searching for "poets" or "poetry" in the subject text box, then add relevant keywords such as wordsworth or lyric to limit your search.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance 1843-present
- Iter contains approximately 135,000 records from scholarly journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Covers articles published from 1843 to the present.
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- The online version of Johns Hopkins' Guide to Literary Theory, edited by Michael Groden and Martin Kreiswirth.
- JSTOR dates vary
- An archive of the full-text content of scholarly journals from early editions to roughly 3-5 years from the present. Use the Advanced Search page.
- LION: Literature Online dates vary
- A comprehensive resource for the study and teaching of English and American literature. LION contains the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose written between the 7th century and the present day, and provides the full text of 175 literary journals. Includes bibliographic, biographical and secondary information. The Poets On Screen Library contains nearly 1,000 clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work.
- Literary Criticism Index
- Ref PN523 W45 1994
- Literature Resource Center dates vary
- Access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. The Advanced page allows you to limit your search in a number of ways, such as by type (e.g. critical essay) or the source (e.g. from the Dictionary of Literary Biography). The tab labeled "Literary Criticism, Articles & Work Overviews" is worth exploring.
- Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism
- Ref Z6511 M25
- MLA International Bibliography 1963-present
- MLA is one of the first places to start in a search for literary criticism of all types. The online version of this renowned index covers articles written from 1963 to the present; for earlier works use the print version (see entry below). This is a citation index (no full text) covering the world's research literature in language, linguistics, literature, and folklore in all languages. Access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals, series, monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. The scope is so large that you may want to first limit your search by language, format, or year.
- MLA International Bibliography
- Main Ref Z7006 M6
- New York Times Index
- Main Ref AI21.N44
- 19th Century Masterfile 1800-early 1900s
- The web version of Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 19th Century Masterfile has expanded into a collection of databases indexing various forms of literature and government documents. Includes full text links to Harper's Magazine, Atlantic Monthly, and North American Review.
- Periodicals Index Online 1665-1995
- An index to millions of articles from over 4,250 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Scope is worldwide and includes journals in most Western languages. The full-text version (Periodicals Archive Online) is considerably smaller but also worth exploring.
- Project MUSE Journals dates vary
- A searchable index of over 180 university press journals. Searching is available by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text.
- Voice of the Shuttle
- Considered by most to be the best humanities resource on the Web, maintained by Alan Liu at UCSB and including countless links to literary and general humanities websites. Use the box in the upper right to experiment: a search for ballads, for example, will bring up new categories additional links that you can explore.
Subject Guide |
Jane FaulknerContact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email
Subjects:
English, French
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email
Subjects:
English, French
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait