in article indexes and databasesin booksreference sources
in article databasesin booksin reference sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Literary Criticism 

Last update: Oct 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/litcrit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Poetry Criticism             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

If you're off campus or using your laptop, first log in to the proxy server and return here.

 

 
 

Poetry Criticism

Poetry criticism is the comparison, analysis, interpretation, or evaluation of poetry and related literatures. Reading critical analyses of poetry can help you understand and interpret the work you are reading. See also the research guide to Literary Criticism.

Below is a select list of indexes that will lead you to citations, and, in some cases, to the full text of critical articles.

 

Below is a very select list of printed indexes for reviews of poetry and related literature.

Book Review Digest Ref Z1219 B65
Book Review Index Ref Z1219 B66
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews Ref Z1035.A1 C64
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities Ref Z1219 I5
Gale Literary Criticism Series Ref PN 141.D52
New York Times Index Ref AI21.N44
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Ref AI3 R45

 

 

Reference Works

American and British Poetry: A Guide to Criticism 1925-1978 Ref Z 1231 P7 A44
British Romantic Poets, 1789-1832 Ref PN 141 D52 vol.96
Cambridge Guide to Literature in English Ref PR 85 C29 1992
Cambridge History of English Literature Ref PR 83 C3
Common Knowledge: a .... Guide to Literary Allusions Ref PN 43 G68 1987
Concise Encyclopedia of English and American Poets and Poetry Ref PR 19 S6
Contemporary Authors Ref CT 100 C6
Contemporary Literary Criticism Ref PN 771 C59
Critical Survey of Poetry: English Language Series Ref PR 502 C85
Critical Survey of Poetry: Foreign Language Series Ref PN 41 C7
The Critical Temper: a Survey of Modern Criticism Ref PR83 C68
Crowell's Handbook of Contemporary American Poetry Ref PS 323.5 M3
Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs. 2 vols. Ref PN 43 D48 1988
Encyclopedia of American Poetry Ref PS 323.5 E53 2001
Glossary of Literary Terms Ref Ref PN 41 A184 1993
Guide to American Poetry Explication: Colonial and 19th Century Ref Z 1231 P7 R66
Guide to American Poetry Explication: Modern and Contemporary Ref Ref Z 1231 P7 M34
Longman Dictionary of Poetic Terms Ref PN 1042 M94
Masterplots II: Poetry Series Ref Ref PN 1110.5 M37 1992
The New Moulton's Library of Literary Criticism Ref PR85 N39 1985
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics Ref PN 1021 N39 1993
Oxford Companion to 20th-Century Poetry in English Ref PR 601 O9 1994
Poetry Criticism Ref PN 1010 P499 vol.16
Poetry Explication: A Checklist of Interpretation Ref Z2014 P7 K8 1980
Poetry Handbook: A Guide to Reading Poetry Ref PR 502 L38
Poets: American and British Ref PS 303 P64 1998 vol. 1
Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics Ref PN 1021 N39 1993

 

 

Biographies of Poets

Afro American Poets Since 1955 Ref PN141 D52 v.41
American Poets 1880-1945 Ref PN141 D52 v. 45, 54
American Poets Since World War II Ref PN141 D52 v. 5, 120, 165, 169, 193
American Women Writers Ref PS147 A42 2000
American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies Ref PS129 A55
The Beats Ref PN141 D52 v. 16
Biography Resource Center
British Poets 1880-1914 Ref PN141 D52 v. 19
British Poets 1914-1945 Ref PN141 D52 v.20
British Romantic Poets 1789-1832 Ref PN141 D52 v. 93, 96
British Writers Ref PR85 B688
Contemporary Authors Ref CT100 C64
Dictionary of Literary Biography Ref PN141 D52
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Resource Center
Longman Dictionary of Poets Ref PN1111 B6
Poets of Great Britain and Ireland Since 1960 Ref PN141 D52 v. 40
20th-Century Author Biographies Master Index Ref Z5304 A8 T83
Victorian Women Poets Ref PN141 D52 v. 199
Who's Who in 20th Century World Poetry Ref PN1271 W46 2000

 

 

 

Internet Resources

*  American Verse Project (Univ. Michigan Humanities Text Initiative)
*  British Poetry 1780 – 1910 (Electronic Text Center / Univ. Virginia)
*  Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism Guide
*  The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
*  The Labyrinth: A Disciplinary Server for Medieval Studies
*  Literary Resources on the Net (Jack Lynch, Rutgers University)
*  Modern American Poetry (Dept. of English, Univ. Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
*  Online Literary Criticism Collection
*  Perspectives in American Literature (PAL)
*  Poetry Daily
*  Voice of the Shuttle (Alan Liu, UCSB)
*  Yahoo’s Literary Authors Listing

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Faulkner
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email

Subjects:
English, French

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait