Locating Books
To locate books on your topic, use the PEGASUS Online Catalog (http://pegasus.library.ucsb.edu/F/). As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. You are unlikely to find references to a single compound, but may be able to find useful books on classes of compounds. If the more specific subject fails, browse the subject heading "Mechanical Engineering" itself. Call number ranges for mechanical engineering include:
- TJ163.13-163.25 - Power resources
- TJ163.26-163.5 - Energy conservation
- TJ170-179 - Mechanics applied to machinery. Dynamics
- TJ181-210 - Mechanical movements
- TJ210.2-211.47 - Mechanical devices and figures. Robots (General)
- TJ212-225 - Control engineering systems. Automatic machinery (General)
- TJ227-240 - Machine design and drawing
- TJ241-254.7 - Machine construction (General)
- TJ255-265 - Heat engines
- TJ266-267.5 - Turbines. Turbomachines (General)
- TJ268-740 - Steam engineering
- TJ751-805 - Miscellaneous motors and engines, including gas, gasoline, diesel engines
- TJ807-830 - Renewable energy sources
- TJ836-927 - Hydraulic machinery
- TJ940-940.5 - Vacuum technology
- TJ950-1030 - Pneumatic machinery
General Reference Works
Acesss Engineering
(http://www.accessengineeringlibrary.com/html/viewbooks_noninst.asp?catid=K)
McGraw Hill's Acess Engineerning is a collection of handbooks spanning the engineering disciplines, available online as PDF chapters. Included is the current edition of Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers (see below.)
ENGnetBASE
(http://www.engnetbase.com/)
While most of the over 1000 handbooks contained in ENGnetBASE deal with electrical and mechanical engineering,
there are a few on chemical engineering-related topics (e.g. nanotechnology, biomedical engineering.)
They are full-text searchable, or browsable by table of contents.
ENVIROnetBASE
(http://www.environetbase.com/)
ENVIROnetBASE contains over 400 handbooks, including such areas of interest to chemical engineers as laboratory safety,
air pollution control, waste management, sampling and measurement, etc. They are full-text searchable, or browsable by
table of contents.
Handbook of chemical and environmental engineering calculations (SEL Ref TP 168 .R49 2002)
Handbook of energy engineering (SEL Ref TJ 163.235 .T48 2001)
Handbook of nanostructured materials and nanotechnology (SEL Ref TA 418.9.N35 H36 2000)
Mechanical engineer's handbook (SEL Ref TJ 151 . M3954 2001)
Machinery’s handbook (SEL Ref TJ 151 .M3 2000)
Marks' standard handbook for mechanical engineers (SEL Ref TJ 151 .M37 1996)
Standard handbook of biomedical engineering and design (SEL Ref R 856.15 .S73 2003)
Wiley engineer's desk reference (SEL Ref TA 151 .H424 1998)
Find Articles
- Compendex Plus
- Premier database for all areas of engineering; excellent for mechanical engineering
- Covers journal articles and conference papers.
- 1884-present
- Academic Search Complete
- General index to current magazines and journals; useful for news, current events and popular treatments of engineering topics
- Popular magazines, major scholarly journals, some newspapers
- 1984-present
- Business Search Complete
- Index to business, industry and trade literature; good for the business side of engineering.
- Journals, trade magazines; many with full-text articles in the database itself.
- 1886-present
- Dissertations and Theses
- Index to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from most North American and European universities
- Search by title word, author, advisor or institution
- 1861-present
- Full text of most recent University of California dissertations available as PDF files free of charge to UC users.
- NTIS
- Index to U.S. government technical reports
- 1964-present
- For access to the full text of the reports, see the UCSB Library Government Information Center
- Web of Science
- Very broad in subject scope -- covers all of science and engineering (plus humanities and social sciences); good for interdisciplinary fields.
- Journal articles from 1945-present for the sciences.
- Most powerful database for cited reference searching. Very useful for tracking additional references from cited, citing and related articles.
Librarian |
Chuck HuberDavidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait