Off-campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Other Useful Pages
Besides the resources for finding journal articles and other documents on this page, you may want to check out the following related pages:
- Conference Papers and Proceedings - What are they? How can you find papers on a topic? How can you find them in the UCSB Library?
- Copyright and Fair Use - What is copyright? Why is it important to students and scholars? To authors? What is fair use?
- Patents - What are patents? Why are they of interest? How can you find them?
- Standards - What are industrial standards? What organizations issue them?
Find articles
Find Articles, Citations, Reviews, and more in these Indexes and Databases:
- Compendex Plus
- Premier database for all areas of engineering; excellent for mechanical engineering
- Covers journal articles and conference papers.
- 1884-present
- Academic Search Complete
- General index to current magazines and journals; useful for news, current events and popular treatments of engineering topics
- Popular magazines, major scholarly journals, some newspapers
- 1984-present
- Business Search Complete
- Index to business, industry and trade literature; good for the business side of engineering.
- Journals, trade magazines; many with full-text articles in the database itself.
- 1886-present
- Dissertations and Theses
- Index to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from most North American and European universities
- Search by title word, author, advisor or institution
- 1861-present
- Full text of most recent University of California dissertations available as PDF files free of charge to UC users.
- NTIS
- Index to U.S. government technical reports
- 1964-present
- For access to the full text of the reports, see the UCSB Library Government Information Center
- Web of Science
- Very broad in subject scope -- covers all of science and engineering (plus humanities and social sciences); good for interdisciplinary fields.
- Journal articles from 1945-present for the sciences.
- Most powerful database for cited reference searching. Very useful for tracking additional references from cited, citing and related articles.
Collect and Organize Your References in a Personal Database
- EndNoteWeb
- Create a personal database file of your favorite references by importing answer sets from catalogs and article indexes
- Generate bibliographies automatically formatted in your desired style (e.g. ACS, CSE, APA)
- Access your fles from any Web-connected computer.
UCSB E-Journal Titles:
- E-Journals Collection (main search)
- Locate electronic full-text journals in the UCSB collection (over 10,000 titles available.)
- Search by journal title, or by subject category, or by publisher.
Evaluate Status of Journals
- Journal Citation Reports
- Evaluate journals in a given field using citation analysis.
- Contains "impact factors" and other metrics for thousands of major journals in the sciences and social sciences for recent years.
Librarian |
Chuck HuberContact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Davidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait