Subject Guide
Chuck Huber
he/him/his
Contact:
UCSB Library, Room 2523A2
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
805-893-2762
Website
Locating Books
To locate books on your topic, use the UCSLibrary Search (https://https://search.library.ucsb.edu/discovery/search?vid=01UCSB_INST%3AUCSB&lang=en/). As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. You are unlikely to find references to a specific plastics and polymersl, but may be able to find useful books on classes of materials. If the more specific subject fails, use the Browse Search option, select browse by Subject, and browse the subject headings "Plastics" or "Polymers" themselves. Note that browsing by call number on the shelves will miss our extensive collection of electronic books; however, you can browse by Library of Congress (LC) call numbers and see both e-book and print book listings.
- QC 173.4 - Solid state physics including Polymer physics
- QC 173.4 .L55 - Physics of liquid crystals
- QC 173.4 .P65 - Physical properties of polymers
- QD 196 - Inorganic polymers
- QD 281 .P6 - Chemistry of polymerization
- QD 380-388 - Polymer chemistry
- RS 201 - Drug delivery systems (including polymeric materials)
- TA 455 .P5-P55 - "Polymeric materials
- TP 156 .P6 - Industrial polymerization
- TP 1080-1185 Plastics and polymers technology
- TP 1180 .A-Z - Specific polymers (alphabetically by name)
Collections of Reference Works
- Knovel.com This link opens in a new windowKnovel provides access to a wide range of handbooks and other reference works in engineering (chemical, civil, electrical, mechanical, materials and biotechnology), chemistry and biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences among other areas. You may search within a particular work, or across the entire Knovel collection. Searching may be done by keyword, or by numeric data ranges.
- CRCnetBASE This link opens in a new windowCRCnetBASE includes handbooks from a wide range of areas. The handbooks are browsable by table of contents, or keyword searchable, either individually or combined. Note that UCSB currently does ot have access to the entire CRCnetBASE collection. We do have access to the following subject areas:Chemical EngineeringEngineering - CivilEngineering - ElectricalEngineering - GeneralEngineering - MechanicalEnviromental Science and EngineeringFood & NutritionForensics & Human FactorsHomeland SecurityInformation TechnologyMathematicsNeuroscience (see under Biomedical Science)Statistics
Reference Works
- Comprehensive Polymer Science (Ref QD 381 .C66 1989)
- Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
- Encyclopedia of Smart Materials (Ref Area TA 418.9 .S62 2002)
- A Handbook of Applied Biopolymer Technology: Synthesis, Degradation and Applications
- Handbook of Polymers
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
- Polymer Science: A Comprehensive Reference
- Polymeric Materials Encyclopedia (Ref TP 1110 .P65 1996)
- Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Finding Articles, Patents and Other Documents
- Materials Science and Engineering Database This link opens in a new windowMaterials Science and Engineering Database is a combination of a group of engineering databases from ProQuest. These include: Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, ProQuest Materials Science Journals, and others relevant to plastics and polymers research.
- Compendex (via Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings.
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new windowThe Derwent Innovations Index indexes patents of chemical, electrical and mechanical inventions from 40 patent-issuing authorities worldwide. Users may seaerch by topic, inventor, patent assignee, patent number, classification codes, as well as searching by cited patents, and by chemical compounds. Patent titles and abstracts are enhanced by Derwent patent expherts for increased clarity and better topic searching.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The UC has partnered with Google Scholar to allow our users to click on the familiar "Get it at UC" button to reach full text of some items indexed. Use the "Scholar Preferences" link and select "University of California, Santa Barbara - Get it at UC" before saving your preferences.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete indexes both scholarly journals and trade publications, providing full text for most artilcles. It is a good source for industry and market data, and materials price information.
- MRS Proceedings Library Archive This link opens in a new windowMRS Proceedings Library contains over 15,000 peer-reviewed conference papers presented at Materials Research Society meetings, representing over 900 print volumes. Topics include electronic materials, plastics and polymers, composite materials, ceramics and metals. Proceedings may be browsed by date, symposium title, and symposium table of contents. For current MRS proceedings (2016-present) see the journal "MRS Advances"
- SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing. About 15,000 papers are added annually. The SPIE Digital library provides access to the papers published in: Proceedings of SPIE, Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems.