Locating Books
To locate books on your topic, use the PEGASUS Online Catalog (http://pegasus.library.ucsb.edu/F/). As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. You are unlikely to find references to a single material, but may be able to find useful books on classes of materials. If the more specific subject fails, browse the subject heading "Materials" itself. Call number ranges for materials science and engineering include:
- QC 176 - Solid state physics / Condensed matter physics
- QD 380-388 - Polymer chemistry
- QD 965 - Crystallography
- TA 401-409 - General materials science
- TA 410-418 - "Special" materials, including composites, nanomaterials. etc.
- TA 459-489 - Metals and alloys
- TK 7871 - Electronic materials
- TN 600-799 - Metallurgy
- TN 690 - Alloy phase diagrams
- TP 1087-1190 - Plastics and polymer engineering
General Reference Works
Access Engineering
(http://www.accessengineeringlibrary.com/html/viewbooks_noninst.asp?catid=J)
McGraw Hill's Access Engineering is a collection of handbooks spanning all areas of engineering, including various types of materials science and technology.
Analysis and Characterization of Materials -- besides references below, see also: Analytical Chemistry Reference Guide
Annual Book of ASTM Standards (SEL Ref Area TA 401 .A481)
This series from ASTM (formerly the American Society of Testing and Materials), gives detailed testing methods for a
host of properties of different types of materials and objects. Volumes are grouped by the substance/object tested. There
is a subject index to locate individual standards, as well as a numeric index for locating the volume of a particular
standard number.. The UCSB Library generally purchases a nes set every couple of yers or so; individual standards may go
for years between updates. and sometimes a procedure may specify an older standard method. In that case, consult earlier
editions in the SEL circulating collection. We currently have the most recent set on CD-ROM only.
ASM Engineeered Materials Reference Book, 2nd ed. (SEL Ref Area TA 403.4 .A84 1994)
This handbook of physical properties is grouped by class of material, with tables of physical, thermal, and electrical
property data as appropriate.
Comprehensive Supramolecular Chemistry (SEL Ref Area QD 411 .C66 1996)
This eleven volume set contains detailed, comprehensive review articles on a wide range of supramolecular chemistry.
Of particular interst to materials scientists are Volume 6: Crystal Engineering; Volume 7: Two- and Three-dimensional
Inorganic Networks; Volume 9: Templating, Self-assembly and Self-organization; and Volume 10: Supramolecular Technology.
The series has a good subject index in Volume 11.
Concixe Encyclopedia of Materials Charaterization, 2nd ed. (SEL Ref Area TA 407 .C659 2005)
This is an slphabetical collection of short articles on a wide
variety of methods for the testing and characterization of materials.
Unlike the ASTM standards, it does not give detailed methods. The
articles are authoritative and have good, brief bibliographies.
CRC-Elsevier Materials Selector (SEL Ref Area TA 403 .C733 1991)
This three volume work is intended for designers and engineers who are trying to select the most appropriate materials
and manufacutring methods for a particular application. It includes data on mechanical, physical, corrosion and wear
properties of materials, as well as manufacturing methods.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook (SEL Ref Area TA 403.4 .C74 1992)
This handbook collects a wide range of data in tabular form on materials including selected ferrous and non-ferrous alloys,
ceramics and polymers. Tables are grouped by the property in question.
DECHEMA Corrosion Handbook (SEL Ref Area) TA 418.74 D43 1987)
This multi-volume set (new volumes appear periodically) provides extensive information on the resistance of most materials
to a wide range of corrosive substances under varying temperatures and conditions. Artcles appear under the name of the
corrosive or class of corrosives. Note that articles are not arranged alphabetically, and you will need to consult the tables
of contents or the cumulative index volume to find the articles you are interested in.
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (SEL Ref Area QC 176.8 .N35 D43 2004)
This five volume set covers many areas of nanotechnology, including
such nanomaterials as metal clusters, quantum wires and dots, dendritic
polymers and more. Articles are substantial with extensive refernces.
This encyclopedia is avaiable to UCSB users online as part of NANOnetBASE (see below).
Encyclopedia of Advanced Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 404.3 .E53 1994)
This four volume work contains short articles on a whide variety of "advanced" materials, including ceramics, composites,
polymers, specialty alloys and electronic amterials.
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology (SEL Ref Area TA 402 .E53 2001)
This eleven volume work coers the entire range of materials science and engineering, including metals, ceramics,
polymers, composites, electronic materials and biomaterials. Each article has a brief bibliography, and the set has a good
subject index in Volume 11.
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .S62 2002)
This two volume encyclopedia covers the field of "smart materials", a widely interdisciplinary examination of
materials and structures which respond or adapt to surrounding condtions, such as piezoelectric ceramics, shape memory alloys,
magnetorheological fluids and so on. The reviews here may be of interest to materials scientists and engineers working
with almost any class of material. The articles have excellent biblipgraphies.
Handbook of Materials for Product Design (SEL Ref Area TA 403.4 .H365 2001)
This handbook is designed to assist in the selection of materials for specific applications. Chapters are grouped by
type of materials (e.g. iron and steels, aluminum, titanitum, plastics, composites, rubbers, ceramics) with additional
chapters on coating, joining methosd, testing and recycling.
Handbook of Nanophase and Nanostructural Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 418.3 .N35 H358 2003)
This four volume handbook is divided into Synthesis; Characterization, and two volumes on Systems and Applications.
The review articles are lengthy and well-referenced.
Handbook of Nanostructured Materials and Nonotechnology (SEL Ref Area TA 403.9 .N35 H36 2000)
Each volume in this five volume set covers a different broad topic area: Synthesis and Processing; Spectroscopy and
Theory; Electrical Properties; Optical Properties; and Organics, Polymers and Biological Materials. The articles are expertly
written and well-referenced.
Handbook of Surfaces and Interfaces of Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 405 .H345 2001)
The five volumes in this set cover, respetively: surface and interface phenomena; analysis and properties; nanostructured
materials, micelles and colloids; thin solid films and layers; and biomaterials. Each volume ahs an index, but there is
no cumulative index for the set.
Handbook of Thin Film Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 408.9 .T45 H35 2002)
The five volumes of this set aree divided by topic: Depostion and Processing; Characterization and Spectroscopy;
Ferroelectric and Dielectric Thin Films; Semiconductor and Superconductor Thin Films; and Nanomaterials and Magnetic
Thin Films. The articles are substantial and well-referenced.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
(http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/kirk/)
The Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a wide-ranging,
authoritative source of information on chemicals and chemical
processes, with detailed references for each article. Though its focus
is industrial chemistry, it contains many useful articles on materials,
including specific classes of polymers, advance ceramics and many more.
The online version includes the current Fourth Edition, with some
articles updated each year. The print version is available in the SEL
Reference Area at TP 9 .E685 1991.
Landolt-Bornstein
This massive set of collections of physical property data, commonly referred to by the names of its original editors,
covers a wide range of areas of physics and physical chemistry in hundreds of volumes. The sections of greatest interest to
materials scientists are:
- Series 3: Condensed matter (i.e., crystal and solid state physics)
- Series 8: Advanced materials and technologies
Both series have new volumes added regularly. Early volumes are in German, but recent ones are in English.
MRS Proceedings Library
(http://uclibs.org/PID/97288)
MRS Proceedings Library contains over 400 volumes from 1998 to the
present, of sumposium proceedings from the Materials Research Society,
the momst important professional group in materials science and
engineering. Symposia cover the gamut of topics of interest to
materials scientists.
Practical Handbook of Materials Science (SEL Ref Area TA403.4 .P7 1989)
This handbook features tables of properties of materials, oranizaed by type of material.
SPIE Digital Library
(http://www.spiedl.org)
The SPIE Digital Library includes almost 5500 volumes of
proceedings from conferences of the society dealing braodly with optics
and photonics. Many of the conference symposia deal with topics of
interest to the materials scientist, such as advanced photolithography,
high temperature superconductors and photonic materials.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
(http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/ueic/index.html)
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a
state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in
all areas of industrial chemistry, including such topics of importance
to the materials scientist as polymers, ceramics and composite
materials. The online version is the 6th Edition; the 5th Edition is
available in print in the SEL Reference Area at TP 9 .U5 1985.
Locating Articles
Compendex Plus
(http://uclibs.org/PID/1537)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering abstracts database in the world. Covers over 2,600
international engineering journals, technical reports and conference proceedings. Each year more than 200,000 new
abstracts are added. Compendex covers 1884 to present, with the UCe-Links feature for linking to full text journal
articles.
INSPEC
<(http://uclibs.org/PID/22771)
INSPEC covers physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology, including
journals, conference papers and more. Most citations include abstracts. It is extremely useful for electronic materials,
superconductors, and condensed matter physics and physics of materials.
SciFinder
:
SciFinder is an end-user oriented interface to the Chemical Abstracts,
REGISTRY and CASREACT databases. Its databases cover the entire
literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents,
conference papers and more, from 1900 to the present, by far the most
comprehensive database of the chemical literature and is invaluable for
the chemistry of materials. It may be searched by author, topic,
corporate source, chemical name, molecular formula or chemical
structure (including substructures and reaction diagrams). SciFinder
Web is a web interface for the databases, which requires users to
register using a current ucsb.edu e-mail address.
SciFinder Scholar is a client-server system, which requires
installation of the SFS client on the terminal where you wish to use
it. The client may be downloaded and installed on any Windows or Mac
computer on the UCSB campus. In the UCSB Davidson Library, SciFinder is
available at selected workstations in the Sciences-Engineering Library
(2nd floor North, Davidson Library).
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
(http://isiknowledge.com/wos/)
The Science Citation Index database in Web of Science covers key
journals in all areas of science and engineering. It covers
1945-present, and for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also
has searchable cited references, so you can track an older reference
on, for instance, fluidized bed reactors, forward to more recent
applications or to other related records. It has the UCe-Links feature
for linking to full text journal articles.
Business Source Complete
(http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth)
Business Source Complete is an excellent source for the business
side of the materials industries. It offers indexing and abstracts for
the 350 most important scholarly business journals back to 1965 or the
first published issue. The database includes searchable cited
references for 1,205 journals. It also contains full text for 7,418
periodicals and other sources, including: Peer-Reviewed Journals, Trade
Journals & General Business Magazines, Monographs, Country Economic
Reports, Industry Reports & Yearbooks, Market Research Reports.
Librarian |
Chuck HuberDavidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait