Locating Books
To locate books on your topic, use the PEGASUS Online Catalog (http://pegasus.library.ucsb.edu/F/). As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. You are unlikely to find references to a specific composite material, but may be able to find useful books on classes of materials. If the more specific subject fails, browse the subject heading "Composite materials" itself. Call number ranges for materials science and engineering include:
- QC 176 - Solid state physics / Condensed matter physics
- TA 418.9 .C9 - "Special" materials, including composites
General Reference Works
(see also: General Materials Science Reference Guide)
Analysis and Characterization of Composite Materials -- besides references below, see also: Analytical Chemistry Reference Guide
ASM Handbook (SEL Ref Area TA 459 .A53)
Though most of the multi-volume ASM Handbook series is devoted to
metals and alloys, some of the more recent volumes have sections
devoted to composites. Volume 21 is devoted entirely to composites,
with chapters on Constituent Materials; Mechanics, Analysis and Design;
Manufacturing; Post-processing and Assembly; Quality Assurance; Testing
and Certification; ; Properties and Performace; Reliability and Repair;
Failur Analysis; Recycling and Disposal; and Applications. All are by
experts in the field and well-referenced.
The Composite Materials Handbook MIL 17 (SEL Ref AreaTA 418.9 .C6 C664 2002)
This five volume handbook compiles the MIL-KDBK-17 specifications
for forming, properties, testing and characterization of polymer matrix
somposites (three volumes), metal matrix composites (one volume) and
ceramic matrix composites (one volume). These standards are extemely
important in industrial applications.
Comprehensive Composite Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .C6 C6344 2002)
This six voume collection of authoritative review articles is grouped by Basic Reinforcement Materials and Theory of
Composites; Polymer Matrix Composites; Metal Matrix Composites; Carbon, Cement and Ceramic Matrix Composites; Testing and
Non-Destructive Evaluation of Composites and Smart Composites; and Design and Applications of Composites. All the articles
are thorough and well-referenced.
Encyclopedia of Advanced Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 404.3 .E53 1994)
This four volume work contains short articles on a whide variety of "advanced" materials, including ceramics, composites,
polymers, specialty alloys and electronic amterials.
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology (SEL Ref Area TA 402 .E53 2001)
This eleven volume work coers the entire range of materials science and engineering, including metals, ceramics,
polymers, composites, electronic materials and biomaterials. Each article has a brief bibliography, and the set has a good
subject index in Volume 11.
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .S62 2002)
This two volume encyclopedia covers the field of "smart materials", a widely interdisciplinary examination of
materials and structures which respond or adapt to surrounding condtions, such as piezoelectric ceramics, shape memory alloys,
magnetorheological fluids and so on. The reviews here may be of interest to materials scientists and engineers working
with almost any class of material. The articles have excellent biblipgraphies.
Handbook of Ceramic Composites (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .C6 H319 2005)
As the title suggests, this one-volume work is devoted to composites in which ceramics are both the matrix and the
reinforcing fiber. It covers both oxide and non-oxide ceramics.
Handbook of Ceramics and Composites (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .C6 H32 1990)
This two-volume collection of review articles is divided into Synthesis and Properties, and Morphology and Stress
Mechanics. (Additional volumes were announced, but none have been released.)
MRS Proceedings Library
(http://uclibs.org/PID/97288)
MRS Proceedings Library contains over 400 volumes from 1998 to the
present, of sumposium proceedings from the Materials Research Society,
the momst important professional group in materials science and
engineering. Symposia cover the gamut of topics of interest to
materials scientists.
Locating Articles
Compendex Plus
(http://uclibs.org/PID/1537)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering abstracts database in the world. Covers over 2,600
international engineering journals, technical reports and conference proceedings. Each year more than 200,000 new
abstracts are added. Compendex covers 1884 to present, with the UCe-Links feature for linking to full text journal
articles.
SciFinder
:
SciFinder is an end-user oriented interface to the Chemical Abstracts,
REGISTRY and CASREACT databases. Its databases cover the entire
literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents,
conference papers and more, from 1900 to the present, by far the most
comprehensive database of the chemical literature. It may be searched
by author, topic, corporate source, chemical name, molecular formula or
chemical structure (including substructures and reaction diagrams).
SciFinder Web is a web interface for the databases, which requires
users to register using a current ucsb.edu e-mail
address. SciFinder Scholar is a client-server system, which requires
installation of the SFS client on the terminal where you wish to use
it. The client may be downloaded and installed on any Windows or Mac
computer on the UCSB campus. In the UCSB Davidson Library, SciFinder is
available at selected workstations in the Sciences-Engineering Library
(2nd floor North, Davidson Library).
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
(http://isiknowledge.com/wos/)
The Science Citation Index database in Web of Science covers key
journals in all areas of science and engineering. It covers
1945-present, and for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also
has searchable cited references, so you can track an older reference
on, for instance, fluidized bed reactors, forward to more recent
applications or to other related records. It has the UCe-Links feature
for linking to full text journal articles.
Business Source Complete
(http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth)
Business Source Complete is an excellent source for the business
side of the materials industries. It offers indexing and abstracts for
the 350 most important scholarly business journals back to 1965 or the
first published issue. The database includes searchable cited
references for 1,205 journals. It also contains full text for 7,418
periodicals and other sources, including: Peer-Reviewed Journals, Trade
Journals & General Business Magazines, Monographs, Country Economic
Reports, Industry Reports & Yearbooks, Market Research Reports.
Librarian |
Chuck HuberDavidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait