Conference Papers and Proceedings Copyright and Fair Use Patents Standards 
Professional Societies
CeramicsCompositesElectronic MaterialsGeneral Materials ScienceMetals and AlloysNanotechnology Plastics and Polymers
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Materials Science and Engineering  Tags: materials composites ceramics plastics polymers metals alloys  

Subject guide for materials science and engineering
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/materials  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Ceramics             Print Page
  
 

Locating Books

To locate books on your topic, use the PEGASUS Online Catalog (http://pegasus.library.ucsb.edu/F/). As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. You are unlikely to find references to a specific ceramic material, but may be able to find useful books on classes of materials. If the more specific subject fails, browse the subject heading "Ceramics" itself. Note that keyword searching on "ceramics" by itself will also pull up ceramics as art, e.g. pottery. Call number ranges for materials science and engineering include:

  • QC 176 - Solid state physics / Condensed matter physics
  • QD 965 - Crystallography
  • TA 418.9 - "Special" materials, including ceramics, nanomaterials. porous materials, etc.
  • TA 430 - Ceramic materials
  • TP 807-811 - Ceramic technology
 

General Reference Works

see also: General Materials Science Reference Guide

Analysis and Characterization of Ceramic Materials -- besides references below, see also: Analytical Chemistry Reference Guide

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (SEL Ref Area QC 176.8 .N35 D43 2004)
This five volume set covers many areas of nanotechnology, including such nanomaterials as metal clusters, quantum wires and dots, dendritic polymers and more. Articles are substantial with extensive refernces.

Encyclopedia of Advanced Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 404.3 .E53 1994)
This four volume work contains short articles on a whide variety of "advanced" materials, including ceramics, composites, polymers, specialty alloys and electronic amterials.

Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology (SEL Ref Area TA 402 .E53 2001)
This eleven volume work coers the entire range of materials science and engineering, including metals, ceramics, polymers, composites, electronic materials and biomaterials. Each article has a brief bibliography, and the set has a good subject index in Volume 11.

Encyclopedia of Smart Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .S62 2002)
This two volume encyclopedia covers the field of "smart materials", a widely interdisciplinary examination of materials and structures which respond or adapt to surrounding condtions, such as piezoelectric ceramics, shape memory alloys, magnetorheological fluids and so on. The reviews here may be of interest to materials scientists and engineers working with almost any class of material. The articles have excellent biblipgraphies.

Handbook of Ceramic Composites (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .C6 H319 2005)
As the title suggests, this one-volume work is devoted to composites in which ceramics are both the matrix and the reinforcing fiber. It covers both oxide and non-oxide ceramics.

Handbook of Ceramics and Composites (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .C6 H32 1990)
This two-volume collection of review articles is divided into Synthesis and Properties, and Morphology and Stress Mechanics. (Additional volumes were announced, but none have been released.)

Handbook of Ceramics, Glasses and Diamonds (SEL REf Area TA 455 .C43 H34 2001)
This one volume handbook is strong on tables and graphs of properties, and devotes much coverage to electronic applications of the title materials.

Handbook of Nanophase and Nanostructural Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 418.3 .N35 H358 2003)
This four volume handbook is divided into Synthesis; Characterization, and two volumes on Systems and Applications. The review articles are lengthy and well-referenced.

Handbook of Nanostructured Materials and Nonotechnology (SEL Ref Area TA 403.9 .N35 H36 2000)
Each volume in this five volume set covers a different broad topic area: Synthesis and Processing; Spectroscopy and Theory; Electrical Properties; Optical Properties; and Organics, Polymers and Biological Materials. The articles are expertly written and well-referenced.

Handbook of Porous Solids (SEL Ref Area TA 418.9 .P6 H36 2002)
This five volume handbook provides detailed reviews of the synthesis, properties and applications of porous solids, including oxides, silicates, zeolites and carbon materials.

Handbook of Sol-Gel Science and Technology (SEL Ref Area T 810.5 .H36 2005)
This collection of review articles is divided into three volumes: Processing, Characterization and Application. Most (though not all) of the articles deal with topics of interest to the materials scientists working with ceramics and porous materials.

Handbook of Surfaces and Interfaces of Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 405 .H345 2001)
The five volumes in this set cover, respetively: surface and interface phenomena; analysis and properties; nanostructured materials, micelles and colloids; thin solid films and layers; and biomaterials. Each volume ahs an index, but there is no cumulative index for the set.

Handbook of Thin Film Materials (SEL Ref Area TA 408.9 .T45 H35 2002)
The five volumes of this set aree divided by topic: Depostion and Processing; Characterization and Spectroscopy; Ferroelectric and Dielectric Thin Films; Semiconductor and Superconductor Thin Films; and Nanomaterials and Magnetic Thin Films. The articles are substantial and well-referenced.

Inorganic Materials Chemistry Desk Reference, 2nd e. (SEL Ref Area TP 200 .S26 2005)
Though slender, this one volume handbook is rich with data on precursors, methods of synthesis and fabrication and physical properties of inorganic materials, including structural and electronic ceramics.

MRS Proceedings LibraryUCSB Only (http://uclibs.org/PID/97288)
MRS Proceedings Library contains over 400 volumes from 1998 to the present, of sumposium proceedings from the Materials Research Society, the momst important professional group in materials science and engineering. Symposia cover the gamut of topics of interest to materials scientists.

SPIE Digital LibraryUCSB Only (http://www.spiedl.org)
The SPIE Digital Library includes almost 5500 volumes of proceedings from conferences of the society dealing braodly with optics and photonics. Many of the conference symposia deal with topics of interest to the materials scientist, such as advanced photolithography, high temperature superconductors and photonic materials.

 

Locating Articles

World Ceramics Abstracts UCSB Only (http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=ucsb&access=ucsb408&cat=wca&adv=1)
World Ceramics Abstracts is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics, from 1975 to the present. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. The database uses a subject heading list specifically oriented to ceramics topics.

Compendex PlusUCSB Only (http://uclibs.org/PID/1537)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering abstracts database in the world. Covers over 2,600 international engineering journals, technical reports and conference proceedings. Each year more than 200,000 new abstracts are added. Compendex covers 1884 to present, with the UCe-Links feature for linking to full text journal articles.

INSPEC UCSB Only <(http://uclibs.org/PID/22771) 
INSPEC covers physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology, including journals, conference papers and more. Most citations include abstracts. It is extremely useful for electronic materials, superconductors, and condensed matter physics and physics of materials.

SciFinder UCSB Only: SciFinder is an end-user oriented interface to the Chemical Abstracts, REGISTRY and CASREACT databases. Its databases cover the entire literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, conference papers and more, from 1900 to the present, by far the most comprehensive database of the chemical literature and is invaluable for the chemistry of materials. It may be searched by author, topic, corporate source, chemical name, molecular formula or chemical structure (including substructures and reaction diagrams). SciFinder Web is a web interface for the databases, which requires users to register using a current ucsb.edu e-mail address. SciFinder Scholar is a client-server system, which requires installation of the SFS client on the terminal where you wish to use it. The client may be downloaded and installed on any Windows or Mac computer on the UCSB campus. In the UCSB Davidson Library, SciFinder is available at selected workstations in the Sciences-Engineering Library (2nd floor North, Davidson Library).

Web of Science (Science Citation Index)UCSB Only (http://isiknowledge.com/wos/)
The Science Citation Index database in Web of Science covers key journals in all areas of science and engineering. It covers 1945-present, and for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also has searchable cited references, so you can track an older reference on, for instance, fluidized bed reactors, forward to more recent applications or to other related records. It has the UCe-Links feature for linking to full text journal articles.

Business Source Complete UCSB Only (http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth)
Business Source Complete is an excellent source for the business side of the materials industries. It offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly business journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. The database includes searchable cited references for 1,205 journals. It also contains full text for 7,418 periodicals and other sources, including: Peer-Reviewed Journals, Trade Journals & General Business Magazines, Monographs, Country Economic Reports, Industry Reports & Yearbooks, Market Research Reports.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageChuck Huber
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait