Conference Papers and Proceedings Copyright and Fair Use Patents Standards 
Professional Societies
BiotechnologyGeneral Chemical Engineering
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Chemical Engineering  Tags: chemical_engineering industrial_chemistry chemical_technology  

Subject guide for chemical engineering
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/chemeng  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Chemical Engineering             Print Page
  
 

Locating Books

To locate books on your topic, use the PEGASUS Online Catalog (http://pegasus.library.ucsb.edu/F/). As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. You are unlikely to find references to a single compound, but may be able to find useful books on classes of compounds. If the more specific subject fails, browse the subject heading "Chemical Engineering" itself. Call number ranges for chemical engineering include:

  • TP 145 - General works
  • TP 151 - Handbooks, tables, etc.
  • TP 156 - Chemical processes
  • TP 159 - Apparatus
  • TP 161-168 - Lab manuals and textbooks
  • TP 213-245 - Inorganic industrial chemicals
  • TP 247-249 - Organic industrial chemicals
 

General Reference Works

Acesss Engineering UCSB only (http://www.accessengineeringlibrary.com/html/viewbooks_noninst.asp?catid=B)
McGraw Hill's Acess Engineerning is a collection of handbooks spanning the engineering disciplines, available online as PDF chapters. Included is the current edition of Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook (see below.)

Chemical Process and Design Handbook (SEL Ref TP 155.7 .S63 2002)
This one volume handbook is organized in two sections: Basic Reaction Types (19 types used in organic chemical synthesis) and Manufacture of Chemicals (over 700 specific chemicals, including commodity organics and inorganics, and some drugs.)

Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design (SEL Ref TP 9 .E66)
This 68 volume encyclopedia, commonly referred to as "McKetta's" after editor John J. McKetta, was begun in 1976 and completed in 1999. It contains excellent detailed articles on chemical processes and industrial chemistry. Articles tend to be briefer and more specific than those in Kirk-Othmer or Ullman's (see below).

ENGnetBASEUCSB only (http://www.engnetbase.com/)
While most of the over 1000 handbooks contained in ENGnetBASE deal with electrical and mechanical engineering, there are a few on chemical engineering-related topics (e.g. nanotechnology, biomedical engineering.) They are full-text searchable, or browsable by table of contents.

ENVIROnetBASEUCSB only (http://www.environetbase.com/)
ENVIROnetBASE contains over 400 handbooks, including such areas of interest to chemical engineers as laboratory safety, air pollution control, waste management, sampling and measurement, etc. They are full-text searchable, or browsable by table of contents.

FOODnetBASEUCSB only (http://www.foodnetbase.com/)
FOODnetBASE contains over 320 handbooks, including such areas of interest to chemical engineers as food additives, food engineering and processing, etc. They are full-text searchable, or browsable by table of contents.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyUCSB only (http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/kirk/)
The Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a wide-ranging, authoritative source of information on chemicals and chemical processes, with detailed references for each article. The online version includes the current Fourth Edition, with some articles updated each year. The print version is available in the SEL Reference Area at TP 9 .E685 1991.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 7th ed. (SEL Ref Desk TP 151 .P45 1997)
Perry's is the classic one-volume handbook of basic information and tables for key areas of chemical engineering.

Process Engineering Equipment Handbook (SEL Ref TP 157 .S658 2002)
A one-volume encyclopedia of process engineering information, focusing on equipment.

Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry, 10th ed. (SEL Ref TP 145 .R53 2003)
This one-volume work contains several chapters on general aspects of the chemical industry (economic aspects, pollution control, statistical methods, safety and emergency preparedness), followed by 25 chapters on specific chemical industries (e.g. wood products, sulfur products, petroleum, pharmaceuticals, etc.).

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial ChemistryUCSB only (http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/ueic/index.html)
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry, including pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, plymers and plastics, advanced materials, environmental protection and analytical methods. The online version is the 6th Edition; the 5th Edition is available in print in the SEL Reference Area at TP 9 .U5 1985.

 

Locating Articles

SciFinder: UCSB only SciFinder is an end-user oriented interface to the Chemical Abstracts, REGISTRY and CASREACT databases. Its databases cover the entire literature of chemistry and chemical engineering, including journal articles, patents, conference papers and more, from 1900 to the present, by far the most comprehensive database of the chemical literature. It may be searched by author, topic, corporate source, chemical name, molecular formula or chemical structure (including substructures and reaction diagrams). SciFinder Web is a web interface for the databases, which requires users to register using a current ucsb.edu e-mail address. SciFinder Scholar is a client-server system, which requires installation of the SFS client on the terminal where you wish to use it. The client may be downloaded and installed on any Windows or Mac computer on the UCSB campus. In the UCSB Davidson Library, SciFinder is available at selected workstations in the Sciences-Engineering Library (2nd floor North, Davidson Library).

Business Source Complete UCSB only Business Source Complete is an excellent source for the business side of the chemical industry, including prices, markets and new products. It offers indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly business journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. The database includes searchable cited references for 1,205 journals. It also contains full text for 7,418 periodicals and other sources, including: Peer-Reviewed Journals, Trade Journals & General Business Magazines, Monographs, Country Economic Reports, Industry Reports & Yearbooks, Market Research Reports.

Compendex Plus UCSB only Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering abstracts database in the world. Covers over 2,600 international engineering journals, technical reports and conference proceedings. Each year more than 200,000 new abstracts are added. Compendex covers 1884 to present, with the UCe-Links feature for linking to full text journal articles.

Web of Science (Science Citation Index) UCSB only The Science Citation Index database in Web of Science covers key journals in all areas of science and engineering. It covers 1945-present, and for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also has searchable cited references, so you can track an older reference on, for instance, fluidized bed reactors, forward to more recent applications or to other related records. It has the UCe-Links feature for linking to full text journal articles.


 

Librarian

Profile ImageChuck Huber
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait