Locating Books
To locate books on your topic, use the PEGASUS Online Catalog (http://pegasus.library.ucsb.edu/F/). As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. If the more specific subject fails, browse the subject heading "Biotechnology" itself. Call number ranges for biotechnologyinclude:
- TP 156 .F4 -- Industrial fermentation
- TP 248.2-248.3 - Biotechnology
- TP 374 - Food technology
General Reference Works
Biochemical Engineering and Biotechnology Handbook, 2nd ed. (SEL Ref Area TP 248.3 .A853 1991
This handbook is a rich source of numerical data, tables and graphs useful to the biochemical engineer or biotechnologist.
Comprehensive Biotechnology (SEL Ref Area TP 248.2 .C66 1985)
This multi-volume set contains review articles by experts in the field on all areas of biotechnology. Though becoming a
little dated in some aspects, it is still an excellent resource with extensive references.
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Ethics of New Technologies (SEL Ref Area TP 248.23 .C664 2001
There is only one chapter here on the ethics of biotechnology as such, but other chapters treat related areas of interest
such as "novel foods", and general science and engineering ethics. Articles vary in their treatment from the purely
philosophical to legalistic.
Current Protocols
(http://www.mrw2.interscience.wiley.com/cponline/tserver.dll)
This publication is a collection of standard research methods in
the biosciences. They include: step-by-step protocols with annotations
that alert you to special considerations,tips, and optional procedures;
alternate and support protocols to accommodate different equipment and
desired results; materials lists for each protocol; detailed recipes
for reagents, solutions, and culture media; expert commentaries with
troubleshooting instructions, and planning considerations; tables and
figures to clarify complex procedures; and appendices filled with
useful reference material. The online version includes Current
Protocols in Bioinfomatics (UCSB print: QH 441.2 .C876 2002)m Cell
Biology, Cytometry, Human Genetics, Immunology (UCSB print: QR 183 .C87
1994), Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Molecular Biology (UCSB print: QH
506 .C87 1994), Neuroscience, Nucleic Acid Chemistry, Pharmacology,
Protein Science, and Toxicology. While the series does not go into
industrial-scale processes, this is a rich resource for methosds for
genetic manipulation and culturing microorganisms. The protocols are
browsable by Table of contents or keyword searchable with stemming
(truncation) and a subject thesaurus.
Encyclopedia of Cell Technology (SEL Ref Area TP 248.27 .A53 E53 2000
This two volume work focuses tightly on cell biotechnology, with detailed review articles and extensive references.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design (SEL Ref Area TP 9 .E66)
This 68 volume encyclopedia, commonly referred to as "McKetta's" after editor John J. McKetta, was begun in 1976
and completed in 1999. It contains excellent detailed articles on biochemical engineering and industrial biochemistry.
Articles tend to be briefer and more specific than those in Kirk-Othmer or Ullman's (see below).
Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology (SEL Ref Area TP 248.16 .M87 2000
This two volume encyclopedia contains detailed articles over the whole range of biotechnolgical and genetic engineering
issues. As the title implies, it explores both legal and philosophical facets. The articles are well written, with
extensive references.
ENGnetBASE
(http://www.engnetbase.com/)
While most of the over 1000 handbooks contained in ENGnetBASE deal with electrical and mechanical engineering,
there are a few on biotechnology-related topics (e.g. nanotechnology, biomedical engineering.)
They are full-text searchable, or browsable by table of contents.
FOODnetBASE
(http://www.foodnetbase.com/)
FOODnetBASE contains over 320 handbooks, including volumes on food biotechnology.
They are full-text searchable, or browsable by table of contents.
Handbook of Plant Biotechnology (SEL Ref Area TP 248.27 .P55 C545 2004
An excellent two volume handbook on the subject, including plant genetic engineering, commercialization
and risk assessment. All articles are well-referenced.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
(http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/kirk/)
The Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a wide-ranging,
authoritative source of information on chemicals and chemical
processes, with detailed references for each article. The online
version includes the current Fourth Edition, with some articles updated
each year. The print version is available in the SEL Reference Area at
TP 9 .E685 1991.
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology: A Comprehensive Desk Reference (SEL Ref Area QH 506 .M66155 1996
A convenient one volume handbook of concepts and techniques in molecular biology and biotechnolgy. For further refernces
in molecular biology which may be of use to the biotechnologist, browse the nearby call number range.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
(http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/ueic/index.html)
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a
state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in
all areas of industrial chemistry, including pharmaceuticals,
biotechnology, plymers and plastics, advanced materials, environmental
protection and analytical methods. The online version is the 6th
Edition; the 5th Edition is available in print in the SEL Reference
Area at TP 9 .U5 1985.
Locating Articles
Biological Sciences Database
:
This database, from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, is strong in biotechnology and bioengineering, and covers 1982 to present.
BIOSIS
The BIOSIS database indexes the biological sciences literature, including much biotechnology. BIOSIS online covers 1925-present.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is an excellent source for the business
side of biotechnology, including markets and new products. It offers
indexing and abstracts for the 350 most important scholarly business
journals back to 1965 or the first published issue. The database
includes searchable cited references for 1,205 journals. It also
contains full text for 7,418 periodicals and other sources, including:
Peer-Reviewed Journals, Trade Journals & General Business
Magazines, Monographs, Country Economic Reports, Industry Reports &
Yearbooks, Market Research Reports.
Compendex Plus
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering
abstracts database in the world. Covers over 2,600 international
engineering journals, technical reports and conference proceedings.
Each year more than 200,000 new abstracts are added. Compendex covers
1884 to present, with the UCe-Links feature for linking to full text
journal articles.
SciFinder
:
SciFinder is an end-user oriented interface to the Chemical Abstracts,
REGISTRY and CASREACT databases. Its databases cover the entire
literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents,
conference papers and more, from 1900 to the present, by far the most
comprehensive database of the chemical literature. It may be searched
by author, topic, corporate source, chemical name, molecular formula or
chemical structure (including substructures and reaction diagrams).
SciFinder Web is a web interface for the databases, which requires
users to register using a current ucsb.edu e-mail
address. SciFinder Scholar is a client-server system, which requires
installation of the SFS client on the terminal where you wish to use
it. The client may be downloaded and installed on any Windows or Mac
computer on the UCSB campus. In the UCSB Davidson Library, SciFinder is
available at selected workstations in the Sciences-Engineering Library
(2nd floor North, Davidson Library).
Web of Science (Science Citation Index)
The
Science Citation Index database in Web of Science covers key journals
in all areas of science and engineering. It covers 1945-present, and
for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also has searchable cited
references, so you can track an older reference on, for instance,
fluidized bed reactors, forward to more recent applications or to other
related records. It has the UCe-Links feature for linking to full text
journal articles.
Librarian |
Chuck HuberDavidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait