Chinese Films A-HChinese Films I-RChinese Films S-ZDatabasesDuxiu 读秀 E-BooksNewspapers & DissertationsReference ToolsResources by SubjectsTaiwanese Films
DatabasesE-BooksEast Asian 186 General Information about East Asian CountriesNewspapers & DissertationsPrimary SourcesReference ToolsResources by Subjects
DatabasesDoing Research in Japan E-BooksJapan 211 Japanese Films A-HJapanese Films I-RJapanese Films S-ZNewspapersReference SourcesResources by Subjects
DatabasesKorean FilmsNewspapersResources by Subjects
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

East Asian Studies 

Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/eastasia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Chinese Films S-Z             Print Page
  
 

Index

[ # | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z ]

 

Chinese Films O-Z

O

•  Ou de jia ju yue wu guang: Liang shi = 偶得佳句月无光: 粮食 = Goods
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 102
Television Program; 1 DVD, 59 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Liang shi".

•  Ou ran: Bing shang jie mei = 偶然: 冰上姐妹 = Girls on the ice
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 184
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Bing shang jie mei".


top

 

P

 

•  The Pacific century
Media CollectionHC460.5.P23 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Marc Levin
Outlines the economic struggle between East Asian countries and the United States in the latter twentieth century.

•  Peking opera actors (Taiwan): classical Chinese theatre: martial arts & acrobatic sequences
Media Collection PN2871 .P44 1980z
Opera; 1 VHS, 11 minutes; 1980.
Dir. John D. Mitchell.
The martial arts and sword play of the traditional Peking opera are shown and displayed with detailed English commentary.

•  The peony pavilion: a Kunju opera = Mudan ting
Media Collection M1805.3 .M83 2001
Performance/Documentary; 2 VHS, 176 minutes; 2001
Dir. Chen Shi-Zheng
In Chinese with English subtitles and narration.
See also: "A Chinese cracker: the making of the Peony pavilion, in Shanghai, New York, and Paris"
A Chinese opera that is a romantic and poetic love story about a woman who returns from the dead to reunite with her true love. This is an abridged version of the epic masterpiece. Combines acting, singing, dance, aerobatics, stilt-walking, puppetry, recitation, pagentry and martial arts.

•  Performing arts of China:the opera
Media CollectionML1751.C4P47 2003
Documentary; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 1983
Dir. Deben Bhattacharya
Narration in English.
An overview of traditional Chinese opera, a complex mixture of music, mime, acrobatics and acting, including a discussion of some orchestral instruments.

•  Pi ying xi: Zhang Decheng yi shi = 皮影戲 : 張德成藝師
East Asian Collection PN1979.S5 P49 1997
Documentary; 1 VCD, 38 minutes; 1997?

•  Ping yuan you ji dui = 平原游擊隊 = Guerrillas sweep the plain
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 35
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 89 minutes; 1955.
Dir. Su Li.
A story about a band of guerrillas fighting Japanese in central China during the Japanese invasion of China in 1943.

•  Public & private realms in rural Wenzhou, China:an ethnographic video
Media Collection HC428.W46P83 1994
Documentary; 1 VHS, 52 minutes; 1994
Dir. Mayfair Yang
In Chinese and English with English subtitles.
An overview of community life, economic and social aspects, and a description of some individual situations in Wenzhou, China.

•  Puning xing guan de yi ye = 普宁行馆的一夜
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 78
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Lin Zexu".


top


 

 Q

 

•  Qi xi = 奇袭 = Raid
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 29
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 75 minutes; 1960.
Dir. Xu Youxin.
In Chinese with optional simplified or traditional Chinese subtitles or English subtitles.
在朝鲜战场上, 中国人民志愿军某部方连长, 率领一支侦察队, 接受了上级交给的深入敌后, 炸毀敌人一座公路桥--康平桥, 切断敌人退路的任务.

•  Qian li zou dan qi = 千里走单骑 = Riding alone for thousands of miles
Media Collection PN 1997.2 .Q53 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 2005
Dir. Zhang Yimou
In Chinese with Chinese and English subtitles.
A Japanese father travels to China  s Yunnan province in the place of his ailing son to film a famous folk-opera star.

•  Qiao = 橋 = Bridge
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 121
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 1949.
Dir. Wang Bin.
In Mandarin Chinese.
During the War of Liberation, factory workers repair a bridge over the Songhua River which has been destroyed by the KMT and become war heros.

•  Qiao jia da yuan = 喬家大院
Media Collection PN1992.77 .Q53 2005
TV Series; 16 DVDs; 2005
Dir. Hu Mei
In Mandarin.
Detailed summary in vernacular field only.

•  Qiao zhe liang kou zi : Li Shuangshuang =瞧这两口子 : 李双双
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 10
Television Program; 1 DVD, 47 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Li Shuangshuang".

•  Qing chun: Hong se niang zi jun = 青春: 红色娘子军 = The red detachment of women
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 188
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Hong se niang zi jun".

•  Qing chun zhi ge = 青春之歌 = Song of youth
Media Collection PN1997 .Q55 2003
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 166 minutes; 1959
Dir. Cui Wei & Chen Huai  ai
In Chinese with English subtitles.
On the eve of the September 18th incident, 1931, during which Japan seized China  s Shenyang and began its colonization of China, Lin Daojing runs away from home to escape a marriage arranged by her landlord parents. She goes to Beidaihe hoping to find a job. However, the grim realities of the old society fill her with despair. Lin throws herself into the sea to commit suicide but is rescued by Yu Yongze, a college student. Love follows and they are soon married. But as time passes, Lin finds out that her married life is no substitute for the "independence and freedom" she longs for. She meets Lu Jiahuan and under his influence plunges into the student movement against Japanese aggression. Her selfish husband does his best to keep her away from it. Lin is now aware of the irreconcilable ideological disparity existing between them and leaves him forever.

•  Qing chun zhi ge = 青春之歌 = Song of youth
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 155
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 158 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Cui Wei.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Lin runs away from home to escape an arranged marriage. On the verge of suicide, she is rescued by a young man whom she eventually marries. She chafes at the restrictions of married life, however, and when she meets Lu, a man involved in the student movement against the Japanese, she leaves her husband for a new life with him. Unfortunately, Lu is arrested ....

•  Qiu ge: Lie huo zhong yong sheng = 囚歌: 烈火中永生 = Eternity in flames
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 64
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Lie huo zhong yong sheng".

•  Qiu jue = 秋決 = Execution in autumn
Media Collection PN1997 .Q64 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Chinese with English subtitles.
The story is about the mind transformation of a death sentenced prisoner to face his death.

•  Qu nian yan hua te bie duo = 去年煙花特别多 = The longest summer
Media Collection PN1997.Q78 1998
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 128 minutes; 1998
Dir. Chen Guo
In Cantonese and Mandarin with simplified and traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
The sky of Hong Kong is particularly glamourous in 1997 as splendid fireworks spark a series of celebrations. However, for the Chinese members of the British Army, 1997 means a time of uncertainty and hadrship. Ga Yin is one of them. He chooses to join his brother, Ga Suen; in the underworld gang activities. Being caught in nightmares after nightmares, these disbanded soliders still have to fight their way through...

•  Qun ying hui = 群英会
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 111
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 1957.
 Dir. Cen Fan.
Sung in Mandarin Chinese with simplified Chinese subtitles.
该京剧是小说《三国演义》中的一段,描写了历史上著名的"赤壁之战".在这次战斗中,刘备,刘权合力拒曹,歼灭曹操83万人马,奠定了三国鼎立的局面.


top

 

R

 

•  The rape of Nanking: Japanese atrocities in Asia = 南京大屠杀 : 日本在亚洲犯下的滔天罪行
Media Collection DS796.N2 R37 2005 [Limited 7-day]
DVD. 1 videodisc (77 min.) : sd., b&w, col. ; 4 3/4 in
Dir. Rhawn Joseph
The documentary begins with a brief historical overview of ancient China and Nanking, and then Japan and the sun-cult of Shinto, at the beginning of the 20th Century. The second third of the film depicts the Japanese invasion of China, Shanghai, and then the invasion of Nanking, and in the final third, the Rape of Nanking. Includes photographs and film-footage never before seen in America--pictures taken by the Japanese and which are so horrible that it staggers the imagination.--Rapeofnanking.info website

•  The Rassias method of teaching languages
Media CollectionPB35.R235 2000
Instructional/Lecture; 1 VHS, 52 minutes; 1991
Dir. David Parry
Dartmouth College Professor John Rassias teaches language-teachers how to make their students want to learn. Examples from a language learning-motivation workshop conducted in 1987 at Beijing University, China, complement comments from students, the Dean, and John Rassias himself, on the value of his methods.

•  Ren dao zhong nian
Media CollectionPN1997.J394 1983
Feature Film/Instructional; 1 VHS, 110 minutes; 1981
Dir. Wang Qimin & Sun Yu
In Chinese.
Story of a middle-aged female oculist who suffers a heart attack and reassesses her past failures and victories.

•  Ren gui qing = 人鬼情 = Woman demon human
Media Collection PN1997 .R446 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 115 minutes; 1987
Dir. Shuqin Huang
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
Qui Yun is a famous "Kunqu" Chinese opera actress who specializes in male roles, and attains her greatest success as Zhong Kui in "Zhong Kui Marries Off His Sister." Her career successes do not bring her happiness in her personal life. More and more she comes to rely on the character of Zhong Kui to keep her going.

•  Ren min gong ce = 人民公廁 =Public toilet
Media Collection PN1997 .R458 2002 [Limited 7-day]
DVD, all regions, widescreen, Dolby Digital, 5.1 surround
1 videodisc (106 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
Dir. Fruit Chan
Primarily in Mandarin, with some Korean, Cantonese, or English dialog; optional subtitles in traditional or simplified Chinese, and English
Dong Dong is the God of Toilets. He was born in a toilet, lives near a toilet, and understands life through toilets. He uses the public toilet to understand the culture of his Chinese, Japanese, Italian, and Somali friends, as well as other cultures around the world

•  Ren wu : Qi xi = 任务: 奇袭 = Surprise attack
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 30
Television Program; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Qi xi".

•  Ren xiao yao = 任逍遙
Media Collection PN1997.2 .R46 2004 [Limited 7-day]
DVD 1 videodisc (113 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
Dir. Jia Zhangke
In Mandarin and Shanxi dialect with optional traditional Chinese or English subtitles
Follows two 19-year-olds, Bin Bin and Xiao Ji, as they wander the streets and hang out in pool halls, dance clubs and karaoke bars looking for excitement. Sparks fly when Xiao Ji meets a beautiful dancer and Bin Bin begins a romantic liaison with a young student. After watching American crime movies, the temptation for easy money becomes too much and in a final attempt to break free, the two embark on a half-baked plan to rob a bank

•  Ruan Lingyu = 阮玲玉 = Center stage
Media Collection PN1997 .R83 1998
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 121 minutes; 1991
Dir. Stanley Kwan
In Cantonese, Shanghainese and Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
It recounts Ruan Lingyu  s life both public and private in the years immediately leading up to her premature death. She had quite number of famous performances for Shanghai  s Lianhua studios, including New Woman (1934) and Goddess (1934). Unable to bear the gossip any longer, Ruan committed suicide at the age of twenty five.

 

top

 

 

S

 

•  San guo yan yi = 三国演义
Media CollectionPN1992.77.S26 2003 in process
TV Series; 28 DVDs; 200-?
Dir. Wang Fulin
In Mandarin.
Television adaptation of the classic Chinese epic about political rivalries during the Three Kingdoms period.

•  Sandpainting sacred art of Tibetan Buddhism
Arts Library, Music Service Desk N8193.3.T3 S2 1991 [In-library Use]
VHS 1 videocassette (VHS) (30 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in
Gives opportunity to watch Tibetan monks of the Namgyal Monastery perform this unique art form. They will create the mandala of Kalachakra, the most sacred of Buddhist sandpaintings

•  Sanmao liu lang ji = 三毛流浪記
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 123
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 71 minutes; 1949.
Dir. Zhao Ming.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Sanmao, a popular comic strip character created in the 1940s by artist Chang Leping, is brought to life in this film set in post World War II Shanghai. The orphaned Sanmao, having endured starvation and abuse, attempted to earn a living pushing rickshaws and landed among a gang of petty thieves. In an act of desperation, he sold himself to a rich woman who needed an heir in order to remain in her husband’s good favor. Despite the luxury that his new life offers, the demands of being a ’young master’ made Sanmao miserable. He returned to the hardship of the streets after his vagrant friends attended a party held in his honor and created havoc among the pretentious guests. The film ended with the liberation of Shanghai and the promise of a new life for the orphans.

•  Sanmao san bu: Sanmao liu lang ji = 三毛三步: 三毛流浪记 = Winter of three hairs
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 124
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Sanmao liu lang ji".

•  Sanxia hao ren=三峡好人
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S254 2006 [Limited 7-day]
DVD, region 6; Dolby digital, 5.1 surround
1 videodisc (108 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
Dir. Jia Zhangke
In Chinese with optional simplified Chinese or English subtitles
Coalminer Han Sanming comes from Fengyang in Shanxi to the Three Gorges town Fengjie to look for his ex-wife whom he has not seen for 16 years. The couple meet on the bank of the Yangtze River and vow to remarry. Nurse Shen Hong also comes to Fengjie from Taiyuan in Shanxi to look for her husband who has not been home for two years. The couple embrace each other and waltz under the imposing Three Gorges dam, but feel they are so apart and decide to have a divorce. The old township has been submerged, while a new town has to be built. Life persists in the Three Gorges - what should be taken up is taken up, what should be cast off is cast off

•  Satya:a prayer for the enemy
Media Collection BQ6160.C62T53 1993
Documentary; 1 VHS, 28 minutes; 1993?
Dir. Ellen Bruno
In Tibetan with English subtitles and narration.
Since the Chinese invasion of Tibet in 1950, more than one million people have been tortured, executed or starved to death for their role in demonstrations against the Chinese occupation. This film focuses on personal testimonies of Tibetan Buddhist nuns who have taken the lead in this resistance by staging nonviolent demonstrations for religious freedom and independence.

•  Sentimental imperialists
Media Collection DS518.8.S36 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Marc Levin
Shows how U.S. missionairies, politics, culture and business attempted to dominate the Philippines and China in the 19th and 20th centuries.

•  Seoul train = Sŏul kichʻa
Media Collection DS932 .S46 2006
Documentary; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Jim Butterworth.
Soundtrack in English (Stereo), Korean & Mandarin Chinese, with optional English, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Serbian, and Spanish subtitles.
"Today, there are an estimated 250,000 North Korean refugees living underground in China. They escaped a food crisis and other persecutions at home that have claimed the lives of approximately 3 million in the past 10 years. The Chinese Government -- in direct violation of international laws to which it’s a party -- systematically arrests and forcibly repatriates hundreds of these refugees each month. Defecting from North Korea is a capital offense, and repatriated refugees face human rights abuses ranging from concentration camps and torture to forced abortion and summary executions. For a lucky few refugees, however, there is hope. A group of multinational activists has taken it upon themselves to create an Underground Railroad. Via a network of safe houses and escape routes, the activists -- at great personal risk -- help the refugees on daring escapes to freedom over hundreds (and sometimes thousands) of miles of Chinese territory"--Producers.

•  Sewing woman
Media Collection F870.C5S495 1982
Docudrama; 1 VHS, 14 minutes; 1982
Dir. Arthur Dong
In English and Chinese with English subtitles.
A fictionalized documentary, telling the story of one woman  s determination to survive, from war-torn China to a new life in America. The film is based on a collection of oral histories and the life of the filmmaker  s mother, Zem Ping Dong, an immigrant who worked in America  s garment factories for over 30 years.

•  Shan jian ling xiang ma bang lai =山間鈴響馬幫來 = The horse caravan
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 97
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 86 minutes; 1954.
Dir. Wang Weiyi.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The PRC army works together with the local people to rout out remaining pockets of Nationalist resistance.

•  Shao n xiao yu = 少女小漁 =Siao Yu
Media Collection PN1997.S5 1995
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 105 minutes; 1995
Dir. Zhang Aijia
In Chinese and English with Chinese and English subtitles.
Xiao Yu is a Chinese girl who works illegally in New York. Her only goal is to stay with her boyfriend in New York. Her boyfriend arranged her to marry with an old man on paper to get green card. What will Xiao Yu do?

•  Shanggan Ling =上甘嶺
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 139
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 124 minutes; 1956.
Dir. Sha Meng.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Story of a famous battle fought in the Korean war between the Chinese volunteer army and the UN army led by the US.

•  Shanghai Express
[Missing]Media Collection PN1997 .S394 1993
VHS; Hi-fi, Dolby processed ; digitally recorded
1 videocassette (82 min.) : sd., b&w ; 1/2 in
Closed-captioned
After being jilted by Clive Brook, Marlene Dietrich becomes known as Shanghai Lily, a notorious adventuress. During the Chinese civil war, the couple meet on a train which is attacked by Chinese rebels. Dietrich becomes involved with a rebel leader in order to save the man she still loves

•  Shanghai ji shi = 上海纪事 = Once upon a time in Shanghai
Media Collection PN1997 .S4324 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 1998
Dir. Peng Xiaolian
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
A complex story of two lovers caught in the political turmoil of Shanghai in 1948, when corruption and inflation paralyzed that city. A Chinese journalist living in America returns to Shanghai to sell his family business and take his fiancee back with him to safety. But his fiancee refuses to sell the business and insists on remaining to help build a new China.

•  Shen fen: Yong bu xiao shi de dian bo = 身份: 永不消逝的电波 = The Unfailing radio wave
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 46
Television Program; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Yong bu xiao shi de dian bo".

•  Shen mi de lü ban = 神秘的旅伴 = Mysterious companions
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 65
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 87 minutes; 1955.
Dir. Lin Nong.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Two border patrol members of a Chinese Liberation Army unit guarding the southwest border follow what is ostensibly a trading caravan. They discover that the two traders are actually spies smuggling arms and spy equipment across the border to enemies.

•  Shen nü= 神女 = The goddess
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 193
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 73 minutes; 1934.
Dir. Wu Yonggang.
Silent film with traditional Chinese intertitles.
A young woman in 1930s Shanghai turns to prostitution to support her son.

•  Shen nu = 神女
Media Collection PN1997 .S4716 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 74 minutes; 1934
Dir. Wu Yonggang
Silent film with Chinese and English intertitles.
A sad story of a woman, as a mother and a prostitute in Shanghai in earlier 1930s.

•  Shi de xin shang: jie shao zhu shu zui gu de "shi" shuo = 詩的欣賞 : 介紹竹書最古的《詩》說
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003 v.2
Lecture; 2 VCDs, 95 minutes; 2003
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
A talk by Prof. Rao Zongyi on some recent discoveries on Chu documents writing on bamboo pieces about Shi jing. Also on the role of poetry in ancient Chinese society.

•  Shi ji Song Meiling = 世紀宋美齡 = Mme. Chiang Kai-shek : a legend across three centuries
Media Collection DS777.488.C515 S54 2003
Documentary; 1 DVD, 165 minutes; 2003
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.

•  Shi ji xing guo: shao shuai Zhang Xueliang chuan qi = 世纪行過 : 少帥張學良傳奇
Media CollectionDS777.488.C458S45 2001
TV Series; 5 VCDs, 240 minutes; 2001
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
This is the first documentary film of General Zhang Xueliang and it contains the first-hand materials of modern Chinese history in the 20th century.

•  Shi jie=世界= The World
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S476 2005 [Limited 7-day]
DVD, NTSC, region 1, widescreen presentation
1 videodisc (139 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
In Mandarin Chinese and Shanxi dialect with optional English subtitles
Looks at the loves, friendships and desperate dreams of the twenty-somethings from China’s remote provinces who come to live and work in Beijing’s World Park, an amusement park featuring lavish shows and scaled-down replicas of world landmarks

•  Shi qi sui de dan che = 十七歲的單車 = Beijing bicycle
Media Collection PN1997 .S47245 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 2000
Dir. Wang Xiaoshuai
In Chinese with Korean, Chinese and English subtitles.
Just as Guai, a bicycle messenger, makes his final payment for the silver mountain bike loaned by his company, he finds it stolen. After endless searching, Guai discovers his bicycle is now in the hands of Jian who bought the bicycle with stolen money. Though Guai and Jian finally work out a deal, they find themselves involved in a series of unforgetable events.

•  Shi shui nian hua : Lin jia pu zi =逝水年华: 林家鋪子 = The Lin family’s shop
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 154
Television Program; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Lin jia pu zi".

•  Shi yi hao an jian: Ji jing de shan lin = 十一号案件: 寂静的山林 = Silent forest
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 68
Television Program; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ji jing de shan lin".
•  Shi zi jie tou= 十字街頭 = Juncture
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 105
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 1937.
Dir. Shen Xiling.
In Mandarin Chinese with English subtitle.
A story of four unemployed young men’s life in the 1930s’ Shanghai, China, and their romance.

•  Shoot for the contents
Media Collection DS779.23 .S54 2006
Motion Picture; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1991.
Dir. Trinh T. Minh-Ha.
In English and Mandarin with English voice over.
Reflecting on Mao’s famous saying, "Let a hundred flowers blossom and a hundred schools of thought contend," this film explores the maze of allegorical naming and storytelling in China and attempts to realize on screen the shifts of interpretation in contemporary Chinese culture and politics. Ponders questions of power and change, politics and culture, as refracted by the events in Tienanmen Square. The film layers Chinese popular songs and classical music, the sayings of Mao and Confucius, women’s voices and the words of artists, philosophers and other cultural workers. Also discusses the Chinese film industry and censorship.

•  Shou ji = 手機 = Cell phone
Media Collection PN1997 .S478 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 2003
Dir. Xiaogang Feng
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Popular TV host Yan Shouyi (Ge You) has it all: a great job, a loyal wife and a gorgeous young lover. He depends on his cell phone to keep his world organized. His life starts unraveling when he forgets his cell phone at home and his wife answers a call from his lover. His phone, once his most trusted accessory, betrays him and sends him deeper and deeper in a world of deception and lies.

•  Shuang tong = 雙瞳 = Double Vision
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S483 2002 [Limited 7-day]
DVD, region 3 , Dolby processed, widescreen
1 videodisc (110 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
In Chinese with optional Chinese, English, Korean, and Thai subtitles
The Taiwanese government is forced to enlist the help of an American FBI agent. He is teamed with a troubled local cop and together they must do the impossible. Their journey will lead them into Taiwan’s darkest corners and to an ancient cult in search of immotality." -- Container

•  Si chou zhi lu = 丝绸之路
Media Collection DS793.N6 S43 1999
TV Series; 10 VCDs, 600 minutes; 1999
Dir. Tu Guobi & Lingmu Zhao
In Mandarin.
Documentary television program of the legendary Silk Road, the ancient trade route which made possible the flow of rare goods, art and religious beliefs between ancient Rome and the mysterious East. Discovers the unique cultures and witnesses the scenery of the world  s most inaccessible regions.

•  Sihuzi: Dong Cunrui = 四虎子: 董存瑞
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 134
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Dong Cunrui".

•  The silk road
Media Collection DS33.1 .S555 1990
6 VHS, 55 minutes each; 1990.
A panoramic tour examining the world’s most historic and inaccessible locations, Silk Road escorts the viewer on the ancient path travelled by Marco Polo, linking the riches of China with the European markets of the Middle Ages.

•  The silk road. [II]
Media Collection DS33.1 S5554 1998
6 VHS, 150 minutes each; 1998.
Dir. Farouk A. Aziz.
A tour of the legendary Silk Road, the ancient trade route which made possible the flow of rare goods, art and religious beliefs between ancient Rome and the East. Discover the unique cultures and witness the scenery of the world’s most inaccessible regions.

•  Small happiness: women of a Chinese village
Media CollectionHQ1768.S563 1984
TV Series/Documentary; 1 VHS, 58 minutes; 1984
Dir. Carma Hinton
Some English dubbing.
A documentary which investigates the conditions of life for Chinese women today and in the past. Visits the village of Long Bow where inhabitants reveal the strides that have been made for women  s equality, despite the seeming oppression when observed from a Western viewpoint.

•  Song ci liang da zong: Su Shi yu Zhou Bangyan = 宋詞兩大宗 : 蘇軾與周邦彥
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003 v.4
Lecture; 2 VCDs, 121 minutes; 2003
Dir. Du Zuyi
In Cantonese with Chinese subtitles.
Prof. Luo Kanglie talks about Su Shi and Zhou Bangyan, two poets in Song dynasty.

•  Song jia huang chao = 宋家皇朝 = The Soong sisters
Media Collection PN1997 .S655 1999
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 144 minutes; 1997
Dir. Zhang Wanting
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
This story of the three American-educated sisters who married powerful men in early 20th-centruy China was produced in Hong Kong and Japan but made in mainland China.

•  Storm from the east
Media CollectionDS19.S823 1994
Documentary; 4 VHS, 200 minutes; 1993
Dir. Robert Marshall & Viviana Woodruff
Eight hundred years ago Europe awoke to a terrible army which suddenly appeared out of the eastern mists. Very little was known about it, and what was known was terrifying. This series traces the history of the Mongol empire from Genghis Khan, who united the Mongol tribes, to the fifth Great Khan, Kublai Khan, who was disappointed in his quest to unite the entire Chinese nation.

•  Su du: Te kuai lie che =速度: 特快列车 = The Special express
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 116
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Te kuai lie che".

•  Suzhou He = 苏州河
Media Collection PN1997 .S893 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 92 minutes; 2000
Dir. Lou Ye
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
Best actress award in Paries film festival. A misunderstanding between two lovers. The woman jump off the bridge into the Suzhou River. The young man was suspected of murder.



top


 

T

 

•  Ta cong hai shang lai = 她從海上來 = The legend of Eilleen Chang
Media CollectionPN1992.77.T3 2003
TV Series; 4 DVDS; 2003?

•  Tao hua shan = 桃花扇 = The peach-blossom fan
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 189
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 115 minutes; 1963.
Dir. Sun Jing.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The dramatic masterpiece tells the story of the gross corruption and intrigues that led to the downfall of the Ming dynasty in 1644. The love affair between a young scholar and a courtesan of great strength of character is brilliantly integrated with the theme of the plot.

•  Talking history
Media Collection E184.O6T356 1984
Documentary; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1984
Dir. Spencer Nakasako
In Chinese, Japanese and English with English subtitles.
A film that combines oral histories and historical footage of Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Filipino, and Laotian women, featuring their unique immigration stories.

•  Te kuai lie che = 特快列车
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 115
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 85 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Zhao Xinshui.
In Mandarin Chinese.
To save an injured Liberation Army soldier, a regular train was converted into a special express so he could be rushed into hospital in Beijing. The staff on the train, passengers, and the officers and workers in the train stations along the railrod all cooperated to do their best to save the soldier’s life.

•  Through Chinese women's eyes
Media Collection HQ1770.S47T48 1997
Documentary; 1 VHS, 53 minutes; 1997
Dir. Mayfair Mei-Hui Yang
In English and Chinese with English voiceover.
A survey of the changes in women  s lives in Shanghai, China as Shanghai regains its former status as the commercial center of Asia.

•  Tian shang cao yuan = 天上 草原 = Heavenly grassland
Media Collection PN 1997.2 .T526 2003
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 110 minutes; 2002
Dir. Sai Fu & Lisi Mai
In Mandarin.
When Chaolu comes home from the prison, he brings back an orghan boy who becomes mute after his mother ran away. Chaolu finds out his wife and his brother become deeply affectionated toward each. Chaolu  s short, hot temper drives his brother away from home. Now Chaolu has to do his best to win the heart of his wife and respect from the mute boy who he considers his son.

•  Tian shang de lian ren = 天上的恋人 = Sky lover
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T527 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 93 minutes; 2003
Dir. Jiang Qinmin
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
This is a love story of young people in the beautiful countryside in Guangxi Province, China. The main male character is deaf. He is in love with a popular girl in the village. He met a mute girl in an accident where his father shot and blinded himself. The mute girl cared for his father and helped him to gain the girl’s love. However, the girl  s heart belongs to someone else.

•  Tian xia di yi = 天下第一 = All the king’s men
Media Collection PN1997 .T495 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1983.
Dir. Hu Jinquan.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Set during the final months of the Later Zhou dynasty (Five dynasties and the Ten kingdoms era, mid-10th century), an epileptic emperor lies dying in the capital, threatened by warring tribes at his borders, while his prime minister is secretly despatched to bring back the only doctor who can cure his illness.

•  Tian xia wu zei = 天下无贼 = A world without thieves
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T53 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 2004
Dir. Feng Xiaogang
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
Two professional thieves who find their consciences challenged. Long partners in love and crime, the two thieves meet a country farmer named Sha Gen in a train station ...

•  Tian xian: Zhi qu Hua shan = 天险: 智取华山 = Taking Huashan by strategy
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 130
Television Program; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Zhi qu Hua shan".

•  Tian ya hai jiao: Ma lu tian shi = 天涯海角: 马路天使 = Angels in the street
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 96
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ma lu tian shi".

•  Tian zhen de peng you: Wan jia deng huo = 天真的朋友: 万家灯火 = Lights of ten thousand homes
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 108
Television Program; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Wan jia deng huo".

•  Tie dao wei shi = 铁道卫士
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 33
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1960.
Dir. Fang Ying.
In Mandarin.
The area along the railroad is protected so supplies can get to Korea, where the Chinese help to fight again the United States who have sent spies to help destroy that area.

•  Tie dao you ji dui = 铁道游击队
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 3
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 1956.
Dir. Zhao Ming.
This story takes place around 1939 during the Japanese invasion of China where a group of guerrillas attack a train carrying enemy troops.

•  Tien-an-men shang tai yang sheng=Sunrise over Tiananmen Square
Media Collection DS779.29.W3675 A3 1998
VHS, Dolby surround
1 videocassette (29 min., 25 sec.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 1/2 in
Closed-captioned for the hearing impaired
A sumptuous blend of autobiography, cultural and political history by artist and filmmaker Shui-Bo Wang. It traces his roots and life journey -- his past as a Red Guard during the Cultural Revolution, his service in the military as a propaganda poster artist, and his teaching experiences in the 1980’s. A committed member of the Communist Party throughout, it was not until he was exposed to rural poverty that he began to question the effectiveness of Communism. Four months after the massacre in Tiananmen Square, Shui-Bo Wang left China for North America

•  Ting zhan yi hou = 停战以后
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 167
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 119 minutes; 1962.
Dir. Cheng Yin.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A story about the negotiation between the KMT Party and the Communist Party after armistice in 1946.

•  To taste a hundred herbs:gods, ancestors, and medicine in a Chinese village
Media CollectionRA771.7.T6 1986
Documentary; 1 VHS, 58 minutes; 1986
Dir. Carma Hinton
Focuses on a Catholic doctor in a small village in China and shows how he combines traditional Chinese and Western medical procedures in his practice. Tells how the complex decollectivization policies in China are changing life there.

•  The Toll of the sea
Media Collection PN1997 .T596 1996
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 41 minutes; 1922.
Dir. Chester M. Franklin.
Silent, with musical accompaniment and English intertitles.
Chinese folklore says that the sea demands payment for its gifts, illustrated in this bittersweet story of an Asian woman who befriends a American serviceman washed ashore. One of the first two-strip color films.

•  Tong nian: Zu guo de hua duo = 童年: 祖国的花朵 = Flowers of our motherland
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 136
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Zu guo de hua duo".

•  Trading women
Media CollectionHQ242.55.A5T73 2002
Documentary; 1 VHS, 77 minutes; 2002?
Dir. David A. Feingold
Documentary investigating the trade in minority girls and women from the hill tribes of Burma, Laos, and China into the Thai sex industry. The film also explores the related economic, political, and social factors and the international community  s response to the issue.

•  Turandot in the forbidden city of Beijing
Arts Library, Music Service Desk M1500.P8 T87 1998 [In-library Use]
VHS ; hi-fi, stereo
1 videocassette (126 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in
Sung in Italian, synopsis in English
Set in Peking, Princess Turandot will become the bride of the royal suitor who can successfully answer three riddles. Unsuccessful suitors lose not only the hand of the princess, but their heads as well

•  The Turandot project
Arts Library, Music Service Desk MT955 .T87 2002
Opera; 1 DVD, 84 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Allan Miller.
In English, Mandarin and Italian with English subtitles.
Follows the collaboration of conductor, Zubin Mehta and film director, Yimou Zhang in mounting the elaborate Florence production of Puccini’s opera, Turandot. Shows how the Florence production was then brought to China and produced in an original Ming dynasty setting.

•  The two coasts of China
Media CollectionHF3834.T96 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Christoper Ralling
Summary: Traces the history of China  s external contacts and trade showing the difference of outlook between its interior and coast.


top


 

 

Chinese Films W-Z

W

•  Wan jia deng huo = 萬家燈火= Myriads of lights
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 107
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 115 minutes; 1948.
Dir. Shen Fu.
In Mandarin Chinese with English subtitles.
Story of a family’s hardships in Shanghai. An office worker in a trading company has to support his own family as well as his brother’s family. The relationship between his wife and his mother has worsened after he lost his job.

•  Wan mei yi tian: Jin tian wo xiu xi = 完美一天: 今天我休息 = My day off
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 150
Television Program; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Jin tian wo xiu xi".

•  Wan zi qian hong zong shi chun = 万紫千红总是春
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 103
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 115 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Shen Fu.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Shanghai women join the production teams during the Great Leap Forward.

•  Wangjiao kamen = 旺角卡門 = As tears go by
Media Collection PN1997 .W335 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 1988
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In Cantonese with traditional and simplified Chinese characters, English, Japanese, Korean, Bahasa Malaysia, Bahasa Indonesia, Thai and Vietnamese subtitles.
Already stretched to breaking in a loyalty tug of war between Triad bosses and his loose cannon partner, Wah, a rising star in the Hong Kong underworld, finds himself saddled with beautiful, ailing country cousin Ngor. As an escalating test of wills with a stubborn debtor explodes into bloodshed and a mob turncoast instigates a ruthless police crackdown, Wah  s growing fascination with Ngor becomes his last chance for escape from a violent past and a debious future.

•  The way of T'ai chi ch'uan: gentle exercise for health & inner peace
Media CollectionGV504.W39 1986
Instructional; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1986
Prod. Lana G. Spraker
"An uplifting instructional video of Yang style t  ai chi ch  uan for beginning and advanced students of all ages. A complete exercise program from ancient China, gentle yet strengthening to the cardiovascular system, muscles, and joints.

•  Wei cheng = 圍城 = Fortress besieged
Media CollectionPN1992.77.W43 1999
TV Series; 4 DVDs, 500 minutes; 1990
Dir. Huang Shuqin
In Mandarin.
The story of a young man  s life and loves. The theme is: marriage and occupation are like a besieged fortress. Those inside yearn to escape from it and those outside yearn to get in.

•  Wei cheng: Bing lin cheng xia = 围城: 兵临城下 = City under siege
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 174
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Bing lin cheng xia".

•  Weishan hu shang : Tie dao you ji dui = 微山湖上 : 铁道游击队= Railway guerrillas
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 4
Television Program; 1 DVD, 49 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Tie dao you ji dui".

•  A window to China
Media Collection DS712.C463 1990
Documentary; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 199-?
Prod. Yang Riu
English with Chinese subtitles.
"China Reports" is the video magazine program produced by China Central Television, the only national TV station in China. The program covers the latest developments of and almost all aspects of Chinese society, such as economy, culture, education, science and technology, as well as people  s daily lives in China. This episode features a match-making agency solely devoted to youth over 30-years-old ; Mr. Huang Zungi, the famed expert in the facial makeup of the Beijing Opera ; Dr. Zhan, who combines Western and Oriental medical sciences to treat patients ; a guide to Ninbo, the fouth largest deep-water port in the world and its special economic zone ; a "Magic tree" growing in the Taoist monastery in Tsintao of Shangdong Province ; and a tea house in Beijing.

•  Wo de fu qin mu qin = 我的父親母親 = The road home
Media Collection PN1997 .W5948 1999
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 89 minutes; 1999
Dir. Zhang Yimou
In Chinese.
A love story between a young teacher and a beautiful country girl in a remote village in nothern China.

•  Wo de xiong di jie mei = 我的兄弟姐妹 = Roots and branches
Media Collection PN1997 .W5954 2004
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 88 minutes; 2002
Dir. Yu Zhong
In Chinese.
This was a story of four children whose parents died in a car accident during culture revolution. In order to survive, they were adopted by different families and they lived separate. It was not until many years later that they were reunited.

•  Wo de yi jia: Ge ming jia ting = 我的一家: 革命家庭 = A revolutionary family
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 180
Television Program; 1 DVD, 56 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about an early communist activist Tao Cheng. Her story was made into the movie "Ge ming jia ting".

•  Wo di: Yangcheng an shao = 卧底: 羊城暗哨 = Secret post in Canton
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 144
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Yangcheng an shao".

•  Wo men cun li de nian qing ren = 我們村里的年輕人
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 87
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Su Li.
In Mandarin Chinese with Arabic and French subtitles.
The story of the young men and women who build electric power in their hometown in rural China.

•  Wo men cun li de nian qing ren Xu ji= 我们村里的年轻人 续集 = Lads and girls in our village. Part II
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 89
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 1963.
Dir. Su Li.
In Mandarin Chinese with English subtitles.
A group of idealistic young people blast a watercourse through the mountains to bring water to their village in rural China.

•  Wo zhe yi bei zi = 我這一輩子
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 39
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 1950.
Dir. Shi Hui.
An old policeman reminisces about the miseries of his life in Peking before 1949, recalling the Revolution of 1911, the Sino-Japanese War and the Civil War.

•  The worlds of Mei Lanfang
Media CollectionPN2878.M4W67 2005
Documentary; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2005
Dir. Mei-Juin Chen
In Chinese and English with English narration and subtitles and Chinese subtitles.
Mei Lanfang (1894-1961), the man whose life story inspired Chen Kaige  s "Farewell My Concubine," was a Peking opera singer whose career spanned from the last imperial dynasty to Mao Tse-tung. Surving two Republics and foreign occupations, he is an icon of Chinese opera who specialized in portrayals of female roles, from delicate concubines to fierce warriors. Mei Lanfang  s extraordinary career brought him praise and attention from luminaries such as Mary Pickford, Douglas Fairbanks, Paul Robeson, Bernard Shaw, and Sergei Eisenstein. With precious archival footage never seen outside of the Chinese Film Archive, this documentary offers a rare and fascinating look at a leading cultural figure of China. His rich life provides viewers an overview of Chinese nationalism, communism, gender issues and high/pop culture.

•  Writers & revolutionaries
Media CollectionDS735.W75 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Prod. Alix Gibney & Steven Talley
Shows influence of intellectuals in China and Japan on the emergence of their societies from domination by poverty, despots and the West.

•  Wu duo jin hua = 五朶金花
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 19
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Wang Jiayi.
In Mandarin.
A love story of the Bai People. A Peng searchs all over the Erhai area for Jin Hua, a girl he met at the March Festival.

•  Wu hai ye hang = 雾海夜航 = Sailing in a foggy night
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 41
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 80 minutes; 1957.
Dir. Yu Tao.

•  Wu ji = 无极 = The promise
Media Collection PN1997.2 .W79 2005
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 194 minutes; 2005
Dir. Chen Kaige
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
This action film is about the love and fight for a princess among the king, the duke and the slave.

•  Wu jian dao cang = 无间道 = Infernal affairs
Media Collection PN1997.2 .W8 2002
Feature Film; 4 DVDs; 2002
Dir. Liu Weiqiang & Mai Zhaohui
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
A story between a mole in the police department and an undercover cop. Their objectives are the same: to find out who is the mole, and who is the cop.

•  Wu tai jie mei = 舞台姐妹
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 181
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Xie Jin.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Drama about the life of of two actresses, their social status, and their contributions to the society.

•  Wu ya yu ma que = 烏鴉與麻雀
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 195
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1949.
Dir. Zheng Junli.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A dramatic struggle between tenants and landlords on the eve of the Communist Revolution in Shanghai.

•  Wu yu zhi cheng: Long xu gou = 无雨之城: 龙须沟 = Dragon beard ditch
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 82
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Long xu gou".

•  Wu yue de xian hua: Qing chun zhi ge = 五月的鲜花: 青春之歌 = Song of Youth
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 156
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Qing chun zhi ge".

•  Wula: Pu tong yi bing = 乌拉: 普通一兵
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 54
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Pu tong yi bing".

 
top

 

  

X

 

 •  Xi lu Xiang = 細路祥 = Little Cheung
Media Collection PN1997.X48 1999
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 117 minutes; 1999
Dir. Chen Guo
In Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles.
This film is the final part of Chen Guo  s 1997 handover trilogy, following Made in Hong Kong (1997) and The Longest Summer (1998). Set within an extremely dense working class neighborhood in Mongkok, Hong Kong, Little Cheung, a 9-year-old occasional delivery boy at his father  s restaurant, befriends a young girl of his age and is devastated after witnessing her family being deported to the mainland.

•  Xi lu Xiang = 細路详 = Little Cheung
Media Collection PN1997 .X48 1999
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Chen Guo.
In Cantonese.
This film is the final part of Chen Guo’s 1997 handover trilogy, following Made in Hong Kong (1997) and The Longest Summer (1998). Set within an extremely dense working class neighborhood in Mongkok, Hong Kong, Little Cheung, a 9-year-old occasional delivery boy at his father’s restaurant, befriends a young girl of his age and is devastated after witnessing her family being deported to the mainland.

•  Xi sheng: Dang de nü er = 牺牲: 党的女儿 = Daughter of the party
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 146
Television Program; 1 DVD, 61 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Dang de nü er".

•  Xi zao = 洗澡 = Shower
Media Collection PN1997 .X5 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 94 minutes; 1999
Dir. Zhang Yang
In Mandarin.
When successful businessman Da Ming is summoned by his younger brother to come home to his father  s old-style bathhouse in Beijing, he can  t wait to return to his fast-paced modern life. But time amongst the crazy cast of characters that frequent the bathhouse gives him a new appreciation for traditional old ways. When a tragic event causes sudden change, Da Ming must choose between the prosperous life he  s made for himself and his responsibility to his family and his heritage (from the container).

•  Xian xi wei lai qian = 先洗未來錢 = Easy money
Media CollectionPN1997.X53 1994
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 90 minutes; 1994
Dir. Simon Leung
In Mandarin and Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles.
"Intricate credit card and computer scams are the name of the game in this light-hearted action comedy about making a fast buck!"--Container.

•  Xiang fei =想飛 = Princess-d
Media Collection PN1997.2 .X526 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Zhang Aijia.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
"A tale of real love developed in the virtual world"--Container.

•  Xiang hun nu = 香魂女 = Woman sesame oil maker
Media Collection PN1997 .X534 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 92 minutes; 2003
Dir. Xie Fei
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
Hsiang-erh-sao is a capable and business-minded woman who runs a successful oil-making joint venture with the Japanese. But she is also unhappy and distressed with a dipsomanic husband and an idiot son. She is determined to change all this by keeping her own secret lover and buying a young wife for her son.

•  Xiang ji mao yi yang fei = 像鸡毛一样飞 = Chicken poets
Media Collection PN 1997.2 .X53 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 2002
Dir. Meng Jinghui
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
Yun Fei was an unsuccessful poet who came to visit an old poet friend who operated a black chicken hennery in a town. Yun Fei met with a girl there and fell in love with her. By chance, Yun Fei purchased a pirated CD which he discovered possesses a magical power that could help him succeed. He became a famous overnight...

•  Xianggang you ge Helihuo =香港有個荷裏活 =Hollywood Hong Kong
Media Collection PN1997.X5318 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 2001
Dir. Chen Guo
In Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles.
A prostitute enters the life of a man who runs a barbecue pork restaurant and quickly begins to ruin his life, as well as the life of his two rotund sons, and a local gangster.

•  Xianggang zhi zao = 香港制造 = Made in Hong Kong
Media Collection PN1997 .X532 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 1997
Dir. Chen Guo
In Cantonese with Japanese subtitles.
Autumn Moon (Sam Lee), a low-rent thug living in Hong Kong, struggles to find meaning in his hopelessly violent existence.

•  Xiao bing Zhang Ga = 小兵张嘎
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 43
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1963.
Dir. Cui Wei.
A young boy Zhang Ga’s grandmother was killed by the Japanese invaders for protecting the Chinese troops. Zhang Ga joined the Ba lu jun ...

•  Xiao cheng zhi chun = 小城之春
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 31
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1948.
Dir. Fei Mu.
In Mandarin.
A terminally ill husband and his young wife live in a quiet small town. One day the husband’s best friend, who happens to be the wife’s former lover, comes to town for a visit ...

•  Xiao lao da: 51 hao bing zhan = 小老大: 51号兵站 = Depot no. 51
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 162
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "51 hao bing zhan".

•  Xiao shi de ji yi: Shi er ci lie che = 消失的记忆: 十二次列车 = Express no.12
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 114
Television Program; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Shi er ci lie che".

•  Xiao wu = 小武 = Pickpocket
Media Collection PN1997 .X536 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 1997.
In Mandarin and Shanxi dialects with optional Chinese and English subtitles
Closed-captioned
This film followed the exploits of a petty theft, Xiao Wu, who operated as a pickpocket in a ramshackle Chinese town. But in rapidly changing China, Xiao Wu found that he was out of step with the times and his inability to adapt marked the beginning of his downfall.

•  Xiaojiu’er: Yang Likun zhuan ti = 小九儿: 杨丽坤专题 = Yang Li kun
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 22
Television Program; 1 DVD, 73 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.

•  Xin dong = 心動 = Tempting heart
Media Collection PN1997 .X55 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 114 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Zhang Aijia.
In Mandarin or Cantonese with optional subtitles in traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, English, Thai, Japanese, Vietnamese, Bahasa Malaysian.
A Hong Kong filmmaker uses the story of her first true love as the basis for her next project. In doing so, she relives old memories and finally comes to terms with the love and loss in her past.

•  Xin shi dai zhong xin sheng huo de xin gong ju = 新時代中新生活的新工具
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003 v.7
Lecture; 2 VCDs, 78 minutes; 2003
Dir. Du Zuyi
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Prof. Gao Kun talks about the influence of new technologies in the new era particularly information technology, biotechnology and nanotechnology.

•  Xin tong ju shi dai = 新同居時代 = In between
Media Collection PN1997 .X554 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 105 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Yang Fan.
Gu yu dui bai; fan ti Zhong wen, Ying wen zi mu.
《怨婦俱樂部》: "年青小伙子吳奇隆藉著「寂寞的心」電話徵友服務而邂逅了美麗而不可捉摸的張艾嘉,兩人產生的一段靈與慾同居故事"--Container.
《摘星記》: "小男孩林海峰的信念是 ’不為一顆星星而放棄整個天空’,縱橫情場而不甘任一個女孩束縛。直到他遇見了生命中最明亮美麗的一顆星吳倩蓮,他這次要在天空與一顆星之間作重大抉擇"--Container.
《未婚媽媽》: "在愛情路上徘徊的張曼玉,發覺自己的肚裡有了小生命,卻不知孩子的父親是同居的男人,或是那次偶遇的男人。隨著肚子越來越大,使迷惘的她找到了她真正想要的答案"--Container.

•  Xing fu de sheng huo: Cao yuan shang de ren men = 幸福的生活: 草原上的人们 = People of the grassland
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 138
Television Program; 1 DVD, 61 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Cao yuan shang de ren men".

•  Xing fu shi guang = 幸福时光
Media Collection PN1997 .X56 2002
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 100 minutes; 2001
Dir. Zhang Yimou
In Chinese.
This comedy was about Lao Zhao  s marriage. Lao Zhao was a 50 years old single man who was introduced to a lady who has a blind girl with her ex-husband. Lao Zhao met the two who needs money and care. How is he going to decide?

•  Xu Xiake you ji = 徐霞客游記
Media Collection DS708.H78 X8 2002
Documentary; 20 VCDs; 2002

•  Xun zhao jin hua : Wu duo jin hua = 寻找金花 : 五朵金花 = Five golden flowers
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 20
Television Program; 1 DVD, 56 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Televison program about the movie "Wu duo jin hua".


top


 

Y

 

•  Ya shi zhi feng: Bu ju xiao jie de ren = 雅士之风: 不拘小节的人 = The man does not bother about trifles
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 198
Television Program; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Bu ju xiao jie de ren".

•  Yan zhi kou = 胭脂扣 = Rouge
Media Collection PN1997 .Y32 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 92 minutes; 1987.
Dir. Guan Jinpeng.
Mandarin or Cantonese dialogue with optional Chinese or English subtitles
The ghost of a courtesan is searching for her lover of 50 years past asks a young journalist for help

•  Yang guang can lan de ri zi = 陽光燦爛的日子 = In the heat of the sun
Media Collection PN1997 .Y3216 2001
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 97 minutes; 1994
Dir. Jiang Wen
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
The story of a group of young people in China during the Cultural Revolution.

•  Yang Zirong : Lin hai xue yuan = 杨子荣 : 林海雪原 =Tracks in the snowy forest
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 2
Television Program; 1 DVD, 49 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Lin hai xue yuan".

•  Yangcheng an shao = 羊城暗哨
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 143
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 1957.
Dir. Lu Jue.
In Mandarin Chinese
A story about the undercover policeman stops the subversive agents’ conspiracy in Guangzhou.

•  Yao yan de hua huo: Nie Er = 耀眼的花火: 聂耳 = Nie Er, the musician
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 48
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Nie Er".

•  Ye huo chun feng dou gu cheng = 野火春风斗古城
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 169
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1950.
Dir. Yan Jizhou.
In Mandarin with optional simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese or English subtitles.
In 1943, the underground operators assisted the Red Army in defeating the Japanese invaders.

•  Ye shan = 野山 = Wild mountain
Media Collection PN1997 .Y33 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1985
Dir. Yan Xueshu
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
Two families living side by side in the Wild Mountains exist in completely different worlds. One leads a traditional farmer life. The other, an ex-soldier tries to create a better life for himself and his family through the new reforms in China. In the end the two original couples are divorced and two new families are formed.

•  The year of the dragon
Media Collection PS3553.H4897 Y43 2000
Drama; 1 VHS, 89 minutes; 1975.
Looks at the stereotypes concerning Asian-Americans. A working class Chinese-American man, Fred Eng, is in torment over his divided loyalties to America and China, which explode on Chinese New Year (The Year of the Dragon)

•  Yi ge dou bu neng shao = 一个都不能少
Media Collection PN1997 .Y4539 2001
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 106 minutes; 1999
Dir. Zhang Yimou
In Chinese with Chinese subtitles.
A story of a young substitute tearcher in a small village school, who took over a school for 1 month and found back a runaway student.

•  Yi ge hao han san ge bang: Du li da dui =一个好汉三个帮 : 独立大队 = The independent detachment
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 100
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "The independent detachment ".

•  Yi ge mu qin de cheng zhang: Ku cai hua = 一个母亲的成长: 苦菜花 = Sow thistle
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 178
Television Program; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ku cai hua".

•  Yi ge pu tong de zhan shi = 一個普通的戰士
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 53
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 1947.
Dir. Yuan Naichen.
In Mandarin. The first dubbed foreign film in China. Original language is in Russian.
这部影片描写的是苏联卫国战争时期;红军战士马特洛索夫英勇顽强,为了保证战斗的胜利他用自己的身体堵住了敌人从碉堡里射出的子弹,最后壮烈献身的故事。

•  Yi jiang chun shui xiang dong liu = 一江春水向东流
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 109
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 187 minutes; 1947.
Dir. Cai Chusheng.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A story of a young man with his wife and ex-wife during and after the war against Japan in Shanghai and Chongqing.

•  Yi ke wu fa ming ming de xiao cao: Kunlun shan shang yi ke cao = 一颗无法命名的小草: 昆仑山上一棵草 = A Grass on the Kunlun mountain
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 118
Television Program; 1 DVD, 61 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Kunlun shan shang yi ke cao".

•  Yi shu hong hua zhao bi hai: Hong shan hu = 一树红花照碧海: 红珊瑚 = Red coral
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 76
Television Program; 1 DVD, 50 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Hong shan hu".

•  Yi tiao da he: Shanggan Ling = 一条大河: 上甘岭 = The Battle of Sangkumar yung ridge
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 140
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Shanggan Ling".

•  Yi zhan cheng gong: Ding jun shan = 一战成功: 定军山
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 112
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005
In Mandarin Chinese with simplified Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the first Chinese movie "Ding jun shan".

•  Yi zuo qiao de dan sheng: Qiao = 一座桥的诞生: 桥 = Bridge
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 122
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Qiao".

•  Ying tai qi xue = 瀛台泣血 = The last tempest
Media Collection PN1997 .Y48 2003
Feature Film; 2 VCD, 112 minutes; 1975.
Dir. Li Hanxiang.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
甲午戰爭失敗後,光緖帝亟欲達到富國强兵的目的,遂起用康有為,譚嗣同等知識分子,於一八九八年六月十一日頒布了一系列維新詔令.那就是近代史上著名的「戊戌變法」.然而,以西太后為首的守舊派堅決反對.光緖被幽禁瀛台六君子譚嗣同等慷慨就義......

•  Ying xiong = 英雄 = Hero
Media Collection PN1997 .Y49 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 2002
Dir. Zhang Yimou
In Chinese with traditional and simplified Chinese and English subtitles.
During China  s Warring States period, the kingdom of Qin stood above the rest countries and it aims to conquer the whole of China. As a result, Qin King has been the target of legendary assassins namely Broken Sword, Flying Snow, and Sky. The king promises to bestow power, gold, and royal attention to anyone who could defeat the three assassins. For ten years, no one succeeded in winning over the killers until a county sheriff known as Nameless arrives at the palace carrying the legendary weapons of the slain assassins. As Nameless narrates his heroic tale, the King has a different story to tell.

•  Ying xiong er nü = 英雄兒女
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 25
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 109 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Wu Zhaoti.
A political commissar of a division of China’s volunteer army runs into his lost son and daughter in the north Korea during the Korean War. This movie pays a tribute to the battle friendship and interationalism between China and North Korea.

•  Ying xiong hu dan = 英雄虎胆 = Intrepid hero
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 15
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 87 minutes; 1958.
Dir. Yan Jizhou.
In Mandarin with simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese or English subtitles.
In the battle of exterminating the anti-communists in Guangxi, a member of the Red Army gets into the enemy’s camp and wins the bandits’ trust. At last he lures the bandits to the trap, and the Red Army annihilates them.

•  Ying xiong meng, tuan yuan: ying xiong er nü = 英雄梦.团园: 英雄儿女 = Heroic sons and daughters
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 26
Television Program; 1 DVD, 65 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ying xiong er nü".

•  Yong bu xiao shi de dian bo = 永不消逝的電波
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 45
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 1958.
Dir. Wang Ping.
In Chinese with optional subtitles in traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, or English.
The story is about a Communist Red Army man who was dispatched to work underground in Nationalist-occupied Shanghai sending important intelligence to Yanan, the CP capital. He proved himself a good intelligence agent dealing with both Japanese and Nationalist counter-intelligence in periods of anti-Japanese war and civil war in China.

•  Yong yuan de Shi Hui: 1915-1957 = 永远的石挥: 1915-1957
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 42
Television Program; 1 DVD, 64 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.

•  Yongzheng wang chao = 雍正王朝
Media Collection PN1992.77 .Y64 2005
TV Series; 9 DVDs, 2200 minutes; 2005
Dir. Hu Mei & Lu Tao
In Mandarin and Cantonese with English and Chinese subtitles.
In 1722 Yongzheng succeeded Emperor Kongxi to become the third Emperor in the Qing Dynasty. With the succession of Yongzheng, came a series of new policies which led to a number of historical events which proved instrumental in setting the foundation for the forthcoming Great Era of the Emperor Qianlong.

•  You gou = 幽媾 = Darkness bride
Media Collection on Order
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 2003
Dir. Guo Weilun
In Mandarin with simplified and traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
A threesome love story of Sissy the autistic lad, Qing Hua his child bride, and Chun Sheng as their orphaned bosom friend.

•  You hua hao hao shuo = 有话好好说
Media Collection PN1997 .Y56 1998
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 93 minutes; 1997
Dir. Zhang Yimou
In Chinese Peking dialect with Chinese subtitles.
In 1990s, a bookseller in Beijing, China fell in love with a girl, who abandoned his for another rich man. The rich man beated the bookseller and the bookseller planned his revenge, but there is a third person between them.

•  You yuan jing meng = 遊园惊夢
Media Collection in Process
Feature Film; 1 VCD; 1960
Dir. Xu Ke
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
A young lady encountered a young scholar in her dream after a visit to her garden.

•  Yu guang qu = 渔光曲
Main Library PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 73
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 56 minutes; 1934.
Dir. Cai Chusheng
Silent film with traditional Chinese intertitles.
Melodrama of a fisherman’s family in early 1930’s in China.

•  Yu guanyin = 玉观音
Media Collection PN1997.2 .Y8 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 2003
Dir. Xu Anhua
In Mandarin with simplified Chinese subtitles.
The film has been made after a popular novel that is devoted to the everyday work of a drug police team. The protagonist is a courageous police woman whose relations with three men in her life make up the plot of the film. She is always faced with a difficult choice between sentiments and duty, law and her own understanding of what is just and fair.

•  Yun er piao zai hai kong: Yu guang qu = 云儿飘在海空: 渔光曲 = Song of the fisherman
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 74
Television Program; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Yu guang qu".


top


 

Z

 

•  Zan de suo zai, zan de wen xue = 咱的所在,咱的文學
Media Collection PL2277.T822 2002
Documentary; 13 VCDS, 60 minutes each; 2002
Dir. Li Xing
In Taiwanese and Mandarin dialogue with Chinese subtitles and narration.
Presents thirteen famous Chinese writers from the thirties who have had a great impact on the emergence of modern Taiwan: Lai He, Yang Da, L Heruo, Long Yingzong, Wu Zhuoliu, Zhong Lihe, Ye Shitao, Zhong Zhaozheng, Bai Xianyong, Li Qiao, Zheng Qingwen, Wang Zhenhe, Wang Wenxing. Includes scenes from films made from the works of the authors as well as biographical information on each of them.

•  Zao chun er yue = 早春二月 = Early spring
Media Collection PN1997 .Z36 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 114 minutes; 1963
Dir. Xie Tieli
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
In the late 1920s Xiao Jianqiu, dissatisfied with his work in the city, visits the headmaster of a school in Lotus Village. He befriends the widow of a friend who had died fighting in the revolutionary army.

•  Zao chun er yue = 早春二月
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 11
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 1963.
Dir. Xie Tieli.
In Chinese (Mandarin).
In the late 1920s Xiao Jianqiu, dissatisfied with his work in the city, visits the headmaster of a school in Lotus Village. He befriends the widow of a friend who had died fighting in the revolutionary army.

•  Zao chun gu shi : Zao chun er yue = 早春故事 : 早春二月= Early spring
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 12
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television prgram about the movie "Zao chun er yue".

•  Zhan hua kui = 占花魁
Media Collection M1805.4.J5 Z43 2005
1 DVD, 180 minutes; 1994
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles
A sincere street peddler won the heart of the most beautiful courtesan with his pure and unselfish love.

•  Zhan huo zhong de qing chun = 战火中的青春
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 7
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 93 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Wang Yan.
In Mandarin.
In 1947, a young woman disguises herself as a man to join the Liberation Army.

•  Zhan tai = 站台 = Platform
Media Collection PN1997 .Z448 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 149 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Jia Zhangke
In Chinese with Chinese and English subtitles
The film follows the lives of four friends over a turbulent 10-year period of Chinese history from 1979 to 1989. In the small town of fenyang located in the western part of Shanxi province, the teenage members of a state theatre troupe staged propaganda plays in praise of Chairman Mao. But as China open up to the free market and implements wide-ranging reform, their lives are irrevocably changed as the world around them is transformed by the music, fashions and other cultural influences of the west. Named after a hit 80s Chinese pop song, "Platform" gives a vivid insight into modern China and absorbingly documents the seeping social changes experienced by its people. –Container

•  Zhan zheng yu ai qing : Zhan huo zhong de qing chun = 战争与爱情 : 战火中的青春 =Youth in flames of war
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 8
Television Program; 1 DVD, 45 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Zhan huo zhong de qing chun".

•  Zhang da cheng ren = 长大成人
Media Collection PN1997 .Z45 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1997
Dir. Lu Xuezhang
In Chinese with English and Chinese subtitles.
A story about how a young man grew up in Beijing during the period of 1970s-1990s.

•  Zhao Yiman = 趙一曼
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 51
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1950.
Dir. Sha Meng.
Yiman Zhao, a Chinese heroine, solidified and organized the masses to fight against Japan armies under the leadership of the Chinese Communist Party from 1933-1936.

•  Zhi qu Hua Shan = 智取華山
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 129
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 116 minutes; 1953.
Dir. Guo Wei.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The films tells the story of an actual event during Liberation Army’s liberating north-west of China in 1949.

•  Zhongguo chuan tong yin yue zai Taiwan
Arts Library, Music Service Desk ML337.5.C45 1990
Documentary Film; 1 VHS, 27 minutes; 1990
Narrated in English
Introduction to traditional Chinese music as it is heard today in Taiwan. Video begins with showing and discussing the instruments of the Chinese orchestra

•  Zhongguo fo jiao si da ming shan = 中國佛教四大名山
Media Collection BQ6634 .Z46 2001
Documentary; 4 VCDs; 2001?

•  Zhongguo shi da kao gu fa xian = 中国十大考古发现
Media Collection DS715 .Z46 2003
Documentary; 1 VCD, 53 minutes; 2003
In Mandarin.

•  Zhongguo wen hua de ben tu qi yuan: san shi nian hou de zi wo jian tao = 中國文化的本土起源 : 三十年後的自我檢討
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003 v.5
Documentary; 2 VCDs, 111 minutes; 2003
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
A talk by Prof. He Bingdi on the origin of Chinese civilization.

•  Zhonghua nü er = 中華女兒 = Daughters of China
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 57
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 86 minutes; 1950.
Dir. Ling Zifeng.
In 1931, Japanese militarists invade China’s Northeast while Chinese troops withdraw from Manchuria to avoid fighting against the enemy, causing young Manchurians to form militias to resist Japanese invasion. During 1937, the Chinese Communist Party forms the United Front in Manchuria. A widespread anti-Japanese movement has begun.

•  Zhu fu = 祝福 = New Year sacrifice
Media Collection PN1997 .Z48 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1956
Dir. Sang Hu
In Chinese with English subtitles.
Sold into marriage as a child, a young peasant woman eventually falls in love with her husband, but is left a young widow. Her mother-in-law enslaves her and finally sells her to a poor peasant. Although the second marriage turns out to be a happy one, tragedy again hits when her husband and son are taken away. She earns a reputation as the bearer of bad luck, a social outcast and looks to the New Year for hope.

•  Zhu fu = 祝福
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 141
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 93 minutes; 1956.
Dir. Sang Hu.
In Mandarin Chinese with simplified Chinese subtitle.
A widowed peasant woman was sold and forced into a second marriage. Her second husband borrowed a large sum of money to bring the woman home. They enjoyed a few years of blessed marriage life, but soon bad luck follows.

•  Zhua te wu: Tie dao wei shi = 抓特务: 铁道卫士 = Guards on the railway line
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 34
Television Program; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Tie dao wei shi ".

•  Zhuan zhe : Nan zheng bei zhan = 转折: 南征北战 = From victory to victory
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 128
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Nan zheng bei zhan".

•  Zhun bei hao le ma: Hong hai zi = 准备好了吗: 红孩子 = Little heroes
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 72
Television Program; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Hong hai zi".

•  Zi jin cheng = 紫禁城
Media Collection DS795.8.F67 Z5 2001
Documentary; 2 VCD; 2001?
In Chinese and English.

•  Zi shu = 自梳 = Intimates
Media Collection PN1997 .Z54 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 119 minutes; 1997
Dir. Zhang Zhiliang
In Mandarin and Cantonese with traditional and simplified Chinese and English subtitles.
This movie tells love stories of three women. A  hui loves a man who is going to be married with another girl. Yuhuan has a husband who dumped her to a man who later sexually assaulted her. Yihuan has a boyfriend who impregnated her but does not want to marry her. It is due to these emotional and psychological traumas Yuhuan and Yimu fall in love with each other...

•  Zi zi mei mei zhan qi lai = 姊姊妹妹站起来 = Stand up, sisters
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 93
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 85 minutes; 1951.
Dir. Chen Xihe.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Life changing story of the prostitutes in Beijing from 1947 to 1950.

•  Zou xiang gong he = 走向共和
Media CollectionPN1992.77.Z68 2003
TV Series; 10 DVDs; 2003?
Dir. Zhang Li
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Dramatization of the birth of the Republic of China.

•  Zou xiang gong he II = 走向共和 II
Media CollectionPN1992.77.Z682 2004
TV Series; 9 DVDs; 2004
Dir. Zhang Li
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.

•  Zu guo de hua duo = 祖國的花朵
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 135
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 76 minutes; 1955.
Dir. Yan Gong.
It tells a story on how two pupils brought up the spirit of collectivism with the cultivation of their teachers and Young Pioneers.

•  Zuo jia shen ying = 作家身影 = World lost words found
Media Collection PL2277 .T82 1998
Documentary; 13 VHS, 50 minutes each; 1998?
Dir. Lei Xiang
In Chinese.
Presents twelve famous Chinese writers from the thirties who have had a great impact on the emergence of modern China: Lu Hsn, Chou Tso-jen, Y Ta-fu, Hs Chih-mo, Chu Tzu-ch ing, Lao-she, Ping-hsin, Shen Ts ung-wen, Pa Chin, Ts ao Y, Hsiao Ch ien, Chang Ai-ling. Includes scenes from films made from the works of the authors as well as biographical information on each of them.


top

 

 

Back to East Asian Studies

 

Questions

Profile ImageCathy Chiu
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 5537
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-4082
Send Email

Subjects:
East Asian Studies

 

Borrowing Films

Most of the films are on DVD although some are still on cassette.  They are located in the Media Collection on the first floor of the Davidson Library.  The Media Collection is in the rear right corner as you enter the Goverment Information Center.  All films are circulating on a 7-day loan period and can be renewed online if no one puts a hold or a request on the item.

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait