Chinese Films H-N
• Hai ou fei chu =海鷗飛處 = Where the seagull flies
Media Collection PN1997 .H35 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1974.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandaring Chinese with traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
記者俞慕槐一直在不同場合碰上同面孔但不同身份的謎樣女孩,香港渡輪上誤殺負心丈夫準備投海自殺的「海鷗」,新加坡的夜總會小歌星「葉馨」,以及妹妹的同學家境富裕而嬌縱的「羽裳」。 三人分明是同一人,但為何不同身份呢?慕槐懷著疑慮與羽裳展開熱戀,當羽裳陷入情網時,慕槐居然告訴羽裳從未喜歡她,也不愛她。氣的羽裳同意了另一位追求人歐世澈的求婚。慕槐告訴不諒解的親友,原來羽裳貪玩,一人扮作3個角色,玩弄慕槐,所以才報復她,可是居然將羽裳逼向歐世澈,他也後悔不已。婚後的羽裳並不幸福,歐世澈貪圖的是她家的錢,根本不愛她,甚至還會動手打她,但在人前卻裝作好,而羽裳因素行不良,無人相信她,陷入痛苦的深淵。羽裳在痛苦中追悔,慕槐在失戀中度日,兩人再相見,都捐棄前嫌,相擁相泣,但已無法相守了。羽裳與世澈出國逃離這炙熱的感情,卻意外的世澈因追上外國石油大王的女兒而主動與羽裳離婚了。「海鷗」歷經風霜,飽嚐辛酸,也體驗到了愛的真諦。飛回台灣投向溫暖的歸宿,終與慕槐結合在一起。
• Hai shang hua = 海上花 = Flowers of Shanghai
Media Collection PN1997 .H25 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 113 minutes; 1998
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian
In Shanghainese and some Cantonese and Suzhounese with English subtitles.
This film is set in the elegant brothels of late nineteenth century Shanghai, a hermetic world with its own highly ritualized codes of behavior, where "flower girls," must win, and then hold, the affection of their wealthy callers.
• Hai shang hua = 海上花 = Flowers of Shanghai
Media Collection PN1997 .H25 2000b
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 1998.
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian.
In Shanghainese or Cantonese with Chinese subtitles.
In elegant brothels in late 19th century Shanghai, the survival of the "Flower girls" depends on their ability to win, and then keep, the affections of their wealthy callers.
• Hai wa: Ji mao xin = 海娃: 鸡毛信 = Letter with feathers
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 60
Television Program; 1 DVD, 61 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ji mao xin".
• Hai zi wang = 孩子王 = King of the children
Media Collection PN1997 .H25328 2002
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 100 minutes; 1987
Dir. Chen Kaige
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
A devoted rural teacher becomes the friend of his students.
• Hang dang = 行当
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 84
Television Program; 1 DVD, 59 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about various personnel required in the motion picture industry and the responsibilities and duties they perform to produce a movie.
• Health through kungfu = 功夫與健身 = Gong fu yu jian shen
Media Collection GV1112 .H43 1997
Instructional; 1 VHS; 1997?
With English narration.
• Hong, ceng jing ran shao de zhan chang: hong ri = 红, 曾经燃烧的战场: 红日 = Red sun
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 24
Television Program; 1 DVD, 49 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Hong ri".
• Hong hai zi = 红孩子
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 71
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1958.
Dir. Su Li.
The story of the children of the Red Soviet Republic fight with the White bandits.
• Hong he gu = 红河谷
Media Collection PN1997 .H6449 1998
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 116 minutes; 1997?
Dir. Feng Xiaoning
In Chinese and English with Chinese subtitles.
A story between the Tibetans and two British explorers and later the British invading army in Tibet in 19th century.
• Hong lou meng = 紅樓夢 = A dream of red mansions
Media Collection PN1992.77 .H64 2004
TV Series; 8 DVDs; 198-?
Dir. Wang Fulin
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Television dramatization of the Chinese classic Dream of the Red Chamber, which tells the saga of four wealthy families in the heyday of the Qing dynasty.
• Hong mei gui bai mei gui = 紅玫瑰 白玫瑰 = Red rose white rose
Media Collection PN1997 .H646 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 1994
Dir. Stanley Kwan
In Mandarin and Cantonese with simplified and traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
Story of two women with contrasting styles in the life of a businesman in Shanghai in 1930s and 1940s.
• Hong qi pu = 紅旗譜
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 157
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 1960.
Dir. Ling Zifeng.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The film depicts peasant Zhu Laozhong’s journey to join the revolution.
• Hong ri = 紅日
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 23
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 122 minutes; 1963.
Dir. Tang Xiaodan.
Chinese dialogue with Chinese subtitles.
1946年初冬,蒋介石对华东解放区发动大规模进攻, 人民解放军各路大军击败敌人在孟良崮胜利会师.
• Hong se feng bao: Feng bao = 红色风暴: 风暴 = The Storm
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 50
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Feng bao".
• Hong se niang zi jun = 红色娘子军
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 187
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 111 minutes; 1960.
Dir. Xie Jin.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A village girl in Hainan runs away to join the Red Detatchment of Women Army
• Hong shan hu = 红珊瑚
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 75
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 1961.
Dir. Wang Shaoyan.
In Mandarin Chinese with some traditional Chinese subtitles.
The people who live in the Red Coral Island fight against the troops of Chiang Kaishek. They cooperate with the People’s Liberation Army and win their freedom at last.
• Hong ying tao = 红樱桃 = Red cherry
Media Collection PN1997 .H6497 1999
Feature Film; 1 DVD; 1995
Dir. Ye Ying
In Mandarin and Russian with English subtitles.
Two children of Communists executed by nationalists in China are sent to an international school near Moscow for sanctuary. It is the winter of 1940, and the two are separated by the catastrophe of an invading German army.
• Honghu chi wei dui = 洪湖赤衛隊
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 159
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 1961.
Dir. Xie Tian.
This musical film describes how Honghu’s local people organized and fought with the Red Army to promote the communist revolution.
• Honghu shui lang da lang: Honghu chi wei dui = 洪湖水浪打浪: 洪湖赤卫队 = The red guards on Honghu Lake
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 160
Television Program; 1 DVD, 56 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Honghu chi wei dui".
• Hongqi Jie 1118 hao = 红旗街1118号 = No. 1118 Hongqi St.
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 80
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Documentary on the history of the two major movie production companies: Dongbei dian ying zhi pian chang and Changchun dian ying zhi pian chang.
• Hou Men = 後門 = Rear entrance
Media Collection PN1997 .H71126 2005
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 100 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Li Hanxiang.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with subtitles in traditional Chinese.
"徐天鶴與太太結婚多年, 膝下猶虛, 對隔壁小女孩阿琳甚有好感. 阿琳父母離婚, 孤苦伶仃, 徐太太提議收阿琳為繼女, 琳父母喜不自勝. 後來阿琳親母史小姐出現, 竟要接回阿琳... " --Container.
• Hua hao yue yuan = 花好月圆
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 69
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1958.
Dir. Guo Wei.
Depicting complicated love stories among three young couples in the countryside of Northern China in 1952, this movie was very popular when it was first released in 1958, but later was banned for its avant-garde nature at the time.
• Hua hun = 畫魂 = Painting soul
Media CollectionPN1992.77.H834 2003
TV Series; 5 DVDs; 2003
Dir. Guan Jinpeng & Niu Yue
Drama about the life and work of painter Pan Yuliang.
• Hua hun = 畫魂 = A soul haunted by painting
Media Collection PN1997 .H834 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 129 minutes; 1994
Dir. Huang Shuqin
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
In the late 1920s, a woman painter specializing in nude painting returns from France to China to teach her skills but finds that the art form is being heavily condemned by the general public and the government. In dismay, she leaves her husband several years later and returns to France to pursue her career.
• Hua pi zhi yin yang fa wang = 畫皮之陰陽法王 = Painted skin
Media Collection PN1997 .H836 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1992.
Dir. Hu Jinquan.
Story of a man finding a young lady in the street who later is found to be in a painted skin.
• Hua yang nian hua = 花樣年華 = In the mood for love
Media Collection PN1997 .H84 2002
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 98 minutes; 2000
Dir. Wong Kar-wai
In Chinese with Chinese subtitles.
Hong Kong 1962, chief editor of a local newspaper, Zhou and his wife move into new accommodation of Shanghainese building where he meets Lizhen, lives in next-door and moves in the same day. It s also a coincidence that both of them are moving in without help from their spouses. As both of their couples are always out for work, they spend more and more time together. One day, they both realize that their particular spouses are having an affair and the discovery shocks both of them... (from the Internet Movie Database)
• Huai nian zhan you : Bing shan shang de lai ke = 怀念战友 : 冰山上的来客 = Visitors on the icy mountain
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 6
Television Program; 1 DVD, 48 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Bing shan shang de lai ke".
• Huan wo he shan = 還我河山 = Fire bulls
Media Collection PN1997 .H844 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 127 minutes; 1966.
Dir. Li Jia.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with Chinese subtitles.
敘述戰國時代,濟國田單運用戰略戰勝燕國,收復山河的史實。燕國地處東北,在燕王噲時,國都曾被齊國攻下,到了時,強憤圖強,禮聘賢才,並以樂毅為將軍,使燕國軍事力量強大起來。後來燕國聯合各國攻打齊國,幾手快滅了濟國,幸而齊國田單用反間計使燕王撤換樂毅將軍,再出奇不意的以火牛陣攻敵,才一舉驅逐燕軍,收復國士,是為田單復國。
• Huang tu di = 黄土地
Media Collection PN1997 .H846 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 90 minutes; 2000?
Dir. Chen Kaige
In Chinese.
A folk song interpreter lives in the pain of feudal society until she meets a folk song collector.
• Huang yuan qian shi: Lao bing xin zhuan = 荒原前史: 老兵新传 = New story of an old soldier
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 152
Television Program; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Lao bing xin zhuan".
• Huangdi nei jing = 黄帝内经 = The medical classic of emperor
Media CollectionR127.1.H793.H83 2004
TV Series; 8 DVDs; 2003
Dir. Yu Jianghong
In Chinese with Chinese subtitles.
Through explanations, interviews of Chinese medicine experts, drawings and old text of Huang Di nei jing, the series tries to communicate the history of Chinese medical concepts with its audience.
• Hui min zhi dui =回民支队 = The Hui people’s army
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 147
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Feng Yifu.
In Mandarin Chinese with English subtitles.
In 1938, a group of Chinese Muslims becomes a unit in the CCP 8th Army, fighting both the Japanese and the Chinese Nationalists during the War of Resistance Against Japan.
• Huo shao Afang gong = 火燒阿房宮
Media Collection PN1992.77 .H84 2008
Television Plays; 4 DVDs, 40 episodes; 1997.
Dir. Xia Zuhui.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
• Huo Yuanjia =霍元甲 = Fearless
Media Collection PN1997.2 .H86 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 89 minutes; 2005
Dir. Ronny Yu
In Mandarin with Chinese, English and Thai subtitles.
Huo Yuanjia was a martial art master in Qing Dynasty. His fearless spirit inspired his contemporaries to strive for a stronger and brighter China during one of the nation s darkest periods.
• Huo zhe = 活着 = Lifetimes
Media Collection PN1997 .H874 2002
Feature Film; 4 VCDs, 134 minutes; 1994
Dir. Zhang Yimou
In Chinese with Chinese and English subtitles.
In a smoky gambling den in 1940 s China, a drunken young man runs through his family s fortune, losing their ancestral home and all their possessions. This staggering loss proves to be their salvation, and the firsst step in an odyssey of survival that will take them through war and revolution love and loss, tragedy ... and triumph.
• Huo zhe = To live
Media Collection PN1997 .H8742 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 133 minutes; 1994.
Dir. Zhang Yimou.
In Mandarin, with optional English, French, or Spanish subtitles.
"Set against four decades of Chinese political turmoil, To live follows the lives of one couple as they struggle to survive their own changing station within the upheaval"--Container.
I
• In the name of the emperor
Media CollectionDS796.N2I53 1996
Documentary; 1 VHS, 52 minutes; 1996?
Dir. Nancy Tong
In Chinese, English, Japanese and Italian with English subtitles.
The film is a matter-of-fact account of the Nanking Massacre that integrates diary entries, actual film footage of the massacre shot by an American missionary, Rev. John Magee, interviews with Japanese scholars and former soldiers who recalled in detail how they savagely killed and raped Chinese civilians, and the related story of the comfort women.
• Iron & silk
Media CollectionDS712.S245 1991
Documentary; 1 VHS, 94 minutes; 1991
Dir. Shirley Sun
In English and some Japanese with English subtitles.
In this autobiographical film, Mark Franklin studies and practices martial arts for two years in China. In the process, he learns much about himself and traditional Oriental ways.
top
J
• Jazz odyssey
Media Collection ML3509.C6 J39 1995
Documentary; 1 VHS, 47 minutes; 1995.
Explores the history and current status of jazz in China, from early influences of Western musicians in the 1930s to the present. Includes interviews with Americans and Chinese currently involved in the jazz scene in China and shows segments of jazz performances in Beijing.
• Ji jing de shan lin = 寂静的山林
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 67
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 1957.
Dir. Zhu Wenshun.
• Ji mao xin = 雞毛信 = La carta de la pluma = Letter with feathers
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 59
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 75 minutes; 1954.
Dir. Shi Hui.
In Chinese with Spanish subtitles.
A story of a Chinese children brigade delivered an important military message through the Japanese blockade during the Sino-Japanese war.
• Jia fang yi fang = 甲方乙方
Media Collection PN1997 .J4483 1998
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 116 minutes; 1997
Dir. Feng Xiaogang
In Chinese.
A story of four young people establishing a company to help their customers dreams come true.
• Jia wu feng yun =甲午風雲 = The naval battle of 1894
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 27
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1962.
Dir. Lin Nong.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with English subtitles.
The story is a dramatization of the events leading up to the Sino-Janpanese War in 1894 and features a patriotic naval officer’s combat against the Japanese fleet.
• Jia Zhangke zuo pin ji = 贾樟柯作品集
Media Collection PN1997 .J4484 2005 [Limited 7-day]
DVD 1 videodisc (97 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in
Dir. Jia Zhangke
Chinese dialogue with simplified Chinese subtitles
Includes one feature film and two documentaries by the upcoming Chinese director, Jia Zhangke. The feature film "Xiao Shan hui jia" (Xiao Shan returning home, approximately 40 min.) is Jia’s first feature film. An interview with Jia about his view on piracy and his experience and thoughts on how the three short films came into being is also included
• Jin nian xia tian = 今年夏天 = Fish and Elephant
Media Collection PN1997.2 .J56 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 2003
Dir. Li Yu
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Xiao Qun works at the Beijing Zoo as an elephant keeper, while her lover, Xiao Ling runs a clothes stall in an indoor market. Their relationship comes under fire, however, with the arrival of Qun s divorced mother who, unaware that her daughter is gay, tries to set her up with a man. Further complicating matters is the appearance of Qun s ex-girlfriend, Junjun, now wanted by the police for killing her abusive father.
• Jin ping shuang yan = 金瓶双艳 = The golden lotus
Media Collection PN1997 .J44858 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 105 minutes; 1974.
Dir. Li Hanxiang.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with subtitles in traditional Chinese and English.
• Jin shang tian hua = 锦上添花
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 165
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 71 minutes; 1962.
Dir. Xie Tian.
In Mandarin with optional simplified Chinese subtitles.
A comedy about a couple of young people initiate a plan to set up a power station. Their efforts are well supported by their all-can-do boss and many local people.
• Jin tian wo xiu xi = 今天我休息
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 149
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 87 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Lu Ren.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A policeman uses his day off to help people.
• Jing cha yu xiao tou : Mi mi tu zhi = 警察与小偷 : 秘密图纸
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 120
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Mi mi tu zhi".
• Jing Ke ci Qin wang = 荊軻刺秦王 = The emperor and the assassin
Media Collection PN1997 .J4487 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 160 minutes; 1998
Dir. Chen Kaige
In Mandarin with English, French and Spanish subtitles.
Ying Zheng, the King of Qin, has one driving ambition: to unify China's seven kingdoms into one magnificent empire.
• Jiu jiu yan yang tian : Liubao de gu shi = 九九艳阳天 : 柳堡的故事 = Story of Liubao village
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 18
Television Program; 1 DVD, 76 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Liubao de gu shi".
• Ju tou wang ming yue: Yi jiang chun shui xiang dong liu = 举头望明月: 一江春水向东流 = Spring river flows east
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 110
Television Program; 1 DVD, 56 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Yi jiang chun shui xiang dong liu".
• The JVC video anthology of world music and dance
Volumes 3-5
Arts Library, Music Service DeskM1627.J931990
Media CollectionM1627.J93 1990
Documentary; 30 VHS; 1990
Dir. Nakagawa Kunihiko & Ichihashi Yuji
top
K
• Kai wang chun tian de di tie = 开往春天的地铁 = Spring subway
Media Collection PN1997.2 .K35 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 2002
Dir. Zhang Yibai
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
Jian Bin has been unemployed for three months but afraid of telling the truth to Xiao Hui, his wife of seven years. Every morning he pretends to leave for work, but instead, he spends work days by riding the subway. He becomes desperate as he begins to run out of money and excuses. Meanwhile, he discovers that Xiao Hui has her secrets too ...
• Kan che ren de qi yue = 看车人的七月 = The parking attendant in July
Media Collection PN1997 .K327 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 2003
Dir. Zhan Jun An
In Mandarin.
• Kang lian feng yun: Zhonghua nü er = 抗联风云: 中华女儿 = Daughters of China
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 58
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Zhonghua nü er".
• Kao yan: Ni hong deng xia de shao bing = 考验: 霓虹灯下的哨兵 = Sentinels under Neon lights
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 176
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
• Kong bu fen zi = 恐怖分子 = Terrorizers
Media Collection PN1997 .K62 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1982.
Dir. Yang Dechang.
Chinese dialogue with subtitles in Chinese.
A women writer, unsatisfied with her marriage, writes an award-winning novel based on her inner feelings and her imagination. Ironically, her life begins to follow the plot of the novel, as her husband attacks her lover and then commits suicide.
• Ku cai hua = 苦菜花
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 177
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Li Ang.
In Mandarin Chinese with optional simplified, traditional Chinese and English.
The story of a heroic family in a northern Chinese village during the turbulent years of the Sino-Japanese conflict and the civil war in the 1940’s.
• Kun ju xuan ji = 崑劇選輯
Arts Library, Music Service DeskM1805.4.K53K86 1993
Opera; 17 VHS; 1993?
With Chinese subtitles.
• Kun qu dian shi ju = 昆曲电视剧
Media Collection M1805.4.J5 M83 2005
2 DVD, 170 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Zhang Peili
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles
南宋初年, 南安太守杜宝, 有个聪明美丽的女儿, 名唤丽娘. 杜家家教甚严, 又请了个老儒生陈最良教授丽娘诵习诗书, 不许擅出闺门一步. 一日, 杜丽娘背地和春香去后花园玩耍, 对着明媚的春光, 不禁感慨万端. 她春慵欲眠, 梦见一个书生和她在牡丹亭畔的梅花树下幽会. 此后, 便念念不忘梦中情人, 几番寻梦, 伤感更增, 抑郁成疾, 不久去世. 临死前, 她命春香将一幅自画像藏在太湖石下, 并要死后葬在牡丹亭畔. 这时杜宝奉旨升迁, 离开南安, 遂将后花园改作道观, 命陈最良及石道姑代为看守. 杜丽娘病逝后, 一灵不昧, 为寻访梦中才子, 上下求索. 后得花神, 判官之助, 许其还魂. 三年后, 岭南秀才柳梦梅游学至南安, 投宿观中, 偶游后园, 拾得画像一轴, 画中美女似曾相识, 仿佛就是梦中幽会他的那位小姐,. 他以一片痴情, 连声呼唤, 后丽娘回生, 二人成就了美满姻缘.
• Kunlun Shan shang yi ke cao = 崑崙山上一棵草
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 117
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 1962.
Dir. Kong Kena.
The film is about a woman who established a waystation on the Kunlun mountains, providing food and accomodation services to those passing drivers.
L
• Lady from Chungking
Media CollectionPN1997.L14 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 69 minutes; 1943
Dir. William Nigh
"At the height of World War II, Kwan Mei, a beautiful Chinese aristocrat, is forced to work in the rice paddies as a slave. She and the rest of her village are subject to the brutal whims of their Japanese captors, whose sadism is matched only by their greed. When the Japanese general is bewitched by Kwan Mei s beauty, she sees her chance for vengeance. Endangering her life and inviting the mistrust of her comrades, Kwan Mei becomes the general s lover in hopes of gathering information that will help the struggle against their masters. On the eve of a massive Japanese invasion, Kwan Mei risks everything on a bloody insurrection that will protect her country from the invading horde"--Container.
• Lan feng zheng = 藍風箏=The blue kite
Media Collection PN1997 .L238 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 138 minutes; 1993
Dir. Tian Zhuangzhuang
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
This film described the fate of one Beijing family, their neighbours and friends, as they experienced the political movements and social upheavals of the 1950s and 60s in China. Their story was told from the perspective of a little boy.
• Lang hua = 浪花 = Painted waves of love
Media Collection PN1997 .L2384 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 1976.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A talented woman painter falls in love with a gallery owner, who has already married. His son loves her niece at first sight, too. The painter gets along well with his grown son and daughter. In order to keep their family united, his son and daughter ask her to withdraw from her love relationship, and she promises to do so to save the gallery owner’s marriage.
• Lao bing xin zhuan = 老兵新传
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 151
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Shen Fu.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A story of retired soldiers becoming farmers of reclaiming wasteland in northern China in the early 1950’s.
• Lao jing = 老井
Media Collection PN1997 .L26 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 130 minutes; 1986
Dir. Wu Tian-Ming
In Chinese with Chinese and Japanese subtitles.
An educated youth returns to his village and helps his family realize their dream of finding water on their land. To do so, he marries a widow and sacrifices his real love. The villagers succeed in digging a good well.
• Lei Feng = 雷锋
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 91
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 78 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Dong Zhaoqi.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The true story of a Chinese soldier who becomes a folk hero for his single minded service to his country and the Chinese people.
• Li bie yu wan xiao: Du jiang zhen cha ji = 离别与玩笑: 渡江侦察记 = Reconnaissance across the Yangtze
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 132
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Du jiang zhen cha ji".
• Li Lianying = 李莲英
Media Collection PN1997 .L49 1999
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 116 minutes; 1991?
Dir. Tian Zhuangzhuang
In Chinese.
The story of Li Lianying who was the most famous imperial eunuch in the Qing Dynasty.
• Li Shuangshuang = 李双双
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 9
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 1962.
Dir. Lu Ren.
In Chinese (Mandarin).
Set in the countryside in the late 1950s, the relationship of a married couple reflects the struggle between those who advocate and those who oppose a people’s commune.
• Li Xiangyang han Songjing: Ping yuan you ji dui = 李向阳和松井: 平原游击队 = Guerrillars [sic] sweep the plain
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 36
Television Program; 1 DVD, 67 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ping yuan you ji dui ".
• Li-Young Lee
Media CollectionPS3562.E35438Z468 1995
Documentary/Biography; 2 VHS, 145 minutes; 1995
Dir. Dan Griggs
"Li-Young Lee was born in Jakarta, Indonesia, where his parents lived in exile from China. In his two poetry collections, Rose and The city in which I love you, Li-Young Lee explores cultural politcs, desire, and loss in work that is hauntingly lyrical. ... He read from his two books of poetry and from his memoir, The winged seed."--Container, v. 1.
• Liang chen mei jing nai he tian: Tao hua shan =良辰美景奈何天: 桃花扇 = The peach-blossom fan
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 190
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Tao hua shan".
• Liang Shanbo yu Zhu Yingtai
Arts Library, Music Service DeskM1805.3.L53 1983
Performance; 1 VHS, 120 minutes; 1983
Dir. Sang Hu & Huang Sha
In Chinese.
Zhu Ying Tai disguises herself as a gentleman in order to study in Hangshou and meets Liang Shan Bo. They become sworn brothers and study together for 3 years. When Liang finally discovers Zhu is a girl, he decides to propose marriage, but Zhu is betrothed to another by her father. The lovers swear if they cannot live together, they will die together.
• Liang shi =粮食
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 101
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Wei Rong.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The story about the Chinese people fighting with the Japanese army in order to send food to the Chinese army.
• Liang zi hua, dui cheng, xiang wei yin zi: er shi shi ji li lun wu li zhi zhu xuan l = 量子化, 對稱, 相位因子 : 二十世紀理論物理之主旋律
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003 v.1
Lecture; 2 VCDs, 93 minutes; 2003
Dir. Du Ziyi
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
A talk by Prof. Yang Zhenning on developments of physics in the 20th century.
• Lie huo zhong yong sheng = 烈火中永生
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 63
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 138 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Shui Hua.
In Mandarin Chinese.
In 1948, two undercover communists were captured in Chongqing by Guo min dang. They stayed firm before their enemies and became martyrs on the eve of communist’s victory.
• Lin hai xue yuan: zhi qu Weihu shan = 林海雪原: 智取威虎山
Media Collection PN1997.A1 .B3 2005 disc 1
Feature Film; 1 DVD; 1960.
Dir. Liu Peiran.
In Chinese with optional subtitles in simplified Chinese, traditional Chinese, or English.
Story about how the PLA circumvented the enemies in the initial stages of war for liberation.
• Lin jia pu zi = 林家鋪子
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 153
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 82 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Shui Hua.
In Mandarin Chinese.
This is the story of how a small general store in China of the 1930s struggled to survive in the ruthless capitalist society.
• Lin Zexu = 林則徐
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 77
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes’ 1959.
Dir. Zheng Junli.
Dialogue in Mandarin Chinese.
Depicts the Chinese people’s heroic resistance to British imperialism in the Opium War of 1840. British imperialists are shipping huge quantities of opium to China to poison her people. Sent by the imperial court to Canton, Lin Zexu successfully stops the opium trade, only to have the British retaliate and the court withdraw its support. But the Chinese people take up resolute resistance beginning the century-long struggle against imperialism.
• Liu san jie = 劉三姐
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 185
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 1961.
Dir. Su Li.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Based on an ancient folktale, this musical film is about how a girl who uses her music in helping the poor triumph over a feudal landlord.
• Liubao de gu shi = 柳堡的故事 = Story of Liubao
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 17
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 79 minutes; 1957.
Dir. Wang Ping.
In Mandarin with optional subtitle in simplified or traditional Chinese or English.
In 1944, a company of the Communist New Fourth Army soldiers stations at Liu Bao. They protect a young village girl from marrying a smuggler-turned-commander of the usurper Central Army. Five years later, this young girl has joined the Communist Party.
• Long men ke zhan = 龍門客棧 = Dragon Inn
Media Collection PN1997 .L683 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 1968.
Dir. Hu Jinquan.
Chinese dialogue, with optional subtitles in either Chinese or English.
Epic film is set during the Ming dynasty. A power-hungry Eunuch employs the evil Eastern Chamber Sect in his quest to single-handedly rule China. However, a warrior named Chow is opposed to his corrupt ambitions and joins a group of warriors aiming to resist the Sect. The two forces eventually battle it out at the Dragon Inn, hosted by murderous bandit Jade.
• The long search
Volume 11
Media CollectionBL80.2.L664 1980z
TV Series; 13 VHS, 52 minutes each; 1977
Prod. Peter Montagnon
Tells about various religions of the world by showing actual practicing congregations in worship services.
• Long xu gou = 龍鬚溝 = Dragon beard ditch
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 81
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 1952.
Dir. Xian Qun.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Before the Liberation, the people of Longxu Gou were beaten and robbed and bullied by local thugs and hoodlums, but after the Liberation the thugs are prosecuted and the people are able to live in peace.
• Lou shang lou xia: Wu ya yu ma que = 楼上楼下: 烏鸦与麻雀 = Crows and sparrows
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 196
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Wu ya yu ma que".
• Lu sheng lian ge = 芦笙恋歌
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 83
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1957.
Dir. Yu Yanfu.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The Lahu people of Yunnan Province fight a war of resistance against the Nationalist Chinese Army.
• Lu Zhen de yan se: Zhu fu = 鲁镇的颜色: 祝福 = New Year sacrifice
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 142
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Zhu fu".
• Lun xi wang shi ji, xian dai wen hua yu xin xi wang shi ji = 論希望世紀, 現代文化與新希望世紀
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003 v.3
Lecture; 2 VCDs, 120 minutes; 2003
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Prof. Lao Siguang talks about century of hope, modernity and new century of hope.
• Luo tuo Xiangzi = 骆驼祥子 = Rickshaw boy
Media Collection PN1997 .L87 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 117 minutes; 1982
Dir. Ling Zifeng
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
In the 1920s, a young hardworking peasant arrives in Beijing to become a rickshaw boy at a time when the city is torn by dueling warlords. The owner of the rickshaw company s daughter falls in love with the boy despite a ten year age difference and decides to marry him. Not long after their marriage she dies in labor and his world becomes empty and meaningless. He is a wreck of emotional suffering induced by an archaic society, at the mercy of his environment.
M
• M. Butterfly
Reserve Book Service, Media Shelf PS3558.W83 M23 1994
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 101 minutes; 1993.
Dir. David Cronenberg.
Closed captioned.
Story of a French diplomat and a Beijing Opera star who carry on a love affair over almost 20 years before the diplomat discovers something shocking about his lover.
• M. Butterfly
Media Collection PN1997 .M13 2009
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1993.
Dir. David Cronenberg.
In English, with optional subtitles in English, French or Spanish.
A French civil service officer risks and then abandons everything in his life in his obsessive pursuit of a enigmatic Chinese opera diva who harbors a secret.
• Ma Benzhai: Hui min zhi dui = 马本斋: 回民支队 = The detachment of the Hui people
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 148
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the Muslim hero Ma Benzhai who led the Chinese Muslim people fighting against Japanese during the Sino-Japanese war. His story was made into the movie "Hui min zhi dui".
• Ma lu tian shi = 馬路天使 = Angels in the street
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 95
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1937.
Dir. Yuan Muzhi.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The friendship of a street musician, his friends, and two unfortunate sisters in the slums of Shanghai in 1935.
• Man cheng jin dai huang jin jia = 滿城盡帶黃金甲= Curse of the golden flower
Media Collection PN1997.2 .M359 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 114 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Yimou Zhang
Closed-captioned; dialogue in Chinese (5.1 Dolby Digital) or English (5.1 Dolby Digital) with optional subtitles in English or Spanish
China, Later Tang Dynasty, 10th Century. On the eve of the Chong Yang Festival, golden flowers fill the Imperial Palace. The Emperor returns unexpectedly with his second son, Prince Jai. His pretext is to celebrate the holiday with his family, but given the chilled relations between the Emperor and the ailing Empress, this seems disingenuous. For many years, the Empress and Crown Prince Wan, her stepson, have had an illicit liaison. Feeling trapped, Prince Wan dreams of escaping the palace with his secret love Chan, the Imperial Doctor’s daughter. Meanwhile, faithful son Prince Jai, grows worried over the Empress’s health and her obsession with golden chrysanthemums. The Emperor harbors equally clandestine plans and the Imperial Doctor is the only one privy to his machinations. When the Emperor senses a looming threat, he relocates the doctor’s family from the Palace to a remote area. They are attacked by mysterious assassins and Chan and her mother are forced back to the palace. Their return sets off a tumultuous sequence of dark surprises. Amid the glamour and grandeur of the festival, ugly secrets are revealed. As the Imperial Family continues its elaborate charade in a palatial setting, thousands of golden armored warriors charge the palace
• Mang jing = 盲井 = Blind shaft
Media Collection PN1997.2 .M364 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 92 minutes; 2002
Dir. Li Yang
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
The story of two itinerant miners who risk their lives in one of the many illegal Chinese coal mines.
• Mao xian de lü cheng: Shen mi de lü ban = 冒险的旅程: 神秘的旅伴 = Mysterious companions
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 66
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Shen mi de lü ban".
• The Mao years
Media CollectionDS774.C4416 1997pt.2
TV Series; 1 VHS, 120 minutes; 1994
Dir. Sue Williams
In Chinese and English with English voiceover.
See also: China: the PBS series; China in revolution; Born under the red flag
Examines the history of China under the Communist rule of Mao Zedong. Events covered include the Great Leap Forward and Cultural Revolution.
• Map of sex and love = Qing se di tu = 情色地圖
Media Collection PN1997.2 .M365 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 132 minutes; 2001
Dir. Evans Chan
In Cantonese and some Mandarin with English subtitles.
A young Chinese-American filmmaker returns to Hong Kong to make a documentary about the imminent opening of a new Disney theme park, but is distracted by the people he encounters.
• Mardi Gras: Made in China
Media Collection HD9736.C46 F896 2004
Documentary; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 2004
Dir. David Redmon
In English and Mandarin with English subtitles.
A documentary that explores the production, consumption, and disposal of Mardi Gras beads. Filmed on location in Fuzhou, China and New Orleans, Louisiana, the film follows "The Bead Trail" backwards from the bacchanalia at Mardi Gras to the factories in Fuzhou where the beads are made. When each group is shown images of the other, the cycle of misunderstanding goes a long way in explaining how the commodity chain is kept in place.
• Mei Lanfang de wu tai yi shu = 梅蘭芳的舞台藝術
Arts Library, Music Service DeskM1805.3M45 1990
Performance; 2 VHS; 199-?
Dir. Wu Zuguang
• Mei li de da jiao = 美丽的大脚 = Pretty big feet
Media Collection PN1997.2 .M45 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 2002
Dir. Yang Yazhou
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
In response to the death of her husband and young son, peasant Zhang Meili founded a school in the dry desert landscape of northwest China. When cultured Xia Yu arrived from Beijing to help her out, the two women bonded and learned from each other s character how to best serve the children.
• Menri Monastery
Media Collection BQ7984.7.I52 S66 1993
1 VHS, 26 minutes; 1990.
Dir. Roslyn Dauber.
The ancient shamanistic Bon religion of pre-Buddhist Tibet is portrayed. This is the story of the only remaining Bonpo monastery of the great Menri lineage. Having fled Tibet after the Chinese invasion, Bonpo refugees established a small monastic community. Located on Indian soil in the Himalayan foothills, this monastery’s purpose is to keep the eternal, religious truths of the Bonpo alive.
• Mi mi tu zhi = 秘密图纸
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 119
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 77 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Hao Guang.
In Mandarin with optional subtitles in traditional and simplified Chinese and English.
A man brings a secret drawing home against the rules and it is stolen at the train station. The local authorities and the people help to get it back.
• Min su ji yi da shi jing xuan
Media Collection NK1069.T3 M556 2005
DVD. 6 videodiscs (360 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
In Taiwanese and some Mandarin
• Mo sheng di peng you =Strange friends
Media CollectionPN1997.M636 1983
Feature Film/Instructional; 1 VHS, 90 minutes; 1983
Dir. Xu Lei
In Chinese with English subtitles.
Two train passengers, Tong-sheng and Du Qui try to make friends and help a despondent girl who has fallen on bad times and is being descriminated against. As she is about to throw herself into the river, Tong-sheng stops her. With help and understanding fron Tong-sheng and his friend she regains courage and confidence in life.
• Morning sun = Ba jiu dian zhong de tai yang
Media Collection DS778.7 .M67 2003
Documentary; 2 VHS, 117 minutes; 2003
Dir. Carma Hinton
In English and Chinese with English voice-over and subtitles.
This film attempts in the space of a two-hour documentary film to create an inner history of the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution (c.1964-1976). It provides a multi-perspective view of a tumultuous period as seen through the eyes--and reflected in the hearts and minds--of members of the high-school generation that was born around the time of the founding of the People s Republic of China in 1949, and that came of age in the 1960s. Others join them in creating in the film s conversation about the period and the psycho-emotional topography of high-Maoist China, as well as the enduring legacy of that period.
• Mu dan ting = 牡丹亭
Media Collection M1805.4.J5 M8 1997 [Limited 7-day]
Feature Film; 2 VHS; 1997?
In Chinese.
• Mu dan ting =牡丹亭 = The peony pavilion
Media Collection PN 2875.J53 M82 2005
DVD 4 videodiscs (600 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 booklet
In Chinese Wu dialect with both Chinese and English subtitles
This Qun opera, originated in Kun mountain area of Jiangsu province today during Chinese Ming Dynasty, presents a romantic and poetic love story about a young woman who returns from the dead to reunite with her true love during Southern Song period (960-1279). This is an abridged version of the epic masterpiece written in 1598, aiming to attract to young audience today. Combines acting, singing, dance, aerobatics, stilt-walking, puppetry, recitation, pageantry and martial arts
• Mu diao: Li Songlin yi shi = 木雕 : 李松林藝師
East Asian Collection NE1183.5.L54 M8 1997
Documentary; 1 VCD, 42 minutes; 1997?
• Mu diao: Huang Guili yi shi = 木雕 : 黃龜理藝師
East Asian Collection NK9798.H83 M8 1997
Documentary; 1 VCD, 48 minutes; 1997?
• Mu qin: Zhao Yiman = 母亲: 赵一曼
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 52
Television Program; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Zhao Yiman".
• Musa = 武士= The warrior
Media Collection PN1997 .M864 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 155 minutes; 2001.
Dir. Kim Sŏng-su.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Chinese, English, French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, and Spanish.
In 1375, with China in a state of chaos because of fighting between the Yuan and Ming Dynasties, the Koryo Dynasty sent a delegation to make peace with Ming, but they were accused of spying and sent to exile in a desert. As they attempted the long journey back to Korea, they rescued a kidnapped Ming princess and were pursued by the Yuan.
N
• Nan guan xi: Li Xiangshi yi shi = 南管戲 : 李祥石藝師
East Asian Collection PN2879 .N36 1997
Documentary; 1 VCD, 44 minutes; 1997?
• Nan zheng bei zhan = 南征北戰
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 127
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 122 minutes; 1952.
Dir. Cheng Yin.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The story of a battle between the communist army and the nationalist army which took place in the northeast China in 1947.
• Nanjing da tu sha = 南京大屠殺 =Nanking 1937
Media Collection on Order
Feature Film; 2 VCD, 118 minutes; 1997
Dir. Wu Ziniu
In Mandarin and Japanese with Chinese and English subtitles.
Features Nanking Massacre.
• Ni hong deng xia de shao bing = 霓虹灯下的哨兵
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 175
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 115 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Wang Ping.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Soon after the liberation of Shanghai in 1949, the Chinese People’s Liberation Army fought and won another battle there.
• Nie Er = 聶耳
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 47
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Zheng Junli.
Story about Nieh Erh, a young musician in Shang-hai in the early 30s, and the events that motivated him to write the marching song that eventually became the national anthem of the People’s Republic of China.
• Nü shen: Shen nü = 女神: 神女 = The Goddess
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 194
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2550.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Shen nü" and the actress Ruan Linyu.
• Nü yan yuan: Wu tai jie mei = 女演员: 舞台姐妹 = Two actresses
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 182
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Wu tai jie mei".
• Nuan = 暖
Media Collection PN1997 .N83 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD; 2003
Dir. Jianqi Huo
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
A visit from her childhood sweetheart brought back for a lame country woman all the memories. When she was young, she was healthy and beautiful. She fell for two men. Both promised to come back to the village to bring her to the city for a promising life, but both disappointed her. After a long wait, she eventually married a young deaf man, raising a family with him.
• Number 17 cotton mill Shanghai blues:music in China
Arts Library, Music Service DeskML3746.N861994
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1984
Dir. Jeremy Marre
In Chinese with English subtitles and narration.
Shanghai, Beijing, and the Muslim northwest region of Xinjiang, China are surveyed to illustrate the return to ancient and traditional Chinese music and arts in post-Cultural Revolution life. Musicians and factory workers who also play as soloists or in ensembles, are featured.
Questions |
Davidson Library, Room 5537
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-4082
Send Email
Subjects:
East Asian Studies
Borrowing Films
Most of the films are on DVD although some are still on cassette. They are located in the Media Collection on the first floor of the Davidson Library. The Media Collection is in the rear right corner as you enter the Goverment Information Center. All films are circulating on a 7-day loan period and can be renewed online if no one puts a hold or a request on the item.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait