Chinese Films A-G
#
• 12 ci lie che = 12次列车
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 113
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 77 minutes; 1960.
Dir. Hao Guang.
Sound track in Mandarin Chinese with traditional, simplified Chinese or English subtitles.
Story about the crew in Train 12 running from Shenyang to Beijing who are caught in a flood and have to help the passengers and each other.
• 51 hao bing zhan = 51号兵站
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 161
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1961.
Dir. Liu Qiong.
In Mandarin Chinese.
在上海的共产党物资站"51号兵站"由于叛徒程路的出卖,被特务马浮根破坏,运往苏中新四军的物资渠道被掐断。为了尽快恢复苏北新四军的后勤供给,中共华东局委派新四军某部作战科长梁宏(本名范云洪),以青帮"小老大"的身份前往上海重建51号兵站。 梁宏的父亲是上海帮会"义展堂"的堂主,家境显赫。此次回来他正是以范家"小老大"的身份作掩护,铲除叛徒,重建兵站。 "小老大"的突然出现,不仅让范家大管家李墨林颇感惊讶,同时也引起了大特务马浮根和黄元龙乃至日本宪兵队队长田中敏行的疑虑,上海各方势力都把眼光聚焦在这个突然从北方回来的"小老大"身上......
• 2046
Media Collection PN1997.2 .A216 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 129 minutes; 2004
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In Mandarin with some Japanese narration and some Chinese subtitles.
Loosely a sequel to Wong s film "In the mood for love", the writer Chow in this film become a womanizer. The film tells his various relationships with a group of women. His affair with a callgirl, who resident in room 2046 in a hotel. Is 2046 a hotel room number? A train to the future? A memory? The year before China s fifty-year of self-governing promise for Hong Kong expires? It is up to you to find its own meaning.
top
A
• A fei zheng zhuan = 阿飛 正傳 = Days of being wild
Media Collection PN1997 .A2215 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1990
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In Cantonese with traditional or simplified Chinese characters, Japanese, Korean, Bahasa Malaysia, Bahasa Indonesia, Thai, Vietnamese or English subtitles.
Story of six young people in 1960s Hong Kong and their interwoven love-hate relationships.
• A Lan zhi si : Ying xiong hu dan = 阿兰之死 : 英雄虎胆 = Courageous fighter
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 16
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ying xiong hu dan".
• Ai qing dao ba di: hua hao yue yuan = 爱情刀把地: 花好月圆 = A perfect marriage
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 70
Television Program; 1 DVD, 50 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Hua hao yue yuan".
• Ai qing he shui: Wo men cun li de nian qing ren = 爱情和水: 我们村里的年轻人 = Our youngsters
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 88
Television Program; 1 DVD, 61 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Wo men cun li de nian qing ren".
• Ai qing ru dian: Wo men cun li de nian qing ren. Xu = 爱情如电: 我们村里的年轻人. 续 = Our youngsters. Part II
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 90
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Wo men cun li de nian qing ren xu ji".
• Ai xiao de ren: Lei Feng = 爱笑的人: 雷锋
Main Library PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 92
Television Program; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Lei Feng".
• All under heaven: life in a Chinese village
Media Collection S522.C5A55 1985
TV Series/Documentary; 1 VHS, 58 minutes; 1985
Dir. Carma Hinton
Presents a documentary which visits the Chinese village of Long Bow. Looks at daily life, showing how traditional ways have persisted, though altered by the many sudden shifts in government policy. Looks at how the villagers deal with the most recent shift, from collective agriculture back to family farming.
• An zhan: Ting zhan yi hou = 暗战: 停战以后 = After armistice
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 168
Television Program; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ting zhan yi hou".
• Ancient China
Curriculum Lab, Juvenile MediaCB311.A5225 1998v.3
Documentary/Juvenile; 1 VHS, 23 minutes; 1998
Dir. Ann Carroll
Join archaeologist "Arizona Smith" and a young detective-in-training as they unlock the mysteries of ancient China, including a visit to the Great Wall.
• Ancient China
Curriculum Lab, Juvenile Media DS735 .A53 2004
Documentary/Juvenile; 1 DVD, 26 minutes; 1998.
Dir. Ann Carroll
English and Spanish language tracks; closed-captioned.
"In this look at ancient China, one of the oldest continuous civilizations, students learn of the great Emperor Qin, whose dynasty was responsible for the construction of the Great Wall and whose elaborate tomb contained hundreds of life-sized clay soldiers to guard him in the afterlife. Trace the history and lasting legacy of the Shang and Zhou dynasties while marveling at the beautiful bronze vessels found during the excavation of the ancient city of Anyang. Explore the origins of Chinese innovations like silk, calligraphy and even the yo-yo, and discover how the famed Silk Road opened China’s frontiers to trade"--Container.
• The art of dying = The Art of dying : a window into the Tibetan way of life
Special Coll., American Religions Collection DS786 .A77 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992.
Dir. Majbritt Munck and Jon C. Jensen.
In Tibetan, with English subtitles.
Reveals modern-day Tibet from the Tibetan perspective. Explores the approach to death as revealed in the ancient Tibetan scriptures and practiced in local customs throughout the centuries.
• Art works
Arts Library, Music Service Desk N582.M25 A97 1997
Special Coll., American Religions Collection DS786 .A77 1992
1 videocassette (60 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in
Dir. Majbritt Munck and Jon C. Jensen
Reveals modern-day Tibet from the Tibetan perspective. Explores the approach to death as revealed in the ancient Tibetan scriptures and practiced in local customs throughout the centuries
• Ashima = 阿诗玛
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 21
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 88 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Liu Qiong.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Based on a legend of the Sa-ni people in China’s Yunnan Province, this film tells of the love and devotion between A-shih-ma and the shepherd boy A-hei, and their fight against the evil forces which worked against their union.
B
• Ba wang bie ji = 覇王别姬 = Farewell my concubine
Media Collection PN1997 .B132 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 172 minutes; 1993
Dir. Chen Kaige
In Chinese with English subtitles.
Story that spans more than 50 years in the lives of two men at the Peking Opera, friends since childhood, and the woman who comes between them. Also an absorbing drama of the period in Chinese history from the warlord era through the Cultural Revolution.
• Ba wang bie ji = 覇王别姬
Arts Library, Music Service DeskM1805.3.P21984
Performance; 1 VHS, 108 minutes; 1984
With Chinese subtitles.
• Bai mao nü = 白毛女
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 125
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1950.
Dir. Wang Bin, Shui Hua.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A peasant girl escapes to the mountains from the evil landlord. Her hair turns white in a short while because of the tragedy she endures and the hard life in the mountain cave.
• Bai nian dian ying bai nian shou cang = 百年电影百年收藏 = Movies of hundred years, collection of hundred years
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005
Feature Films; 200 DVDs; 1934-1966.
In Mandarin.
Includes 100 classic Chinese movies produced between 1934-1966; 100 television programs "Dian ying chuan qi", produced in 2005 reviewing each of the movies; and 6 CDs with sound tracks from these movies.
• Bai she chuan=Legend of the white snake
Arts Library, Music Service DeskM1805.3.P25 1983
Performance; 1 VHS, 145 minutes; 1983
Dir. Fu Chaowu
In Chinese.
In the Legend of the white snake, two snake fairies turn themselves into female mortals, Lady White and her maid servant. Lady White falls in love with a young herbalist Xu Xian. An evil monk discovers Lady White s true identity and uses his power and forces the white snake to be entrapped under a pagoda where she remains for centuries until the green snake musters troops to topple the pagoda allowing the white snake once again to see the light of day.
• Baiqiu’en dai fu = 白求恩大夫
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 171
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Li Shutian.
In Mandarin Chinese and English.
A Canadian doctor came to China to help Chinese people fight Japanese invaders.
• Ban sheng yuan = 半生緣 = Eighteen springs
Media Collection PN1997 .B326 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 126 minutes; 1997
Dir. Xu Anhua
In Chinese with Chinese and English subtitles.
This love story started in 1930, Shanghai. Manzheng and Shaojun worked in the same factory. They loved each other and dreamed of getting married. Due to various unfortunate incidents, they broke up. They had their own families and kids. More than ten years later, they met again.
• Bao feng zhou yu = 暴風驟雨
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 61
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 1961.
Dir. Xie Tieli.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A story about communist troops who formed working teams to go deep into the countryside to educate and help the local peasants to prepare for the forthcoming communist revolution.
• Bao wei sheng li guo shi = 保衛勝利果實
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 79
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 74 minutes; 1951.
Dir. Yi Lin.
In Mandarin, with voice over in another language or dialect.
An inexperienced young soldier who fights for the Communist party later becomes a pilot in the airforce.
• Becoming American
Media Collection E184.C5 B38 2003
Performance; 3 videodiscs (366 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 4 3/4 in
Traces the history and experiences of Chinese Americans; also includes interviews with AIDS researcher Dr. David Ho, market reserch pioneer Shirley Young, author Gish Jen, physicist Samuel Ting, and architect Maya Lin
• Bei feng chui: Bai mao nü = 北风吹: 白毛女 = The White-haired girl
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 126
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Bai mao nü".
• Bei Yuming: Hua ren jian zhu she ji di yi ren (1-4) = 贝聿铭: 华人建筑第一人
Media Collection in Process
Feature Film; 4 DVDs; 2003
In Chinese.
• Beijing a Beijing: Wo zhe yi bei zi = 北京啊北京: 我这一辈子 = This life of mine
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 40
Television Program; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Wo zhe yi bei zi".
• Bian zou bian chang = 边走边唱 = Life on a string
Media Collection PN1997 .B439 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 1991
Dir. Chen Kaige
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
Story of a saintly blind man who as a boy was promised the restoration of his sight if he devoted his life to music. He and a young blind disciple travel the countryside seeking enlightenment and inspiring people with their singing and banjo playing.
• Bing lin cheng xia = 兵临城下
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 173
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Lin Nong.
In Mandarin Chinese.
The peaceful libration of Changchun city in 1948.
• Bing shan shang de lai ke = 冰山上的来客
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 5
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1962.
Dir. Zhao Xinshui.
In Mandarin.
A love story of two young people in the plateau of the western boundary of China in the early 1950s. The story involves conflicts between the communist army and a federalist spy in the far western region of China. The movie, which was made in the 60s is famous for the folk songs and ethnic music of the minority tribes.
• Bing shang jie mei = 冰上姐妹
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 183
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Wu Zhaodi.
In Madarin Chinese.
The story reflects the development of ice skating business in China.
• Bo jitsu
[IN PROCESS GIFT]Media Collection
Martial Arts; 1 DVD, 30 minutes; 2002.
Master Hokama is one of the most skilled Bo Masters in Okinawa. In this videodisc you will learn rare bo forms from a true Okinawan Master of the Bo. This videodisc also demonstrates all new combinations suitable for competitions, as well a the basics of the Bo. Bo or bojitsu is the martial art of using a staff weapon called "bo" which means "stick". These are one of the earliest weapons used by man and have been used for thousands of years in Eastern Asia.
• Born under the red flag
Media CollectionDS774.C4416 1997pt.3
TV Series; 1 VHS, 120 minutes; 1997
Dir. Sue Williams
In Chinese and English with English voiceover.
See also: China: the PBS series; China in revolution; The Mao years
Recounts the years between 1976 and 1997, following the death of Mao Zedong. Under Deng Xiaoping s leadership China witnessed sweeping economic and social changes, but under the firm control of the Communist party. Chronicles the growing student movements and party crackdown at Tiananmen Square as individuals challenge the meaning and value of commmunism in China.
• Bu dai xi: Li Tianlu yi shi = 布袋戲 : 李天祿藝師
East Asian Collection PN1982.L5 P82 1997
Documentary; 1 VCD, 42 minutes; 1997?
• Bu jian bu san = 不见 不散 = Be there or be square
Media Collection PN1997 .B778 1999
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 166 minutes; 1998
Dir. Feng Xiaogang
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
The story between two Chinese immigrants in Los Angeles, U.S.A.
• Bu ju xiao jie de ren = 不拘小節的人= The Man does not bother about trifles
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 197
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 1956.
Dir. Lü Ban.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A satire comedy of a man who is socially awkard and oblivious to ethics.
• Bu qu fu de ren: Gang tie zhan shi = 不屈服的人: 钢铁战士 = Steeled fighter
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 56
Television Program; 1 DVD, 50 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Gang tie zhan shi".
• Bu ye cheng = 不夜城
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 199
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 113 minutes; 1957.
Dir. Tang Xiaodan.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Bohan returns to Shanghai in 1935 to take over his family’s textile dyeing factory. This family business has survived foreign competitiion. However, his management faces new challenges after 1949.
• Bu yuan wan li: Baiqiu’en dai fu =不远万里: 白求恩大夫 = Dr. Norman Bethune
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 172
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Baiqiu’en dai fu".
• Can ku de you xi: Di lei zhan = 残酷的游戏: 地雷战 = Landmine warfare
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 164
Television Program; 1 DVD, 55 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Di Lei Zhan".
• Cao yuan shang de ren men = 草原上的人們 = people of the grasslands
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 137
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 92 minutes; 1953.
Dir. Xu Tao.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A story about the Inner Mongolian people fighting against the ones who are trying to sabotage their peaceful lives.
• Ce ma ru lin = 策馬入林 = Run away
Media Collection PN1997 .C385 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 114 minutes; 1984.
Dir. Wang Tong.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Story taken place in the end of Tang Dynasty when China was in a chaotic state, a group of bandits kidnapped the daughter of a local village chief as a hostage in demand for food. The daughter fell in love with one of the bandits.
• Chao dao yu wo = 超導與我
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003 v.6
Lecture; 2 VCD, 101 minutes; 2003
Dir. Du Zuyi
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Prof. Chu Ching-wu talks about his life as a scientist and his interest in superconductivity.
• Chen mo de hai: jia wu feng yun =沉默的海: 甲午风云 = The Naval battle of 1894
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 28
Television Program; 1 DVD, 74 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Jia wu feng yun".
• Cheng chun cao mu shen: xiao cheng zhi chun = 城春草木深: 小城之春 = Springtime in a small town
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 32
Television Program; 1 DVD 62 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Xiao cheng zhi chun".
• Chengjisihan = 成吉思汗
Media Collection PN1997 .C4376 1999
Feature Film; 4 VCDs, 190 minutes; 1986
Dir. Zhan Xiangchi
In Mandarin.
A story of Chengjisihan, how he ended wars and united the country.
• Chiang Ching:a dance journey
Media CollectionGV1785.C51865C48 1990z
Documentary; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1981
Dir. Lana Pih Jokel
A documentary on the life and work of Chiang Ching, a Chinese dancer and choreographer, who came to the United States in 1970 and created a unique dance form integrating elements from traditional Chinese dance and modern Western dance styles. Shows her early life and career as an actress in Hong Kong.
• China blue
Media Collection HD6073.C62 C6 2007
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 88 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Micha X Peled
Chiefly in Chinese, with some English; subtitles in English.
"Examines the conditions of a factory in Shaxi, China, where mostly young women workers produce blue jeans for the western market in the age of globalization. Illuminates the economic pressures applied by Western companies and their human consequences. ... [Jasmine] is one of 130 million Chinese farmer’s children who exchanged their rural life for a job in a factory: the world’s largest migration wave. Jasmine earns six cents an hour, often works seven days a week, and does not get any extra money for overtime. She shares a room with twelve other girls, and the bland food she is dished up every day is automatically deducted from her meager wages"-- IDFA film review.
• China in revolution
Media CollectionDS774.C4416 1997pt.1
TV Series; 1 VHS, 120 minutes; 1989
Dir. Sue Williams
In Chinese and English with English voiceover.
See also: China: the PBS series; The Mao years; Born under the red flag
Recounts the 38 years between 1911 and 1949, during which China was transformed from a centuries-old empire into the world s largest Communist state. The film highlights Chiang Kai-shek and Mao Zedong.
• China: the PBS series
Media CollectionDS774.C4416 1997
TV Series; 3 VHS, 360 minutes; 1997
Dir. Sue Williams
In Chinese and English with English voiceover.
See also: China in revolution; The Mao years; Born under the red flag
Tells the story of the eight decades of upheaval in China which followed the fall of its last emperor in 1911. Includes interviews with people who participated in the events described and newsreel footage.
• China's cosmopolitan age:the Tang, 618-907
Media CollectionDS749.3.C476 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Chung-wen Shih
The Tang dynasty, known as the golden age of Chinese history, was an era of great cultural development and material prosperity. This program examines the Tang s vitality in government, art, religion and philosophy, and its profound contribution to the humanistic traditions of China, Korea and Japan.
• A Chinese cracker: the making of The peony pavilion in Shanghai, New York and Paris
Media Collection PL2785.J3C45 2003
Documentary; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2000
Dir. Derek Bailey
In English.
"Written by 16th-century Chinese playwright Tang Xianzu, The peony pavilion is a 19-hour epic opera in 57 episodes that tells a story of youth and love literally triumphing over death. This program follows director Chen Shi-Zheng and the Shanghai Kunju Opera Troupe in their monumental effort of staging the entire production, an event that had not occurred in nearly four centuries. Despite resistance by the Chinese government and the project s inherent difficulties, the debut at the Lincoln Center was an overwhelming success. Coverage of rehearsals, set construction, and costume preparation is combined with interviews with Chen Shi-Zheng and his musical director Zhou Ming, who place this masterpiece in its historical and cultural context"--Container.
• Chinese instruments and music
Arts Library, Music Service DeskML531.C55 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 27 minutes; 1992
Dir. Deben Bhattacharya
Depicts various Chinese musicians and instruments, including a performance on the box zither. Also shows an instrument factory with master musicians playing examples of instrumental music, some on steel wires, some on silk strings, and some on reed instruments.
• Chinese New Year
Curriculum Lab, Juvenile MediaGT4905.C453 1994
Documentary/Juvenile; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1994
Dir. Rhonda Fabian
During this most important and popular of all Chinese festivals, the ideas of communal awareness and starting anew are taught through the celebration in honor of Tsun Kwan, the god of the hearth, and the traditional festival of the dragon.
• Chinese New Year = Chung-kuo nien
Media CollectionGT4905.C45 1980
Documentary; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 198-?
Dir. Chang I-Chen
• Chinese paper-cuts = Chung-kuo Chien chih
Media CollectionTT870.C45 1980
Documentary; 1 VHS, 26 minutes; 198-?
• Chinese roots
Media Collection E184.C5 C524 1994 [Limited 7-day]
1 videocassette (25 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in
Dir. Donald Young
Originally produced for the PBS television program The new Americans
For a class sponsored by the Chinese Cultural Center In Search of Roots program, three Chinese-American young adults, Pam Tse, Terence Chuck, and Jeff Ow, research their family backgrounds in U.S. archives, through interviews with their grandparents, and on a trip to their ancestral villages in China.
• Chinese take away
Media CollectionPR9619.3.Y44C47 2004
Performance; 1 VHS, 53 minutes; 1997
Dir. Therese Collie
One-woman show based on the stories of performer/writer Anna Yen s grandmother, mother and herself, using a unique blend of storytelling, circus skills, clowning, movement and magic. It embodies her grandmother s stories of survival in 1930 s China and Hong Kong, to her mother s dislocation and grief in the 60 s suburban Sydney, to her own grief, confusion and peace-making with her family history.
• Chongqing sen lin = 重慶 森林
Media Collection PN1997 .C476 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 97 minutes; 1994
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
Two interwined romantic tales take place inside the Ch ung-ch ing high-rise shopping center in downtown Hong Kong: A policeman falls in love with a snack bar waitress while a house detective gets involved with a female drug dealer.
• Chongqing sen lin = 重慶森林 = Chung king express
Media Collection PN1997 .C476 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Wang Jiawei.
In Cantonese and Mandarin Chinese with optional English subtitles; credits in English and Chinese with no subtitles; optional captions.
Two intertwined romantic tales take place inside the Chʻung-chʻing high-rise shopping center in downtown Hong Kong. A policeman falls in love with a snack bar waitress while a house detective gets involved with a female drug dealer.
• Chou jiao deng chang = 丑角 登场 = Enter the clowns
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C49 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 77 minutes; 2001
Dir. Cui Zi'en
In Mandarin with English and Chinese subtitles.
• Chu Han feng liu: da Han feng = 楚漢風流 = The story of Han dynasty
Media CollectionPN1992.77.C48 2005
TV Series; 9 DVDs; 2005
Dir. Wei Hantao, Huang Weiming & Li Jiqiang
In Mandarin and Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles.
"The attempts to overturn the tyrant king of Qin, China s first emperor and the mastermind behind the Great Wall, are chronicled in this stirring historical saga highlighted by epic battle sequences. After Qin dismantled the so-called "Six Nations", veteran warriors from these disbanded countries joined hands and declared their rebellion against the Qin Dynasty. But even with their expertise in battle strategies, it will take more than just sheer force and mere bravery to bring down the all-powerful Qin" -- Case.
• Chun guang zha xie = 春光 乍洩 = Happy together
Media Collection PN1997 .C488 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 97 minutes; 2004
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In Cantonese with Chinese subtitles.
Yiu Fai and Po Wing left Hong Kong for a great waterfall in South America, but in the end are stuck on the streets of Buenos Aires. Yiu Fai s life takes on a new spin, while Po Wing s life shatters continuality in contrast.
• Chun guang zha xie = 春光 乍洩 = Happy together = Historia de un encuentro
Media Collection PN1997 .C488 1998
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 97 minutes; 1997
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In Cantonese and Mandarin and some Spanish with Spanish subtitles.
Yiu Fai and Po Wing left Hong Kong for a great waterfall in South America, but in the end are stuck on the streets of Buenos Aires. Yiu Fai s life takes on a new spin, while Po Wing s life shatters continually.
• Chun jie da lian huan = 春節大联欢
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 85
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 78 minutes; 1955.
Dir. Zhang Junxiang.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A Chinese new year festival celebration evening.
• Chun qu chun you hui: Zi zi mei mei zhan qi lai = 春去春又回: 姊姊妹妹站起来 = Stand up, sisters
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 94
Television Program; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Zi zi mei mei zhan qi lai".
• Chun tian li: Shi zi jie tou = 春天里: 十字街头 = Juncture
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 106
Television Program; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Shi zi jie tou".
• Chugoku teki gakki =Chinese musical instruments
Arts Library, Music Service DeskML531.C581980
Documentary; 3 VHS; 198-?
Prod. Chen Ch’eng-hsiung
In Chinese with English subtitles.
Shows traditional musical instruments of China, demonstrates the sounds they make singly and in an orchestra, and shows some of the contexts in which different instruments would be used.
• Ci zhen ren jian bu ye cheng: Bu ye cheng = 此真人间不夜城: 不夜城 = City without night
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 200
Television Program; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Bu ye cheng".
• Classical Chinese theater:martial arts & acrobatic sequences
Media Collection PN2871 .P44 1980z
Documentary/Performance; 1 VHS, 12 minutes; 198-?
Dir. John D. Mitchell
With English commentary.
The martial arts and sword play of the traditional Peking opera are shown and displayed with detailed English commentary.
• Cold War
Media CollectionD843.C577245 1998
TV Series; 8 VHS, 140 minutes each; 1998
Prod. Martin Smith
A series documenting the rise and fall of the Cold War, the actions of world leaders, and the wars and arms races occurring during this time.
• Colonel Jing Xing: a unique destiny
Media Collection HQ77.8.X56 C65 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2001.
Dir. Sylvie Levey.
In English and Chinese with English voiceovers.
"Shanghai’s principal dancer, 33-year-old Jin Xing, is a big star. She is the first choreographer to have received recognition in over half a century of national communism. But the most amazing thing about Jin Xing is that, up until 1995, this beautiful young woman was a man, a colonel in the People’s Liberation Army. This film [combines] the colorful imagery of Shanghai’s dance world, the panoply of the Chinese People’s Army, and the heart-felt expressiveness of the young Colonel who turned his longing to be a woman into a reality. He battled the rigidity of Communist bureaucrats until they relented and allowed the first sex change operation in China. The film interviews his female surgeon, and also follows Jin Xing’s setbacks and recovery. His mother, although troubled by her son’s singular urge for a sex change, gives him total emotional support. In fact, she later finds a baby for adoption so that Jin Xing could happily become a mother. Despite Jin Xing’s transcendence in the dance world, she is still up against the Chinese bureaucracy, which refuses to give her permission to perform on the stages of the Western world. The documentary shows Chincese society in awkward upheaval as this talented artist presses for change"--Container.
• Crouching tiger, hidden dragon=Wo hu cang long
Media Collection PN1997.W594 W64 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 2000
Dir. Ang Lee
In Mandarin with English and French soundtracks or subtitles.
Set in 19th-century China, "two master warriors are faced with their greatest challenge when the treasured Green Destiny sword is stolen. A young aristocrat prepares for an arranged marriage, but soon reveals her superior fighting talents and her romantic past. As each warrior battles for justice, they come face to face with their worst enemy-and the inescapable, enduring power of love"--Container.
• Da hong deng long gao gao gua = 大紅燈籠高高掛 = Raise the red lantern
Media Collection PN1997 .D24 2001
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 94 minutes; 1991
Dir. Zhang Yimou
Nineteen-year-old Songlian has become fourth wife to the wealthy Chen, and she must share her husband with his other three wives. When she discovers that the other wives manipulate and cheat for their husband s favors, a battle of wills commences between the women that can only bring misfortune to all.
• Da lang tao sha = 大浪淘沙
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 191
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 124 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Yi Lin.
In Mandarin Chinese.
Story of 4 young people joining the revolutionary movement in 1920s China.
• Da niang = 大娘
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 104
Television Program; 1 DVD, 65 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Interviews with several Chinese actresses who are famous for playing older women since their 20’s, interwoven with clips of their performances in the films.
• Da pian: Shan jian ling xiang ma bang lai = 大片: 山间铃响马帮来 = A Horse caravan
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 98
Television Program; 1 DVD, 51 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Shan jian ling xiang ma bang lai".
• Da shuai: Hong qi pu = 大帅: 红旗谱 = Keep red flag flying
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 158
Television Program; 1 DVD, 59 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Hong qi pu".
• Da wan = 大腕 = Big shot's funeral
Media Collection PN1997 .D244 2001
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 116 minutes; 1997
Dir. Feng Xiaogang
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Mr. Taylor, who is an American motion picture director, works in China. He plans his funeral , wishing it to be a celebration of his life, as is the custom in China where when people die of old age, the funeral is a celebration of their longevity.
• Da xue li ke tong shi jiao yu shi fou reng he shi yi = 大學理科通識敎育是否仍合時宜
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003 v.8
Lecture; 2 VCDs, 114 minutes; 2003
Dir. Du Zuyi
In Cantonese with Chinese subtitles.
Prof. Siu Yum-Tong talks about whether science general education is still valuable in university education.
• Da zhai men = 大宅門 = Stemma legendary
Media Collection PN1992.77 .D29 2001
Television Play; 8 DVDs, 40 episodes, 2000 minutes; 2001.
Dir. Guo Baochang.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Da zhai men : xu ji = 大宅门 : 续集 = Stemma legendary : II
Media Collection PN1992.77 .D292 2003
Television Play; 32 VCDs, 32 episodes; 2003.
Dir. Guo Baochang.
Mandarin or Cantonese dialogue with Chinese subtitles.
• Dances with the dragon
Media Collection HF1456.5.C6 D363 1999
Documentary; 2 VHS, 103 minutes; 1998
Dir. Christine Choy, Tao Shen & Lei Zhong
In Chinese and English with English subtitles.
A documentary exploring US-China trade relations through frank interviews in China and the U.S. with families, street vendors and workers as well as the "professionals" in the field of U.S.-China relations. Part one introduces the subject of U.S.-China trade relations. Part two focuses on the obstacles and issues related to trade relations, such as cultural differences, intellectual property rights, human rights, China s only-child family policy and cultural exchanges.
• Dang dai jie chu xue ren wen shi ke ji gong kai yan jiang = 當代傑出學人文史科技公開演講
Media Collection PL2609 .D36 2003
Lecture; 16 VCDs, 833 minutes; 2003
Dir. Du Zuyi
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
• Dang de nü er = 党的女兒
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 145
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 1958.
Dir. Lin Nong.
In Mandarin Chinese.
In order to protect the underground Communist organization, Li Yumei sacrifices her own life.
• Dao ma zei = 盗馬贼 = Horse thief
Media Collection PN1997 .D31334 1997
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 84 minutes; 1997
Dir. Tian Zhuangzhuang
With English subtitles.
Story of a herdsman in the exotic land of Tibet. Caught between poverty and religion, he commits crimes, is expelled from the clan and sacrifices himself in atonement.
• A day on the grand canal with the Emperor of China:or, surface is illusion but so is depth
Arts Library, Music Service DeskNC750.D38 1991
Documentary; 1 VHS, 47 minutes; 1991
Dir. Philip Haas
World-famous artist David Hockney gives a discourse on eastern and western perspective and their relationship to his own artistic vision. He uses as examples a 72-foot long legendary 17th-century Chinese scroll which traces the Emperor Kangxi s grand tour of his southern domains comparing it with a Canaletto painting of the Grand Canal of Venice.
• Di dao zhan = 地道战 = Tunnel warfare
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 13
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 97 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Ren Xudong.
In Mandarin with traditional and simplified Chinese and English subtitles.
It’s a story about the tunnel warfare conducted by the people in the Jizhong Plain during the Sino-Japan war.
• Di lei zhan = 地雷战
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 163
Feature Film; 1 DVD,75 minutes; 1962.
Dir. Tang Yingqi.
In Mandarin Chinese with optional simplified, traditional Chinese and English subtitle.
A story of the people in Zhao Village fighting the Japanese invaders in 1942.
• Di xia dang: Ye huo chun feng dou gu cheng = 地下党: 野火春风斗古城 = Struggles in an ancient city
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 170
Television Program; 1 DVD, 51 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Ye huo chun feng dou gu cheng".
• Di xia : Di dao zhan = 地下 : 地道战 = Tunnel warfare
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 14
Television Program; 1 DVD, 49 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Di dao zhan".
• Dian ying da lian huan = 电影大联欢
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 86
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program inspired by the movie "Chun jie da lian huan" combines songs, music, dance, skits, and acrobatics excerpted from fifty Chinese classic movies into a rare variety show.
• Diao Chan yu Lü Bu = 貂蟬與呂布 = Tiao Chan
Media Collection PN1997 .D478 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Li Jia.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitle.
Diao Chan, a beautiful young lady, is used by Wang Yun to worsen the relationship between Dong Zhuo and his adopted son Lü Bu.
• Dirty laundry:a history of heroes
Media CollectionF1035.C5D57 1996
Documentary; 1 VHS, 31 minutes; 1996
Dir. Richard Fung
A history of the first Chinese immigrants to Canada with a special look at gay Chinese Canadians. Combines dramatization with historical footage and commentary.
• Dong = 东
Media Collection PN1997.2 .D64 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 66 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Jia Zhangke.
In Mandarin Chinese with simplified Chinese subtitles.
Painter Liu Xiaodong experienced life in Fengjie of the Three Gorges area in China as well as in Bangkok while painting portraits of the local people.
• Dong Cunrui = 董存瑞
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 133
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1955.
Dir. Guo Wei.
Dong Cunrui is a young soldier of PLA. This movies describes his growth from a common civilian into a brave soldier and his heroic sacrifice of life in the destruction of the enemy’s blockhouse.
• Dong xie xi du = 東邪西毒 = Ashes of time
Media Collection PN1997 .D646 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 1994
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In Cantonese or Mandarin with Chinese and Japanese subtitles.
A story of vagrant swordsmen obtaining vegeance for the women in their lives. This release includes theatrical trailers for this feature and Bodyguard from Beijing.
• Dou ni wan er: Jin shang tian hua = 逗你玩儿: 锦上添花 = Better and better
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 166
Television Program; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Jin shang tian hua".
• Du jiang zhen cha ji = 渡江偵察記
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 131
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1954.
Dir. Tang Xiaodan.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A successful scouting mission across the Yangzi River by the People’s Liberation Army in the 1949.
• Du li da dui = 独立大队
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 99
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Wang Yan.
In Mandarin Chinese.
An uprising KMT army troop joins the Communist army.
• Duo luo tian shi = 墮落天使 = Fallen angels
Media Collection PN1997 .D86 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 1995
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In Cantonese and Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
In the garishly lit late-night world of Hong Kong, the lives of four lonely people briefly intersect: Wong Chi-Ming, a jaded hit man who wants out of his dangerous, solitary business but is leery of emotional involvement; the Agent, the beautiful partner-in-crime he s never met, but who s fallen in love with Chi-Ming anyway; Baby, a bleach-blonde, night-crawling cookie who s looking for love but will settle for being remembered by Chi-Ming; and He Zhiwu, a mute, overgrown child who, in the wee hours, breaks into closed-up shops, opens them for business and forces customers to shop against their will.
• Duo xie le: Liu san jie = 多谢了: 刘三姐 = Third sister Liu
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 186
Television Program; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Liu san jie".
E
• The education of a singer at the Beijing Opera
Arts Library, Music Service DeskML336.5.E4 1994
Documentary; 1 VHS, 55 minutes; 1994
Dir. Marie-Claire Quiquemelle
This story follows singer Wang Runqing during his seven years of rigorous training at the Beijing National Opera Company, in rehearsal, performance, and class.
• Emerging powers
Media CollectionHC59.7.E5556 1996
Documentary; 4 VHS, 50 minutes; 1996
Examines the economies of China, India, Mexico, and Brazil and "provides sophisticated primers on the world’s most promising markets, introducing the entrepreneurs and consumers that are propelling these meteoric emerging powers".
• Engineering disasters 11
Media Collection TA495 .E5411 2004
Documentary Television Program; 1 DVD, 45 minutes; 2004.
Closed captioned.
"Examines the following five events: a deadly explosion in Cleveland that killed 128 people in 1944; the collapse of a skywalk that killed 114 people at a Kansas City dance competition; the riveting collapse of a San Francisco mansion into a massive sinkhole; the 1931 Yangtze River floods that killed 145,000 people; and the "miracle mineral" that turned out to be an invisible killer"--Distributor Web site.
• Engineering disasters. 18
Media Collection TA495 .E5418 2006
Documentary Television Program; 1 DVD, 45 minutes; 2004.
Closed captioned.
Documentary examining the U.S. Army’s Stryker Light Armor Vehicle; the Milwaukee Brewers baseball stadium crane collapse; the Sunjiawan, China coal mine explosion; the 1951 Baldwin Hills Dam failure; the shoe fitting fluoroscope that exposed consumers to dangerous levels of radiation; and the effects of environmental degradation on the Salton Sea in California and the Aral Sea in Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan.
• Eros
Short Film "The Hand"
Media Collection PN1997.2 .E76 2005
Short Films; 1 DVD, 106 minutes total; 2004
Dir. Wong Kar-Wai
In English, Mandarin and Italian with English, French and Spanish subtitles.
"Three movie explorations of eroticism and desire from three of the world s most outstanding directors. A tailor knows from touch the exact measurements needed to create a dress for his longtime unrequited love in The hand. [In] Equilibrium, a harried ad exec describes a mysterious dream woman to his distracted shink. And [in] The dangerous thread of things, plot gives way to mental adventure and a celebration of the female form"--Container.
F
• Fang Tang yue wu = 仿唐樂舞 =Recreated Tang dynasty music and dance
Arts Library, Music Service DeskGV1691.F36 1984
Documentary; 1 VHS, 97 minutes; 1984
• Fei dao de gu shi: fei dao Hua =飞刀的故事 : 飞刀华 = The Knife-thrower
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 38
Television Program; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Fei dao hua".
• Fei dao Hua = 飞刀华
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 37
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 93 minutes; 1963.
Dir. Xu Suling.
In Chinese.
Depicts a Chinese acrobat troupe in Beijing in 1940. The main attraction of the troupe is Fei dao Hua, a young man with amazing knife-throwing skills. Members look after one another through thick and thin.
• Feng bao = 風暴
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 49
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 1959.
Dir. Jin Shan.
• Feng er ti ta cai = 風兒踢踏踩 = Play while you play
Media Collection PN1997 .F3965 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1981.
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian.
In Chinese (Mandarin) and Taiwanese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
An advertising director is chasing his assistant who does not care very much about him. A car accident brings about a new love prospect for the assistant. She is now facing a difficult choice between the advertising director or the doctor.
• Feng huang qin= 凤凰琴 = Country teachers
Media CollectionPN1997.F3968 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1994
Dir. He Qun
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
The story is how a substitute teacher of the elementary school, Zhang Yingzi, in a remote mountain area of northern China struggles to become a regular teacher.
• Feng yu Yuanbao Tun: Bao feng zhou yu = 风雨元宝屯: 暴风骤雨 = The hurricane
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 62
Television Program; 1 DVD, 53 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Bao feng zhou yu".
• Feng yue= 風月 =Temptress moon
Media CollectionPN1997.F398 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 127 minutes; 1996
Dir. Chen Kaige
In Cantonese or Mandarin with Chinese, English and Spanish subtitles.
• Furong zhen = 芙蓉鎮=Hibiscus town
Media Collection on Order
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 126 minutes; 1989?
Dir. Xie Jin
With English subtitles.
Story of a couple at Hibiscus town where they sell rice beancurd for a living. During the "four clean-ups" movement of 1964, they re classified as new rich peasants. Their house is confiscated and the husband is driven to suicide. The wife later after the cultural revolation falls in love with a rightist and almost dies when having a difficult labour.
G
• Gang tie zhan shi = 鋼鐵戰士 = Steeled fighter
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 55
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 1950.
Dir. Cheng Yin.
During the Chinese Civil War, Nationalist’s troop captured some communist soldiers. They were tortured by the Nationalist to gain information.
• Gao bie: Da lang tao sha = 告别: 大浪淘沙 = Gold and sand
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 192
Television Program; 1 DVD, 59 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Da lang tao sha".
• Gazi, 1963: Xiao bing Zhang Ga = 嘎子, 1963: 小兵张嘎 = Zhangga the soldier boy
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 44
Television Program; 1 DVD, 62 minutes; 2005.
Chinese (Mandarin) narration with Chinese subtitles.
Television program about the movie "Xiao bing Zhang Ga".
• Ge ming jia ting = 革命家庭
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 179
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 1960.
Dir. Shui Hua.
In Mandarin Chinese.
A story of an early communist activist’s life.
• Getting around in Chinese
Media Collection PL1125.E6 G48 2000
Instructional; 1 VHS, 15 minutes; 2000
In Chinese.
Scenes of people in everyday situations using conversational Chinese.
• Global villages
Media CollectionHM621.G578 2005
Documentary; 1 DVD, 59 minutes; 2005
Dir. Tamar Gordon
"Depicts ethnic theme parks of China and Japan where official narratives of tradition and history are translated into colorful dances and interactive routines. ... Moving between five sites in two countries, ... [the film] captures the different narratives of globalization and identity that shape the experiences of ethnic minorities and foreign nationals as they perform their indigeneity for tourists"--Container.
• Golden Venture
Media Collection JV6483 .G65 2006 [Limited 7-day]
1 videodisc (70 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
Dir. Peter Cohn
In English and Chinese with English subtitles
"Chronicles the ongoing struggles of passengers who were aboard the Golden Venture, an immigrant smuggling ship that ran aground near New York City in 1993. Passengers had paid at least $30,000 to be brought to the U.S. from China’s Fujian Province, expecting to arrive indebted but unnoticed. But a seemingly golden opportunity quickly evolved into a hellish descent through the cruel whims of U.S. immigration policy" -- www.goldenventuremovie.com. "Raises important questions about America’s policy toward those who come here in search of freedom and a better life. A case study in the politics of immigration, the multi-layered narrative also explores the culture of China’s Fujian province, cross-ideological coalition building and the role art can play in the struggle for human rights"--Container
• Gu feng = 股瘋 = Shanghai fever
Media Collection PN1997 .G784 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 1993
Dir. Li Guoli
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
Under the influence of money people become fickle and impossible to predict.
• Gu jin da zhan qin yong qing = 古今大戦秦俑情 = Fight and love with a terracotta warrior
Media Collection PN1997 .G785 2001
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 145 minutes; 1989
Dir. Zhang Yimou
In Chinese with Chinese and English subtitles.
China 3000 years ago. It is the time of the Qin dynasty. The emperor seeks immortality by busily letting his alchemists search for a formula and building the famous terracotta army from the bodies of outlaws and the condemned. This is the time Mong Tiang Fong and court lady Twon fall deeply in love. Such a thing is not tolerated at the court and when their relationship is discovered both are sentenced to death. In the meantime the alchemists have discovered the formula of immortality, but decide to destroy their work. However Twon gets possession of one immortality pill which she manages to give to Tiang Fong before he s made a terracotta warrior too. China 1930. While on location a film crew discovers parts of the grave of emperor Qin guarded by the terracotta warriors. Tiang Fong, being immortal, awakes...
• Gu shu yi ren = 鼓書藝人 = Street players
Media Collection PN1997 .G7856 2001
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 118 minutes; 2001
Dir. Tian Zhuangzhuang
The story is about the sufferings of Fang Baoqing, a poor street performer and his daughters during the Anti-Japanese War.
Questions |
Davidson Library, Room 5537
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-4082
Send Email
Subjects:
East Asian Studies
Borrowing Films
Most of the films are on DVD although some are still on cassette. They are located in the Media Collection on the first floor of the Davidson Library. The Media Collection is in the rear right corner as you enter the Goverment Information Center. All films are circulating on a 7-day loan period and can be renewed online if no one puts a hold or a request on the item.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait