Japnese Films I-R
I
• Ikimono no kiroku = 生きもの の 記錄
Media Collection PN1997 .I418 2000
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 103 minutes; 1955
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
An elderly and wealthy industrialist is driven to madness over fears of a nuclear attack. In a futile attempt to save his family he pressures them to leave Japan and move to the rainforest in Brazil where he believes they will be safe. His family, complacent and cynical, is outraged and move to have him declared insane.
• Ikiru = 生きる = To live
Media Collection PN1997 .I42 1985
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 134 minutes; 1952
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
A drama about the last days of a minor government worker who learns he is soon to die of cancer.
• Imanishi Kinji: shizen kagaku kara shizengaku e = 今西錦司 : 自然科学から自然学へ
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.20
Biography/Documentary; 1 VHS, 49 minutes; 2000
Dir. Matsukawa Yasuo
• Inside Japan, Inc
Media Collection HF3828.U5 I67 1992
1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Summary: Development of a close and successful relationship between government and industry in Japan since World War II is shown with the U.S. reaction
• The immigrant experience, 1900-1940
Media Collection JV6455 .I527 2000
Documentary; 1 VHS, 29 minutes; 1999
The promise of material abundance and freedom drove millions of people from Europe and Asia to America in the early 20th century. The program tells the story of the transformation of America into a multicultural nation and also looks at the movement of African Americans to northern cities as well as incidents of racism, including the Japanese internment during World War II.
• Inō Tadataka: rashin no saki ni mita Nihon = 伊能忠敬 : 羅針の先に見た日本
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.7
Biography; 1 VHS, 35 minutes; 1998
Dir. Watanabe Ichirō
• In the name of the emperor
Media Collection DS796.N2 I53 1996
Documentary; 1 VHS, 52 minutes; 1996
Dir. Nancy Tong
In Chinese, English, Japanese and Italian with English subtitles.
Summary: Development of a close and successful relationship between government and industry in Japan since World War II is shown with the U.S. reaction.
The film is a matter-of-fact account of the Nanking Massacre that integrates diary entries, actual film footage of the massacre shot by an American missionary, Rev. John Magee, interviews with Japanese scholars and former soldiers who recalled in detail how they savagely killed and raped Chinese civilians, and the related story of the comfort women.
• In the realm of the senses = Ai no korīda = Dans l’empire de sens
Media Collection PN1997 .E6257 1991
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 104 minutes; 1976
Dir. Ōshima Nagisa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Based on one of Japan’s most notorious scandals, this is the story of an ex-prostitute who becomes involved in an all consuming love affair with the master of the household where she is employed as a servant.
J
• Japan memoirs of a secret empire
Media Collection DS871 .J37 2004
1 DVD, 160 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Lyn Goldfarb
An historical documentary of Japan between the 16th and 19th centuries, from the "Warlord Period" to the end of its isolation from the West in the 19th century. Looks at the cultural and military aspects of Japanese society -- the rule of the Shogun, traditions of Samurai and geisha, the effect of exposure to Western culture
• Japan past and present
Media Collection DS835 .J387 1989
Documentary; 5 VHS, 53 minutes each; 1989.
Dir. Jean Antoine.
A five part series that explores Japan’s history and civilization from the 7th century to the present.
• Japan reaches for the 21st century
Media Collection HN723.5 .J3 1986
Documentary; 1 VHS, 58 minutes; 1986.
Dir. Philip S. Goodman
Tells how Japan is coping with automation, an exploding population of elderly, restless youth, changing roles for women, and frustrated foreign competitors, as they prepare for world leadership in the 21st century.
• Japan today videorecording
[Missing]Media Collection DS822.5 .J427 1991
1 VHS, 22 minutes; 1991.
Dir. Sumie Mishima
• Japanese dance: succession of a kyomai master
Media Collection GV1696.K94 J37 2001
Documentary/Performance; 1 VHS, 53 minutes; 2001
Dir. Nobuyuki Oka
"With a gracefulness equal to its subject, this intriguing program goes behind the scenes to film for the first time the private world of kyomai, Kyoto-style dance. The efforts of the 95-year-old reigning master, Inoue Yachiyo IV, to prepare her 43-year-old granddaughter to become her successor are deftly captured amidst footage of training sessions and performances; rare film clips of Yachiyo IV and her predecessor, Yachiyo III, on stage; background on the history of kyomai; and insights into the education of geisha, chief practitioners of this centuries-old form of Japanese dance"--Container.
• Japanese history and literature
Media Collection DS835 .J395 1996
Documentary; 3 VHS, 160 minutes; 1996
This three-program series provides an overview of a fascinating time in Japanese history, covering the years 552 to 1868. For each period, key historical themes are integrated with notable works of literature of the time.
• Japanese style papermaking
Special Coll., Printers Collection TS1130 .J374 1994
Arts Library, Music Service Desk TS1130 .J374 1994
Instructional; 3 VHS, 143 minutes; 1994
Dir. Scott Drake
Shows supplies, equipment and procedure used to make Japanese-style paper.
• Japan surrenders
Internet Resource [Online]
On line
• Japanese go to polls in first free election
Internet Resource [Online]
on line
• Japanese routed from Buna stronghold
Internet Resource [Online]
on line
• Jigokumon = Gate of hell
Media Collection PN1997 .J4485 1992
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 86 minutes; 1953
Dir. Kinugasa Teinosuke
In Japanese with English subtitles.
The story of a samurai who accidentally murders the woman he loves and becomes a monk to expiate his offense. Based on a real crime committed in Japan in 1159.
• Kabuki techniques
Media Collection PN2924.5.K3 K23695 1995
TV Series/Documentary; 1 VHS, 27 minutes; 1969
"Two of the greatest stars of Japan’s kabuki theater reveal what has only rarely been seen, the actual acting techniques used in the most difficult and splendid of theater forms. Onoe Shoroku II and Onoe Baiko VII discuss and demonstrate their craft in conversation with the well-known author of works on Asian arts, Faubion Bowers"--Container.
• Kagamijishi = 鏡獅子
Media Collection PN2924.5.K3 K34 2004
Performance; 1 DVD, 89 minutes; 2004
In Japanese with English and Japanese commentary.
"[Lion Dances] features a young castle maid who is ordered to perform with a wooden lion head that she holds in one hand" -- Container.
• Kagemusha
Media Collection PN1997 .K3214 1993
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 160 minutes; 1980
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
An epic film of feudal conflict in 16th century Japan. The kagemusha is a petty criminal forced into becoming the successor of a powerful warlord.
• Kakushi toride no san akunin = The hidden fortress
Media Collection PN1997 .K3267 1993
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 139 minutes; 1958
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
A princess must escape across enemy lines with the royal treasure, guarded only by a loyal general and two greedy peasants.
• Karayuki-san : the making of a prostitute
Media Collection HQ242.6.A5 K3 1987
Documentary; 1 VHS, 70 minutes; 1975
Dir. Shohei Imamura
In Japanese with English subtitles.
"Karayuki-san" are Japanese women abducted from their homeland and forced to labor in the brothels of the Malay peninsula. Through talks with these unfortunates, now aged and impecunious, director Imamura came to understand not only their plight but also the cause of it.
• Kaze no tani no Naushika =風の谷のナウシカ = Nausicaä of the valley of the wind
Media Collection PN1997 .K385 2005
Feature Film; 2 DVD, 119 minutes; 1984.
Dir. Hayao Miyazaki
In English or original Japanese with optional English subtitles; closed captioned; titles in Japanese and English.
Nausicaä is the princess of a rural valley that lives at peace on the edge of a deadly fungal wasteland, until a ship carrying a weapon from a bygone industrial age crashes nearby. When warriors from a far country come to retrieve the artifact, their invasion draws Nausicaä and her people into a sprawling political conflict. Set 1,000 years after a global war that nearly destroyed all life on Earth.
• Kazoku gēmu = The family game
Media Collection PN1997 .K389 1988
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 107 minutes; 1983
Dir. Morita Yoshimitsu
In Japanese with English subtitles.
A film that pokes fun at contemporary Japanese ideals, portraying a middle-class family as it battles against the Japanese educational system.
• Kitchin=キッチン
[ON ORDER]Media Collection
DVD. 1 videodisc (117 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
A girl, who loves kitchens, lost her parents and grandma. She goes to live with a queer young man who lives with his mother in a curious way
• Kodō: heartbeat drummers of Japan
Arts Library, Music Service Desk M146 .K63 1991
Documentary/Performance; 1 VHS, 58 minutes; 1983
Dir. Jacques Holender
• Kōri no sekai = 冰の世界
Media Collection PN1992.77 .K67 2000
Television Play; 7 VCD; 2000
In Japanese with Chinese subtitles.
Investigations on a mysterious woman Toko (Matsushima) started when Sonoe, a teacher, was found dead. Eiki (Takenouchi), sent by the insurance agency, and Takeshi (Nakamura), an ambitious police detective, found links between this case and the deaths of Toko’s 3 fiances.
• Kon-na yume o mita = こんな 夢 ぉ みた = Akira Kurosawa’s dreams
Media Collection PN1997 .A3165 1991
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 120 minutes; 1990
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese and some English with English subtitles.
Explores the costs of war, the perils of nuclear power and especially humankind’s need to harmonize with nature.
• Kuari: Beigun ni izonshi kizutsuita hitobito = クアリ: 米軍に依存し傷ついた人々
Media Collection UA26.P6 K8 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Nakai Shinsuke
In Japanese and some Tagalog with Japanese subtitles.
After United States forces’ withdral from Kuari, a village 80 km. Northwest of Manila, the villagers’ lives changed for the worse. Many of them lost their lives or body parts because they picked up the unexploded ordnance to sell as scrap metal or to fish for a living. Every aspect of the village life has been affected by what was left behind by the US military base.
• Kumonosu-jo = 蜘蛛巢城 = Throne of blood
Media Collection PN1997 .K86 1991
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 105 minutes; 1957
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Adaptation of Shakespeare’s Macbeth, set in feudal Japan. Tells the story of a Samurai lord who kills his master and usurps his power in fulfillment of a witch’s prophecy.
• Kyōkanoko musume Dōjōji = 京鹿子娘道成寺
Media Collection PN2924.5.K3 K96 2003
Performance; 1 DVD, 70 minutes; 2003
In Japanese with English commentary and Japanese commentary and subtitles.
"The Kabuki dance, first performed in Edo in 1754 by one of Kabuki’s legendary onnagata, female role specialist, Nakamura Tomijuro I"--Container.
• Lady from Chungking
Media Collection PN1997 .L14 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 69 minutes; 1943
Dir. William Nigh
"At the height of World War II, Kwan Mei, a beautiful Chinese aristocrat, is forced to work in the rice paddies as a slave. She and the rest of her village are subject to the brutal whims of their Japanese captors, whose sadism is matched only by their greed. When the Japanese general is bewitched by Kwan Mei’s beauty, she sees her chance for vengeance. Endangering her life and inviting the mistrust of her comrades, Kwan Mei becomes the general’s lover in hopes of gathering information that will help the struggle against their masters. On the eve of a massive Japanese invasion, Kwan Mei risks everything on a bloody insurrection that will protect her country from the invading horde"--Container.
• Living on Tokyo time
Media Collection PN1995.9.C55 L58 1988
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 85 minutes; 1987
Dir. Steven Okazaki
A rock guitarist with no talent feels little connection to his Japanese heritage until he marries a Japanese girl who wants to stay in America but maintain a Sushi attitude.
• The long search
Volume 9
Media Collection BL80.2 .L664 1980z
TV Series; 13 VHS, 52 minutes each; 1977
Prod. Peter Montagnon
Tells about various religions of the world by showing actual practicing congregations in worship services.
• Looking like the enemy
Media Collection UB418.A85 L66 1990z
Documentary; 1 VHS, 52 minutes; 199-?
Dir. Robert A. Nakamura
American soldiers of Asian descent who fought in World War II, the Korean and Vietnam Wars share their personal experiences with prejudice and discrimination in the military.
• Madadayo
Media Collection on Order
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 134 minutes; 1992
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Set in postwar Japan, the film follows the last two decades in the life of Hyakken Uchida, a free spirited writer and teacher, highlighted by his relationship with his students who venerate him in his old age.
• Majo no jōken =魔女の條件
Media Collection PN1992.77 .M27 1999
Television Play; 11 VCD; 1999.
In Japanese with Chinese subtitles.
An unusual love affair between a high school teacher and one of her male students changed the course of life for both.
• The Makioka sisters
Media Collection PN1997 .M525 1983
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 140 minutes; 1983
Dir. Kon Ichikawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Four daughters of an old merchant family unknowingly face the end of a gentler way of life in Osaka, Japan in 1938.
• Marines raise flag over Iwo Jima
Internet Resource [Online]
on line
• The Meiji revolution
Media Collection DS882 .M44 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Alex Gibney
Japan’s history and the influence of its economic development are shown.
• The men who made Meiji architecture: Josiah Conder and his four apprentices
Arts Library NA1555 .M46 1999
Documentary; 1 VHS, 54 minutes; 1999
Dir. Junsei Tanabe
Tells the story of Josiah Conder, an English architect, who went to Japan in 1877 and at the age of 25 assumed the professorship of the architectural course at the Imperial College of Engineering. There he taught Kingo Tatsuno (1854-1919), Tōkuma Katayama (1853-1917), Tatsuzō Sone (1852-1937), and Shichijirō Satachi (1856-1922).
• Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence
Media Collection PN1997 .M43578 1999
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 124 minutes; 1982
Dir. Nagisa Oshima
In English and Japanese with English subtitles.
World War II drama. British army officers Jack Celliers and John Lawrence engage in a battle of wills with Japanese officers in a Japanese P.O.W. camp in Java.
• Minakata Kumagusu: suiten wa mieta ka ... = 南方熊楠 : 萃点は見えたか ...
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.1
Biography; 1 VHS, 38 minutes; 1997
Dir. Tanigawa Ken’ichi
• Mission in Manila: the Sakakida story
Media Collection D753.8 .M58 1994
Documentary; 1 VHS, 28 minutes; 1994
Dir. Paul Hara
Richard Sakakida relates his experience as a Japanese American intelligence agent sent on a mission to Manila during World War II. On April 17, 1941 he was sent to the Philipines to conduct surveillance of Japanese military agents sent from Japan to act as sleepers.
• Miyamoto Tsuneichi: minshū no chie o tazunete = 宮本常一 : 民衆の智恵を訪ねて
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.15
Biography; 1 VHS, 47 minutes; 1999
Dir. Tamura Zenjirō
• Miyatake Gaikotsu : ware Meiji o shūshūseiri = 宮武外骨 : われ, 明治を蒐集せり
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.5
Biography; 1 VHS, 40 minutes; 1997
Dir. Kida Jun’ichirō
• Mori Senzō: Chi wa shisei ni ari = 森銑三 : 知わ市井に在り
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.8
Biography; 1 VHS, 42 minutes; 1998
Dir. Kida Jun’ichirō
• Mubōbi chiiki sengen: "Ōsaka shimin no kai" no 30-nichi = 無防備地域宣言: 「大阪市民の会」の30日
Media Collection JZ5584.J3 M83 2004
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 38 minutes; 2004.
The citizens of Osaka held a 30-day campaign in 2004 to declare Japan’s anti-war stance.
• Muhōmatsu no isshō = Muhomatsu, the rikisha-man
Media Collection PN1997 .M798 1986
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 105 minutes; 1958
Dir. Hiroshi Inagaki
In Japanese with English subtitles.
A simple rikisha man falls in love with the beautiful mother of a young boy he has befriended, but knows he can never have her because of their class differences.
• The Music of bunraku
Media Collection PN1978.J3 M8 1991
Documentary; 1 VHS, 29 minutes; 1991
Dir. Eugene Enrico & David Smeal
William P. Malm discusses the music and performance styles of bunraku, Japanese puppet theater; and Sidney D. Brown describes its social-cultural roots. Members of the National Bunraku Theater in Osaka, Japan, demonstrate the various styles while performing of selections from the puppet-play Ise ondo koi no netaba, The massacre at a geisha house in Ise.
• Music of Noh drama
Media Collection PN2924.5.N6 M87 1997
Documentary/Performance; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1997
Dir. Eugene Enrico
"Artists from the Noh troupe led by Kinzo Komparu demonstrate the styles and forms of Noh music. [The program] explains the variety of musical traditions in Noh, the use of musical instruments, and the relationships between music, drama, and dance. [The program also] surveys the rich historic tradition of Noh and explains the connections to Buddhism and Shinto"--Container.
• My neighbor Totoro
Media Collection PN1997 .T598 2006 [Limited 7-day]
DVD, widescreen (1.85:1), region 1; Dolby digital 2.0 stereo
In Japanese, dubbed English or dubbed French; with optional English subtitles
Closed-captioned
Deep inside a tree trunk, two children discover a fascinating new world inhabited by Totoros, amazing, charming creatures who become their friends
• Nagauta: the heart of Kabuki music
Arts Library, Music Service Desk ML340 .N25 1999
Documentary/Performance; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1999
Dir. Eugene Enrico & David Smeal
In Japanese with English narration and subtitles.
Outlines the history of kabuki theater and the lyrical style of nagauta. Discusses and presents the comic kyogen "Sue Hirogari" by Kineya Rokuzaemon X performed by students of the National University of Fine Arts and Music in Tokyo, under Prof. Ajimi Tooru. Demonstrates the expressive variety of vocal and instrumental styles in nagauta.
• Naitō Konan: mori fukaku ni ni aratanari = 內藤湖南 : 森深く日に新たなり
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.6
Biography; 1 VHS, 44 minutes; 1997
Dir. Okumura Ikuzō
• Najŭn moksori 1 = 낮은목소리 1 = The murmuring
Media Collection D810.C698 N35 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 1995.
Dir. Pyŏn Yŏng-ju.
In Korean dialogue with optional subtitles in Korean, English, Chinese, Japanese, French, German, and Spanish
"A documentary about the past and present experiences of a group of "comfort women" who during World War II were abducted and forced into sexual servitude for the Japanese army. In the course of making this documentary, director Byun Young-joo gradually becomes close to the now-elderly women who meet every week to protest in front of the Japanese embassy in Seoul."--Container
• Najŭn moksori 2 = 낮은목소리 2 = Habitual sadness
Media Collection D810.C698 N352 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 61 minutes; 1997
Dir. Pyŏn Yŏng-ju.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, and Spanish
• Naniwa erejī = 浪華悲歌 = Osaka elegy
Media Collection PN1997 .N327 1988
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 71 minutes; 1936
Dir. Mizoguchi Kenji
In Japanese with English subtitles.
"With graceful images, Kenji Mizoguchi tells the haunting tale of a young telephone operator who consents to become her boss’ mistress in order to support her family."--Container.
• Nanjing da tu sha = 南京大屠殺 = Nanking 1937
Media Collection on Order
Feature Film; 2 VCD, 118 minutes; 1997
Dir. Wu Ziniu
In Mandarin and Japanese with Chinese and English subtitles.
Features Nanking Massacre.
• Nawa Yasushi: bara no hitokabu konchū sekai = 名和靖 : 薔薇之壹株昆虫世界
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.18
Biography; 1 VHS, 45 minutes; 2000
Dir. Konishi Masayasu
In Japanese.
• Nihon no bi, Nihon no kokoro: eizō de tsuzuru dentō geinō to sairei gyōji hyakusen = 日本の美,日本の心 : 映像で綴る伝統芸能と祭礼行事百選
Media Collection BL2211.R5 N54 1990
Documentary; 14 VHS, 897 minutes; 1990
• Niijima Jō: "Ask and ye shall receive" = 新島襄
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.10
Biography; 1 VHS, 44 minutes; 1998
Dir. Okita Yukuji
• Nijū hibaku =二重被爆 = Twice bombed, twice survived : the doubly atomic bombed of Hiroshima and Nagasaki
Media Collection D767.25.H6 N56 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Aoki Ryo.
In Japanese with optional English subtitles.
"In August 1945, the U.S. dropped two atomic bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, claiming it was in order to end the Pacific War as soon as possible. The bombs were only three days and 190 miles apart. Why were two bombs necessary against an already ailing Japan? Many people experienced both the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings and survived. This amazing fact has been unknown even in Japan for more than sixty years. There have been no official surveys or records on these unique survivors. This documentary reveals the previously unpublicized facts of the double atomic bombing survivors and it refreshed our perspective on nuclear weapons"--Container.
• Nippon, senso, watashi 2002
Media Collection PN1995.9.E96 N56 2002
Experimental Film; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 2002
• Nippon, Sensō, Watashi = ニッポン、戦争、私 = Nippon, War, Myself
Media Collection PN1995.9.E96 N564 2004
Experimental Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 2004
• Nitobe Inazō: Everlasting no-everlasting-yea = 新渡部稻造
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.11
Biography; 1 VHS, 44 minutes; 1999
Dir. Satō Masahiro
• Nobi = Fires on the plain
Media Collection PL835.O5 N62 1987
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 105 minutes; 1959
Dir. Kon Ichikawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
In the most powerful of all Japanese anti-war films, acts of cannibalism bring home the terrifying brutality of war. Japanese troops are in retreat in the Philippines. Supplies run out and discipline crumbles.
• Nomadic project
Media Collection GV1783 .N58 2005
Modern Dance; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 2005
• Nora inu = 野良犬 = Stray dog
Media Collection PN1997 .N536 1998
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 122 minutes; 1949
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Set in Tokyo during the late 1940’s, the film captures the chaos and humiliation that existed in Japan immediately after World War II. When detective Murakami loses his revolver, he must descend into Tokyo’s underworld and face the killer who has taken it.
• Oedipus Rex
Arts Library, Music Service Desk M1500.S7 O3 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 117 minutes; 1992
Dir. Julie Taymor
Sung in Latin, spoken in Japanese; subtitles in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Chinese (opera only)
• Ogata Kōan: unshūsuru hikai tekiteki ni ari = 緖形洪庵 : 雲聚する光適々にあり
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.4
Biography; 1 VHS, 43 minutes; 1997
Dir. Umetani Noboru & Shiba Tetsuo
• Ohayō = お早よう = Good morning
Media Collection PN1997 .O366 1996
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 93 minutes; 1959
Dir. Ozu Yasujiro
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Satiric comedy in which two young brothers refuse to talk until their parents agree to buy them a television set. Set in a 1950s residential suburb of Tokyo.
• Okakura Tenshin: kokū wa hikari ni afure ... = 岡倉天心 : 虛空は光にあふれ ...
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.2
Biography; 1 VHS, 37 minutes; 1997
Dir. Kumakura Isao
• On to eizō ni yoru Nihon koten geinō taikei = 音と映像による日本古典芸能大系
Media Collection M1812 .N54 1992
Arts Library, Music Service Desk M1812 .N54 1992
Documentary/Performance; 25 VHS; 1991
Dir. Kishibe Shigeo
Examples of classical Japanese entertainment forms with background history (Bekkan 1-2), general remarks ([Bk. 1]), and commentary ([Bk. 2]).
• One step on a journey: Tadashi Suzuki in Australia
Media Collection PN2928.S89 O54 1993
Documentary; 1 VHS, 50 minutes; 1993
Dir. Tony Chapman & Ziyin Wang
In English and Japanese with English subtitles.
Presents Tadashi Suzuki’s teaching method, a series of exercises that serve to focus the energy of the actor to restore the wholeness of the human body in the theater.
• Onmyoji =陰陽師
Media Collection PN1997.2 .O56 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 116 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Yojiro Takita.
In Japanese or English with optional English subtitles. Closed-captioned.
Set during the Japanese Heian Era, an emperor and his son are targeted by evil sorcery, and it is up to a court official, an order of sorcery experts called Onmyoji, and a famed hero and member of the order, to save them.
• Onna ga kaidan o agaru toki = 女が階段を上る時
Media Collection PN1997 .O467 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 111 minutes; 1960
Dir. Mikio Naruse
In Japanese with optional English subtitles
A young widow with family obligations, Keiko is the madam of an upstairs bar in the exclusive Ginza district of Tokyo in 1960. As she approaches 30, she realizes that her life is at a crossroads: she must either go into business and open her own bar or marry
• Onoe Baiko the seventh as The salt-gatherer
Media Collection PN2924.5.K3 O56 1997
Biology; 1 VHS, 29 minutes; 1972
Dir. Merrill Brockway.
Chiefly English, with some Japanese with English translation
Tribute to the Kabuki actor Onoe Baikō VII upon his being named one of Japan’s Living National Treasures. Baikō, a noted onnagata (female impersonator) is seen in footage filmed in 1969 during the Grand Kabuki’s U.S. tour, playing the role of the courtesan Agemaki in the play Sukeroku, first in costume onstage, then in street clothes in the television studio. In a series of still photographs, he is seen coaching his eldest son Kikunosuke in the role of Sagami, General Kumagai’s wife. The final segment of the program shows Baikō in the role of a woman abandoned by her lover, filmed onstage in the 1960s in an extended excerpt from The salt gatherer, an 18th-century Kabuki play based on a 14th-century Nō drama.
• Origuchi Shinobu: ningen o fukaku aisuru kami arite
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.17
Biography; 1 VHS, 46 minutes; 2000
Dir. Okano Hirohiko
• Osaka story: a documentary
Media Collection HQ681 .O584 1994
Documentary; 1 VHS, 75 minutes; 1994
Dir. Toichi Nakata
In Japanese with English narration and subtitles.
An autobiograhpical look at the cultural and generational clashes within Nakata’s Korean-Japanese family.
• Osōshiki = The funeral: a deadly comedy
Media Collection PN1997 .O748 1988
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 124 minutes; 1987
Dir. Itami Jūzō
In Japanese with English subtitles.
A satire about a family’s struggles with the complex rituals of a Buddhist funeral ceremony.
• Ōya Sōichi: mushisō no shisō = 大宅壮一 : 無思想の思想
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.14
Biography; 1 VHS, 38 minutes; 1999
Dir. Kida Jun’ichirō
• The Pacific century
Media Collection HC460.5 .P23 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Marc Levin
Outlines the economic struggle between East Asian countries and the United States in the latter twentieth century.
• Peachboy
Curriculum Lab, Juvenile Media PZ8.1.M518 Pe 1995b
Juvenile; 1 VHS, 33 minutes; 1995
Dir. C.W. Rogers
Found floating on the river inside a peach by an old couple, Momotaro grows up and fights the terrible demons who have terrorized the village for years. Preceded by "Backstage pass", in which artist Jeffrey Smith discusses the technique he used to create the drawings for the story and techniques of Japanese art.
• The Polished stones: K-5 math achievement in Japan and Taiwan
Media Collection QA135.5 .P637 1989
Documentary; 1 VHS, 35 minutes; 1989
Dir. John K. Corser
Filmed in Sendai, Japan and Taipei, Taiwan in 1988, this program presents scenes from typical first- and fifth-grade mathematics classes and interviews with teachers and parents. Investigates the reasons why Chinese and Japanese students lead the world in mathematical skills and compares children’s math achievement in Japan, Taiwan and the United States.
• Porco Rosso = 紅の豚 = Kurenai no buta
Media Collection PN1997 .P5739 2005
Feature Film; 2 DVD, 93 minutes; 1992.
Dir. Hayao Miyazaki
In the original Japanese, English, or French; with optional English subtitles; closed-captioned.
Slouching towards middle age, Porco Rosso makes his living by flying about in his red bi-plane and fighting sky bandits who prey on cruise ships sailing the Adriatic. When he’s not engaging in dog fights, this pilot lives on a deserted island retreat. Porco was once a strappling young man, but after his entire squardron was wiped out, he is mysteriously transformed into a pig. Then he is defeated in a dogfight against a dashing American rival, who has been hired by the dastardly bandits. With his plane damaged, he finds a repair hanger near Milan where a local woman fixes his plane.
• Portrait of an Onnagata
Media Collection PN2924.K3 P678 1995
Documentary; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1995
Dir. Tineke Hulsbergen
In English and Japanese with English subtitles.
Examines the role of the Onnagata in Kabuki theater, the male actor who plays a female role, who exemplifies ideal and ultimate womanhood. Because Kabuki theater is played entirely by men, the role of the Onnagata is very important.
• Quiet duel = Shizukanaru Ketto = 静かなる決鬪
Media Collection PN1997 .S47459 1996
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 95 minutes; 1949
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
During the war, the doctor,Kyoji Fujisaki was infected by syphilis from a patient. Kyoji refrains from physical intimacy with his girlfriend. By chance Kyoji encounters his wartime syphilitic patient at the police station and urges him to receive full treatment, but he refuses.
• Rabbit in the moon
Media Collection D769.8.A6 R33 1999
Documentary; 1 VHS, 85 minutes; 1999
Dir. Emiko Omori
A documentary/memoir about the lingering effects of the World War II internment of the Japanese American community. Visually stunning and emotionally compelling, the film examines issues that ultimately created deep rifts within the Japanese American community, reveals the racist subtext of the loyalty questionnaire and exposes the absurdity of the military draft within the camps. These testimonies are linked by the filmmakers’ own experiences in the camps and placed in a larger historical context by the director.
• Ran
Media Collection PN1997 .R23513 1993
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 160 minutes; 1985
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Kurosawa’s brillant rendition of Japanese history, Shakespeare’s plot of "King Lear", and his own personal feelings about loyalty. Set in 16th century Japan, an aging ruler, Lord Hidetora, attempts to peacefully divide his kingdom among his three sons. Instead, they turn against each other and betray their father. Ruthless ambition, plots woven by scheming advisors and Hidetora’s own past savagery combine in a whirlwind of chaos, ultimately driving the old man insane, shattering his kingdom, and destroying his family.
• Rashōmon = 羅生門
Media Collection PN1997 .R243 1990
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 83 minutes; 1950
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Four different versions of an incident in which a man is murdered and his wife is raped.
• Reinventing Japan
Media Collection DS889 .R45 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Prod. Alex Gibney
Shows the influence of the U.S. on Japan’s democratization following World War II. Japan’s unique economic development system is also chronicled.
• Ripples of change
Media Collection HQ1763 .R56 1993
Documentary; 1 VHS, 57 minutes; 1993
Dir. Nanako Kurihara
In Japanese and English with English subtitles.
"Director Nanako Kurihara left her homeland in the 1980’s, frustrated by the lack of interesting roles for women in Japan. In New York, she met a Japanese woman who had been involved in the women’s liberation movement in Japan in the 1970’s. Kurihara returned to Japan, bringing together interviews with veterans of the movement, fascinating archival footage and her personal impressions to produce a film which explores the meaning of the liberation movement, the factors that motivated it and the effect it has had on people’s attitudes."--Distributor’s website.
Questions |
Davidson Library, Room 5537
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-4082
Send Email
Subjects:
East Asian Studies
Borrowing Films
Most of the films are on DVD although some are still on cassette. They are located in the Media Collection on the first floor of the Davidson Library. The Media Collection is in the rear right corner as you enter the Goverment Information Center. All films are circulating on a 7-day loan period and can be renewed online if no one puts a hold or a request on the item.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait