Japanese Films A-H
#
• 9-nine: Kenpō kyūjō wa uttaeru = 9-nine: 憲法九条は訴える
Media Collection KNX2070 .A15 2004
1DVD, 43 minutes; 2004.
• 2009 losŭtʻŭ memorijŭ = 2009 로스트메모리즈= 2009 lost memories
Media Collection PN1997.2 .A426 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 175 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Lee Si-myung
Korean or English dialogue with optional English subtitles.
What if Japan allied with the U.S. during WWII? What if nuclear bombs were dropped on Berlin instead of Hiroshima and Nagasaki? What if Korea never existed? To J.B.I. agent Masayuki Sakamoto these questions aren’t speculation - they’re history.
A
• Acting techniques of the Noh Theatre of Japan
Media Collection PN2924.5.N6 A28 1980
Performance/Instructional; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1980
Dir. Larry McMullen
In Japanese and English with English voiceover.
Instructor Akira Matsui demonstrates some of the difficult and complicated movements the Nōh actor must master.
• Akahige = Red beard
Media Collection PN1997 .A3155 1986
Feature Film; 2 VHS, 191 minutes; 1965
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Under the guidance of an aging, autocratic doctor (Mifune), an idle and socially ambitious new intern (Kayama) learns the rewards of healing the poor clinic patients in the 19th-century Japan.
• Akasen chitai = 赤線地帯 = Street of shame
Media Collection PN1997 .A31632 1997
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 87 minutes; 1956
Dir. Mizoguchi Kenji
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Set in 1955, the film examines the dreams and problems of the prostitutes living in one Tokyo brothel. "Many believe that Street of shame was key to the 1957 abolition of prostitution in Japan."
• Akira Kurosawa’s dreams = Kon na yume o mita = こんな夢ぉみた
Media Collection PN1997 .A3165 1991
1 VHS, 120 minutes; 1990.
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
Explores the costs of war, the perils of nuclear power and especially humankind’s need to harmonize with nature
• Always sanchōme no yūhi = Always 三丁目の夕日
Media Collection PN1997.2 .A46 2006
Feature Film; 2 DVD, 133 minutes; 1 CD-ROM, 1 booklet; 2005
Dir. Yamazaki Takashi
In Japanese with optional Japanese and English subtitles
In 1958, the year Tokyo tower is to be completed, Mutsuko comes to Tokyo to work in a small family operated automobile repair shop. Based on the story by Saigan Ryōhei in Biggu Komikku, the film shows the lives of the residents of Sanchōme with love and humor
• Annyŏng, sayonara : chŏnjaeng kwa chʻimnyak sinsa Yasŭkuni rŭl mal handa = 안녕사요나라 : 전쟁과침략의신사야스쿠니를말한다 = あんによん, サヨナラ
Media Collection D838.J32 Y32 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 2004.
In Korean or Japanese, with optional subtitles in Korean, Japanese, Chinese or English.
Documentary about opposition to the controversial Yakusuni Shrine in Tokyo. Many Japanese regard it as a holy place to honor their war dead, but people from other Asian countries which were invaded by the Japanese see it as a symbol of Japan’s justifying imperalist oppression. Lee Hee-ja is a Korean woman whose father died fighting in the Japanese army and is enshrined at Yakusuni. She files a lawsuit against the Japanese government asking them to withdraw her father’s enshrinement. Furukawa Masaki is a Japanese man from Kobe who is trying to make his country take responsibility for the war it waged. The two have been fighting together against the Yakusuni Shrine since 2001 and the film tells the story of their fight and their personal relationship.
• Aspects of the Kabuki theatre of Japan
Media Collection PN2924.5.K3 A76 1980
Documentary/Performance; 1 VHS, 12 minutes; 198-?
Shows scenes from the Kabuki play Kanjincho (The subscription list) by Namiki Gohei to demonstrate and analyze Kabuki movements, costume and makeup.
• Atarashii kenpō no hanashi : ima kyūjō o kangaeyō = あたらしい憲法のはなし: いま九条を考えよう
Media Collection KNX2070 .A73 2004
1 DVD, 82 minutes; 2004
B
• Bakushū = 麥秋 = Early summer
Media Collection PN1997 .B342 1988
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 135 minutes; 1951
Dir. Ozu Yasujirō
In Japanese with English subtitles.
The story of Noriko, a young woman who refuses to give up her job to get married because of her age.
• Between two worlds: a documentary
Media Collection E184.O6 B489 1998
Documentary; 1 VHS, 29 minutes; 1998
Dir. Chul Heo
This documentary examines the difficulties experienced by first generation Asian American youth who struggle with "living in two worlds"--the Asian family culture and the American culture. Chinese, Japanese, and Korean American young adults and members of their families expound upon the generational and cultural gaps existing in Asian American families and stereotypical perceptions of Asians in American society.
• Bideo kōza Nihongo = ビデオ講座日本語 = Video-cued structural drills
Media Collection PL519 .B53 1988
Instructional; 12 VHS, 15 minutes each; 1988
• Bideo kōza Nihongo: nichijō seikatsu ni miru Nihon no bunka = ビデオ講座日本語 : 日常生活に見る日本の文化 = Cultural video series: safe and sound in Japan
Media Collection PL519 .B533 1992
Instructional; 5 VHS, 18 minutes each; 1992
An American female college student in Japan makes cultural errors because she doen’t understand the Japanese customs.
• The Blind swordsman
Media Collection PN2928.K38 B54 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 1978.
Dir. John Nathan.
Introduction in English; dialogue in Japanese, with English subtitles.
A documentary portrait of Shintarō Katsu, actor, producer, director, and creator of the popular Japanese film hero Zato Ichi. Includes sequences showing Katsu at work, with his family, and enjoying Kyoto night life.
• Boy’s choir
East Asian Collection
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 139 minutes; 1999
Dir. Akira Ogata
In Japanese with English subtitles.
This debut film from Japanese director Akira Ogata centers on the friendship between two young boys who are obsessed with singing. Young Michio, a chronic stutterer, is sent to a remote Japanese boarding school after the death of his father. While there, he bonds with Yasuo, the star soprano in the boy’s choir.
• Buta no mukui = 豚の報い
Media Collection PN1997 .B874 1999
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 118 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Sai Yōichi.
In Japanese.
Shōkichi, a 19-year-old college student, travels back to the island where he was born, accompanied by three snack bar hostesses. One of the hostesses had "lost" her soul when she was traumatized by a loose pig that had run amok in their snack bar. So the four travel to Majajima to help her regain her soul by praying at the island’s utaki (area of worship). Shōkichi also has another purpose for going back to the island: to retrieve the remains of his father, who had died at sea twelve years earlier. The film presents glimpses of Okinawa’s customs and people.
• Butoh: body on the edge of crisis
Media Collection GV1783.2.B87 B874 2002
Documentary; 1 VHS, 90 minutes; 1990
Dir. Michael Blackwood
In Japanese and English with English voiceover.
Using contemporary footage of leading Butoh performers, this documentary presents the history of the development of butoh dance, interviews the creator of this Japanese modern dance form, Tatsumi Hijikata, and explores the cultural significance of the Butoh dance form in Japan.
• Butoh: piercing the mask
Media Collection GV1783.2.B87 B877 1991
Documentary; 1 VHS, 49 minutes; 1991
Dir. Richard Moore
In Japanese and English with English subtitles.
Using archival and contemporary footage of leading Butoh performers, this documentary presents the history of the dance and explores the relationship between post-World War II Japanese culture and the primal images and emotions expressed in Butoh.
C
• Casshern
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C377 2004
Feature Film; 3 DVD, 140 minutes; 2004
Dir. Kazuaki Kiriya.
In Japanese with optional Japanese and English subtitles; optional commentary in Japanese
A race of mutant humans is created as the result of a research accident. Only Casshern can defend the world against them.
• Chi to hone = 血と骨 = Blood and bones
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C445 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 148 minutes; 2004
Dir. Sai Yōichi.
Shunpei is a violent man, working at the fish factory in Osaka. When he is off, he drinks and is continuously consumed by hate. When the factory closes, he becomes a loan shark. The film tells the story of Yang Sogiru’s father, Shunpei, who was amongst the first generation Koreans to live in Japan.
• Chichi to kuraseba = 父と暮せば
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C452 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Kuroki Kazuo.
Japanese dialogue with optional English subtitles.
Based on a play by Hisashi Inoue set in Hiroshima, 1948. Mitsue lost her entire family in the atomic bombings, and now lives with with the ghost of her loving father. He encourages her to pursue happiness despite her survivor guilt, as she slowly starts to rebuild her life.
• Chichibu yomatsuri to yatai no kumitate: Kuni shitei jūyō minzoku bunkazai : Nihon sandai Eizansai = 秩父夜祭と屋台の組立: 国指定重要民俗文化財 : 日本三大曳山祭
Media Collection GT4084.C46 C45 2000
Documentary Film; 1 VHS, 20 minutes; 2000.
• Chikamatsu monogatari = 近松物語
Media Collection PN1997 .C43786 2002
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 110 minutes; 1954
Dir. Mizoguchi Kenji
In Japanese with English subtitles.
"In 17th century Japan, illicit love between a merchant’s wife and her servant leads to tragedy."--Container.
• Computer music journal sound and video anthology. Volume 28, 2004
Arts Library, Music Service Desk ML1 .C857 v. 28 (2004) DVD
Computer Music; 1 DVD; 2004
• Dance of darkness
Media Collection GV1783.2 .D35 1990
Documentary; 1 videodisc, 55 minutes; 1990
Dir. Edin Velez
In English and Japanese with English voiceover.
Describes the beginnings of butō, chiefly the work of Tatsumi Hijikata and Kazuo Ōno, and shows its development into a dark dance theater that oversteps conventional social behavior and stage to play in underground theater and in the street.
• Dans l’empire des sens = In the realm of the senses = Ai no korīda
Media Collection PN1997 .E6257 1991
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 104 minutes; 1976.
Japanese dialolgue, with English subtitles; screen credits in French.
Based on one of Japan’s most notorious scandals, this is the story of an ex-prostitute who becomes involved in an all consuming love affair with the master of the household where she is employed as a servant.
• Densha otoko = Train_man
Media Collection PN1997.2 .D46743 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 2005.
Japanese dialogue, English subtitles
The U.S. arrival of Japan’s novel-comic-motion picture smash hit! Hopeless nerd Densha Otoko falls hard for the girl he rescued on the commuter train, and seeks dating advice from net-friends through an online forum - igniting an Internet phenomenon
• Discovering the music of Japan
Arts Library, Music M1812 .D583 1987
Documentary; 1 VHS, 19 minutes; 1987
Dir. Bernard Wilets
The five-toned music of Japan tries to reflect the beauty of nature and the integration of dramatic movement and dance.
• Dodesukaden = どですかでん
Media Collection PN1997 .D555 1986
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 140 minutes; 1970
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
A group of Tokyo slum dwellers overcome adversity while retaining their hopes and dreams.
• Donzoko = どん底 = The lower depths
Media Collection PN1997 .D66 1998
Feature Film; 125 minutes; 1957
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
The story of a group of social outcasts living together in a filthy rooming house, some trying to escape, some attempting to adjust, and others hoping to maintain their illusions.
• Dream girls
Media Collection PN2924 .D742 1994
Documentary; 1 VHS, 50 minutes; 1994
Dir. Kim Longinotto & Jano Williams
In Japanese with English subtitles.
A documentary film illustrating the ways that the all-female Takarazuka Music School and its annual musical revue reflect Japanese puritanism and sexual politics.
• Dream girls
Media Collection PN1590.W64 D74 2007
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 49 minutes; 1994.
Dir. Kim Longinotto
In English and Japanese with English subtitles.
"[Dream girls] opens a door into the spectacular world of the Takarazuka Revue, a highly successful musical theater company in Japan. Each year, thousands of girls apply to enter the male-run Takarazuka Music School. The few who are accepted endure years of a highly disciplined and reclusive existence before they can join the Revue, choosing male or female roles. Dream girls offers a compelling insight into gender and sexual identity and the contradictions experienced by Japanese women today"--Container.
E
• Eighth-grade mathematics lessons: United States, Japan, and Germany
Government Information Center, U.S. -- ED 1.33/42:M 42/VIDEO
Documentary; 1 VHS; 1997?
In English, Japanese and German with English subtitles.
Excerpts from six mathematics lessons taped in eighth-grade classrooms in the U.S., Japan, and Germany. The first three are geometry lessons. The second three are algebra lessons. Intended to demonstrate teaching in the three countries, but not to prescribe how teachers should teach. With beginning commentary from Dr. James Stigler concerning the video study that was part of the Third International Mathematics and Science Study. Japanese and German segment have English subtitles. Voice-over narration explains the teaching methods in each segment.
• Eizō sakka 100-nin = 映像作家100人 = Japanese motion graphic creators
Sciences Engineering Library TR897.5 .E59 2006
Animation; 1 DVD; 2006
• L’empire de la passion = In the realm of passion
Media Collection PN1997 .E6256 1999
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 108 minutes; 1978.
Dir. Nagisa Oshima.
Japanese dialogue with yellow English subtitles. Credit in French.
Based on a true story, the film tells of a pair of lovers and the ghost of her betrayed and murdered husband. Guilt over the affair brings the lovers to the scene of the crime, where the husband’s ghost and their consciences finally get revenge.
top
• Faces of Japan II
Media Collection DS822.5 .F334 1989
Juvenile/Documentary; 5 VHS, 15 minutes each; 1989
Prod. Tom Dudzinski
Provides in-depth profiles of people from five very different sectors of Japanese society and offers insight into Japanese culture.
• Farm song
Media Collection HQ682 .F37 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 58 minutes; 1978.
Dir. John Nathan.
Narrative in English, dialogue in Japanese with English subtitles.
Documents a family of rice farmers in rural, northeastern Japan over a one-year period. Explores how each member of the four-generation family comes to terms with his or her traditional role, with special emphasis on the role of the mother and daughter-in-law.
• Fifty years of silence: the untold story of Japanese American soldiers in the Pacific Theater, 1941 – 1952
Media Collection D753.8 .F54 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Sheryl K. Narahara
Tells about Japanese Americans being used as intelligence agents during World War II attached to American military units in the Pacific.
• Finding home: Japanese Americans living in Japan
Media Collection DS832.7.A6 F56 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2006.
In English, and some Japanese with English voiceovers.
"Finding Home is about Japanese Americans who have decided to live in Japan rather than America. The video examines what they have gained and lost with this decision. The six Japanese Americans featured respond to questions about lifestyle, identity, personal evolution, and choice of residence. They provide fresh insight into the expatriate experience for those who have chosen to live in their ancestral homeland. Nomura, a sansei (third generation Japanese American), and a first-time visitor to Japan at age 57, shares his impressions of being in Japan throughout the documentary"--Filmmaker.
• The fog of war: eleven lessons from the life of Robert S. McNamara
Media Collection E840.5.M36 F64 2004
Documentary; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 2003
Dir. Errol Morris
In English with French, Portuguese, Spanish and Japanese subtitles.
The story of American politics and military policies as seen through the eyes of the former Secretary of Defense, under President Kennedy and President Johnson, Robert S. McNamara. McNamara is a controversial and influential political figure. He offers a candid journey through some of the most seminal events in contemporary American history. He offers insights into the 1945 fire bombing of Tokyo, the Cuban Missile Crisis, and the effects of the Vietnam War.
• Forgotten dances
Media Collection GV1695 .F67 1971
Documentary/Performance; 1 VHS, 28 minutes; 1968
Dir. Bud Myers
The third part of a three-part series on the culture of Japan. Ancient forms of ritualistic dances are demonstrated by members of the Japan Folk Dance Group.
• From a different shore: an American identity
Media Collection F870.J3 F766 1996
Documentary; 1 VHS, 50 minutes; 1994
Dir. Jeremy Cooper
By exploring the lives of three families, this documentary examines the experiences of Japanese immigrants in the United States, including the internment of many during World War II. Focuses on how the Japanese immigrants’ experiences were distinct from other immigrants.
• Fuji musume = 藤娘
Media Collection PN2924.5.K3 F85 2004
Performance; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 1993
In Japanese with Japanese and English commentary.
Features a selection of kabuki dances.
• Full moon lunch = Mangetsu bentō = 満月弁当
Media Collection HQ682 .F82 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 1976.
Dir. John Nathan.
Narrative in English, dialogue in Japanese with English subtitles.
A look at a Tokyo family catering service, which specializes in preparing bento. Reflects on urban life in Japan in the late 1970s.
• Gaea girls
Media Collection GV1198.77.A2 G34 2000
Documentary; 1 VHS, 100 minutes; 2000
Dir. Kim Longinotto & Jano Williams
This documentary follows the physically grueling and mentally exhausting training regimen of several young ’Gaea Girls,’ a group of Japanese women wrestlers, living in a country where women are usually regarded as docile and subservient.
• Gagaku: the court music of Japan
Arts Library, Music ML340 .G23 1989
Documentary/Performance; 1 VHS, 29 minutes; 1989
Dir. Eugene Encrico & David Smeal
Allows the viewer to experience the haunting sounds of the Japanese court orchestra and see the magnificent costumes and masks of its stately dances.
• Genroku chūshingura = The 47 ronin
Media Collection PN1997 .G42445 1990z
Feature Film; 2 VHS, 224 minutes; 1941
Dir. Mizoguchi Kenji
In Japanese with English subtitles.
This fact-based account, created to inspire patriotic spirit during WWII, is a cinematic exploration of heroism and self-sacrifice which provides a rare glimpse at the price heroes sometimes paid to preserve their honor. When Lord Asano is forced to commit harakiri, his 47 samurai become ronin, men without a master, and make plans for revenge.
• Genshu: eat the kimono
Media Collection GV1785.H268 G46 1989
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1989
Dir. Claire Hunt & Kim Longinotto
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Film profiles Hanayagi Genshu, an unconventional Japanese dancer, who mixes radical politics into her avant-garde performances as she defys right-wing threats and denounces Emperor Hirohito during his lifetime.
• Gion no shimai = 祈園の姉妹 = Sisters of Gion
Media Collection PN1997 .G465 1997
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 66 minutes; 1936
Dir. Mizoguchi Kenji
In Japanese with English subtitles.
"Filled with compositions as exquisite as they are realistic, the story of two geisha sisters illuminates the plight of women in Japan."--Videocassette container.
• Global villages
Media Collection HM621 .G578 2005
Documentary; 1 DVD, 59 minutes; 2005
Dir. Tamar Gordon
"Depicts ethnic theme parks of China and Japan where official narratives of tradition and history are translated into colorful dances and interactive routines. ... Moving between five sites in two countries, ... [the film] captures the different narratives of globalization and identity that shape the experiences of ethnic minorities and foreign nationals as they perform their indigeneity for tourists"--Container.
• The Go masters = Mikan no taikyoku.
Media Collection PN1997 .G5583 1988
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 134 minutes; 1982.
Dir. Duan Ji-Shun.
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Story of a Chinese father searching for his long lost son in a devastated post World War II Japan.
Story about champion go gamesman from China, Kuang Yi-Shan who lets Japanese go master Matsunami adopt his son in order that the son might have a better life and chance to become a go master. When Japan invades China, Kuang’s son is pressured to renounce his Chinese citizenship and become Japanese.
• Godzilla vs Biollante
Media Collection PN1997 .G578 1989
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 105 minutes; 1989
Dir. Kazuki Omori
Dubbed in English.
A genetically engineered plant, the indestructible Biollante, must fight Godzilla to save her creator and the land she loves.
• Godzilla vs. King Ghidora
Media Collection PN1997 .G5782 1998
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 103 minutes; 1991
Dir. Kazuki Omori
Dubbed in English.
A UFO is sighted over present day Tokyo; in reality, it is a time travel device carrying representatives from the 23rd century with an urgent message about the future of Japan: there is no future. Godzilla is about to destroy the whole nation. To stop the birth of Godzilla, the travellers return to the past, where they are confronted by an even greater threat, King Ghidra, a horrific three-headed reptile with breath of fire.
• Gojira: Kaijūō = ゴジラ: 怪獸王 = Godzilla : king of the monster
Media Collection PN1997 .G5784 2006
Feature Film; 2 DVD, 176 minutes; 1954.
Dir. Ishiro Honda.
Japanese dialogue, English subtitles.
Testing of nuclear weapons over the Pacific Ocean triggers the awakening of a 400-foot, fire-breathing prehistoric lizard who begins to wreak havoc on the city of Tokyo.
• Gonza the spearman = Yari no Gonza kasane
Media Collection PN1997 .G593 1990
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 126 minutes; 1986
Dir. Masahiro Shinoda
In Japanese with English subtitles.
During the Tokugawa shogunate Japanese provincial lords were obliged to spend alternative years in Edo, the capital city. Wives and children were left behind, often causing tragic results. This classic tale of love, honor and tragedy was written by well-known bunraku playwright Monzaemon Chikamatsu.
• The good wife of Tokyo
Media Collection HQ1763 .G66 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 52 minutes; 1992
Dir. Claire Hunt and Kim Loginotto
In Japanese and English with English subtitles.
Kazuko Hohki goes back to Tokyo with her rock band after living in England for 15 years. This film records her re-experiencing of Japan after a long absence, examining traditional attitudes towards women and those of Kuzuko’s friends who are trying to expand their roles as Japanese women.
• The great happiness space
Media Collection HQ118 .G7 2006x
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 76 minutes; 2006
Dir. Jake Clennell.
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Osaka’s Rakkyo Cafe is a club run by ambitious young entrepreneur Issei, where a core staff of 20 young men are groomed to become the top male escorts in the city. But contrary to expectations, these boy-toys are mostly heterosexual, and their clients are strictly female.
• GTO : great teacher Onizuka
Media Collection PN1992.77 .G85 2000
Television Play; 7 DVD, 683 minutes; 2000.
In Japanese with Chinese subtitles.
GTO is about Eikichi Onizuka, a 22-year-old ex-biker, who has decided to become a teacher. Unfortunately, the only teaching job available is at Seirin Gakuen, where no certification is required. While at Seriin Gakuen, he must use his street smarts to deal with colleagues and students alike.
• Gunju kojo wa, ima = 軍需工場は、今
Media Collection HD9743.J32 G86 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 41 minutes; 2005.
The dispatch of the Japanese self-defense force overseas in collaboration with the U.S. increases the demand for military supplies and weapons. The ban of weapon export is likely to be completely disolved and, thus, the weapons industry is once again put into heavy production, which raises the concerns of many people in Japan.
• Guntai no kage ni riken ari: Kanbojia PKO no hōdō gyappu = 軍隊の影に利権あり: カンボジアPKOの報道ギャップ
Media Collection HC59.72.E44 G86 1993
Documentary Film; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1993.
• Hachigatsu no kyōshikyoku = 八月の狂詩曲 = Rhapsody in August
Media Collection PN1997 .H217 1998
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 100 minutes; 1991
Dir. Akira Kurosawa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
A visit from her grandchildren and the discovery of a half-American relative cause an elderly woman to relive her memories of the atomic bomb that fell on Nagasaki.
• Hakuchū no tōrima = 白昼の通リ魔 = Violence at noon
Media Collection PN1997 .H2534 1999
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 109 minutes; 1966
Dir. Ōshima Nagisa
In Japanese with English subtitles.
"Following the failure of a colletive farm, the husband of an idealistic socialist teacher goes beserk, becoming a sex criminal and murder. From there, Violence at noon focuses upon his actions and their effect upon two women who are close to him"--Container.
• Hauru no ugoku shiro = Howl’s moving castle
Media Collection PN1997.2 .H387 2006
Animated Film; 2 DVD, 119 minutes; 2004.
In Japanese, dubbed English or dubbed French; with optional English subtitles. Closed-captioned.
A young woman named Sophie is cursed by the Witch of the Waste and is turned into an old woman who is unable to tell anyone of her plight. Unable to continue her job at her mother’s hat shop, she goes to the ambulatory castle of the notorious wizard Howl and insinuates herself into his household. Sophie befriends Calcifer, the fire demon who powers the castle and who is bound to Howl by a contract, the terms of which Calcifer cannot reveal. They promise to help each other with their problems. Like Calcifer, Howl can also see through the Witch’s spell, and he and Sophie fall in love. Sophie helps Howl confront his former teacher, and the Witch of the Waste.
• Heart of the country
Media Collection LA1314.7 .H437 1998
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1997
Dir. Leonard Kamerling
In Japanese with English subtitles.
Story of Shinichi Yasutomo, principal of a rural elementary school in Kanayama, Hokkaido. Follows Yasutomo, his teachers and staff, students and their families over the course of one entire year.
• Hellfire, a journey from Hiroshima: a film
Media Collection ND1059.M3 H4 1986
Documentary; 1 VHS, 58 minutes; 1986
Dir. John Junkerman & John W. Dower
Looks at the lives and work of two Japanese muralists, Ira and Toshi Maruki, who weave into their art the effects of the bomb dropped at Hiroshima on their lives and the lives of the Japanese people as a whole.
• Hinomaru to Kimigayo: kaisetsu kiroku eiga = 日の丸と君が代: 解說記錄映画
Media Collection JC347.J3 H562 1990
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 32 minutes; 1990.
• Hiroshima mon amour
Media Collection PN1997 .H511 1986
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 90 minutes; 1959
Dir. Alain Resnais
In French with English subtitles.
A provoking movie about a French movie actress and a Japanese architect whose sensual love affair in 1950 Hiroshima brings about strange memories of the past and thoughts of the future.
• Hiroshima no pika; Hellfire : a journey from Hiroshima
Curriculum Lab, Juvenile Media D767.25.H6 H57 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 83 minutes; 2005, 1986.
Dir. Noriaki Tsychmoto; John Junkerman
In English and Japanese with English subtitles or dubbing; Hiroshim no pika credits are in Japanese and English.
"Hiroshima no pika is an animated film based on the award-winning children’s book by the Japanese artist Toshi Maruki. Through Maruki’s heart-rending but beautiful water color illustrations, the film tells the story of a young girl and her family who live through the horrific bombing of Hiroshima"--Container.
"Hellfire : a journey from Hiroshima captures the artists Iri and Toshi Maruki in their decades-long collaboration to create a monumental testament to the effects of the atomic bomb--the Hiroshima murals, which have been viewed by over 100 million people around the world. With engaging interviews and extended sequences of the Marukis at work, Hellfire reveals a message of hope in our nuclear age, and is a reminder of the power of art to render visible and meaningful what still seems unimaginable"--Container.
• Hoshina Gomusai: kimi hito no ko o sokonau koto nakare = 保科五無斉: 君, 人の子を賊うことなかれ
Media Collection DS834 .G35 1997 v.13
Biography; 1 VHS, 39 minutes; 1999
Dir. Hirasawa Nobuyasu
• Hotaru no haka Grave of the fireflies
Media Collection PN1997 .H71122 2002 [Limited 7-day]
DVD. 2 videodiscs (88 min. ; 71 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in
Includes English dubbed and Japanese versions and English subtitles
Two orphans in war-time Kobe, Japan, face fire-bombs, hunger, homelessness, and despair as the war and their lives come to an end
• Hyakunen no monogatari =百年の物語 = The story of one century
Media Collection PN1992.77 .H93 2000
Television Play; 9 VCD; 2000.
In Japanese with Chinese subtitles.
The stories of three women, living in three different Japanese eras: Taisho (1912-1926), Showa (1926-1989) and Heisei (1989-present), reflect the societal and cultural change over time in Japan. The first generation takes place in the 1920s at the time of the Great Kanto Earthquake. Togura Aya, coming from a wealthy and influential family, marries against her will to a wealthy man Yokoyama Heikichi, who can help her father tide over his financial difficulties. It seems to be a wrong move, and life goes on meaninglessly for her, until she makes up her mind to follow her heart (Kota Yashiro, a man with a humble background). However, inequality between men and women prevails, and Aya experiences many difficulties... In the Showa period, the focus is on Junko, the daughter of Aya. The story starts just after Japan surrenders in World War II. Life is hard, and she has to look after her younger brother, being brought up under the Imperialism influence. Her life changes when she meets a Japanese-American soldier... In the Heisei period, Chiyo is the focus. An independent, self-centered career woman, she embarks on a journey of revenge on her mother after receiving a call from her mother wishing to meet with her. Her mom abandoned her 24 years ago when she was only four years old.
Questions |
Davidson Library, Room 5537
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-4082
Send Email
Subjects:
East Asian Studies
Borrowing Films
Most of the films are on DVD although some are still on cassette. They are located in the Media Collection on the first floor of the Davidson Library. The Media Collection is in the rear right corner as you enter the Goverment Information Center. All films are circulating on a 7-day loan period and can be renewed online if no one puts a hold or a request on the item.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait