Chinese Films A-HChinese Films I-RChinese Films S-ZDatabasesDuxiu 读秀 E-BooksNewspapers & DissertationsReference ToolsResources by SubjectsTaiwanese Films
DatabasesE-BooksEast Asian 186 General Information about East Asian CountriesNewspapers & DissertationsPrimary SourcesReference ToolsResources by Subjects
DatabasesDoing Research in Japan E-BooksJapan 211 Japanese Films A-HJapanese Films I-RJapanese Films S-ZNewspapersReference SourcesResources by Subjects
DatabasesKorean FilmsNewspapersResources by Subjects
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

East Asian Studies 

Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/eastasia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Taiwanese Films             Print Page
  
 

Index

[ # | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z ]

 

Borrowing Films

Most of the films are on DVD although some are still on cassette.  They are located in the Media Collection on the first floor of the Davidson Library.  The Media Collection is in the rear right corner as you enter the Goverment Information Center.  All films are circulating on a 7-day loan period and can be renewed online if no one puts a hold or a request on the item.

 
 

Taiwanese Films A-R

#

•  20, 30, 40 = Twenty thirty forty
Media Collection PN1997.2 .A122 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 111 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Zhang Aijia.
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
Three women, separately in their twenties, thirties and forties, lead their lives in different ways.


top

 

A

  

•  Ai qing wan sui = 愛情萬歲 = Vive l’amour
Media Collection PN1997 .A313 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 1994.
Dir. Cai Mingliang.
Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Drama with very little dialog takes place in Taipei, Taiwan where a strange love triangle develops between a chic, seductive real estate agent, a street merchant and a shy, gay man.

•  Ai qing yi er san = 爱情一二三 = Love styles X Y Z
Media Collection PN1997 .A3129 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 89 minutes; 1971.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Three seperate love stories.

•  An an jing jing: Lin Shangbu =安安靜靜: 林雙不
Media Collection PL2277 .T255 2004 v.4
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2004.
Taiwanese and Mandarin narrative with Chinese subtitles.


top

 

B

 

•  Bao dao man bo = 寶島曼波= Formosa dream, disrupted  
Media Collection HV600 1999 T352 2007
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 145 minutes; 2007.
In Chinese (Mandarin or Southern Min dialect) with English subtitles.
On September 21, 1999, a devastating earthquake measuring 7.3 on the Richter scale has caused thousands of deaths and damaged over ten thousand buildings in Taiwan. Due to the mudslides, villagers from the Chingshui village of Chungliao township in Nantou county were forced to move out from their homes. They were seeking a place to rebuild their home and get away from the fear. Unfortunately, they have encountered many obstacles caused by the disordered policies and conflicts between people.

•  Bei qing cheng shi = 悲情城市 = A city of sadness
Media Collection PN1997 .B3568 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 152 minutes; 1989.
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian.
In Taiwanese dialect, with English subtitles.
This is the first Taiwanese film, through the Lin family’s turbulent life between 1945-1949, focusing on the subject of the most traumatic experience in Taiwan’s history, the February 28 Incident in 1947.

•  Bei yi wang de she hui bian yuan: Zhang Zuoji = 被遺忘的社會邊緣 : 張作驥
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.2
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Qu Youning.

•  Bi yun tian = 碧雲天 = Posterith and perplexity
Media Collection PN1997 .B43896 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 1976.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with Chinese subtitles.
A young lady’s life is forever changed after she was rescued from her abusing step mother by her caring substitute teacher. Is it changed for the better or for the worse? The story has some unexpected turns of events.

•  Bian yuan di cheng de you mu min zu : Xu Xiaoming = 邊緣底的遊牧民族: 徐小明
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.1
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Qu Youning.
Dialog in Mandarin, subtitles in Chinese & some English.

•  Bu dai xi : Li Tianlu yi shi = 布袋戲 : 李天祿藝師
East Asian Collection PN1982.L5 P82 1997
Puppet Play; 1 VCD, 42 minutes; 1997.


top

 

C

 

•  Cao bian guo bao a ma : Ke Zhuangman ; Taiya bian zhi san bu qu = 草編國寶阿嬤 : 柯莊 ; 泰雅編織三部曲
Media Collection NK1069.T3 M556 2005 v.6
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
In Taiwanese and Mandarin.

•  Catch a rising economic star, Taiwan : a glimpse of the R. O. C. investment environment
Media Collection HC430.5 .C37 1980
1 VHS, 26 minutes; 1980.

•  Ce ma ru lin = 策馬入林 = Run away
Media Collection PN1997 .C385 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 114 minutes; 1984.
Dir. Wang Tong.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Story taken place in the end of Tang Dynasty when China was in a chaotic state, a group of bandits kidnapped the daughter of a local village chief as a hostage in demand for food. The daughter fell in love with one of the bandits.

•  Cha xiang liu jin = 茶鄉流金 = Tea : Taiwan’s golden treasure
Media Collection GT2907.T3 C43 2002
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 25 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Yu Guangwei.
In Mandarin, English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese or Russian.
Captures images of golden-grained paddy, the gentle and gracious art of tea drinking, the poignancy and joy of ke-tse operas, worship of the sea goddess Matsu and respect for the universe and one’s ancestors, and the family reunions of the New Year festival. These are interwoven througout with Taiwanese hospitality and people’s optimistic and contented attitudes.

•  Chao yue su ming de bu xiang zhan chi gao fei : bai wu ya Lin Chenmo = 超越宿命的不祥展翅高飛 : 白烏鴉林沉默
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 7
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 27 minutes; 2003.
In Taiwanese and some Mandarin.

•  Che zheng zai zhui = 車正在追
Media Collection DS799.845 .C43 2003
Television Program; 5 VHS, 300 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Zhang Zuoji.
Dialog in Madarin and Hakka, subtitles in Chinese.
Four youngsters in Taiwan countryside hang out all day long playing and riding motorcycles. Through their interaction and the families’, the program reflects everyday living and family relationship in a small Hakka.

•  Chen Fengyan de bu dai xi shi jie = 陳峰煙的布袋戲世界
Media Collection NK1069.T3 M556 2005 v.2
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
In Taiwanese and some Mandarin.

•  Cheng zhang de si yu ri ji : Lin Zhengsheng = 成長的私語日記 : 林正盛
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.3
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Qu Youning.
Dialog in Mandarin and Taiwanese. Subtitles in Chinese.

•  Chibi zhi zhan = 赤壁之戰
Media Collection PN1997 .C4378 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCD, 99 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Yang Yi.
English subtitles.

•  Chinese New Year = Chung-kuo nien
Media Collection GT4905 .C45 1980
1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1980.
Dir.Chang I-Chen

•  Chinese paper-cuts = Chung-kuo chien chih
Media Collection TT870 .C45 1980
Documentary; 1 VHS, 26 minutes; 198-?

•  Chong ran Taiwan shi ge sheng ming zhi huo : Lu Hanxiu =重燃台灣詩歌生命之火 : 路寒袖
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 9
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 30 minutes; 2003.

•  Chun hua meng lu = 春花夢露 = A drifting life
Media Collection PN1997 .C489 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 117 minutes; 1995.
Dir. Lin Zhengsheng.
In Taiwanese dialect with Chinese subtitles.
An extraordinary film portrayed three generations of women’s lives in Taiwan.

•  Ci qing = 刺青 = Spider lilies
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C5 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 97 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Zhou Meiling.
In Chinese with optional subtitles in traditional or simplified Chinese or English.
"初戀青澀的美好回憶對身為「視訊情人」小綠來說, 似乎早已經遙不可及, 每晚在電腦前搔首弄姿又清純可人的挑逗模樣, 召喚著誰來購買她的「獨佔」點數, 才是填滿她愛情想像的現實. 直到那天, 同樣灑落著陽光的下午, 她偶然闖入竹子的刺青店, 牆上的金色花蕊強烈喚醒曾經愛情的悸動, 她開始在每晚上線的空虛心靈中, 猜想哪一個才是她的匿名愛人 ... 英挺帥勁的女孩竹子, 總在過往愛情的熾熱中狠狠被灼傷. 那是錯愛的懲罰嗎? 她永遠忘不了撼動天地的那晚, 在初戀情人的溫柔懷抱裡, 竹子失去了最真摯的親情. 那不是她們的錯, 然而在愛情與親情的抉擇中, 竹子選擇了壓抑自己的情感, 不僅在左臂上刺下代表「悲傷回憶」的「曼珠沙華」, 自己也成為刺青師傅, 為每個前來尋求力量或封印愛情的靈魂, 刺下屬於他們的秘密回憶. 直到那天, 一個名叫小綠的女孩, 無意闖入她的生活, 那份似曾相識的濃烈, 挑逗著她封閉已久的心房, 然而她真能擺脫愛情詛咒般的陰霾, 勇敢接受愛嗎?"--Container.

•  Confucianism and the Taiwan experience = 儒家思想與台灣經驗
Media Collection HN747.5 .C66 1995
1 VHS, 27 minutes; 1995?
Reviews the influence of Confucian ethics on Taiwan society of today.

•  Cong Da’niu’nan cun qiao ran er lai de jing lei zuo jia : Song Zela = 從打牛湳村悄然而來的驚雷作家 : 宋澤萊
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 6
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 30 minutes; 2003.
In Taiwanese and some Mandarin.

•  Cong tian yuan zou chu lai de nong cun shi ren : Wu Sheng = 從田園走出來的農村詩人 : 吳晟
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 4
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 30 minutes; 2003.
Narrative in Taiwanese and Mandarin.



top


D

 

•  Dan diao yi shu jia: Jian Changshun ; Zhu bian xin chuan da shi : Li Ronglie = 蛋雕藝術家: 簡長順 ; 竹編薪傳大師 : 李榮烈.
Media Collection NK1069.T3 M556 2005 v.3
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005.
In Mandarin and some Taiwanese.

•  A dancing feast: a documentary on Taiwan choreography = 舞宴 : 台灣舞蹈紀事
Media Collection GV1703.T28 D36 1997
1 VHS; 1997?
Narration in English.
"This presentation will allow you to see how oriental dancers dance forth the native as well as the global spirit in a universal language."--Container.

•  Dao cao ren = 稻草人 = Strawman
Media Collection PN1997 .D31333 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1987.
Dir. Wang Tong.
In Mandarin and Japanese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A comic tale about some poor peasants under Japanese occupation during the World War II in Taiwan who find a dud bomb and try to return it to the Japanese.

•  Dian ying tian kong = 電影天空
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003
Motion Picture; 11 VHS, 330 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Qu Youning.

•  Diao Chan yu Lü Bu = 貂蟬與呂布 = Tiao Chan
Media Collection PN1997 .D478 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Li Jia.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitle.
Diao Chan, a beautiful young lady, is used by Wang Yun to worsen the relationship between Dong Zhuo and his adopted son Lü Bu.

•  Du Guoqing = 杜國清
Media Collection PL2913.K76 A3 2009
2 DVD, 180 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Huang Mingchuan.
Du Guoqing, Prof. of Chinese literature at the University of California, Santa Barbara, talked about his background, how he became a poet, and his thoughts on poetry. In the second half, he read and interpreted some of his poems.

•  Dynamic Taiwan = 更好的家園 = Geng hao de jia yuan
Media Collection DS799.24 .D96 1997
1 VHS; 1997.
Dir. Yu Hsiao-pei.
Narration in English.
 

top

 

E

 

 

•  Eat drink man woman
Media Collection PN1997 .E2896 1998
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 124 minutes; 1994.
Dir. Lee Ang.
In Chinese with English subtitles.
A retired master chef and widower is worried about the future of his three unmarried daughters who are skeptical about marriage. Yet he himself surprises them with his secret love affair with a young woman many years his junior.

•  Er zi de da wan ou = 兒子的大玩偶 = The sandwich man
Media Collection PN1997 .E685 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1982.
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian.
Chinese dialogue with subtitles in Chinese.
The 1st work is the story of a man who becomes a sandwich man in order to make ends meet. In the 2nd work, two travelling salesmen face the harsh reality of their lives. The 3rd work is an irony about how a serious car accident of a worker turns into something good for his family.


top

 

F

 

 

•  Fang lang = 放浪 = Sweet degeneration
Media Collection PN1997 .F326 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 1997.
Dir. Lin Zhengsheng.
In Mandarin Chinese and Taiwanese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A forbidden love between a divorced woman and her brother.

•  Fei tian = 飛天 = Accidental legend
Media Collection PN1997 .F3744 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 128 minutes; 1996.
Dir. Sang Xiaodi.
In Mandarin dialogue with Chinese subtitles.
A fantasy tale of two boys serving as "substitute prisoners", pursued by local law enforcers after they steal gold.

•  Festivals in Taiwan = Festivals in Taiwan = 台灣節慶
Media Collection GT4883.5.A2 F47 1995
1 VHS, 45 minutes; 1995.
Dir. You Bingzhong.
Introduces the Chinese festivals celebrated in Taiwan in accordance with the lunar calendar.


top

 

G


•  Guang yin de gu shi = 光陰的故事 = In our time
Media Collection PN1997 .G7874 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1982.
Dir. Tao Chende.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Four stories of adolescents’ daily lives in Taiwan by four young directors.

•  Guang ying shan lin : Taiwan shan yue ji shi = 光影山林: 台灣山岳記事 = Visions of Taiwan’s mountains
Media Collection DS799.14 G83 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Gu Chao.
Narration in Mandarin, English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese or Russian.
站在天際, 從近4,000公尺向下遠眺, 領略台灣山岳的豐富意涵, 讚嘆險峻靈秀, 雄偉霸氣的山林之美.

•  Gui hua xiang = 桂花巷 = Osmanthus alley
Media Collection PN1997 .G797 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Chen Kunhou.
This is a life story of Tihong. She lost her parents at her childhood. A few years later, her brother died in a fishing accident. She married a wealthy husband, but the happiness didn’t last long. Her husband died of a disease when their son was small. So she had to run the family enterprise and rear their son by herself. Her son became very successful after grown up. However, she had to live all by herself because her son was busy.

•  Guo xiang feng hua: Taiwan de shui guo = 果香風華: 臺灣的水果 = The fragrant fruits of Taiwan
Media Collection SB354.6.T28 G86 2004
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 27 minutes; 2004.
In Mandarin, English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese, Russian, Taiwanese or Hakka.

top

 

H

 

 

•  Hai jiao qi hao = 海角七号= Cape no. 7
Media Collection PN1997.2 .H345 2008
Feature Film; 2 DVD, 130 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Wei Te-sheng.
Mainly in Mandarin and Taiwanese with dialogue
After running dry in Taipei, failed singer Aga returns to his picturesque coastal hometown of Hengchun and joins a band thrown together by Japanese concert promoter Tomoko. With members ranging from age 10 to 80, there’s more bumbling than rocking for this ragtag bunch, but a new love song awaits when Aga and Tomoko find seven undelivered letters written 60 years ago.

•  Hai shang hua = 海上花 = Flowers of Shanghai
Media Collection PN1997 .H25 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCD, 113 minutes; 1998.
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian.
Shanghainese, occasionally Cantonese and Suzhounese dialogue, English subtitles.
This film is set in the elegant brothels of late nineteenth century Shanghai, a hermetic world with its own highly ritualized codes of behavior, where "flower girls," must win, and then hold, the affection of their wealthy callers.

•  Hai shang hua = 海上花 = Flowers of Shanghai
Media Collection PN1997 .H25 2000b
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 1998.
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian.
In Shanghainese or Cantonese with Chinese subtitles.
In elegant brothels in late 19th century Shanghai, the survival of the "Flower girls" depends on their ability to win, and then keep, the affections of their wealthy callers.

•  Hai yun = 海韻 = Rhythm of the wave
Media Collection PN1997 .H25327 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Li Xing.
Mandarin dialogue, Chinese subtitles.
Gambler reunites with his wife and a couple restores good relations.

•  Hai zi de tian kong: Ke Yizheng = 孩子的天空 : 柯一正
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.11
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Qu Youning.
Dialog in Mandarin, subtitles in Chinese & some English.

•  Han ye xu qu = 寒夜續曲
Media Collection PN1992.77 .H36 2003
Television Program; 2 DVD, 1120 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Zheng Wentang
In Hakka and Japanese with optional traditional Chinese subtitles.
Hakka people’s experience during the period of Japanese occupation in Taiwan.

•  He liu = 河流 = River
Media Collection PN1997 .H395 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 115 minutes; 1996.
Dir. Cai Mingliang.
In Mandarin Chinese with Chinese subtitles.
The son from a disfunctional family has become very ill. The parents are indifferent with each other and have serious intimate issues. They tried various ways to cure their son’s illness.

•  Health through kungfu = Gong fu yu jian shen = 功夫與健身
Media Collection GV1112 .H43 1997
Documentary: 1 VHS; 1997?
Dir. Huang Ke-yi
Narration in English.

•  Hong shi zi = 紅柿子 = Red persimmon
Media Collection PN1997 .H648 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 167 minutes; 1995.
Dir. Wang Tong.
Mandarin dialogue, Chinese subtitles.
A grandma and her eleven grandchildren.

•  Hong zhao xue ji "lang tao sha": Dongfang Bai= 鴻爪雪跡 "浪淘沙" : 東方白
Media Collection PL2277 .T255 2004 v.3
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2004.
Taiwanese and Mandarin narrative with Chinese subtitles.

•  Hou Hsiao Hsien, 1983-1986
Media Collection PN1997.A1 H68 2005
Feature Film; 4 DVD, 382 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Hou Hisao-hsien.
In Chinese; with subtitles in Chinese, English and Japanese.
The boys from Fengkuei: Ah-Ching and his friends have just finished school in their island fishing village, and now spend most of their time drinking and fighting. Three of them decide to go to the port city of Kaohsiung to look for work. They find an apartment through relatives, and Ah-Ching is attracted to the girlfriend of a neighbor. There they face the harsh realities of the big city.
A summer at grandpa’s: After their mother becomes hospitalized, two city children find themselves spending the summer in the country with their grandfather.
A time to live, a time to die: The film depicts a family transplanted from mainland China to Taiwan in the early 1950s. The father dies of illness and the elder sister marries. A-ha, the protagonist, struggles to deal with adolescence.
Dust in the wind: A love story about a young couple from a village in the southern part of Taiwan. The boy goes to Taipei to work after graduating from junior high to earn money to send home. The girl follows him the next year and they work hard to earn enough money to marry. Then the young man spends three years in the military and the girl marries someone else. Although the young man regrets what happened he does not blame the girl.

•  Hua hun =畫魂 = A soul haunted by painting
Media Collection PN1997 .H834 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 129 minutes; 1994.
Dir. Huang Shuqin.
In Mandarin with English subtitles.
In the late 1920s, a woman painter specializing in nude painting returns from France to China to teach her skills but finds that the art form is being heavily condemned by the general public and the government. In dismay, she leaves her husband several years later and returns to France to pursue her career.

•  Hua qiao rong ji = 花橋榮記 = My rice noodle shop
Media Collection PN1997 .H83 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCD, 98 minutes; 1998.
Dir. Xie Yan.
English subtitles.

•  Huan wo he shan = 還我河山 = Fire bulls
Media Collection PN1997 .H844 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 127 minutes; 1966.
Dir. Li Jia.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with Chinese subtitles.
敘述戰國時代,濟國田單運用戰略戰勝燕國,收復山河的史實。燕國地處東北,在燕王噲時,國都曾被齊國攻下,到了時,強憤圖強,禮聘賢才,並以樂毅為將軍,使燕國軍事力量強大起來。後來燕國聯合各國攻打齊國,幾手快滅了濟國,幸而齊國田單用反間計使燕王撤換樂毅將軍,再出奇不意的以火牛陣攻敵,才一舉驅逐燕軍,收復國士,是為田單復國。

top

 

I

 

•  An island of vitality = 活力之島 = Huo li zhi dao
Media Collection DS799.24 .I85 1997
1 VHS; 1997?
Dir. Fu Chi-chung.
Narration in English.


top

 

J

 

•  Ji mo de zhong chan jie ji : Yi Zhiyan = 寂寞的中產階級: 易智言
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.8
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Qu Youning.
Dialog in Mandarin, subtitles in Chinese.

•  Jia zhuang yi niu che = 嫁妝一牛車
Media Collection PN1997 .J44845 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Zhang Meijun.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.

•  Jie qing zai Taiwan: cong chuan tong dao xian dai = 節慶在臺灣: 從傳統到現代 = Taiwan’s festivals: links with the past, bridges to the future
Media Collection GT4883.5.A2 J54 2007
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Fu Jizhong.
In Chinese (Mandarin), English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese or Russian.
"在台灣, 除了漢民族與原住民的傳統節慶之外, 更有因應現代社會需求而衍生的新型態節慶. 它們幾乎每天都在台灣某個好山或好水的角落上演, 不但豐富了台灣人的日常與文化生活, 更儼然成為詮釋台灣文化的「超級程式」. 而台灣人永遠都懷抱著一份參加慶典的熱誠心意, 面對在未來等著我們的無窮機會與希望."--Container.

•  Jie tou xiang wei = 街頭巷尾 = Our neighbor
Media Collection PN1997 .J44848 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 92 minutes; 1963.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
A poor couple died and left their daughter alone with neighbors in the community. She is loved by an elderly, heavy man who treats her like his own. However, conditions in the community changes when a conceited person and his girlfriend came to live with them.

•  Jin tian bu hui jia = 今天不回家 = Tonight nobody goes home
Media Collection PN1997 .J4486 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 122 minutes; 1996.
Dir. Zhang Aijia.
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles.
Comedy about a middle-aged couple and their midlife marrital crisis. The husband had an affair with his granddaughter’s teacher. After learning about the affair, the wife left home to stay with a young gigolo and started a new career.

•  Jing yan: Taiwan hua hui = 驚艷: 臺灣花卉 = Taiwan blooms across the world
Media Collection SB407.3.T28 J56 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 29 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Wang Qizai.
Chinese, English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese and Russian options.
Discusses Taiwan’s horticulture industry, focusing on the success of Taiwan’s worldwide export of the Phalaenopsis orchid.

•  Jiu shi liu liu de ta = 就是溜溜的她 = Lovable you
Media Collection PN1997 .J4489 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 89 minutes; 1980.
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with traditional Chinese subtitles.
It is such a small world that the man with whom Wenqi’s father would like to introduce to her is the man that she met in the countryside.

top

 

K

 

•  Kai xin de wan pi jia zu: Chen Yuxsun = 開心的頑皮家族: 陳玉勳
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.5
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Jiang Ruizong.
Dialog in Mandarin and Taiwanese, subtitles in Chinese.

•  Ke nü = 蚵女 = Oyster girl
Media Collection PN1997 .K4 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Li Xing.
Mandarin dialogue, Chinese and English subtitles.
Alan grew up in a fishing village raising oyster for a living. She falls in love with a young fisherman, Jinshui. They go through a lot of trials and toils and finally establish their own family happily.

•  Kong bu fen zi = 恐怖分子 = Terrorizers
Media Collection PN1997 .K62 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1982.
Dir. Yang Dechang.
Chinese dialogue with subtitles in Chinese.
A women writer, unsatisfied with her marriage, writes an award-winning novel based on her inner feelings and her imagination. Ironically, her life begins to follow the plot of the novel, as her husband attacks her lover and then commits suicide.

•  Ku lian = 苦戀 = Portraif of a fantic
Media Collection PN1997 .K8 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 105 minutes; 1982.
Dir. Wang Tong.
In Mandarin Chinese with Chinese subtitles.
Melodrama of a Chinese artist, his passion and dislusion of China.


top

 

L


•  Lang hua = 浪花 = Painted waves of love
Media Collection PN1997 .L2384 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 1976.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A talented woman painter falls in love with a gallery owner, who has already married. His son loves her niece at first sight, too. The painter gets along well with his grown son and daughter. In order to keep their family united, his son and daughter ask her to withdraw from her love relationship, and she promises to do so to save the gallery owner’s marriage.

•  Lao shi, si ka ye da = 老師, 斯卡也答 = Lily in the valley
Media Collection PN1997 .L29 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 1982.
Dir. Song Cunshou.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A story of a small village in a remote area where a teacher, a nun and a local doctor get together to help and educate the local people.

•  Lei bao feng yun = 雷堡風雲 = An unseen triggerman
Media Collection PN1997 .L438 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 119 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Li jia.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
The story of the Central Army officer Yu Zhixun helps to keep the army united together during the Anti-Japanese War.

•  Li yuan chun xiao: Taiwan ge zi xi = 梨園春曉: 台灣歌仔戲 = A new spring for Taiwan’s Ke-tse opera
Media Collection PN2879 .L4 2003
Folk Drama; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Shen Ruiyuan.
In Mandarin, English, French, Espanõl, Deutch, Japnaese, Pyccknn̆, Southern Min and Hakka.
介紹歌仔戲的歷史與臺灣的文化淵源.

•  Liang xiang hao = 兩相好
Media Collection PN1997 .L54 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1961.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese and Taiwanese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Children of unfriendly neighbors fall in love.

•  Long de chuan ren = 龍的傳人 = The land of the brave
Media Collection PN1997 .L679 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1981.
Dir. Li Xing.
Mandarin Chinese dialogue with traditional Chinese subtitles.
"台灣是世界聞名的美麗寶島,國民一向傳承傳統精神,樂觀奮鬥,勤奮工作,開創美麗的生活。雖然有時遭逢國際政治的衝擊,但全國上下,都能精誠團結,合作無間。本片中青年人的歌團在鄉村演出,十幾萬人的升旗典禮,足使您感動落淚,終生難忘"--Container.

•  Lu = 路 = The road
Media Collection PN1997 .L78 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 1963.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
A story of a road building worker and his son.

•  Luo shan feng = 落山風 = Cave of desire
Media Collection PN1997 .L868 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 85 minutes; 1987.
Dir. Huang Yushan.
In Chinese Mandarin with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A young student is sent by his parents to the Buddhist temple for a quiet study. He meets a Buddhist novice and they fall in love. The Buddhist novice realize that she will destroy the young man’s future if they continue the relationship, so she decides to become a Buddhist nun

top

 

M

 

•  Mei li zai chang ge = 美丽在唱歌 = Murmur of youth
Media Collection PN1997 .M4345 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 105 minutes; 1996.
Dir. Lin Zhensheng.
Chinese dialogue, Chinese subtitles.
Two girls with the same name, Meili, come across each other and fall in love.

•  Mei you jin pai de jing sai: Taiwan min su ti yu = 沒有金牌的競賽: 臺灣民俗體育 = Competition without medals : folk sports in Taiwan
Media Collection GV663.T3 M45 2003
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 25 minutes; 2003.
Dir Gu Chao.
In Mandarin, English, French, Espanol, Deutsch, Japanese, or Hakka.
透過紀錄臺灣各地眾多族群的各種運動, 表達出臺灣獨有的傳統文化.

•  Min su ji yi da shi jing xuan = 民俗技藝大師精選
Media Collection NK1069.T3 M556 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 360 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Zeng Lixun.
In Taiwanese and some Mandarin.

•  Ming jian feng liu = 名劍風流 = A sword named revenge
Media Collection PN1997 .M577 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 198-?
Dir. Li Jia.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with subtitles in traditional Chinese and English.
The master of wulin, Yu Fanghe is not interested in fame and desires to retire from wulin. However, he is poisoned by an assasin one evening. In his anger and sadness, his son, Yu Peiyu leaves home to find the assasin of his father.

•  Mo fa Ama = 魔法阿媽 = Grandma and her ghosts
Media Collection PN1997 .M6356 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 80 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Wang Xiaodi.
Mandarin Chinese or Cantonese dialogue with optional subtitles in Chinese, English, French, Spainish, Japanese, Russian, or German.
"七月颱,鬼門開。媽媽匆匆忙忙的帶著小豆到基隆阿媽家。風雨中,小豆覺得這個台灣邊邊上的城市,好像隨時會被吹進海裡,而山崖上破舊的阿媽家一定是第一個滾下去的房子。小豆不知道媽媽離開他是為了趕去照顧在國外工作受傷的爸爸。 阿媽和她的朋友簡直不像地球上的生物,笑起來天搖地動,還講小豆聽不懂的日本話。阿媽家的黑貓整天懶洋洋的趴在白狗身上睡覺。牆壁跟流汗一樣濕噠噠的,牆角長了好多香菇,後院子裡破爛的儲藏室是阿媽不准他街進的禁地,裡面堆滿詭異的泡菜罐。阿媽再三警告小豆不可以碰這些罐子,小豆沒聽阿媽的話,自從他打開了一個貼了封條的罐子後,黑貓整個樣子就變了。阿媽說她收的惡鬼附到貓身上了。這個惡鬼會阻撓她普渡從鬼門關回來探訪親戚朋友的"好兄弟",惡鬼希望"好兄弟"回不去後,可以留在人間助它為惡。 "--Container.

•  Mo huan jin xiao: deng jie zai Taiwan = 魔幻今宵: 燈節在台灣 = A night of magic: the lantern festival in Taiwan
Media Collection GT4883.5.A2 M64 2007
Documentary Film; 2 DVD, 45 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Wang Yuantong.
Disc 1 in Chinese (Mandarin), English, French or Spanish; disc 2 in German, Japanese or Russian.
"初春的元宵節, 台灣被千萬個祈願所沸騰, 整個台灣島上的子民都在祈福, 每盞元宵燈和燃放的每串炮火, 都成了台灣人的「希望」寄託. 俗話說 :「過了元宵, 才算過完年」, 描述的不是節氣轉換, 而是心理狀態的改變. 「元宵」夜是人心轉性的那個刹那. 是常與非常生活的臨界點, 也是台灣人生活裏最魔幻與瘋狂的一夜. 元宵節的華麗燈會、乞龜競筊與瘋狂炮炸等慶典, 表現出台灣獨特多樣的文化, 看見台灣人源源不絶的熱情, 藉由本片, 一起體驗台灣撼動全球的「魔幻今宵」!"--Container.

•  Mu diao: Huang Guili yi shi = 木雕: 黃龜理藝師
East Asian Collection NK9798.H83 M8 1997
1 VCD, 48 minutes; 1997?

•  Mu diao: Li Songlin yi shi = 木雕: 李松林藝師
East Asian Collection NE1183.5.L54 M8 1997
1 VCD, 42 minutes; 1997?

•  Mu diao xin chuan da shi: Shi Zhenyang ; Xi yi xin chuan da shi : Chen Wanneng = 木雕薪傳大師: 施鎮洋 ; 錫藝薪傳大師 : 陳萬能
Media Collection NK1069.T3 M556 2005 v.5
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005?
In Taiwanese and some Mandarin.

•  Mu qin san shi sui = 母親三十歲 = Story of mother
Media Collection PN1997 .M837 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 88 minutes; 1972.
Dir. Song Cunshou.
Mandarin dialogue, Chinese subtitles.
Alienation of an adulteress and her son.

•  Mu yu nü = 母與女 = Life with mother
Media Collection PN1997 .M83 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1970.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
李湘原是風塵女郎,因姘夫歐威犯案累累坐牢十幾年,她決心要把女兒培養成高尚的淑女,於是整天周旋於聲色之中,儘量設法賺錢,給女兒一切物質上的享受,可是沒想到女兒更需要精神上的母愛。更糟的是,她禁止女兒喝酒、吸煙,自己卻喝酒、吸煙;她教女兒待人要誠懇,自己卻開除同樣出身的老酒女;又常常哄騙女兒,和有婦之夫要好,破壞別人的家庭,因而造成母女之間的誤會而對立。


top

 

N

 

•  Na nian xia tian de lang sheng = 那年夏天的浪聲
Media Collection PN1992.77 .N26 2002
Television Program; 1 DVD, 85 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Chen Xiuyu.
Dialog in Mandarin and some Taiwanese, subtitles in Chinese.
Manli quit her job for no reason. She just wanted some changes. As she had time to reflect on her life, her memory of her high-school close friend started to become ever more clear and expanding...

•  Nan guan xi: Li Xiangshi yi shi = 南管戲: 李祥石藝師
East Asian Collection PN2879 .N36 1997
Folk Drama; 1 VCD, 44 minutes; 1997.

•  Nian = 年 = Greeting the lunar new year on Taiwan
Media Collection GT4905 .G74 2003
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 50 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Yu Kanping.
In Chinese, English, French, German, Portuguese, Japanese, Spain, Japanese, Russian, Arabic.
介紹台灣人過農曆新年的習俗.

•  Nie zi = 孽子 = Crystal boys
Media Collection PL2892.A345 N452 2003
Television Program; 10 DVD, 120 minutes each; 2003.
Dir Cao Ruiyuan.
Aqing lost his mother at a young age and subsequently his only brother. While having sex with his classmate Zhao Ying in the school lab, they were caught by the night watchman. The high school expelled him and his father gave him a good beating. Aqing ran away and immersed in the underground gay world at the New Park in Taibei.

•  Nie zi = 孽子 = The outsiders
Media Collection PN1997 .N47 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 118 minutes; 1986.
Dir. Yu Kanping.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Ah-Ching, a young student gets cast off by his parents because he is gay. In a public park in Taipei he finds a group of other young gays and joins them to live in the house of a middle-aged photographer. They form a kind of surrogate family. When Ah-Ching meets Wang Kei-Lung, he falls madly in love.

•  Nie zi mu hou hua xu = 孽子幕後花絮 = Crystal boys behind the scenes
Media Collection PL2892.A345 N453 2003
Motion Picture; 1 VCD, 60 minutes; 2003.
Chinese narration, Chinese subtitle.
On the production of "Nie zi = Crystal Boys".

•  Nong yu de se cai hui sa: He Ping = 濃郁的色彩揮灑: 何平
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.6
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Jiang Ruizong
Dialog in Mandarin and Taiwanese, subtitles in Chinese.


top

 

P

 

•  Peking opera actors (Taiwan) : classical Chinese theatre : martial arts & acrobatic sequences
Media Collection PN2871 .P44 1980z
Documentary; 1 VHS, 11 minutes; 198-?.
Dir. John D. Mitchell.
The martial arts and sword play of the traditional Peking opera are shown and displayed with detailed English commentary.

•  The people with love and faith = Ai xin yu cheng zhang = 愛心與成長
Media Collection DS799.8485 .P36 1995
Biography; 1 VHS, 27 minutes; 1995?
Narration in English.
Introduces some personages in the fields of government, business lexicography, entertainment and religion, who have contributed to the betterment of Taiwan society.

•  Pi ying xi: Zhang Decheng yi shi = 皮影戲: 張德成藝師
East Asian Collection PN1979.S5 P49 1997
Folk Art; 1 VCD, 38 minutes; 1997?

•  Piao xiang jian yu = 飄香劍雨 = The lost swordship
Media Collection PN1997 .P4747 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Li Jia.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with subtitles in traditional Chinese and English.
Lu Nanren’s family owns a fragrant sword that many people would like to steal and own. He himself does not know where it is because it is a supreme sword and very powerful against any opponent.

•  The Polished stones: K-5 math achievement in Japan and Taiwan
Media Collection QA135.5 .P637 1989
1 VHS, 35 minutes; 1988.
Dir. John K. Corser.
Filmed in Sendai, Japan and Taipei, Taiwan in 1988, this program presents scenes from typical first- and fifth-grade mathematics classes and interviews with teachers and parents. Investigates the reasons why Chinese and Japanese students lead the world in mathematical skills and compares children’s math achievement in Japan, Taiwan and the United States.

•  Portraits Taiwan. Dharma Master Cheng Yen = Portraits Taiwan. Dharma Master Cheng Yen = 台灣人物誌. 證嚴法師
Media Collection BQ946.E547 P67 2006
Biography; 1 DVD, 45 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Liu Soung.
In English with subtitles in Chinese or English; some interviews are in Chinese with English subtitles.
"Master Cheng Yen became a Buddhist nun in 1963 after undergoing rigorous training and devotional practices. In 1966, she began the work of "humanizing Buddhism" by involving each of her 30 followers in service to others. Today, The Tzu Chi Foundation has over four million members who volunteer their time and resources. The Foundation assists in relief efforts around the world, operates the Tzu Chi General Hospital, and the Junior College of Nursing in Taiwan. Master Cheng Yen has received the Eisenhower Medallion for her contribution to world peace, and has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize."--Accompanying leaflet.


top

 

Q

 

•  Qiang ren de shu min jing shen: Wang Tong = 強韌的庶民精神: 王童
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.10
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Qu Youning.
Dialog in Mandarin and Taiwanese, subtitles in Chinese.

•  Qiao ke li zhong ji = 巧克力重擊 = Chocolate Rap
Media Collection PN1997.2 .Q54 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 83 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Li Qiyuan.
In Chinese with optional subtitles in French, English, German, Japanese, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Enter the thrilling world of B-boys where young men compete in the streets, mixing martial arts with break dancing. A clever love story intertwining surfing, romance, break dancing & martial arts unlike anything you’ve ever seen.

•  Qiao ru cai die fei fei fei = 俏如彩蝶飛飛飛 = Six is company
Media Collection PN1997 .Q23 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1982.
Dir. Chen Kuen Hou.
In Chinese (Mandarin), with subtitles in traditional Chinese.
A music band member working in a restaurant has to live in the same rental house with some girls, and falls in love with one of them.

•  Qiao shou yang yi: Taiwan xian dai shou gong yi = 巧手揚藝: 臺灣現代手工藝 = Skillful hands & Artistic Vision : contemporary Taiwanese Handicrafts
Media Collection NK1069.T3 Q53 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 27 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Yu Guangwei.
Narration in Chinese (Mandarin), English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese or Russian; no subtitles.
台灣的工藝家們以土地、天時、地氣、材美孕育、打造出精巧的工藝世界。他們以自然為師, 以生活為題材, 從簡單的生活中體會生命真意, 他們的創作不只為了實用, 也不只追求美觀, 更在意於精神的傳承、記憶的延續、香火與文化的綿延的內涵。 該片更進一步呈現今天台灣現代手工藝在結合文化、產業和創意, 活用企業行銷與品牌的理念, 以"全球思考, 在地行動"來拓展台灣工藝的版圖, 以不斷的創新發展, 來活化傳統工藝的生命, 讓台灣現代手工藝的風華在現, 再度飛躍在台灣新生命的天空裡。

•  Qing shao nian Nazha = 青少年哪吒 = Rebels of the Neon God
Media Collection PN1997 .Q56 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCD, 106 minutes; 1992.
Dir. Cai Mingliang.
In Mandarin.

•  Qing shao nian Nezha = 青少年哪吒 = Rebels of the Neon God
Media Collection PN1997 .Q56 2000b
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1992.
Dir. Cai Mingliang.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with traditional Chinese subtitles.
"小康突然決定不考聯考了, 拿了一筆補習班退回來的學費, 跑到西門町去晃蕩, 他遇到阿澤.阿澤這個典型的不良少年, 整天不是打電動, 就是騎重型機車在街上呼嘯, 一把大鎖永遠掛在車頭架上, 看誰不爽, 抓起來就砸, 小康記得很清楚, 這個傢伙就曾經砸過他老爸的計程車. 小康跟蹤阿澤, 當阿澤跟冰宮上班的阿桂到旅社開房間的時候, 小康在滂沱大雨中把阿澤心愛的機車給砸得稀巴爛.阿澤發現自己走霉運了, 車子被砸爛不說, 最好的朋友阿彬, 在他們去兜售贓貨時, 被惡人打得只剩半條命, 最糟糕的是, 他發現自己愛上他老哥的馬子阿桂. 小康的運氣也好不到那裡去, 老爸知道他退費的事, 把他趕出家門, 他開始不知何去何從"--Container.

•  Qing yan = 輕煙 = Love is smoke
Media Collection PN1997 .Q24 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Song Cunshou.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Qiu Ling introduces his girlfriend Ma Shan to work for his uncle Qiu Jin. Ma Shan and Qiu Jin gradual

 

Taiwan Films S-Z

S


•  Shan hai Taiwan = 山海台灣 = Taiwan : where mountains meet the sea
Media Collection DS799.24 .S436 2007
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 27 minutes; 2007.
Chinese, English, French, Deutsch, Japanese, Spanish, Russian, Arabic options.
The video gives you a glimpse not only of Taiwan’s natural features, but also lets you see the people’s efforts and achievements. For hundreds of years, the mountains and the sea have witnessed people arriving in Taiwan to make admirable achievements in politics, economics, agriculture, and international cooperation.

•  Shang hen er er ba = 傷痕二二八 = Shang hen 228
Media Collection DS799.823 .S43 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 49 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Zheng Wentang
In Mandarin and some Taiwanese with Chinese subtitles.
Taking place on Feb. 28, 1947, the 228 incident is a major political tragedy in the history of Taiwan. The film documented the incident from its cause through the end.

•  Shao nian wu meng = 少年午夢
Media Collection PN1992.77 .S48 2002
Television Program; 1 DVD, 85 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Cao Ruiyuan.
Dialog in Taiwanese and Mandarin, subtitles in Chinese.
Five good friends got into an accident. One of them, the driver, was seriously injured and lay in coma for three years. During these three years, while caring for him each of the four friends encountered many hardships in life. As they moved on and scattered about, he awoke from the coma.

•  Shao nü xiao yu = 少女小漁 = Siao Yu
Media Collection PN1997 .S5 1995
Feature Film; 2 VCDs, 105 minutes; 1995
Dir. Zhang Aijia
In Chinese and English with Chinese and English subtitles.
Xiao Yu is a Chinese girl who works illegally in New York. Her only goal is to stay with her boyfriend in New York. Her boyfriend arranged her to marry with an old man on paper to get green card. What will Xiao Yu do?

•  Sharing the fruits of progress = 回饋之心 = Hui kui zhi xin
Media Collection DS799.848 .S43 1995
1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1995?
Narration in English.
Highlights the importance of reciprocity in foreign assistance programs. While Taiwan received assistance from the United States in the postwar period, she has also been providing assistance to other developing countries. Emphasizes the desire of Taiwan to participate fully in the international arena.

•  Shen hai = 深海 = Blue cha cha
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S474 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Zheng Wentang.
In Chinese with optional traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
A girl who is newly released from jail finds her romance.

•  Sheng ming xi wang gong cheng = 生命希望工程 = Of life and hope
Media Collection HV555.T28 S43 2007
Documentary Film; 13 DVD; 2007.

•  Shi ji Song Meiling = 世紀宋美齡 = Mme. Chiang Kai-shek : a legend across three centuries
Media Collection DS777.488.C515 S54 2003
Biography; 1 DVD, 165 minutes; 2003.
Soundtracks in Mandarin ; subtitles in Chinese.

•  Shi ji xing guo : shao shuai Zhang Xueliang chuan qi = 世纪行過 : 少帥張學良傳奇
Media Collection DS777.488.C458 S45 2001
Documentary; 5 VCD, 240 minutes; 2001.
Mandarin dialogue with Chinese subtitles.
This is the first documentary film of General Zhang Xueliang and it contains the first-hand materials of modern Chinese history in the 20th century.

•  Shi ren Lin Hengtai: yi xian dai luo shi xiang tu, yi zhi xing rong zhu gan xing = 詩人林亨泰: 以現代落實鄉土, 以知性熔鑄感性
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 3
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 30 minutes; 2003.
Narrative in Taiwanese and Mandarin.

•  Shuang tong = 雙瞳 = Double vision
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S483 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Chen Kuo Fu.
In Chinese with optional Chinese, English, Korean, and Thai subtitles.
The Taiwanese government is forced to enlist the help of an American FBI agent. He is teamed with a troubled local cop and together they must do the impossible. Their journey will lead them into Taiwan’s darkest corners and to an ancient cult in search of immotality." -- Container.

•  Si bu tong wan yi shu jia: You Jingke ; Xin chuan bei guan : Lin Shuijin.= 絲布童玩藝術家: 尤金科 ; 薪傳獎北管先生 : 林水金
Media Collection NK1069.T3 M556 2005 v.1
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005?
In Taiwanese and some Mandarin.

•  Songs of the mountains, dances of the sea: music and dances of Taiwan’s indigenous people
Arts Library, Music Service Desk ML337.5.S66 1997
1 VHS, 30 minutes; 1997.
Field recordings of songs and interviews in indigenous (Austronesian) languages and Chinese, with English narration.
Illustrates the ethnic diversity of the indigenous peoples of Taiwan. The nine tribes are: (Northern mountains) Atayal and Saisiat; (Central mountains) Bunun and Tsou; (Southern mountains) Paiwan and Rukai; (Eastern coastal) Puyuma and Amis; (Orchid Island) Yami. Their Austronesian culture is reflected in their tribal world view and values which enrich the culture of the Republic of China. This documentary links them to cultures through out the Pacific and Indian oceans.


top

 

T


•  Taiwan e hua: mei li e dao = 台灣e化 : 美麗e島
Media Collection QA76.9.C66 T36 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Chen Junjie.
In Mandarin, English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese or Russian.
他们都是带着一点梦想与坚持的特质, 认真执著于自己事业领域者. 他们善用e化工具, 或摆脫了产业沒落的危机, 或提升服务的品质与效率, 或与国际接轨、提升竞争力, 或实现梦想造福更多人类

•  Taiwan Mazu po = 台灣媽祖婆 = Matsu : Taiwan’s guardian goddess
Media Collection BL1812.G63 M28 2002
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 25 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Chen Yunfu.
Narration in Mandarin, English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese, Russian, Taiwanese or Hakka dialects; no subtitles.
講述台灣媽祖信仰的起源、習俗、崇拜儀式和崇拜文化等等.

•  Taiwan nü xing wen xue yan jiu de hui xing: Qiu Guifen. = 台灣女性文學研究的彗星: 邱貴芬
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 8
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 2003.

•  Taiwan wen xue de jiao ao: guo bao zuo jia Chen Qianwu. = 台灣文學的驕傲: 國寶作家陳千武.
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 1
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 57 minutes; 2003
Narrative mainly in Taiwanese and occasional Mandarin.

•  Taiwan wen xue jia ji shi = 台灣文學家紀事
Media Collection PL2277 .T255 2004
Documentary Film; 4 DVD, 243 minutes; 2004.

•  Taiwan xin wen xue zhi fu: Lai He = 台灣新文學之父: 賴和
Media Collection PL2277 .T255 2004 v.1
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2004
Taiwanese and Mandarin narrative with Chinese subtitles.

•  Taiwan: yi ge cheng gong de gu shi = 台灣: 一個成功的故事
Media Collection DS799.5 .T359 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 27 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Shen Zhuojun.
In Mandarin, Taiwanese, Japanese, English, Spanish, French, Deutsch or Russian.
回顧台灣歷史及介紹她的現況.

•  Taiwan zuo jia xi lie jing xuan ji = 台灣作家系列精選輯
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003
Documentary Film; 10 DVDs, 330 minutes; 2003.
Narrative mainly in Taiwanese and occasional Mandarin.

•  Theater in the palm of your hand: glove puppetry in Taiwan = Zhang zhong wu chun qiu : Taiwan bu dai xi
Media Collection PN1978.T35 Z43 2001
Documentary Film; 2 VHS, 114 minutes; 1997-2000.
Dir. Yu Kan-ping.
Interviews in Chinese (Mandarin and Taiwanese dialect) with English subtitles.
This video uses the history of glove puppetry as a window on important schools and styles of glove puppetry in modern Taiwan. It traces the origins of the Taiwanese form to Chinese immigrants who arrived during the middle of the Ching dynasty, discusses the adaptation of puppetry to television, and considers the use of special effects and modern marketing to keep the form alive.

•  This island our home: the four seasons of Taiwan = 台灣4季 : 在這片土地上
Media Collection DS799.24 .T45 2000
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 27 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Fu Chi-chung.

•  Tian bian yi duo yun = 天邊一朶雲 = The wayward cloud
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T522 2005
Feature Film; 2 DVD, 113 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Tsai Ming-Liang.
Diglogue and songs in Chinese with optional subtitles in Chinese and English.
One of the formally most interesting films of this year’s Berlin Film Festival. Directed by Tsai Ming-Liang, the most erotic, sexual and sensitive filmmaker of our time. The film is set in a city without identity, in a society where hard core sex seems to be the only way of life. It’s a very hot summer, and everything is dried out - including the relationships between people. Then the two main characters meet. They used to be friends but haven’t seen each other for a while. Their slow process of getting closer to each other is put in contrast to the cold, unemotional porn film shoots with which the male character earns his living. This may all sound very dull, difficult and complicated. That is only one side of the movie. On the other hand, it is outrageously funny with some memorable scenes, including watermelons and crabs.

•  Tian di ren shen zhi jian: Taiwan miao yu = 天地人神之間: 台灣廟宇 = Between heaven and earth : the temples of Taiwan
Media Collection GT485 .T53 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Shen Ruiyuan.
Narration in Mandarin Chinese, English, Spanish, French, German, Russian or Japanese; no subtitles.
台灣廟宇, 勾勒出台灣民間豐厚的生命力, 也造就了令人驚豔的地方特色與產業文化.

•  Tian liang hao ge qiu = 天涼好個秋 = Spring in autumn
Media Collection PN1997 .T49 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1980.
Dir. Chen Kunhou.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with Chinese subtitles.
大學夜間部學生程偉,深受漂亮而神秘的何莉文所吸引,某日莉文在淡水河莉文所吸引,某日莉文在淡水河畔想投河自盡,被程偉攔下來了,莉文要不明就理的程偉陪同去醫院墮胎,程偉並收留抑鬱寡歡的莉文在家休養。有一天,莉文終向程偉吐露實情,說出自己因父親經商失敗而休學在酒廊上班,男友羅平遠為此十分不諒解,平遠臨去美國深造時,原本約好要去美國結婚,可是不久莉文就發現自己懷孕了,聯絡不上平遠,而平遠母親卻懷疑孩子不是平遠的,莉文在悲憤之餘,才想投河自盡。次日程偉發現莉文不告而別,焦急地四處尋找,竟被計程車撞傷而失去記憶;兩年後,兩人在山區小鎮重逢,並重新開始這段戀情,他們能擺脫過去陰影並獲得眾人的祝福如願結婚嗎?

•  Tian ma cha fang = 天馬茶房 = March of Happiness
Media Collection PN1997 .T53 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Lin Zhengsheng.
In Taiwanese with Chinese subtitle.
In 1945, a coffee shop named Tian Ma Cha Fang was a place where new ideas about various social changes were expressed, including a room where the Xin Ju Tuan, New Theater Troupes, offen rehearsed their new plays very different from the tradition theater performance.

•  Tian xia di yi = 天下第一 = All the king’s men
Media Collection PN1997 .T495 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1983.
Dir. Hu Jinquan.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
Set during the final months of the Later Zhou dynasty (Five dynasties and the Ten kingdoms era, mid-10th century), an epileptic emperor lies dying in the capital, threatened by warring tribes at his borders, while his prime minister is secretly despatched to bring back the only doctor who can cure his illness.

•  Tong nü zhi wu = 童女之舞
Media Collection PL2833.7.A6 T652 2002
Television Program; 1 DVD, 85 minutes; 2001.
Dir. Cao Ruiyuan.
Dialog in Mandarin and some Taiwanese.
Growing up together, two women have developed an unusual emotional bond. This program depicted their struggle.

•  Tui bian zhong de gu gong = 蛻變中的故宮 = Taiwan’s National palace museum in transition
Media Collection N3750.T32 T85 2003
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Liang Liji.
In Mandarin, English, French, Spanish and German.
介紹故宮內的館藏及從文物的保存, 硏究敎育推廣到數位化典藏而帶出故宮博物院的不斷蛻變.

•  Tui shou = 推手 = Pushing hands
Media Collection PN1997 .T7455 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 105 minutes; 1992.
Dir. Li An.
English and Mandarin dialogue with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A tai-chi master and widower moves from Beijing to a New York suburb to live with his only son. With a daughter-in-law who has no use for him and an ever-changing society, problems quickly arise. He is forced to call upon his tai-chi teachings and it’s "pushing hands" to give him the balance needed to survive in this poignant and comic tale.


top

 

W


•  Wang yang zhong de yi tiao chuan = 汪洋中的一條船 = He never gives up
Media Collection PN1997 .W33497 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 1977.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin with Traditional Chinese subtitles.
Zheng Fengxi lives with disability but never gives up on life. He struggles against all kinds of hardship and manages to push himself through college, where he meets his love.

•  Wanjun biao mei = 婉君表妹 = Four loves
Media Collection PN1997 .W3356 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A romance story of a girl and her three cousins.

•  The wedding banquet
Media Collection PN1997 .W4136 1994
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 108 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Lee Ang.
Closed-captioned for the hearing impaired. English with some Chinese dialogue and English subtitles.
Comedy about the age-old conflict between parents and their children. In New York, the Taiwanese half of a gay couple hopes to end his parents’ matchmaking by announcing that he’s engaged. What he doesn’t count on is that they’ll fly in to meet the bride and plan the nuptials!

•  Wen hua zuo biao: Taiwan de bo wu guan = 文化座標: 臺灣的博物館 = An index of culture : the museums of Taiwan
Media Collection AM79.T28 W462 2003
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 25 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Yu Xiaopei.
In Mandarin, English, French, Espanõl, Deutch, Japnaese, Pyccknn̆, Southern Min and Hakka.
講述臺灣博物館的發展面向是代表國家文化座標, 象徵著臺灣多元文化的寫照.

•  Wo de bu luo wo de ge: Taiwan yuan zhu min yue wu = 我的部落我的歌: 台灣原住民樂舞 = My Home, my song : the music and dance of Taiwan’s aborigines
Media Collection M1806 .W65 2005
Documentary Film; 2 DVD, 97 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Yu Kanping.
disc 1. In Mandarin or English ; disc 2. In Spanish.
Presents the music and dance of ten groups of aboriginal peoples of Taiwan.

•  Wo de shi lu li cheng = 我的詩路歷程
Media Collection PL2913.K76 W6 2009
1 DVD, 99 minutes; 2008.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Du Guoqing, Prof. of Chinese literature at the University of California, Santa Barbara, talked about how he became a poet and his thoughts on poetry. In the second half, he read and interpreted some of his poems.

•  Wo men dou shi zhe yang zhang da de = 我們都是這樣長大的 = Reunion
Media Collection PN1997 .W6 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD 103 minutes; 1986.
Dir. Ke Yizheng.
In Mandarin, with Chinese subtitles.
Through three class reunions in different stages of their life, it tells the epic of a teacher and a group of grade school classmates. The teacher devotes to special education later and receives supports from her students.

•  Wo nü Ruolan = 我女若蘭 = Orchids and my love
Media Collection PN1997 .W63 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 119 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Li jia.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
A story about a girl with polio and how she devotes her life to cultivating orchids and eventually with the love and support from people around her overcomes her illness.

•  Wu tu wu min = 吾土吾民 = Land of the undaunted
Media Collection PN1997 .W827 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 1975.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
A quiet little town has been occupied by the Japanese army. Du Xinghan keeps running his private middle school with the help of his daughter and teachers. They all hold a belief--education is the life of the nation.

•  Wu yan de shan qiu = 無言的山丘 = Hill of no return
Media Collection PN1997 .W834 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 175 minutes; 1992.
Dir. Wang Tong.
In Taiwanese and Japanese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
This is the story of a group of Taiwanese gold-miners, working in the northern coast of Taiwan during Japanese occupation in the 1920’s.

top

 

X


•  Xi meng ren sheng = 戲夢人生 = The puppetmaster
Media Collection PN1982.L5 X485 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 143 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Hou Xiaoxian.
Taiwanese dialogue with Chinese subtitles.
Based on the memoirs of Li Tianlu, Taiwan’s most celebrated puppeteer, this story covers the years from Li’s birth in 1909 to the end of Japan’s fifty-year occupation of Taiwan in 1945.

•  Xi yan = 囍宴 = The wedding banquet
Media Collection PN1997 .X49 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Li An.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitle.
Comedy about the age-old conflict between parents and their children. In New York, the Taiwanese half of a gay couple hopes to end his parents’ matchmaking by announcing that he’s engaged. What he missed is that they’ll fly in to meet the bride and plan the wedding.

•  Xi you ji = 西遊記
Media Collection PL2697 .H75 2003
Television Program; 6 VHS, 210 minutes; 1998.
Dir. Wang Shiling.

•  Xiang jiao tian tang = 香蕉天堂 = Banana paradise
Media Collection PN1997 .X5342 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 145 minutes; 1989.
Dir. Wang Tong.
In Mandarin Chinese with Chinese subtitles.
Light-hearted drama set in the banana growing region of Taiwan.

•  Xiao Bi de gu shi = 小畢的故事 = Growing up
Media Collection PN1997 .X535 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 1983.
Dir. Chen Kunhou.
Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.
A Taiwanese boy faces the problems of growing up.

•  Xiao cheng gu shi = 小城故事 = The story of a small town
Media Collection PN1997 .X5356 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with Chinese and English subtitles.
文雄(鍾鎮濤飾)因看不慣姐夫欺負姐姐,氣憤之下打傷姐夫,被判刑三年,獄中與賴老頭(葛香亭飾)學會木雕手藝,提前假釋的文雄成為木雕師傅賴老頭的得力助手,文雄與老師傅之啞巴女兒阿秀(林鳳嬌飾)彼此關懷,情愛滋長。賴老頭看在眼裡樂在心理。此時文雄從前女友月華(李烈飾)出現,賴老頭頗不諒解,逐他出門,免得女兒上當。鎮上藝品店周小開(江明傭)與賴老頭獄中友郭金發均對阿秀有非份之想,幸而在其對阿秀動手時,均被文雄所救。幾經波折與誤會,文雄興阿秀感情更深,而賴老頭也認清了文雄的為人,風雨過去小城歸於平靜。

•  Xie tian: Taiwan ren de mi shi wen hua = 謝天: 台灣人的米食文化 = Food from the heavens: Taiwan’s rice culture
Media Collection GT2853.T28 X53 2002
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 26 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Ye Hongzhou
In Mandarin, Taiwanese, Japanese, English, Spanish, French, German or Russian.
"從古至今, "米"就以各種不同的形式, 養育著每一代的台灣子民. 要使稻米成長豐收, 必須和各種天災對抗, 因此豐收不僅帶來慶祝, 更意味著人們對上天的滿懷感恩. 稻米依著春, 夏, 秋, 冬四季變化, 不斷的生長收穫; 有關稻米的食物與節慶, 不斷的生長收穫; 有關稻米的食物與節慶, 也發展出不同的風貌, 而與台灣人民的生活, 禮俗及信仰,產生密不可分的關係."--盒底.

•  Xin you qian qian jie = 心有千千結 = The heart with a million knots
Media Collection PN1997 .X557 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1973.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with Chinese subtitles.
江雨薇在「風雨園」中照顧脾氣暴躁、雙腿麻痺、只有一年生命的寂寞老人。老人告訴雨薇他塵封多年的秘密。除了二子還有三子,是與外室的私生,三子若塵因身份特殊,痛恨父親,自暴自棄,被逐出家門多年,老人盼望能尋回失蹤的若塵。雨薇前往尋訪而得,卻因遺產遭二子強烈反對,老人臨終前遺囑將負債累累的公司給了若塵,「風雨園」給了雨薇,用意深遠。


top

 


Y


•  Y shi dai de jie pou dao: Chen Yiwen = Y世代的解剖刀: 陳以文
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.7
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Qu Youning.
Dialog in Mandarin and Taiwanese, subtitles in Chinese.

•  Ya bu bian de mei gui: Yang Kui = 壓不扁的玫瑰: 楊逵
Media Collection PL2277 .T255 2004 v.2
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 74 minutes; 2004.
Taiwanese and Mandarin narrative with Chinese subtitles.

•  Yan diao yi shu jia: Dong Zuo ; Bo li yi shu da jia : Huang Anfu = 硯雕藝術家: 董坐 ; 玻璃藝術大家 : 黃安福
Media Collection NK1069.T3 M556 2005 v.4
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 60 minutes; 2005?
In Taiwanese and some Mandarin.

•  Yan guang si she ge wu tuan = 艷光四射歌舞團 = Splendid afloat
Media Collection PN1997.2 .Y36 2004
Feature Film; 2 DVD, 71 minutes; 2004
Dir. Zero.
In Mandarin Chinese and Taiwanese with optional subtitles in traditional Chinese or English.
A’wei is a Taoist priest but also a drag queen performer named Rose. He meets and falls for A’yang; but when A’yang disappears without saying good bye, A’wei begins to suspect that something terrible has happened.

•  Yang guang kong qi dian ying he shui: Fu Changfeng = 陽光空氣電影和水: 符昌鋒
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.9
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Jiang Ruizong.
Dialog in Mandarin, subtitles in Chinese.

•  Yang ya ren jia = 養鴨人家 = Beautiful duckling
Media Collection PN1997 .Y3218 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 119 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
Story of the relationship between a father and his adopted daughter.

•  Yao ming de Xiaofang = 要命的小方 = Love and sword
Media Collection PN1997 .Y323 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 198-?
Dir. Yu Kanping.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with subtitles in traditional Chinese and English.
The whole family of Meng Shilong is being annihilated with the exception of his blind daughter, Meng Yuexin. But she is rescued by one of the assasins, Xiaofang. Xiaofang protects her and tries his best to find who killed the whole family.

•  Yao xue shi ren : Zhan Bing = 藥學詩人 : 詹冰
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 2
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 30 minutes; 2003
Narrative in Taiwanese and Mandarin.

•  Ye hai zi = 野孩子
Media Collection PL2837.T3 Y442 2003
Television Program; 1 VHS, 90 minutes; 2003?
Dir. Liu Dekai
Dialog in Taiwanese and Mandarin, subtitles in Chinese.
A run-away junior high school boy got involved with the street gang. He could not go back home because he witnessed a murder and knew too much secret. He became a gang member, living and working with the gangsters and their pretty female leader. He learned each of their life stories.

•  Yi tian tu long ji : zhi mo jiao jiao zhu = 倚天屠龍記 : 之魔敎教主
Media Collection PN1997 .Y46 2000
Feature Film; 2 VCD, 102 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Wang Jing.
English subtitles.

•  Yi wen zi hui yao yuan zhu min nü xing sheng ming shi: Ligelale Awu = 以文字輝耀原住民女性生命史: 利格拉樂.阿[wu].
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 10
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 30 minutes; 2003

•  Yin shi nan nu = 飮食男女 = Eat drink man woman
Media Collection PN1997 .Y47 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 1994.
Dir. Li An.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese and English subtitles.
A retired master chef and widower is worried about the future of his three unmarried daughters who are skeptical about marriage. Yet he himself surprises them with his secret love affair with a young woman many years his junior.

•  Yong bao da bai xiong = 擁抱大白熊 = Bear hug
Media Collection PN1997.2 .Y64 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Wang Xiaodi.
Dialogues in Mandarin mixed in with some Taiwanese and English with optional Chinese or English subtitles.
The film starts and ends with a brief cartoon depicting how the baby bear relies on and sheltered by the mama bear before the age of two. The bear story leads to the life of the 9-year-old boy, Dajun. His parents are divorced and he craves for their attention and love while his main care-giver is his teen-age cousin, Yifen. She is struggling with her weight and in a constant battle with Dajun and with her own mother and sibblings.

•  Yong bao sheng ming: Taiwan yi liao de gu shi = 擁抱生命: 台灣醫療的故事 = Embrace life : the story of Taiwan medicine
Media Collection RA395.T28 Y66 2005
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 29 minutes; 2005
Dir. Wang Yuantong.
Narration in Mandarin Chinese, English, Spanish, French or German; no subtitles.
台灣醫生平藉著執著與毅力, 在疾病篩檢與防治工作上迭有驚人成果, 讓台灣地區的本土醫學研究, 在國際舞台上大放異彩, 造福世界.

•  Yu da di gong wu: Taiwan de yong xu fa zhan = 與大地共舞: 臺灣的永續發展 = Tango with nature: the Taiwan story of sustainable development
Media Collection DS799 .Y83 2004
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 28 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Zhuang Zhicheng.
In (Mandarin, Taiwanese, Hakka) Chinese, English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese, or Russian.
台灣, 工藝家們正由土地、天時、地氣、材美孕育、打造出的工藝世界, 以自然為師, 以生活為題材, 簡單的生活中體會生命真意, 創作不只為了實用, 也不只追求美觀, 更在意於精神的傳承, 記憶的延續, 香火與文化的綿延

•  Yu Guanyin = 玉觀音 = Jade Goddess
Media Collection PN1997 .Y8 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1968.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
A love story in Song dynasty.

•  Yu Taiwan dou zhen = 與臺灣逗陣 = Taiwan Festival Troupes : coming together in competition
Media Collection GT4883.5.A2 Y8 2002
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 25 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Shen Ruiyuan.
In Mandarin, English, French, Spanish, German, Japanese, Russian, Taiwanese and Hakka dialects.
介紹臺灣的"陣頭"表演活動, 表現臺灣的宗敎文化和藝術表演的結合.

•  Yuan xiang ren = 原鄉人 = My native land
Media Collection PN1997 .Y83 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 1980.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Mandarin Chinese with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Dramatizaiton of the life and struggle of Taiwanese author Zhong Lihe and his wife.


top

 


Z


•  Zai shi zhong liu lang de yan: Bai Qiu = 在詩中流浪的雁: 白萩
Media Collection PL2277 .T256 2003 disc 5
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 30 minutes; 2003.
Narrative in Mandarin.

•  Zao an Taibei = 早安台北 = Good morning, Taipei
Media Collection PN1997 .Z358 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 1979.
Dir. Li Xing.
In Chinese (Mandarin) with optional traditional Chinese subtitles.
葉天林不滿意既定的升學模式。他瞞著父親休了學,一面在餐廳演唱,一面為傳播公司作曲。葉父把希望寄託在兒子身上,給了天林很大的壓力。表哥孟大元幹勁十足,主持了一家傳播公司,經常安排天林為唱片公司作曲和演唱。天林的好友唐風,從小在育幼院長大,他拼命的賺錢是為了育幼院搬家盡一份心力;唐風的女朋友蘇琪主持「早安台北」節目,她鼓勵天林作曲,在節目中播出天林的歌曲,忙碌的唐風老是找天林陪她,感覺上她更像是天林的女朋友。天林休學的事終於被父親發現了,葉文在盛怒之下把他趕出了家門......

•  Zheng hun qi shi = 徵婚啟事 = The personals
Media Collection PN1997 .Z468 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 105 minutes; 1998.
Dir. Chen Guofu.
IN Mandarin dialogue with Chinese subtitles.
An attractive and successful ophthalmologist quits her job and places a personal ad in the newspaper. She has a specific purpose in her ad - she is looking for marriage. After a series of blind dates with men who are either lonely, desperate, strange, perverted, or all of the above, what she really wants is her mysterious ex-lover to came back to her.

•  Zhi zhuo de zheng zhi pi pan: Wan Ren = 執著的政治批判: 萬仁
Media Collection PN1998.2 .D478 2003 cass.4
Motion Picture; 1 VHS, 30 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Jiang Ruizong.
Dialog in Mandarin and Taiwanese, subtitles in Chinese.

•  Zhong Zhaozheng de Taiwan su xiang = 鐘肇政的台灣塑像
East Asian Collection PL2854.C3 Z75 2000
Biography; 1 DVD; 2000

•  Zhongguo chuan tong yin yue zai Taiwan = Chinese music in Taiwan : a living tradition
Arts Library, Music Service Desk ML337.5.C45 1990
Documentary Film; 1 VHS, 27 minutes; 1990.
Dir. Lang Yu-Pin.
Narrated in English.
Introduction to traditional Chinese music as it is heard today in Taiwan. Video begins with showing and discussing the instruments of the Chinese orchestra.

•  Zui xiang nian de ji jie = 最想念的季節 = My favorite season
Media Collection PN1997 .Z84 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 93 minutes; 1985.
Dir. Chen Kunhou.
In Mandarin with Chinese subtitles.

•  Zuo jia shen ying xi lie er: Zan de suo zai, zan de wen xue = 作家身影系列二 : 咱的所在,咱的文學
Media Collection PL2277 .T822 2002
Documentary Film; 13 VCD, 60 minutes each; 2000-2002.
Dir. Li Xing.
Taiwanese and Mandarin dialogue with Chinese subtitles and narration.
Presents thirteen famous Chinese writers from the thirties who have had a great impact on the emergence of modern Taiwan: Lai He, Yang Da, Lü Heruo, Long Yingzong, Wu Zhuoliu, Zhong Lihe, Ye Shitao, Zhong Zhaozheng, Bai Xianyong, Li Qiao, Zheng Qingwen, Wang Zhenhe, Wang Wenxing. Includes scenes from films made from the works of the authors as well as biographical information on each of them.

 

top

 

Questions

Profile ImageCathy Chiu
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 5537
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-4082
Send Email

Subjects:
East Asian Studies

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait