Korean Films A-I
#
• 1950-1959
Media Collection E741 .F638 1990 v.6
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1990
Dir. Richard A. Klein
Highlights include Harry Truman, the Cold War, the Korean War, Fidel Castro and bomb shelters.
• The 7 selected independent short films
Media Collection PN1997.2 .A12 2005
Short Film; 2 DVDs, 175 minutes; 2005
Dir. Pak Chŏng-sŏn.
In Korean with English subtitles.
• 8-wŏl ŭi Kʻŭrisŭmasŭ = 8月의크리스마스 = Christmas in August
Media Collection PN1997 .A17 2008
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 97 minutes; 1998
Dir. Hŏ Chin-ho.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, and Spanish.
A dying man falls in love with a woman who frequents his photo shop.
• 301/302 = Samgongil
Media Collection PN1997 .A227 2005
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 1995
Dir. Park Cheol-su.
Korean dialogue, English subtitles.
The mysterious disappearance of one of two young women who live across the hall from each other provokes a police investigation that sets in motion a chain of flashbacks that illustrate the women’s comically conflicted relationship. One is a compulsive cook and the other an anorexic.
• 708-ho, idŭngbyŏng ŭi pʻyŏnji = 708호, 이등병의편기 = Room 708, a letter from a private
Media Collection DS79.76 .A17 2007
Documentary Films; 1 DVD, 82 minutes; 2004
Dir. Kim Hwan-tʻae.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English or Korean.
Documents the 8-day sit-in begun on November 21, 2003, by Kang Cheolmin, a private in the South Korean Army, and his supporters to try to stop the South Korean government from sending troops to Iraq.
• 2009 losŭtʻŭ memorijŭ = 2009 로스트메모리즈 = 2009 lost memories
Media Collection PN1997.2 .A426 2004
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 175 minutes; 2002
Dir. Lee Si-myung.
Korean or English dialogue with optional English subtitles.
What if Japan allied with the U.S. during WWII? What if nuclear bombs were dropped on Berlin instead of Hiroshima and Nagasaki? What if Korea never existed? To J.B.I. agent Masayuki Sakamoto these questions aren’t speculation - they’re history.
• Aegukja keim = 애국자게임 = Patriot game
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T79 2005 v.6
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 2001
Dir. Yi Kyong-sun
In Korean with Korean and English subtitles.
Documentary film on defining patriotism by interviewing and listening to people’s opinions.
• Ai em Saem = 아이 엠 샘= I am Sam = 我是老師
Main Library PN1992.77 .A3 2007
Television Plays; 8 DVDs, 16 episodes; 2007
Dir. Kim Chŏng-gyu.
Dialogue in Korean or dubbed Chinese with traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, or English subtitles.
Teacher Jang is dealing with a group of difficult high school students while forced to teach the daughter of a powerful mafia, who has no interest in school. In his kind and low-key manner, he gradually develops a bond with his students and guides them to find purpose in life.
• Anae ŭi aein ŭl mannada = 아내의 애인을 만나다 = Driving with my wife’s lover
Media Collection PN1997.2 .A53 2007
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 95 minutes; 2007
Dir. Kim T’ae-sik.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Spanish, and Japanese.
A stamp maker in small town discovers his wife is having an affair so he goes to Seoul to meet the man, a taxi driver.
• Annyŏng, sayonara =안녕사요나라 = Anniyon, sayonara
Media Collection D838.J32 Y32 2006
Documentary Films; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 2004
Dir. Kim T’ae-il.
In Korean or Japanese, with optional subtitles in Korean, Japanese, Chinese or English.
Documentary about opposition to the controversial Yakusuni Shrine in Tokyo. Many Japanese regard it as a holy place to honor their war dead, but people from other Asian countries which were invaded by the Japanese see it as a symbol of Japan’s justifying imperalist oppression. Lee Hee-ja is a Korean woman whose father died fighting in the Japanese army and is enshrined at Yakusuni. She files a lawsuit against the Japanese government asking them to withdraw her father’s enshrinement. Furukawa Masaki is a Japanese man from Kobe who is trying to make his country take responsibility for the war it waged. The two have been fighting together against the Yakusuni Shrine since 2001 and the film tells the story of their fight and their personal relationship.
• Arŭm taun naltŭl = 아름다운날들 = Beautiful days
Media Collection PN1992.77 .A78 2005
TV Series; 12 DVDs, 1458 minutes; 2001
Dir. Yi Chang-su
In Korean with Korean and English subtitles.
This is about four men and women, each of whom tries in his or her own way to erase the pain of lost love. In the course, they sometimes give themselves up or sometimes hurt someone else. It is not a question of good vs. evil. They are simply subject to the caprice of fate and love that they cannot deny. They live and grow feeding on the love and pain they receive from or give to someone else. But none of them give up on themselves because of lost love or growing pains. Each clings to his or her dreams of love and success, trying to live their lives in the best way the know how. At the end of the way is not always happiness or success. But inevitably they realize that the road toward that end, the days of giving the best of themselves, were the most beautiful days of their lives, when they healed their wounds and recovered hope for the future
This is a story of four men and women who try to live their best ways to erase the pain of their past lost loves. Sometimes they give themselves up or hurt someone else, but they realize that the days of giving the best of themselves were the most beautiful days of their lives.
• Arŭmdaun sijŏl = 아름다운시절 = Spring in my hometown
Media Collection PN1997 .A74 1999
Fiture Films; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 1994
Dir. Yi Kwang mo
In Korean with Engilsh subtitles.
A story that dramatizes the turbulent period of the Korean War through the eyes of a little boy who lives in a rural village. Set in the early 1950s when the United States military presence was predominant in Korea, Spring in My Hometown depicts the life of an older generation from a child’s perspective. The film combines historical facts and the recreated life of hard but beautiful times with the formalism of long takes and long shots.
B
• Bang qiu ying jie = YMCA 야구단 = 棒球英傑 = YMCA baseball team
Media Collection PN1997.2 .B35 2002
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 2002
Dir. Jin Xianxi.
Cantonese or Mandarin dialogue with Chinese subtitles.
二十世紀初期, 朝鮮半島遭到日本的侵略, 韓國處於日治的時代. 而日本的棒球活動亦因此傳到韓國. 就在1905年, 韓國終於組成了第一隊棒球隊-"YMCA棒球隊." 這棒球隊的組成全因為受到YMCA經理的鼓吹. 而YMCA棒球隊組成後, 在比賽中可謂連番報捷, 戰無不勝. 隊中的靈魂, 便是教練貞潔和擊球手學勤. 可是在比賽勝利的背後, 球隊亦遇上不少困難, 而重心人勿學勤本是一名書生, 現在卻要在學業和棒球間來一個抉擇 ...
• Best of Seoul City Dance Theatre
Media Collection GV1703.K7 B47 1995
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1995
In Korean with English subtitles.
• Between two worlds: a documentary
Media Collection E184.O6 B489 1998
Documentary; 1 VHS, 29 minutes; 1998
Dir. Chul Heo
This documentary examines the difficulties experienced by first generation Asian American youth who struggle with "living in two worlds"--the Asian family culture and the American culture. Chinese, Japanese, and Korean American young adults and members of their families expound upon the generational and cultural gaps existing in Asian American families and stereotypical perceptions of Asians in American society.
• Big business and the ghost of Confucius
Media Collection HC460.5 .B53 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Prod. Peter Bull
Summary: Shows how Confucius ́idea of individuals submerging themselves for the goals of society, together with state guided capitalism, have created an economic miracle in South Korea and East Asisa.
• Bŭrein weibŭ = 브레인웨이브 = Brainwave
Media Collection PN1997.2 .B858 2008
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 92 minutes; 2006
Dir. Sin Tʻae-ra.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean.
"Suffering from extreme headaches, one day Jun-oh starts to show psychic powers. Meanwhile, Ki-soo and Sung-min of the narcotic squad find a dead body in a pit underneath the bridge. This is a SF action film with the hint of a cult film that uses special effects and cinematography rarely found in a low-budget film"--KOFIC.
C
• Camp Arirang
Reserve Book Service, Media Shelf HQ248.A5 C35 1996
Documentary; 1 VHS, 28 minutes; 1995
Dir. Diana S. Lee
Explores the plight of Korean women caught in the system of "camptowns", compounds of prostitutes who cater to American military personnel in South Korea, often working under the conditions of bonded servitude. Includes interviews with prostitutes and a former prostitute turned missionary who now works to aid them and their biracial children.
• Chabondang sŏnŏn = 자본당선언 = Capitalist manifesto
Media Collection PN1995.9.E96 C422 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 171 minutes; 2003
Dir. Kim Son, Kim Kok
In Korean with English subtitles.
Experimental film depicts how capitalism works among people rejected by society.
• Chang = 娼= Nonŭn kyejip chʻang = 노는계집창
Media Collection PN1997 .C426 2006
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 1997.
Dir. Im, Kwŏn-tʻaek.
Young-Eun was tricked into being a prostitute at age of 17. She met an innocent young man at the brothel and became very good friends. He brought her a glimpse of tranquility throughout her turmoil-filled degrading life.
• Changgun ŭi adŭl = 將軍의아들 = General’s son
Media Collection PN1997 .C3948 2006
Feature Films; 3 DVDs, 320 minutes; 90’s.
Dir. Im Kwŏn-tʻaek.
In Korean with optional English, Japanese, and Korean subtitle.
Having been orphaned as the age of eight, Kim Tu-han spends time as a beggar and loiterer until he becomes a member of the Chongno Gang. In recognition of his fists and fighting spirit, Ŏm Tong-uk, chief student fistfighter, supports him to grow stronger. Japanese "yakuzas" or gangsters try to expand their territory to Chongno. Kim Tu-han continues to protect Korean shop owners in Chongno. One day "yakuzas" attack Ŏm wounding him severely. Kim makes an assault on the "yakuzas". When he stands victoriously after beating every "yakuza", Kim Tu-han is reborn as the son General Kim Chwa-jin, the famed Korean patriot.
• Chibŭro = 집으로 = The way home
Media Collection PN1997 .C43782 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 87 minutes; 2002
Dir. Yi Chong-hyang
In Korean with English and Korean subtitles.
Through an elderly and old-fashioned grandmother, a spoiled seven-year-old boy learns to accept and understand the simple pleasures of nature and her lifestyle.
• Chigu rŭl chik'yŏra! = 지구를 지켜라 = Save the green planet!
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C46 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 117 minutes; 2003
Dir. Joon-Hwan Jang
In Korean with Korean, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese and Japanese subtitles.
Pyŏng-gu believes that all of Earth’s social ills are the evil doings of aliens. Utilizing the imagination of science fiction, this is a film that critiques society.
• Ch'il-su wa Man-su = 칠수와 만수
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C47 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 2004?
Dir. Kwang-su Pak
In Korean with Korean, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese and Japanese subtitles.
A story of two sign painters who make a bare living in a big city, Sŏul. Movie describes hard living, corrupted society, and tired city-life.
• Chingu = 친구= Friend = 朋友
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C48 2003
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 118 minutes; 2001.
Dir. Kwak Kyŏng-tʻaek.
Korean dialogue with Chinese subtitles.
Four friends who grew up together in the years of the 70’s each takes a different life path. When they meet up again later in their lives, they find that one of them is in jail and the other on drugs which puts them at odds with each other.
• Chʻinjŏrhan Kum-ja ssi =친절한금자씨 = Sympathy for lady vengence
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C484 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 115 minute; 2005.
Dir. Pak Chʻan-uk.
In Korean, with Chinese and English subtitles.
A woman is released from prison after serving a 13 1/2 year sentence, and she immediately sets out to avenge herself on a man who wronged her.
• Chinsil ui mun = 진실의문 = The gate of truth
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T79 2005 v.2
Documentary; 1 DVD, ; 2001
Dir. Kim, Hui-ch'ol
In Korean with Korean and English subtitles.
Documentary film shows if Lieut. Kim Hun’s death is a suicide as the case is claimed.
• Chiokhwa = 지옥화 = A flower in hell
Media Collection PN1997 .C4464 2006
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 88 minutes; 1958.
Dir. Sin Sang-ok.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Spanish, Chinese, or Japanese.
A story of love and betrayal between two brothers and a prostitute.
• Chŏng = My heart
Media Collection PN1997 .C4466 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 116 minutes; 2001
Dir. Pae Chang-ho
In Korean with English, Japanese and Chinese subtitles.
An old Korean woman sits down in a meadow and begins to recollect her past - how she was married off as a girl at 16, and how she then struggled through life, against the most cruel and hopeless circumstances.
• Chŏng Sŭng-hŭi wa hamkke paeunŭn Han’guk muyong (chŏnt’ong muyong): uri munhwa paeugi sirijŭ = 정승희와함께배우는한국무용 (전통무용): 우리문화배우기시리즈 = Taking Korean traditional dance lessons with Chung, Seung-Hee: series of Korean culture lesson
Media Collection GV1703.K7 C4852 2000
Instructional; 1 VHS, 120 minutes; 2000
In Korean with English subtitles.
• Chʻŏnʼguk ŭi kyedan = 천국의 계단 = Stairway to heaven
Media Collection PN1992.77 .C46 2007
Television Plays; 8 DVDs, 1260 minutes; 2002-2003.
Dir. Logosŭ Pʻillŭm.
In Korean or Chinese with optional subtitles in Chinese or English.
• Chʻŏnha changsa Madonna =천하장사마돈나 = Like a virgin
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C485 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 117 minutes; 2006.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, or Spanish.
"Oh Dong-gu believes himself to be female. Although overweight and on the short side, he dreams of becoming perfect some day, and he devotes himself to mimicking Madonna’s singing and dancing after school. To cover the costs of transsexual surgery, he decides to enter a wrestling match" -- Container.
• Chopʻok manura 1 & 2 = 조폭마누라 1 & 2 = My wife is gangster 1 & 2
Media Collection PN1997.2 .C487 2006
Feature Films; 1 DVD, 210 minutes; 2001, 2003
Dir. Hyŏnjin ssinema.
In Korean or Cantonese with optional subtitles in English.
Includes the original film and its sequel. Female gangster boss, Ŭnjin, has to marry soon because of her sister’s death wish. While she is in fight with other gangsters, Suil injures to rescue her. She marries him without disclosing her real identity. They had quite an unconventional marriage. In the sequel, Unjin survived from a major fight between her gang and the White Shark gang, but suffered amnesia. She worked for a restaurant owner who saved her life and gradually fell for her. Unjin tried everything she could to recover her memory. In the process, she became the leader of the local merchants’ association. When she finally recovered her memory, her life was turned upside down again.
• Chʻorok mulgogi =초록물고기= Green fish
Media Collection PN1997 .C467 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 114 minutes; 1997.
Dir. Yi Chʻang-dong.
Dolby Digital soundtrack in Korean with English, Japanese and Chinese subtitles.
Makdong is a naive young man who returns home after serving in the army. He now wishes to start working, become affluent, and support his family. Unfortunately, when he arrives home he finds the area (the outskirts of Seoul, South Korea) is economically depressed, and his family are not the close, loving unit he wishes them to be. Making money proves to be much more difficult than he anticipated, as jobs are extremely scarce. Organized crime offers lucrative employment, as the area is controlled by gangs. A chance encounter with a young woman leads him to meet a gang boss who seems to be a little more respectable than most, and when he’s told he won’t have to break the law, he accepts a job. The boss takes a liking to Makdong’s simplicity and straightforward character and looks after him, to the resentment of other gang members. Despite the promise of legitimacy, Makdong gets drawn further into a criminal life.
• Chʻukche = 축제 = Festival = 祝祭
Media Collection PN1997 .C484 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 1996.
Dir. Im Kwŏn-tʻaek.
Korean dialogue with English subtitles.
This is a story about the traditional funeral in rural area of Korea. The title "Chʾukche" refers to festival in Korean. Due to mother’s death, whole family members, who have not seen each other for a long time, gather again.
• Chumong =주몽 = Jumong
Media Collection PN1992.77 .C486 2007
Television Plays; 21 DVDs, 48000 minutes; 2006-2007.
Dir. Kim, Kwang-il.
In Korean or Chinese with optional Chinese or English subtitle.
180 B.C. The Korean kingdom of Ancient Josun has fallen to China’s Han Empire, leaving the land and its people divided. Rising from the turmoil, one man stands alone, destined to unite the nation and bring freedom to his people.
• Ch’unhyang chŏn = Choonhyangchun
Arts Library, Music Service Desk PN1997 .C575 1994
TV Series; 1 VHS, 120 minutes; 1994
With English subtitles.
• Ch’unhyangdyŏn = Chunhyang = 春香傳
Media Collection PN1997 .C49 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 2000
Dir. Im Kwon Taek
In Korean with English subtitles.
Set in 18th century Korea. Mongryong, the son of a governor, falls in love with Chunhyang, the daughter of a proud former courtesan, and they secretly marry out of fear of reprisal. Trouble results when Mongryong is ordered to Seoul to finish his education, and a new, vindictive governor pursues Chunhyang and then imprisons her when she refuses his advances.
• Chuyuso sŭpkyŏk sakŏn =주유소습격사건 = Attack the gas station! =加油,反斗,4條友
Media Collection PN1997 .C493 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Kim Sang-jin.
In [dubbed] Cantonese or [dubbed] Mandarin Chinese, with optional English subtitles and credits in Korean.
In this comedy, a quartet of disaffected Korean youths rob a gas station and then return to run it, holding the staff hostage and collecting cash from customers. After taking the gas station over, wacky antics ensue--forcing the manager to sing, kidnapping customers that complain about the service, and staging fist-fights between street gang members and gas station employees--all of which reflect their own gripes against society.
• Ch’wihwasŏn = 취화선 = 醉畫仙
Media Collection PN1997 .C43785 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 2002
Dir. Im Kwŏn-tʻaek
In Korean with English and Korean subtitles.
In 1850s, a young boy, Sŭng-ŏp, is rescued from a mob by Pyŏng-mun, who later nurtures his talent for painting, and introduces him to Ŭng-hŏn Yi. While working with Yi, he falls in love with So-un, but she marries another. As his fame grows, he meets Mae-hyang, a kisaeng (geisha), and their relationship proceeds...
• Cold War
Media Collection D843 .C577245 1998
TV Series; 8 VHS, 140 minutes each; 1998
Prod. Martin Smith
A series documenting the rise and fall of the Cold War, the actions of world leaders, and the wars and arms races occurring during this time.
F
• Fashion express Dongdaemun = Fashion express = 동대문
Media Collection HD9940.K62 F37 2009
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2009.
Dir. Hanʼguk Ssinetʻel.
In Korean, English, French, Spanish, or Chinese.
Explains how clothing trade is done at the Tongdaemun Sijang in Seoul, Korea and how world-wide fashion starts from the Tongdaemun market place.
• The Fight for democracy
Media Collection DS922.35 .F54 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Clark Byker
Tell of the conflict between economic development and democracy in late 20th century South Korea.
• First person plural
Media Collection E184.K6 F578 2000
Documentary Film; 1 VHS, 56 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Liem Deann Borshay.
A personal and political film about the filmmaker’s experiences being adopted from South Korea and raised by an American family. Also explores the reconciling of different identities.
top
• The glory of Korea, the glory of the world = 한국의세계유산
Media Collection DS903 .G56 2005
Performing Art; 1 DVD, 31 minutes; 2005.
Introduces UNESCO World Heritage sites and entries from Korea.
• Good for her
Media Collection HQ1220.K6 G66 2004
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 47 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Elizabeth E. Lee.
In English and Korean with English subtitles.
Examines the factors creating the cosmetic surgery boom in Seoul today through a montage of personal narration, contemporary news clips, film footage from the 1960s to the present day, street advertisement copy, and interviews that break down culturally-specific concepts of power within Korea’s patriarchal society.
H
• Haengbokhan changŭisa = 행복학장의사 = Happy funeral director = Q 畸殯儀家族
Media Collection PN1997.2 .H34 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Chang, Mun-il.
In Korean ; with optional subtitles English and Chinese (traditional and simplified).
Three young friends decide to train under the local undertaker in a small village where no one has died in a decade.
• Halmae kkot = 할매꽃= Grandmother’s flower
Media Collection DS921.6 .H35 2009
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 89 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Mun Chŏng-hyŏn.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English, Japanese or Korean.
When Mun accidentally discovered the diaries of my late granduncle, who was mentally disturbed, he learnt about my family’s secret history. The small mountain village in South Jeolla Province where his mother’s family lived was nursing the wounds of class conflict, ideological conflict, and the scattering of family members between South and North Korea and in Japan. It turned out that the history of his family contained all the tragedies of modern Korean history, which Mun had only known from textbooks.
• Hanbok
Media Collection GT1565 .H36 2001
Documentary; 1 VHS, 16 minutes; 2001
In English.
"Hanbok is the traditional Korean dress that has been worn since ancient times ... [and] symbol of Korean culture"--Container.
• Hangeul: Korea’s gift to the world
Media Collection PL918 .H294 1997
Documentary; 1 VHS, 41 minutes; 1997
Dir. Bong Won Yi
Through interviews and animated sequences, expores the origins of the Korean hanʾgŭl alphabet and its interest today to linguists and speakers of the Korean language. Also gives a brief overview of the hanʾgŭl characters and the sounds they represent.
• Hanʼguk tanpʻyŏn aenimeisyŏn. 2 = 한국단편애니메이션. 2 = Korea short film animation collection. vol. 2.
Media Collection PN1997.2 .H352 2006
Animated Films; 1 DVD, 88 minutes; 2006
Dir. Jung Seunhee.
In Korean with English or Korean subtitles.
A collection of ten animated short Korean films, originally released 2001-2006.
• Hanʼguk tongnip aenimeisyŏn DVD collection 1 = 한국 독립 애니메이션 DVD collection 1
Media Collection PN1997 .H259 2006
Animated Films; 1 DVD, 89 minutes; 1991-1999.
Dir. Yi Yong-bae
Korean; most titles also in English.
A collection of 14 short animated films produced between 1991 and 1999.
• Hanʼgŭl nara orŭda = 한글 날아 오르다 = Hangeul, rise up on the world
Media Collection PL918 .H334 2009
Documentary Film; 3 DVDs, 150 minutes; 2009
Dir. Chʻoe Chae-hyŏk.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, German, Spanish, Chinese or Japanese.
Hangeul, the birth of the great letters: discusses the history and legacy of Hangeul, Korea’s phonemic alphabet, which was initially developed in the 15th century to replace Chinese characters for use by the common people. Hangul is said to have been created by King Sejong, who also established the Chiphyŏnjŏn, an academic research institute and library. Hangeul, three stories: during 15th century, Se Jong, who introduces Hangeul as the national language in Korea, is known as the best leader of Korea in the history. The ancient India language is like an ancestor of many Indian languages and Asian languages. Some of Hangeul letters are similar to Gujarat letters in India. Hangeul letters gain the recognitions in the world. In France, fashion designers use Hangeul letters for their fashion exhibitions. Hangeul, be a star in Zandvoort: Hangeul, become a star running the hill of Zandvoort. In October 2008, a racing car covered with Hangeul is introduced at the Motor Sports Worldcup, A1 Stadium. The Korean team, among the 25 participating countries around the world, shows the machine covered with Hangeul and the machine spread the names of Korean all over the world.
• Hot'elliŏ = 호텔리어 = Hotelier
Media Collection PN1992.77 .H68 2005
TV Series; 11 DVDs, 1000 minutes; 2005
Dir. Yong-woo Chung
In Korean and Mandarin with English and Korean subtitles.
Interwining love and power struggle stories among workers in a large hotel in Seoul, Korea.
• Hwanggŭm sagwa = 황금사과 = 黃金蘋果
Media Collection PN1992.77 .H86 2006
TV Series; 10 DVDs, 1080 minutes
In Korean with English and Chinese subtitles.
Kim Kyung sook (Park Sol-mi)’s father, a widowed farmer, married Keum-shil’s mother when Keum-shil was six. KS’s mother continued her affair with Park Byung Sam (Lee Duk-hwa) a rich landlord in the village. Her body was discovered in the river after the election and Kyung-sook’s father was wrongly accused of being the killer. He was tortured by the police into admission and later died in custody before trial. Kyung-sook worked hard to raise her brothers and find the real killer of her mother.
• Hwang Jin Yi
Media Collection PN1997.2 .H89 2007
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 141 minutes; 2007.
Korean with English subtitles.
"Based on the novel by North Korean writer Hong Suk Joong, Hwang Jin Yi tells the story of a 16th-century geisha with the mindset of a modern 21st century woman" --YesAsia website.
• Hwaŏmgyŏng = 화엄경 = Passage to Buddha
Media Collection PN1997 .H89 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 115 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Chang Sŏn-u.
Dialogue in Korean, subtitles in English.
Sŏn-jae who was an abandoned baby was well raised by a notorious thief, Mun-su. After Mun-su was killed by an accident, Sŏnjae was on his way to search for his mother. He met a lot of people out in the world on his way.
• Hyoja-dong ibalsa = 효자동이발사 = 總統的理髮師 = The president’s barber
Media Collection PN1997.2 .H96 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 116 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Im Chʻan-sang.
Han yu dui bai; fan ti Zhong wen zi mu.
漢甫本來是一位單純的理髮師, 只因為在南韓總統府青瓦臺旁邊開了一家理髮店而改變一生. 一次偶然發生的「捉間諜」事件, 漢甫成為「模範市民代表」, 獲得總統接見, 更搖身一變成為總統的御用理髮師. 在南北韓對峙的緊張氣氛中, 漢甫陪伴總統經歷了各種政治浮沉, 讓他看透了最高權位背後的黑暗. 當他心愛的兒子陰錯陽差捲入了北韓間諜疑雲之後, 漢甫選擇了親情, 不惜冒犯總統 ....
• Hyŏndae Chunggongŏp Nodong Chohap sa 3-pujak : Mip’oman-ŭi pulgŭn hae = 현대중공업노동조합사3부작 : 미포만의붉은해 = The history of the Hyundai heavy industries worker’s union : red sun over Mipo Bay
Media Collection HD8730.5 .N63 2009
Documentary Film; 2 DVDs, 190 minutes; 1999.
Dir. T’ae Chun-sik.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English.
Documentary film on the history of the Hyundai Heavy Industries Workers Union.
• Images of Korea
Media Collection DS904 .I535 1990z
Documentary; 1 VHS, 18 minutes; 199-?
Shows koryo celadon pottery, Seoul, traditional costumes, traditional folk festivals and games, traditional medical arts, masked dance-drama, a traditional wedding ceremony, and traditional buildings.
• Images of Korea II
Media Collection DS904 .I536 1990z
Documentary; 1 VHS, 14 minutes; 199-?
• Immigration: who has access to the American dream?
Media Collection JV6483 .I565 1997
Documentary Film; 1 VHS, 29 minutes; 1997.
"Examines the hard-core questions surrounding current U.S. immigration. How many should we allow in? Who, if anyone, should receive preferential treatment? How should illegal immigration be handled? All of the issues are examined through the eyes of those seeking entry, and the organizations assisting them. Those interviewed include an immigration judge, an immigrant from Kenya, and the owner of a New York City deli from Korea"--Container.
• In between days
Media Collection PN1997.2 .I53 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 81 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Kim So Yong.
In English and Korean with English subtitles.
A teenager recently transplanted from South Korea to a snowbound North American city struggles to find her way in a strange land of new faces.
• An initiation "Kut" for a Korean shaman
Media Collection BL2236.S5 I55 1991
Documentary; 1 VHS, 32 minutes; 1991
Dir. Laurel Kendall & Diana S. Lee
In English and some Korean with English subtitles or voiceover.
A thirty-two-year-old woman tells of the events which led her to decide to become a shaman. Includes scenes from the two-day initiation.
• Inʼgan ŭl wihan sinjŏn Chongmyo = 인간을 위한 신전 종묘 = Shrine for human beings, Jongmyo
Media Collection DS925.S48 C47 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2008
Dir. Hwang Chong-yŏn.
In Korean, English, French, Spanish, and Chinese.
Jongmyo is the royal ancestrial shrine of the Josecon Dynasty. Shows ancestor memorial rites and ceremonies. Jongmyo was designated as World Heriage by UNESCO in 1995.
• Injŏng sajŏng polgŏt ŏpta = 인정 사정 볼것 없다 = Nowhere to hide
Media Collection PN1997 .I515 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 2001
Dir. Lee Myung-Se
In Korean with English, Japanese and Chinese subtitles.
Chase film in which cops try to catch a master of disguise.
• Inŏ Kongju = 인어공주 = My mother, the Mermaid
Media Collection PN1997.2 .I516 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 107 minutes; 2004
Dir. Hŭng-sik Pak
In Korean with Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, and Spanish subtitles.
This story is about a woman who travels back to her parents hometown and is transported back in time to witness her parents as young people.
• Iŏdo = 異魚島
Media Collection PN1997 .I53 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 1977
Dir. Ki-yŏng Kim
In Korean with Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, and Korean subtitles.
An investor planning on developing a tourist resort begins an investigation into the legends of the mysterious neighboring island. He is suspected of the murder of a local journalist who has confronted him.
• Iri = 이리
Media Collection PN1997.2 .I72 2009
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Chang Yul.
Dialogue in Korean, with optional subtitles in Korean or English.
In 1977, a tragic train station explosion in Iri killed hundreds of people and destroyed much of the city. Thirty years later, Iri is now Iksan, and no one seems to remember the city’s past, but the scars still remain. Jin Suh (Yoon Jin Suh) was born mentally impaired because her mother was injured by the explosion when she was pregnant with her. Because of Jin Suh’s naivete, men often try to take advantage of her. Her brother tries his hardest, though often in vain, to protect and support her as they eke out a tough living in the city of Iri now known as Iksan. Chinese director Zhang Lu, who previously won acclaim for his feature Desert Dream (a.k.a Hyazgar), originally intended to make one film about two cities, one in Korea and one in China. In the end, he made two separate yet related films -- Chongqing and Iri -- about the hardships and struggles faced by everyday people in these two cities. Popular actors Yoon Jin Suh (Someone Behind You) and Uhm Tae Woong (Forever the Moment) star in the Korean chapter Iri which revolves around a brother and sister’s struggle for self and survival in a city haunted by its tragic past.--avistaz.com
Korean Films J-P
• JSA: Joint Security Area = Kongdong kyŏngbi kuyŏk JSA = 공동경비구역 JSA
Media Collection PN1997 .J73 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 2000
Dir. Pak Chʻan-uk
In Korean with Chinese, English, French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, and Spanish subtitles.
Two soldiers, one North Korean and one South Korean, are shot along the 38th Parallel. As tensions rise between North and South, a Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission is called in to investigate the shootings.
• Une journée dans le Séoul des écrivains = Novelist’s day in Seoul
Media Collection DS925.S4 U64 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Choi Kisoon.
Soundtrack in French and French-subtitled Korean.
• The JVC video anthology of world music and dance
Volumes 1,2 Arts Library, Music Service Desk M1627 .J93 1990
Media Collection M1627 .J93 1990
Documentary; 30 VHS; 1990
Dir. Nakagawa Kunihiko & Ichihashi Yuji
• Kabyŏun cham = 가벼운 잠 = A light sleep
Media Collection PN1997.2 .K33 2009
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 96 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Im Sŏng-chʻan.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean.
"Sixteen-year-old Yeo Lin used to have a boyfriend and normal life, but everything changed when she lost both her parents two years ago. To support her siblings, she sells her body. Quietly bearing wounds and responsibilities beyond her age, she faces the cruel trials of love, friendship, and premature adulthood, and she does it all in seeming detachment. Always tired, Yeo Lin suffers from chronic insomnia and relies on medication to sleep. For Yeo Lin, sleep is an escape that she wakes from too soon. Directed by Lim Seong Chan, the 2008 indie drama A Light Sleep sensitively depicts the ordeals faced by an insomniac high school girl forced to grow up too soon. Teenaged newcomer Choi Ah Jin delivers a mature and compelling performance in the leading role"--avistaz.com
• Kae wa nŭktae sai ŭi sigan = 개와늑대사이의시간 = Time between dog and wolf
Media Collection PN1997.2 .K34 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 108 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Chŏn Su-il
In Korean with optional English and Korean subtitles.
Burdened with seemingly insurmountable debt, film director Kim breaks into a cold sweat every time the phone rings. To get away from the daily torment, he travels back to his hometown of Sokcho, a town with many war displaced victims. Though half a century has gone by since the war, reminders of pain and loss still exist in every corner of the street. There, Kim meets a woman named Young Wha, who is looking aimlessly for her long-lost sibling. A strange sense of hope creeps into their hearts as the two journey together in search of their past.
• Kaet maŭl = 갯마을 = Seashore village
Media Collection PN1997 .K278 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 91 minutes; 1965.
Dir. Kim Su-yong.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, or Spanish.
Young Hae-soon lost her fisherman husband to the sea after only 10 days of marriage. She lived with her mother-in-law and brother-in-law while joining other widows in the village as a diver. She lived a lonely and yet well sheltered life, but her beauty attracted men into her life followed by one incident after another.
• Kajok ŭi tʻansaeng = 가족의탄생 = Family ties
Media Collection PN1997.2 .K352 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 114 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Kim Tʻae-yong.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean,English, French, and Spanish.
Episode 1. An elder sister, Mi-ra, a hoodlum brother, Hyŏng-chʻŏl, and Hyŏng-chʻŏl’s 20-year-older girl friend, Mu-sin start to live together -- Episode 2. A romanticist mom, Mae-ja, drives her daughter, Sŏn-gyŏng, crazy and makes Sŏn-gyŏng’s romantic relationship with her boyfriend, Chun-ho, in chaos. -- Episode 3. Mu-sin’s daughter, Chʻae-hyŏn, is a sweet girl and her too much sweetness drives her boyfriend, Kyŏng-sŏk who is also a step brother of Sŏn-gyŏng, mad in jealousy. A new family, not blood-tied or related directly, arises.
• Kidam = 기담 = Epitaph
Media Collection PN1997.2 .K53 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Chŏngka Hyŏngje.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, or Spanish.
In 1938 a rich Japanese man builds a hospital in Kyŏngsong, Korea. It is very popular until 1942 when it mysteriously closes. When workers come to tear the building, horrible things start to happen.
• Kkonnip = 꽃잎 = Apetal
Media Collection PN1997 .K544 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 101 minutes; 1996.
Dir. Chang, Sŏn-u.
Korean dialogue with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Spanish, Chinese, or Japanese.
A story of a 15 years old girl who deserts her dying mother and runs away amid gunfire during the Kwangju uprising, May, 1980. She never talks and her mind seems to be torn into pieces. But she retells her past in front of her mother’s tomb.
• Kŏmŭn ttang ŭi sonyŏ wa = 검은땅의소녀와 = With a girl of black soil
Media Collection PN1997.2 .K655 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 87 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Chŏn Su-il.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English or Korean.
In the village of Kangwon where a few mines remain, a little girl (aged 9) Young-lim lives with her brother (aged 11) and her father (aged 45) who used to work as a miner but had to quit because of black lung disease. Her father tries to have a new career, but it is very difficult for him. He also wants to get the medical treatments but he dosen’t have enough money. For having free treatments, he has to have another disease beside black lung disease. Young-lim thinks that her father can enter the hospital if he will drink a small bit of rat poison. She tries to put in a little rat poison in her father’s soup. In the village of Kangwon where a few mines remain, a little girl (aged 9) Young-lim lives with her brother (aged 11) and her father (aged 45) who used to work as a miner but had to quit because of black lung disease. Her father tries to have a new career, but it is very difficult for him. He also wants to get the medical treatments but he doesn’t have enough money. For having free treatments, he has to have another disease beside black lung disease. Young-lim thinks that her father can enter the hospital if he will drink a small bit of rat poison. She tries to put in a little rat poison in her father’s soup.
• Korea, the land of harmony
Media Collection DS902 .K5496 1995
Arts; 1 VHS, 42 minutes; 1995.
Dir. Hong Jong Myung.
An introduction to modern Korea, emphasizing the desire for harmony with nature and within society. Shows traditional and contemporary arts and culture of the country.
• Korea : war, prosperity, democracy
Media Collection DS904 .K589 1995
Documentary Film; 1 VHS, 93 minutes; 1995.
Shows footage of the Korean War and current modern day Korea for the purpose of creating knowledge and understanding of Korea.
• Korean arts & cultural festival: traditional music and dance
Media Collection GV1703.K7 K67 1995
Documentary; 1 VHS, 73 minutes; 1995
In Korean with English subtitles.
Stage performance of traditional Korean dances.
• Korean cinema unleashed
Media Collection PN1993.5.K6 K674 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Jo Jin.
Narrative in English, Chinese, or Spanish with some interview segments in Korean.
This film documents the history and development of Korean filmmaking through these topics: 1. Melodramas: Korean sensibilities; 2. Grand theme of Korean cinema: a nation divided; 3. The artists of Korean cinema.
• Korean traditional house hanok = Opposite look at Korean folk house
Media Collection NA7453.6.A1 K67 2009
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2009.
In Japanese with some Korean dialogue.
• Korea’s ancient medicine
Media Collection R630.H63 K67 2009
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 48 minutes; 2009.
Dir. Idzwan Othman.
Soundtrack in English and English-subtitled Korean.
Explains Hŏ Chun’s Tongŭi pogam which is an important book in traditional Korean medicine. Hŏ Chun was a court physician during the reign of King Sŏnjo of the Chosŏn dynasty in Korea.
• Korea’s culture
Media Collection DS904 .K655 1990z
Documentary; 1 VHS, 15 minutes; 199-?
A brief introduction to the traditional and contemporary arts and culture of Korea. Includes traditional ceremonies.
• Kŏryu = 거류 = Papa, Daddy, Father
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T79 2005 v.5
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 87 minutes; 2004
Dir. Pak Chi-wŏn
In Korean with English subtitles.
Feature film about the struggling relationship between father and son.
• Koyangi rŭl put'ak'ae = 고양이를부탁해 = Take care of my cat
Media Collection PN1997.2 .K68 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 111 minutes; 2001
Dir. Chae-Ŭn Chŏng
In Korean with Korean, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese and Japanese subtitles.
The lighthearted title refers to a stray cat that changes hands more than once among five young women, former high school classmates looking for their futures in the booming industrialized maze of contemporary South Korea. As their interwoven stories unfold, the five friends, who struggle to maintain their bond, increasingly resemble strays adrift in a clogged, cacophonous environment of bleeping cellphones, cheap discount stores and the dingy, smoggy streets and docks of the port city Inchon in winter.
• Kyŏngŭisŏn = 경의선
[IN PROCESS]Media Collection PN1997.2 .K945 2007
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 107 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Pak Hŭng-sik.
In Korean with optionalt subtitles in Korean or English.
One night, a man and a woman, both drunk and both lost souls, get on the last train at different stations. However, other than being drunk, the two have something else in common -- they are emotionally hurt in one way or another. These two find themselves at the last stop, just before the DMZ, on a heavy snowy night. They have no other choice but to spend the night together. As time goes by, they learn to reveal their inner pains to each other.
• Kyŏul yŏnga = 겨울연가 = Winter love song
Media Collection PN1992.77 .K96 2002
TV Series; 11 DVDs, 1300 minutes;
Dir. Yun Sŏk-ho
In Korean or Chinese with Chinese and English subtitles.
This TV series is constituted by 20 parts and each of them has the durability of 70 mins. Jun-sang (Pae Yong-jun) voluntarily transfers to a new high school in search for his biological father. Yu-jin (Chʻoe Chi-u) and Sang-hyŏk (Pak Yong-ha) have been good friends since they were children, but Sang-hyŏk wants to be more than just her friend. But Yu-jin falls for the mysterious Jun-sang instead and opens his heart. Just as their love was starting to grow, Jun-sang comes to the startling realization that his dad is not Sang-hyŏk’s dad, but is Yu-jin’s dad.
• Looking like the enemy
Media Collection UB418.A85 L66 1990z
Documentary; 1 VHS, 52 minutes; 199-?
Dir. Robert A. Nakamura
American soldiers of Asian descent who fought in World War II, the Korean and Vietnam Wars share their personal experiences with prejudice and discrimination in the military.
• Mabu = 마부
Media Collection PN1997.2 .M33 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 1961
Dir. Kang Tae-jin
In Korean with Korean, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, and Japanese subtitles.
A single father with two daughters and two sons make a living by operating a horse-drawn cart. After the Korean War, in a modernizing city, he struggles to make ends meet.
• Maehok ŭi kiŏk tongnip yŏnghwa DVD = 매혹 의 기억 독립 영화 DVD
Media Collection PN1997.A1 M344 2006
Short Films; 2 DVDs, 160 minutes; 1970-1995.
Korean, with subtitles in Korean or English.
A collection of 10 short films produced between 1970 and 1995.
• Malatʻon = 말아톤 = Marathon = 我的馬拉松
Media Collection PN1997.2 .M356 2005
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 117 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Chung Yoon-chul.
In Korean and Chinese language tracks with optional subtitles in English and Chinese.
A 20-year old autistic man is encouraged by his mother to pursue long-distance running, with the goal of winning a marathon. She finds a coach to teach him, but later she has doubts about what is really best for him.
• Marrying the mafia
Media Collection PN1997 .M358 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD; 2002
In Korean with Korean, English, French, Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, and Russian subtitles.
Jin-kyung, the only daughter of the legendary mob boss Jang Jung-jong, accidentally spends the night with Dae-sju, a man she has never met before. Upon hearing of the scandal, Jin-kyung’s three brothers set out to teach Dae-sju some lessons. The situation takes a turn when they find out Dae-suh is the graduate of a prestigious university and a successful businessman, making him a very desirable match for Jin-kyung. The three brothers embark on a hilarious mission to hook up Jin-kyung and Dae-suh.
• Mich’in sigan = 미친시간 = Mad minutes
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T79 2005 v.3
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 2003
Dir. Yi Mario
In Korean with English subtitles.
Documentary film on personal narratives of Vietnamese civilians about the Korean soldiers during Vietnamese conflict, 1961-1975 and Korean veterans’ recollection of the war along with its impact on their lives.
• Miryang = 밀양 = Secret sunshine
Media Collection PN1997.2 .M56 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 141 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Yi Chʻang-dong.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, or Spanish.
After losing her husband, a woman relocates to a small-town called Miryang for a new start. When tragedy strikes, one local man stands by her through all of her struggles and tries to offer her hope.
• Morae sigye = 모래시계 = Sandglass
Media Collection PN1992.77 .S2634 2006
Television Plays; 8 DVDs, 1440 minutes; 1995.
Dir. Kim Chong-hak.
Original Korean language, English subtitles.
The story of two best friends, their differing roads in life, and the political turmoil that inevitably pits them against one another. After getting rejected from military school because of his father’s affiliation with the Communist party, Tae-Soo enters a dark underworld filled with violent gangsters and corrupt politicians. Woo-Suk sees his family suffer under political oppression, and becomes a prosecutor to fight for social justice. Painfully torn between the two men is Hye-Rin, the ambitious successor to her father’s successful casino business.
• Motherland: Cuba Korea USA
Media Collection F1789.K67 M68 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD; 2006.
Dir. Kim-Gibson Dai Sil.
In English and Spanish with English subtitles in yellow.
From her adopted U.S. homeland, documentarian Dai Sil Kim-Gibson travels to Cuba to meet another Korean emigrant, Martha Lim Kim, member of a small community of Koreans who made Cuba their own adopted homeland. Listening to Martha’s stories of her own life in Cuba, the filmmaker gains a better understanding of how to live in a world where "home" is a transient value.
• Musa = 武士
Media Collection PN1997 .M864 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 155 minutes; 2001
Dir. Kim Sŏng-su
In Korean with Chinese, English, French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, and Spanish subtitles.
In 1375, with China in a state of chaos because of fighting between the Yuan and Ming Dynasties, the Koryo Dynasty sent a delegation to make peace with Ming, but they were accused of spying and sent to exile in a desert. As they attempted the long journey back to Korea, they rescued a kidnapped Ming princess and were pursued by the Yuan.
• My girl
Media Collection PN1992.77 .M9 2006
TV Series; 8 DVDs; 2006
In Korean or Chinese with English subtitles.
Ju Yoo-rin (Lee Da Hae) is a tour guide. Seol Gong Chan (Lee Dong Wook) is the heir of a big corporation. Because of his grandfather’s illness, he’s forced to ask Yoo-rin to be his long-lost cousin so that his grandfather’s last wish can be fullfilled. Kim Sae-hyun (Park Si Yeon) grew up in a rich family and is a famous tennis star. The complex relations among them brought the audience many laughters and tears.
• Myŏngsŏng Hwanghu = 명성황후 = The last empress = Mingcheng huang hou = 明成皇后
Media Collection PN1992.77 .M56 2005
TV Series; 35 DVDs; 2005?
In Korean and Chinese with Chinese subtitles.
This TV mini-series gave a complete account of Queen Min’s life, her time, and the politics surrounding Korea and its neighboring countries.
• Nae an e unŭn param = 내안에우는바람 = Wind echoing in my being
Media Collection PN1997 .N29 2000
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 103 minutes; 1997.
• Nae irŭm ŭn Kim Sam-sun = 내이름은김삼순 = My lovely Sam-soon
Media Collection PN1992.77 .N264 2005
TV Series; 9 DVDs, 1140 minutes; 2005
Dir. Ŭn-c'hŏl Kim
In Korean and Chinese with English and Chinese subtitles.
A romantic comedy, comically describing a contract romance between pastry chef Kim Sam-soon and Hyun Jin-hon, a young chairman of renowned confectionery.
• Naechʻyurŏl sitʻi = 내츄럴시티 = Natural city
Media Collection PN1997.2 .N34 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 113 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Min, Pyŏng-chʻŏn.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Spanish.
"Rebuilt after a devastating war, the world of 2080 has given rise to advanced technologies, including the creation of cyborgs. Created with artificial intelligence (A.I.), human-like emotions and great strength, they serve one master for their entire lifespan. When the cyborgs revolt, R and Noma, R’s best friend and commander, lead an elite military squad ordered to eliminate the rebellion. Unbeknownst to anyone, R has fallen in love with Ria, his cyborg, and is illegally harvesting A.I. chips from dead cyborgs in order to save her life"--Container.
• Nagŭne nŭn kil esŏdo shwiji annŭnda =나그네 는 길 에서도 쉬지 않는다 = Man with three coffins
Media Collection PN 1997 .N3137 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 104 minutes; 1987.
Dir. Lee Jang-ho.
In Korean, with subtitles in English, French, Korean or Spanish.
"A man travels to the eastern coast of Korea carrying the ashes of his deceased wife. He hopes to scatter them in a place closer to her hometown called Mul-chi, which lies near the demilitarized zone separating North from South Korea, but along his journey he becomes burdened with the deaths of two more women who cross his path." -- Container.
• Najŭn moksori = 낮은목소리
Media Collection D810.C698 N354 2007
Documentary Films; 3 DVDs, 231 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Pyŏn Yŏng-ju.
Korean dialogue with optional English, Japanese, and Korean subtitles.
This documentary profiles former ’comfort women’ as they protest outside the Japanese embassy.
• Najŭn moksori 1 = 낮은목소리 1 = The murmuring
Media Collection D810.C698 N35 2005
Documentary; 1 DVD, 99 minutes; 1995
Dir. Pyŏn Yŏng-ju
In Korean with Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean and Spanish subtitles.
"A documentary about the past and present experiences of a group of "comfort women" who during World War II were abducted and forced into sexual servitude for the Japanese army. In the course of making this documentary, director Byun Young-joo gradually becomes close to the now-elderly women who meet every week to protest in front of the Japanese embassy in Seoul."--Container.
• Najŭn moksori 2 = 낮은목소리 2 = Habitual sadness
Media Collection D810.C698 N352 2005
Documentary; 1 DVD, 61 minutes; 1995
Dir. Pyŏn Yŏng-ju
In Korean with Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, and Spanish subtitles.
• Narara Hŏ Tong-gu = 날아라허동구 = Bunt
Media Collection PN1997.2 .N374 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Pak Kyu-tʻae.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, or Spanish.
• Natsŏn kot natsŏn sigan = 낯선곳낯선시간 = Another time, another place
Media Collection PN1997.2 .N387 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 77 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Kim Yŏng-hye.
Dialogue in Korean, with optional subtitles in Korean or English.
Sang-wu is from a small village near Mount Jiri. After finishing high school and college at Jeonju, now a man in his 30s, he works as a stage producer. The film depicts his life through three episodes: his youth, his final year in college, and his present-day situation. At each point he faces unexpected chances and experiences unfamiliar yet meaningful events that shape his development. --koreanfilm.or.kr
• Ne mŏttaero haera =네멋대로해라 = Ruler of your own world
Media Collection PN1992.77 .N4 2005
Television Plays; 7 DVDs, 1200 minutes; 2002.
Dir. Pak Sŏng-su.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English ; closed-captioned.
Pok-su who has lived by his own rule met a girl with completely different background and he falls in love with her. And when he decides to do anything to get her love, he finds himself with a fatal disease. While thinking there is nothing to lose, Pok-su finds new meanings in his family, life, and friends.
• Nongga ilgi = 농가일기 = Back to the soil
Media Collection HD2095.5 .N564 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 85 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Kwŏn U-jŏng.
Korean with English and Korean subtitles.
• O! Kkum ŭi nara =오! 꿈의나라 = Oh! my dream country
Media Collection PN1997 .O178 2009
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 83 minutes; 1988.
Dir. Yi Ŭn.
Dialog in Korean, with optional subtitles in Korean or English.
During the Gwangju Democratization Movement of 1980, Chonnam University student Chong-su goes to stay with his friend Tai-hu, who supports himself by selling goods from an American PX on the black market with the help of Steve, a U.S. soldier. Eventually the two friends turn against Steve and the other American soldiers because of bad business dealings and the soldiers’ mistreatment of Korean women. They participate in the attacks on the U.S. Army that follow the uprising.
• O! sujŏng = 오!수정 = Virgin stripped bare by her bachelors
Media Collection PN1997 .O182 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 126 minutes; 2000.
Dir. Hong, Sang-su.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, and Spanish.
• Oktʻappang koyangi = 옥탑방고양이 = Rooftop room cat
Media Collection PN1992.77 .O57 2004
Television Plays; 8 DVDs, 960 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Kim Rae-won.
Korean dialogue, English or Chinese subtitles.
Kyung Min is a law student preparing for his final exams. Jung-Eun is a charming young woman out to make it on her own. Soon faced with the hard realities of paying her own bills, she finds help from an unlikely source, Kyung-Min. Experience the twists and turns of their love-hate relationship as they both grapple with achieving independence and finding true love.
• Oldboy = 올드보이
Media Collection PN1997.2 .O439 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Pak Chʻan-uk.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English or Spanish, or English dubbed track.
After being kidnapped and imprisoned for 15 years, Daesu is released and sets out to find his abductors.
• Ŏmma rŭl chʻajasŏ = 엄마를찿아서 = Umma
Media Collection HQ1765.5 .O46 2006
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 61 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Chŏng Ho-hyŏn
Korean with English and Korean subtitles.
• Opʻŭ rodŭ = 오프로드 = Off road
Media Collection PN1997.2 .O68 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 84 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Han, Sŭng-ryong.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English.
A Seoul taxi driver acquires an unwanted passenger in the form of a wounded bank robber. When the two check into a motel to treat the robber’s injuries, they meet a prostitute who is naturally curious about their activities.
• Osaka story: a documentary
Media Collection HQ681 .O584 1994
Documentary; 1 VHS, 75 minutes; 1994
Dir. Toichi Nakata
In Japanese with English narration and subtitles.
An autobiograhpical look at the cultural and generational clashes within Nakata’s Korean-Japanese family.
• The Pacific century
Media Collection HC460.5 .P23 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
Dir. Marc Levin
Outlines the economic struggle between East Asian countries and the United States in the latter twentieth century.
• P'aesyŏn 70s = 패션 70s = Shi shang 70 nian dai = 時尚70年代 = Fashion 70s
Media Collection PN1992.77 .P34 2006
TV Series; 12 DVDs; 2006
In Korean with Chinese and English subtitles.
"In the 60s and 70s of last century, Korea is in a chaotic age, the fluctuation of politics influenced one generation. In such a time, to succeed can be simple or rather complex. Fortune and fate can be determined with one shot of war fires...The ambitious young people grows up in such a time, and their genius to custom design uttering them to be the creator of the Korea fashion" -- Container.
• Palace
Media Collection PN1992.77 .P35334 2006
Television Series; 9 DVDs, 1440 minutes; 2006.
Korean language, English subtitles.
Present-day Seoul as a monarchy! Grand and beautiful, the Palace becomes the home to a group of young, hip royals pulled into political rivalries, comical hijinks, and romantic entanglements.
• Panch’ik wang = 반칙왕 = The foul king
Media Collection PN1997 .P296 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 2001
Dir. Kim Chi-un
In Korean with English, Japanese and Chinese subtitles.
Meek bank clerk PK decides to compete in wrestling matches, his favorite hobby. Once in the ring, PK changes from meek to victorious, wins match after match, and becomes known as the "Foul King." A comic satire on the helplessness and absurdity of the white-collar class in Korean society.
• P’ari ŭi yŏnin = 파리의연인 = Des amoureux á Paris
Media Collection PN1992.77 .P37 2005
TV Series; 9 DVDs; 2005
In Korean with English, Japanese and Korean subtitles.
• Pin chip = 빈집 = 3-iron
Media Collection PN1997.2 .P56 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 88 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Kim Ki-duk.
In Korean or dubbed French dialogues ; optional subtitles in English and French.
When a mysterious drifter breaks into a mansion, he discovers a lonely, beautiful woman trapped in an abusive marriage. When she escapes on the back of his motorcycle, their romantic adventures are just beginning.
• Piyŏrhan kŏri = 비열한 거리 = Dirty carnival
Media Collection PN1997.2 .P593 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 141 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Yu Ha.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Spanish.
The no. 2 guy in an organized crime ring in Korea is given an opportunity to go on a secret mission that would solve his many financial problems stemming from supporting his mother and two younger siblings.
• Planet b-boy
Media Collection GV1796.B74 P53 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Lee Benson.
Chiefly in English, and French, Japanese, and Korean with English subtitles.
"Set in the international world of b-boying--the urban dance more commonly known as "breakdancing." Weaving between the vivid backdrops of Osaka, Paris, Seoul and Las Vegas, unforgettable images frame the intimate stories of dancers who struggle for their dreams despite being misunderstood by the larger society and even their own families. An American dancer in Vegas looks for his big break; a Korean son seeks his father’s approval; a twelve-year-old boy in France confronts his familiy’s racism--all the b-boys’ lives collide in Germany where their skills are put to the ultimate test: the "Battle of the year" finals, with crews from 18 nations vying for the title of World Champion"--Container.
• Play it again, Nam! : a portrait of Nam June Paik
Arts Library, Music Service Desk NX584.6.Z9 P3537 1995
Documentary/Biography; 1 VHS, 26 minutes; 1995
Dir. Jean-Michel Gautreau
A documentary biography of multimedia artist Nam June Paik, including an overview of his early work, as well as an examination of his most recent artistic endeavors.
• Pom nal ŭn kanda = 봄날은간다 = One fine spring day
Media Collection PN1997.2 .P66 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 2001
Dir. Hŏ Chin-ho
In Korean with Korean, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, and Japanese subtitles.
• Pom yŏrŭm kaŭl kyŏul kŭrigo pom = 봄여름가을겨울그리고봄 = Spring summer fall winter... and spring
Media Collection PN1997.2 .P665 2004
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 103 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Kim Ki-duk.
Korean dialogue with optional English or French subtitles.
A chronicle of the life of a Buddhist monk from childhood to the end of his days.
• Pŏmjoe ŭi chaekusong = 범죄의재구성 = The big swindle
Media Collection PN1997.2 .P67 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 116 minutes; 2004
Dir. Tong-hun Ch'oe
In Korean with Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, and Spanish subtitles.
Bank robbery.
• Poppi = 뽀삐 = Popee
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T79 2005 v.1
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 63 minutes; 2002
Dir. Kim Chi-hyŏn
In Korean with Korean and English subtitles.
After a filmmaker’s beloved dog passes away, he embarks on a series of interviews with other dog owners as a means to console himself and find hope.
• Pʻŭllandasŭ ŭi kae = 플란다스의개 = Barking dogs never bite
Media Collection PN1997.2 .P86 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 106 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Pong Chun-ho.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Spanish, and Japanese.
Krean Films Q-Z
• Radio deijŭ = 라디오데이즈 = Radio dayz
Media Collection PN1992.7 .R33 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 111 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Ha Ki-ho.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean. A lighthearted comedy film about a ragtag squad kicking off the nation’s first radio drama during one of Korea’s darkest times in history.
• Royal court banquet music: music of peace, dream of the dynasty
Arts Library, Music Service Desk DS913.27 .R69 2007
Music; 1 DVD, 90 minutes; 2007.
Performances in Korean with some Chinese and English titles and some English subtitles.
DVD contains authentic reenactment of the royal banquet at Pongsudang held in the year of 1795 during the reign of Chŏngjo as depicted in Wŏnhyaeng ŭlmyo chŏngriui kwe.
• Salkyŏl = 살결
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S2524 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Yi Sŏng-gang.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean.
"A promising photographer Min-woo runs into his ex-lover, Tae-hee. Although she is now married, the two begin an affair, and have sex frequently. One day, Min-woo is at the scene of a car accident, and the female victim dies in his arms. After this, Min-woo finds his psyche invaded by the soul of a strange woman"--KOFIC.
• Sa-i-gu: 4.29
Media Collection F869.L89 K688 1995
Documentary; 1 VHS, 41 minutes; 1993
Dir. Dai Sil Kim-Gibson
In Korean and English with English subtitles.
Explores the embittering effect the April 29, 1992 Rodney King verdict and riot had on Korean American women shopkeepers who suffered more than half of the material losses in the conflict. Film underscores the shattering of the American dream while taking the media to task for playing up the "Korean-Black" aspect of the rioting.
• Sangŏ = 상어 = A shark
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S2526 200
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 109 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Kim Tong-hyŏn.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English.
• Sarang handa malhaejwo = 사랑한다말해줘 = 對我說我愛你 = Say you love me
Media Collection PN1992.77 .S268 2005
Television Plays; 8 DVDs, 15 episodes; 2005
Korean or Chinese dialogues with optional English or Chinese subtitles.
Having been girlfriend and boyfriend since they were kids, they now are facing temptations and trials. How do the young lovers cope?
• Sarin ŭi ch'uŏk = 살인의추억 = Memories of murder
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S27 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 127 minutes; 2003
Dir. Chun-ho Pong
In Korean with Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, and Spanish subtitles.
Based on a true story, the film takes place in a small village in Korea where an intense police investigation follows a series of brutal rapes and murders.
• Sesang pakk ŭro = 세상밖으로
Media Collection PN1997 .S3816 1994
Feature Film; 1 VHS, 99 minutes; 1994.
Dir. Yŏ Kyun-dong.
• Seoul Train
Media Collection DS932 .S46 2006
Documentary; 1 DVD, 54 minutes; 2004
Dir. Aaron Lubarsky, Lisa Sleeth & Jim Butterworth
In English, Korean and Mandarin with English, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Serbian, and Spanish subtitles.
"Today, there are an estimated 250,000 North Korean refugees living underground in China. They escaped a food crisis and other persecutions at home that have claimed the lives of approximately 3 million in the past 10 years. The Chinese Government -- in direct violation of international laws to which it’s a party -- systematically arrests and forcibly repatriates hundreds of these refugees each month. Defecting from North Korea is a capital offense, and repatriated refugees face human rights abuses ranging from concentration camps and torture to forced abortion and summary executions. For a lucky few refugees, however, there is hope. A group of multinational activists has taken it upon themselves to create an Underground Railroad. Via a network of safe houses and escape routes, the activists -- at great personal risk -- help the refugees on daring escapes to freedom over hundreds (and sometimes thousands) of miles of Chinese territory"--Producers.
• Shwiri = Shiri = 쉬리
Media Collection PN1997 .S4788 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 125 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Kang Che-gyu.
Korean, English or French dialogue with English, French, Portuguese or Spanish subtitles.
A phantom sniper is methodically assassinating key figures in a South Korean intelligence investigation. Special agent Ryu and his partner Lee suspect North Korea’s most lethal female operative, Hee, as being responsible. When a security breach prompts the theft of a high-tech liquid explosive, CTX, from the South Korean authorities, Ryu and Lee are certain there’s a mole within their ranks.
• Sijip kanŭ̆n nal = 시집가는날 = The wedding day
Media Collection PN1997 .S5467 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 77 minutes; 1956.
Dir. Yi, Pyŏng-il.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean.
A traditional story about a man who will try anything to secure a good husband for his daughter.
• Sik Gaek = Gourmet = 食客
Media Collection PN1992.77 .S55 2008
Television Plays; 6 DVDs, 1440 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Chʻoe Chong-su.
Dialogue dubbed in Mandarin Chinese or in original Korean with optional traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, Malay, or English subtitles.
"Sung-chan’s father, the owner of Korea’s most prestigious restaurant, organizes a culinary competition to determine who will inherit his generations-old restaurant. As Sung-chan and his brother Bong-joo go head-to-head, foul play leads Sung-chan to bow out of the competition before the final event. Devastated, Sung-chan embarks on a journey across the country during which he discovers the true essence of Korean foods, flavors, and ingredients-- and learns more about himself, his talents, and his royal heritage."
• Sikkaek = 식객 =食客 = Grand chef
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S544 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 114 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Chŏn Yun-su.
In Korean (Dolby digital EX 5.1) or Cantonese (Dolby digital EX 5.1) with optional traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese and English subtitles.
"At a press conference, a cooking knife of special caliber was brought to the public eye. The knife belonged to the last Korean royal chef of Chosun Dynasty who had cut his arms with this knife to show royalty to the king and country. A Japanese bureaucrat was deeply moved by the chefs conviction and had returned to Japan carrying this knife with him. Now, his son has returned to Korea, intending to give the precious knife to the one who really deserves to own it. He announces a grand cooking contest to find the best cook worthy of this knife. The grandsons of the two apprentices of the royal chef decided to participate. The contest comprises of five levels of cooking match and the two contestants survive to the final round. The destined competition has begun..."--Container.
• Silence broken: Korean comfort women
Media Collection D810.C698 S585 2000
Documentary; 1 VHS, 57 minutes; 1999
Dir. Dai Sil Kim-Gibson
In Korean, Japanese and English with English subtitles.
A documentary on Korean comfort women who were forced into sexual servitude by the Japanese Imperial Army during World War II.
• Silmido = 실미도= 實尾島
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S55 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVDs, 136 minutes; 2003.
Dir. Kang U-sŏk.
In optional Korean and Cantonese dialogue with optional subtitles in English and Chinese.
Based on a true story of 31 recruits sent to a remote island and trained to assassinate North Korean leader Kim Il-sŏng.
• Sin Sŏng-il ŭi haengbang pulmyŏng = 신성일의행방불명 = The forgotten child: Shin Sung-il is lost
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S57 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 155 minutes; 2004.
Dir. Sin Chae-in.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean.
An orphan boy lives in an orphanage where the kids have strange food obsessions. He doesn’t like it at the orphanage and runs away to the big city where he becomes a homeless kid.
• Songhwan = 송환 = Song huan = 送還 = Repatriation
Media Collection DS935 .S66 2004
Documentary; 1 DVD, 148 minutes; 2004
Dir. Dong-won Kim
In Korean with Korean, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, and Japanese subtitles.
After their releases, the political prisoners adapt to South Korean society and campaign to be repatriated to North Korea.
• Sŏpʻyŏnje = 서편제 = 西便制
Media Collection PN1997 .S633726 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 113 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Im Kwŏn-tʻaek.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Japanese, Chinese, and Spanish.
Based on a short story by Yi Chʻŏng-jun, Yu-bong (Kim Myong-gon) is a p’ansori master who travels with two adopted children, daughter Song-hwa (O Chŏng-hae), Yu-bong’s p’ansori apprentice, and son Dong-ho (Kim Kyu-chʻŏl), a drummer. The drum is the only instrument that accompanies p’ansori--unless you consider the singer’s occasional fluttering of a folding fan for emotional emphasis an instrument. The three troubadours travel throughout the countryside in efforts to perform and develop their artistry while trying to remain true to Yu-bong’s interpretation of what qualifies as real p’ansori.
• The sound of millennia: a Korean festival of music and dance
Media Collection ML342.1 .S686 1992
Documentary; 1 VHS, 60 minutes; 1992
The Korean National Music Company presents a program of the performing arts of Korea, including vocal and instrumental music and dance. Both folk music and court music are represented, using the 5 or 7 note scales of Korean music.
• Spirit of Korea = Hanguk ŭi ŏl
Media Collection DS902.4 .S65 2002
Documentary; 1 DVD, 71 minutes; 2002.
In English with optional subtitles in English, Korean, Japanese, Chinese.
• Ssibaji = 씨받이 = The surrogate womb
Media Collection PN1997 .S6565 2003
Feature Film; 1 DVDs, 94 minutes; 1996.
Dir. Im, Kwŏn-tʻaek.
In Korean with subtitles in Korean and English.
Story of a surrogate mother whose role is to give birth to a son for an aristocrat family in the era of Chosŏn dynasty.
• Sŭllip’ing pyut’i = 슬리핑 뷰티 = Sleeping beauty
Media Collection PN1997.2 .S857 2009
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Yi, Han-na.
In Korean with optional English or Korean subtitles.
"My Cousin- Do-yun , who is in the sixth grade ,lives with her divorced Mother. One day during winter break, her grandmother passes away, and she goes to the suburbs with her mother. All the adults are busy preparing for the funeral, so, Do Yun spends time with her cousin , Sang Jun, who is her age. -Winter Sleep- The 50 year old blunt lady lives with her old father, who has dementia. Never having a child, she had raised a duck with her husband. But one day he left, and never came back. -Sleeping Beauty- Chinese Mother and daughter arrive in korea, who are ethnically Korean. Mother make sher daughter SuJin adoptintoa very old man Kim who lives suburbs. So, mother is admitted into a Korea easily and then She is married a korean. Kim lives with his aged mother and grandson of his dead son who is a high school student. Su Jin knows she stays with Kim’s aged mother, But she sleep with kim from the first night"--KOFIC.
• Sŭlpʻŭn yŏnʼga = 슬픈연가 = 悲傷戀歌 = The sad love story
[IN PROCESS]Media Collection PN1992.77 .S23 2006
Television Plays; 9 DVDs, 20 episodes; 2005.
Dir. Yu, Chʻŏl-yong.
Dialogue in Korean or dubbed Mandarin Chinese with optional subtitles in Chinese or English.
A love story between a blind woman and two men with a very sad ending.
• Summer aroma = 夏日香气
Media Collection PN1992.77 .Y46 2005
TV Series; 8 DVDs; 2003
In Korean or Mandarin with English and traditional Chinese subtitles.
• Tae Chang-gŭm = 大長今 = Dae Jang Geum
Media Collection PN1992.77 .T34 2005
TV Series; 19 DVDs, 1080 minutes; 2005
Dir. Pyŏng-hun Yi
In Korean, Mandarin and Cantonese with English, Chinese and Malay subtitles.
A historical drama based on a true story, Dae Jang Geum tells the tale of the first woman to become the King’s personal physician in the 16th century of Korea. Jang Geum strives to learn the secrets of Korean cooking and medicine in order to cure the king’s various ailments.
• Tʻaebaek Sanmaek = 태백산맥 = The Tʻaebaek Mountains
Media Collection PN1997 .T18 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 164 minutes; 1994.
Dir. Im Kwŏn-tʻaek.
Korean dialogue with English subtitles.
Based on the novel of the same title by Cho Chŏng-nae, this movie depicts the deepen confrontation between right wing and left wing after liberation in 1948.
• Tʻaegŭkki hwinallimyŏ = 태극기휘날리며 = Taegukgi
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T34 2007
Feature Film; 2 DVDs, 148 minutes;
Dir. Kang Che-gyu.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Chinese, English, and Malay.
A film about two brothers drafted into the army during the Korean War (1950-1953).
• Taeksi bullusŭ =택시 블루스 = Taxi blues
Media Collection HD8039.T16 .T325 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 105 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Chʻoeha Tongha.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, or Spanish.
Documentary of the daily life and hardship of taxi driver in Seoul.
• Talkʻomhan insaeng = 달콤한인생 = A bittersweet life
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T35 2005
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 120 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Kim Chi-ŭn.
Dialogue in Korean with subtitles in Korean and English.
A cool-headed perfectionist, Sun-woo has earned the absolute trust of his boss by managing an upscale restaurant. When his boss Mr. Kang suspects that his young girlfriend Hee-soo might have a lover, he orders Sun-woo to keep an eye on her, and to kill her if she has betrayed him. After following her for a few days, Sun-woo catches Hee-soo with her boyfriend ... but to his own surprise, he lets them go. Now his decision has major consequences for all involved.
• Talma ka tongtchok ŭro kan kkadalk ŭn? = 달마가동쪽으로간까닭은? = Why has Bodhi-Dharma left for the East?
Media Collection PN1997 .T317 1996
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 137 minutes; 1989.
Dir. Pae Yong-gyun.
In Korean with subtitles in English.
Tells the story of a young Korean man who leaves his modern life to go into the mountains to study with a Zen Buddhist master.
• Tasŏt kae ŭi sisŏn = 다섯개 의 시선 = If you were me 2
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T376 2007
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Kukka Inkwŏn Wiwŏnhoe
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Spanish.
The first short film follows the daily life of a young girl with Downs Syndrome. The 2nd film looks at the problems that emerge from the masculinity in Korean culture. The 3rd film follows the daily life of a North Korean girl who escapes to South Korea. The 4th film is about the interrogation of a student and the fate of contract workers in South Korea. The last film is a documentary about the iillegal immigration of other Asians into Korea.
• Tasŏt ŭn nŏmu mana = 다섯은너무많아 = Five is too many
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T37 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 82 minutes; 2005.
Dir. An Sŭl-gi.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean.
Five people who in various ways can be characterized as societal outsiders meet and become close.
• Tʻelmi ssŏmding = 텔미썸딩 = Tell me something
Media Collection PN1997 .T384 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 116 minutes; 1999.
Dir. Chang Yun-hyŏn.
Korean and English dailog, English subtitle.
The consecutive murders occured in Seoul. The dismembered bodies found in several cases, arms and heads are separated. Detective Cho (Han Sŏk-kyu) starts investigating and confronts with horrible and shocking scenes.
• Tie dao wei shi = 铁道卫士
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 33
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 1960.
Dir. Fang Ying.
In Mandarin.
The area along the railroad is protected so supplies can get to Korea, where the Chinese help to fight again the United States who have sent spies to help destroy that area.
• Tŏlaoji anhun haebyŏng = 돌아오지않는海兵 = Marines who never returned
Media Collection PN1997 .T5956 2007
Feature Fiom; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Yi Man-hwi.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English, French, Spanish and Korean.
A division of Korean marines get stranded behind the Chinese front in this Korean war film.
• Tongbaek kkot
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T66 2006
Short Film; 1 DVD, 94 minutes; 2004.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean.
In the first films of this trilogy, "Kim Chu-ja", a married man sees an old boyfriend on TV and tries to take up their relationaship by going with him and his daughter to Bogil island. In "Drifting Island" a taxi driver and a mechanic carry on the difficult relationship only when are on the island together. In the final film, in "La Traviata", a woman goes to the island looking for her ex-husband’s boyfriend who now runs a cottage with his current boyfriend.
• The true heart towards the world: The 6 selected independent feature films = 하이!인디영화 : 독립영화증・당편모음
Media Collection PN1997.2 .T79 2005
Film Collection; 6 DVDs; 2005
In Korean with Korean and English subtitles. See also: Aegukja keim = Patriot game; Chabondang sŏnŏn = Capitalist manifesto; Chinsil ui mun = The gate of truth; Kŏryu = Papa, Daddy, Father; Mich’in sigan = Mad minutes; Poppi = Popee
• Tʻu kʻapsŭ =투캅스 = Two cops
Media Collection PN1997 .T8575 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 110 minutes; 1993.
Dir. Kang U-sŏk.
In Korean with optional subtitles in English and Korean.
A comic police movie. Cho hyŏngsa who is sophisticated and guileful, and Kang hyŏngsa who graduated at the top from the police academy work together as a team. They are always confronted with each other, and they have to deal with a sadistic murderer who killed women in red.
• Tʻu kʻapsŭ 3 = 투캅스3 = Two cops 3
Media Collection PN1997 .T8577 2002
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 1998.
Dir. Kim Sang-jin.
In Korean with optional English subtitles.
Detective Yi is getting a female partner. He is reknown for toughness but he cannot beat his sexy partner.
• Tŭlgukhwa nŭn pʻiŏnnŭnde = 들菊花는피었는데 = The wild flower in the battlefield
Media Collection PN1997 .T85754 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 102 minutes; 1974.
Dir. Yi Man-hŭi.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Spanish, Chinese, and Japanese.
The tragedy of the Korean War unfolds through the eyes of a 10-year old boy.
• Uahan segye = 우아한세계 = The show must go on
Media Collection PN1997.2 .U34 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 112 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Han Chae-rim.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, or Spanish.
• Une journée dans le Séoul des écrivains
Media Collection DS925.S4 U64 2008
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 52 minutes; 2008.
Dir. Yang, Junghee.
Soundtrack in French and French-subtitled Korean.
• Ŭnha haebang chŏnsŏn = 은하 해방 전선 = Milky way liberation front
Media Collection PN1997.2 .U544 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 98 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Yun Sŏng-ho.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, or Spanish.
Filmmaker Yong-jae gets aphasia as his girlfriend left him, and has trouble writing a script and to get money for filmmaking...
• Uri hakkyo = 우리학교 = Our school
Media Collection LC3501.K6 U75 2007
Documentary Film; 1 DVD, 131 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Kim Myŏng-jun.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Spanish, and Japanese.
This documentary is about the 3rd and 4th generation Korean residents of Japan who are students of the Chosen Elementary, Middle, and High school in Hokkaido, Japan. It follows the students through one year of the eleven-year national education program. Rather than focusing on special occasions or issues, it reveals what it is like to live in Japan as Korean-Japanese by describing their everyday lives.
• Uri hakkyo = 우리학교 = Our school
Media Collection LC3501.K6 U752 2008
Documentary Films; 2 DVDs, 287 minutes; 2007.
Dir. Kim Myŏng-jun.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, Japanese, English, French, and Spanish (Disc 1); Korean Japanese and English (Disc 2).
This documentary is about Korean residents of Japan who are students of the Chosen Elementary, Middle, and High school in Hokkaido, Japan. It follows the students through one year of the eleven-year national education program. Rather than focusing on special occasions or issues, it reveals what it is like to live in Japan as Korean-Japanese by describing the students’ everyday lives.
• Uri tchongnaeja = 우리쫑내자 = Let’s finish!!!
Media Collection PN1997.2 .U777 2008
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 100 minutes; 2006.
Dir. Whang Cheol-mean.
Dialogue in Korean with English subtitles and optional subtitles in Korean.
A woman who calls herself "Joaquin" meets two men by arrangement in a car park. We soon discover that they’ve previously "met" on the suicide Web site she hosts. They pool their money and start driving; when the money runs out they’ll all end their lives. There are tensions from the start. The talkative guy (he calls himself "LA") has brought along his pet dog and can’t stand Joaquin’s choice of "suicide music". Then the macho, taciturn guy, Heballet, takes the car and leaves the others stranded... The film has several surprises, but respects the tradition of the road movie. The characters are changed by being thrown together, by the people they meet and by the very act of traveling, and their destination is not the one they expected.--Insert booklet.
• Wang ŭi namja = 왕의남자
Media Collection PN1997.2 .W366 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 119 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Yi Chun-ik.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, Chinese, Japanese, French, and Spanish.
"In the years of the infamous King Yeon-san, two clowns start a play that is satrical of the king and become popular among the common people. But soon they get arrested for treason, and they bet their lives on making the king laugh with their play acting. Their fortunate success leads them to stay in the palace and perform regular plays. As the king shows growing attraction and love towards one of the clowns, they realize that they have entered an irreversible stage of their lives, entwined with desire, power, and thick blood"--Back cover.
• WCSF 1992 : the first World Culture and Sports Festival.
Special Coll., American Religions Collection BX9750.S41 A45 1992
Conference; 1 VHS, 28 minutes; 1992.
English language narration, English or Korean subtitles over some portions.
Highlights of the first World Culture and Sports Festival, including views of satellite conferences (ICUS, PWPA, World Media Conference, Summit Council for World Peace, CARP Convention of World Students, World Convention of the Women’s Federation for World Peace, Assembly of the World’s Religions). The conference culminates in a mass wedding ceremony, with arranged marriages for people of many nations, presided over by the Reverend Sun-Myung Moon.
• Welkʻŏm tʻu Tongmakkol = 웰컴투동막골 = Welcome to Dongmakgol
Media Collection PN1997.2 .W45 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 132 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Pak Kwang-hyŏn.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, French, Japanese, Chinese, and Spanish.
Two South Korean soliders, three North Korean soldiers, and an American pilot all get stranded in a remote mountain village during the Korean War.
• The women outside: Korean women and the U.S. military
Media Collection HQ1765.5 .W656 1995
Documentary; 1 VHS, 52 minutes; 1995
Dir. J.T. Takagi & Hye Jung Park
In Korean and English with English subtitles.
Documentary on young South Korean women who work in sex related enterprises adjacent to American military bases in South Korea. Also explores the lives of Korean American women who came to the United States as wives of American servicemen.
• Yeoreum Hyanggi = 여름향기 = 夏日香氣 = Summer aroma
Media Collection PN1992.77 .Y46 2005
Television Plays; 8 DVDs, 30 episodes; 2003.
Korean or Mandarin dialogue with optional traditional/simplified Chinese or English subtitles.
• Yi dao : Yi dai shen yi Xü Jün = 허준 = 醫道 : 一代神醫許浚
Media Collection PN1992.7 .H612 2006
Television Plays; 20 DVDs; 2006.
Dir. Li Binxun (Yi Pyŏng-hun)
Dialogue dubbed in Mandarin and Cantonese, also available in original Korean, with traditional Chinese subtitles.
Story of the famous Korean physician, Ho Chun.
• Ying xiong er nü = 英雄兒女
Media Collection PN1997.A1 B3 2005 disc 25
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 109 minutes; 1964.
Dir. Wu, Zhaoti.
A political commissar of a division of China’s volunteer army runs into his lost son and daughter in the north Korea during the Korean War. This movie pays a tribute to the battle friendship and interationalism between China and North Korea.
• Yongsŏ patchi motan cha = 용서받지못한자 = The unforgiven
Media Collection PN1997.2 .Y66 2006
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 121 minutes; 2005.
Dir. Yun Chong-bin.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Korean, English, Chinese, Japanese, French, and Spanish.
A young university student starts his two-year military duty and discovers that a former classmate is his new superior. As time passes, he struggles not to adopt the prevailing mindset of the military.
• Yŏpkijŏgin kŭnyŏ = 엽기적인그녀 = My sassy girl = 我的野蠻女友
Media Collection PN1997.2 .Y664 2001
Feature Film; 1 DVD, 137 minutes; 2001.
Dir. Kwak Chae-yong.
In Korean with optional subtitles in Chinese or English.
Questions |
Davidson Library, Room 5537
University of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-4082
Send Email
Subjects:
East Asian Studies
Borrowing Films
Most of the films are on DVD although some are still on cassette. They are located in the Media Collection on the first floor of the Davidson Library. The Media Collection is in the rear right corner as you enter the Goverment Information Center. All films are circulating on a 7-day loan period and can be renewed online if no one puts a hold or a request on the item.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait