BiographiesGeneralHistory & PoliticsLiterature, Arts, Film
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Chicana/o Studies 

Last update: Jun 26th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/chican  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles            Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 
 

Find articles

Find Articles, Citations, Reviews, and more in these Indexes and Databases:

Chicano Database (1967+) UCSB Only

  • Contains references to all sorts of materials about Mexican-Americans from 1967-present
  • In 1992 other Hispanic-American groups were added to the coverage

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) (1970+) UCSB Only

  • The best starting point for LAIS
  • Indexes journals from and about Latin America and Hispanics in the US
  • Truncates automatically (do not use *!)

Ethnic NewsWatch (indexing 1970+; full-text 1990+) UCSB Only

  • Indexes over 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press
  • Searchable in English and Spanish
  • Defaults to full-text; uncheck this is you want scholarly

Latino Literature UCSB Only

  • Full-text plays, prose & poetry by Chicanos and US Latinos

America: History and Life (1964+) UCSB Only

  • Indexes articles about the US and Canada
  • "Hispanics" will be the most common term used

Clase/Periodica (1975+) UCSB Only

  • Includes articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings and technical reports published in Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Indexed materials are in Spanish, Portuguese, English, and French
  • Remember that in Mexico “chicanos” are referred to as “paisanos” or simply part of the diaspora
  • Produced by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

 

UCSB E-Journal Titles:

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSalvador Güereña
Contact Info:
California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives office
3rd floor Davidson Library
893-8563
Send Email

Subjects:
Chicana/o, Latina/o, Latin American, Iberian studies

 

Citation Styles

Need help writing your citations?
Here are some style guides:

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Quick Citation Guide

Modern Languages Association (MLA)

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab for MLA help

Paraphrase vs Plagiarism?
Paraphrase = well done!
Plagiarism = F (or worse)
Know the difference
.

 

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait