Locating Books
To locate books on your topic, use the PEGASUS Online Catalog (http://pegasus.library.ucsb.edu/F/). As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. For collections of data, add handbooks or tables to your keywords.
If you find a relevant record, check its subject headings to see if there is alternative terminology you should try. Similarly, use keyword searches to find books on particular analytical methods (mass spectrometry, atomic absorption). You may also want to browse in the book stacks. Useful call nubmer ranges include:
- Spectroscopy QC 450-467 (in chemical analysis, QD 95-97)
- General physical chemistry QD 450-458
- Quantum chemistry QD 462
- Physical inorganic chemistry QD 475
- Physical inorganic chemistry QD 476
- Chemical reaction kinetics, mechanisms, catalysis QD 501-505
- Surface chemistry QD 506-508
- Thermochemistry QD 510-511
- Electrochemistry QD 551-571
- Radiation chemistry QD 601-655
- Photochemistry QD 701-731
- Crystallography QD 901-999
Data Tables
Landolt-Börnstein (QC 61 .L3)
This large set of data tables for physics and chemistry has been
published over the past 40+ years. UCSB owns a partial print set (see
the call number above), but the complete set is available online to
UCSB users. The series is divided into broad groupings as follows:
- Group 1: Elementary Particles, Nuclei and Atoms
- Group 2: Molecules and Radicals
- Group 3: Condensed Matter
- Group 4: Physical Chemistry
- Group 5: Geophysics
- Group 6: Astronomy and Astrophysics
- Group 7: Biophysics
- Group 8: Advanced Materials and Technologies
For data tables in specific areas, check the call number ranges above, or search for topic handbooks or topic tables as a keyword search in Pegasus.
General Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry (SEL Ref QD 39.3 .E46 E53 1998)
This five-volume encyclopedia has brief articles on all aspects of
computational chemistry methods and applications, with good indexing
and bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (SEL Ref QC 762 .E53 1996)
This encyclopedia has eight volumes (published in 1996) with brief
articles on all aspects of nuclear magnetic resonance theory, methods
and applications, with a ninth "Advances in NMR" volume added in 2002.
The articles have good bibliographies, and the set is well indexed.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry (SEL Ref QD 95 .E55 2000)
This three-volume encyclopedia has brief articles on theory, methods
and applications in nearly all areas of spectroscopy. The articles have
good bibliographies, and the set is well indexed.
Handbook of Molecular Physics and Quantum Chemistry (SEL Ref QD 461 .H25 2003)
This three-volume handbook devotes its first volume to "Fundamentals",
the second to "Molecular Electronic Structure" and the third to
"Molecules in the Physico-Chemical Environment: Spectroscopy, Dynamics
and Bulk Properties". The articles are detailed, by experts in their
fields, with good references and cross-referencing.
Catalysis from A to Z (SEL Ref QD 505 .C383 2003)
A one-volume dictionary of terms and concepts in catalysis.
Encyclopedia of Catalysis (SEL Ref QD 505 .E53 2003)
This
six-volume encyclopedia has chapters by experts in their respective
fields on various aspects of the theory and application of homogenous,
heterogenous and biological catalysis. Detailed, with good
bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science (SEL Ref QD 506 .E52 2002)
A four-volume encyclopedia containing brief, highly specific articles
on aspects of surface and colloid science. Somewhat difficult to use by
browsing, it is fortunately well-indexed.
Locating Articles
SciFinder: SciFinder is an end-user oriented interface to the Chemical Abstracts Service databases: CAPLUS, REGISTRY, CASREACT,and CHEMCATS. Its databases cover the entire literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, conference papers and more, from before 1900 to the present, by far the most comprehensive database of the chemical literature. It may be searched by author, topic, corporate source, chemical name, molecular formula or chemical structure (including substructures and reaction diagrams).
It is available in two versions: SciFinder Web uses a Web browser interface. Users must first register, using a valid ucsb.edue-mail address. It is compatible with the campus proxy server for off campus use. SciFinder Scholar is a client-server system, which requires installation of the SFS client on the terminal where you wish to use it. The client may be downloaded and installed on any Windows or Mac computer by a UCSB user. In the UCSB Davidson Library, SciFinder is available at selected workstations in the Sciences-Engineering Library (2nd floor North).
INSPEC: INSPEC covers physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology, from 1896-present including journals, conference papers and more. Most citations include abstracts. It is extremely useful at the boundary where physical chemistry overlaps chemical physics.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index): The Science Citation Index database in Web of Science covers some 3600 of the most important journals in all areas of science, medicine and engineering. It covers 1945-present, and for recent years has searchable abstracts. It also has searchable cited references, so you can track an older reference on an analytical method forward to more recent applications or to other related records. It is only available on campus, from ucsb.edu addresses.
Librarian |
Chuck HuberDavidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait