Conference Papers and Proceedings Copyright and Fair Use Patents 
Academic DepartmentsChemical Data SourcesChemical SuppliersJobs and CareersOther Collections of Web SitesProfessional SocietiesSoftware Suppliers
Analytical ChemistryBiochemistryGeneral ChemistryInorganic ChemistryOrganic ChemistryPhysical Chemistry
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Chemistry & Biochemistry  Tags: chemistry biochemistry organic inorganic analytical  

Subject guide for chemistry and biochemistry
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Other Useful Pages

Besides the resources for finding journal articles and other documents on this page, you may want to check out the following related pages:

  • Conference Papers and Proceedings - What are they?  How can you find papers on a topic?  How can you find them in the UCSB Library?
  • Copyright and Fair Use - What is copyright?  Why is it important to students and scholars?  To authors?  What is fair use?
  • Patents - What are patents?  Why are they of interest?  How can you find them?
  • Standards - What are industrial standards?  What organizations issue them?
 
 

Find articles

Find Articles, Citations, Reviews, and more in these Indexes and Databases:

  • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) UCSB Only
    • The most comprehensive database for all areas of chemistry.
    • Covers journal articles, patents, conference papers, dissertations, technical reports and more
    • 1907-present, plus selected content from 1800-1906.
    • Search for topic terms, chemical substances or organic reactions.
    • Note: you must register to use the Web version, or download and install the client version. Follow the instructions on the page.
  • Academic Search Complete UCSB Only
    • General index to current magazines and journals; useful for news, current events and popular treatments of science topics
    • Popular magazines, major scholarly journals, some newspapers
    • 1984-present
  • Biological Sciences DatabaseUCSB Only
    • Useful for biochemistry and biotechnology
    • Covers journal articles and conference papers.
    • 1982-present.
  • Biosis Previews UCSB Only
    • Premier database for all areas of biology; useful for biochemistry and chemical biology
    • Detailed indexing for genus/species, broader taxonomic groups and biolgical topics
    • Covers journal articles and conference papers
    • 1926-present
  • Catalysts and Catalysed Reactions UCSB Only
    • Specialized index for catalyzed chemical reactions, with specialized search fields
    • Selected journal articles, 2001 to present
  • CHEMnetBASE UCSB Only
    • Collections of chemical data, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and the Combined Chemical Dictionary
    • Searchable by chemical name, numeric data ranges and chemical structure
  • ChemSpider.com
    • Database of chemical substances from a variety of sources.  Currently owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry
    • Searchable by name, CAS RN, SMILES string, InChI key, chemical properties, and more
    • Contains name, synonym, expericmental and predicted properties data
    • Links to references from PubMed, spectra from various sources, Wikipedia articles
  • Compendex Plus UCSB Only
    • Premier database for all areas of engineering; good for industrial chemistry
    • Covers journal articles and conference papers.
    • 1884-present
  • CrossFire (Beilstein/Gmelin) UCSB Only
    • Most detailed collection of chemical data for organic (Beilstein) and inorganic/organometallic (Gmelin) compounds
    • Requires CrossFire Commander client software.
  • Dissertations and Theses UCSB Only
    • Index to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from most North American and European universities
    • Search by title word, author, advisor or institution
    • 1861-present
    • Full text of most recent University of California dissertations available as PDF files free of charge to UC users.
  • INSPEC UCSB Only
    • Premier database for physics, electronics and computing; good for physical chemistry, chemical physics, electronic materials.
    • Covers journal articles and conference papers
    • 1896-present
  • Methods in Organic Synthesis UCSB Only
    • Specialized database for organic synthesis articles, with indexing of reactions, reactants, reagents and products.
    • Journal articles, 1999-present
  • Natural Product Updates UCSB Only
    • Specialized database for natural products chemistry, with indexing of taxonomic terms and biological activity.
    • Journal articles, 1999-present
  • NTIS
    • Index to U.S. government technical reports
    • 1964-present
    • For access to the full text of the reports, see the UCSB Library Government Information Center
  • PubChem
    • Database of compounds, substances and bioassays submitted to the National Library of Medicine from a variety of sources.
    • Searchable by chemical name, structure
    • Links to articles in PubMed, bioassay information, other biochemical information from other NLM databases.
  • PubMed
    • Premier index to the world's medical literature.  Good for medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry, drug discovery, etc.
    • Detailed indexing of medical concepts.
    • Journal articles, 1966-present
    • Note: Searches in SciFinder include the PubMed/MEDLINE database, so searching PubMed in addition to SciFinder may be redundant.
  • Science of Synthesis UCSB Only
    • Extensive collection of detailed review articles on methods in organic synthesis.
    • Organized by the chemical class of molecule being synthesized.
    • Current volumes (2005-present) are searchable by keywords and chemical structure.
    • Archival volumes (1909-2004) may be browsed by table of conents; most are in German.
  • Web of Science UCSB Only
    • Very broad in subject scope -- covers all of science and engineering (plus humanities and social sciences); good for interdisciplinary fields.
    • Journal articles from 1945-present for the sciences.
    • Most powerful database for cited reference searching.  Very useful for tracking additional references from cited, citing and related articles.

Collect and Organize Your References in a Personal Database

  • EndNoteWeb UCSB Only
    • Create a personal database file of your favorite references by importing answer sets from catalogs and article indexes
    • Generate bibliographies automatically formatted in your desired style (e.g. ACS, CSE, APA)
    • Access your fles from any Web-connected computer.

UCSB E-Journal Titles:

  • E-Journals Collection (main search)
    • Locate electronic full-text journals in the UCSB collection (over 10,000 titles available.)
    • Search by journal title, or by subject category, or by publisher.

Evaluate Status of Journals

  • Journal Citation Reports UCSB Only
    • Evaluate journals in a given field using citation analysis.
    • Contains "impact factors" and other metrics for thousands of major journals in the sciences and social sciences for recent years.

 

 

 

Librarian

Profile ImageChuck Huber
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait