Anth 172 (Summer 2009)FEMST 195HA INT 100WS Sociology 185G (Summer 2009) 
Citation Styles 
More Digital Archives 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Feminist Studies  Tags: women feminism gender lgbt social_movements history social_sciences primary sources  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/feministstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Historical Newspapers

For more current newspaper articles, see the "Newspapers" box under the "Articles" tab above:

Los Angeles Times ucsb only - 1881-1986

New York Times - ucsb only 1857-1999

San Francisco Chronicle - ucsb only 1865-1922; COMING SOON

Wall Street Journal - ucsb only - 1889-1985

 
 

Digital Archives

Women's Studies Specific Archives & Primary Sources

American Memory's Women's History Collections - broadsides, ephemera, prints, photographs, recordings, rare books, government publications and more from the Libarary of Congress

Defining Gender (1450-1910) ucsb only - five centuries of advice literature; also includes secondary source material - biographies, a chronology, and essays

Everyday Life of Women in America (19th and 20th centuries) ucsb only - books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides from the Sallie Bingham Center (Duke) and NYPL collections

Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online (1543-1945) ucsb only - books, journals and pamphlets documenting feminist consciousness and women's rights movements in the West

Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1855) ucsb only - a popular 19th century women's magazine

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (colonial period-1920) - ucsb only 82,000 pages of letters and diaries from 632 women

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (Scholar's Edition is forthcoming) ucsb only

Other Useful Archives & Primary Sources

American Periodical Series (1741-1900) ucsb only- U.S. periodicals published between 1741 and 1900.

ARTstor ucsb only Images with accompanying data, and software tools to actively use

HarpWeek (1857-1912) ucsb only - Harper's Weekly, a popular 19th century magazine

Calisphere - images related to California history form UC libararies and museums, and cultural instituitons in California

HEARTH (Home Economics Archive: Research Tradition, and History) - books and journals in home economics and related disciplines published between 1850 and 1950

Online Archive of California - descriptions of collections of primary sources from over 150 California institutions

Reader Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) ucsb only - the most popular general interest periodicals of the 20th century

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974 - ucsb only - diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary

 

Librarian

Profile ImageSherri L. Barnes
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Send Email

Subjects:
Feminist Studies, U.S. History, Writing Studies

 

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian!

Chat online with a Librarian

  • Open 24 hours a day,
  • 7 days a week.

Email a Librarian

  • Get help by email within 24 hours.

Research 4 U

  • Sign up for personalized research help.
 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait