Anth 172 (Summer 2009)FEMST 195HA INT 100WS Sociology 185G (Summer 2009) 
Citation Styles 
More Digital Archives 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Feminist Studies  Tags: women feminism gender lgbt social_movements history social_sciences primary sources  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/feministstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Print Encyclopedias

This is a select list.  For other subject encyclopedias, please consult a librarian or check out the Ethnic and Gender Studies Library (2nd floor south) reference area in Davidaon Library.

  • Latinias in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
    Call Number: EGSL Reference E184.S75.L35 2006 V.1-3
  • Black Women in America
    Call Number: EGSL Reference E185.86.B542 2005 V.1-3
  • Girl Culture: An Encyclopedia
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ798.G523 2008 V.1-2
  • The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third Wave Feminism
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1115.W644 2006 V.1-2
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1154.G74 2003 V.1-6
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Culture
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1170.E53 2003 V.1-5
  • Women of Color Organizations and Projects
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1904.W66 2005
  • American Women: Who They Are nd How They Live
    Call Number: HQ1421.A486 2002
  • Fifty Key Concepts in Gender Studies
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1180.P55 2004
  • Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1236.5.U6.E52 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1170.E53 2003
  • American Women: Who They Are and How They Live
    Call Number: HQ1421.A486 2002
 

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian!

Chat online with a Librarian

  • Open 24 hours a day,
  • 7 days a week.

Email a Librarian

  • Get help by email within 24 hours.

Research 4 U

  • Sign up for personalized research help.
 
 

Online Subject Encyclopedias

  • American Women: Who Are They, and How they Live - Forthcoming Online
    Call Number: EGSL HQ1421.A486 2006
    Available in print and online (forthcoming); Provides demographic data showing the size of the female population, its changing age distribution, rising educational attainment, and evolving racial composition. Also includes demographic data on women's health, incomes, living arrangements, spending, and wealth.
  • Encyclopedia of Gender & Society
    Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. Offers a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
  • Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ16.E53 2004
    Available in print and online; addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
  • Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
    An interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project. It brings together upwards of 1,000 scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.
  • Pornography and Sexual Representation
    From obscene lyrics in music to celebrity nudity in advertising, this Web guide explores the vast history of sexual expression in America. Joseph Slade of Ohio University uses pornography to illuminate the considerable social, cultural and legal aspects of privacy and free speech in the United States.
 

Biographical Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

These is a select list. For other sources, consult a librarian or browse the Ethnic and Gender Studies Library (2nd floor south) reference area in Davidson Library.

  • A Biographical Dictionary of Women's Movements and Feminisms in Central, Eastern, and South Eastern Europe: 19th and 20th Centuries
    Call Number: EGSL Ref HQ1590.7.Z75.A336 2006
  • Significant Contemporary American Feminists
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1412.S56 1999
  • Notable American Women in History
    Call Number: EGSL Reference CT3260.A33 1999
  • Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
    Call Number: EGSL Reference HQ1236.R37 2001 V.1-2
  • Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers
    Call Number: EGSL Reference PS153.N5.E49 2007
  • A Biographical dictionary of Women Healers: Midwives, Nurses, & Physicians
    Call Number: EGSL Reference R692.B52 2002
 

Librarian

Profile ImageSherri L. Barnes
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Send Email

Subjects:
Feminist Studies, U.S. History, Writing Studies

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait