Anth 172 (Summer 2009)FEMST 195HA INT 100WS Sociology 185G (Summer 2009) 
Citation Styles 
More Digital Archives 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Feminist Studies  Tags: women feminism gender lgbt social_movements history social_sciences primary sources  

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/feministstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Newspapers

The following newspaper databases are useful for relatively current news and information (interviews, film reviews, obituaries, etc.) from local, regional and national newspapers.  For historical newspapers, consult the "Primary Sources" tab above:

Access World News (Newsbank) - select, local, regional and national newspapers worldwide; dates vary, going back to the 70s

Los Angeles Times  ucsb only - 1985+

New York Timesucsb only - 1999+

Wall Street Journal - ucsb only 1986+

Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 
 

Feminist Studies Specific Databases

Use these databases to find secondary source articles, reviews, and more:

  • GenderWatch (1970s+) UCSB only - small and alternative press literature
  • LGBT Life (1953+) - mostly scholarly, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender

Note the citation/source information (journal title, volume #, issue #, and date) before leaving the database, even if just to go to another window.  The citation is the most important information in the database record and is required to locate the article text, online or in print.

 

Subject Specific Databases that Cover Feminist Studies

These multidisciplinary and subject specific article databases cover women's, feminist, and gender issues:

Alternative Press Index (1991+) ucsb only - leftist and radical perspectives on issues

Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990) ucsb only - old leftists

America: History and Life (1964+) ucsb only - all aspects of U.S. history and culture

Art full Text (1984+) ucsb onlyart history, archaeology, achitecture, graphic design, and more

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) ucsb only back issues of journal articles in art

ATLA (Religion Database) (1946+) ucsb only - religious studies

Communication Abstracts (1977+) ucsb only - communication studies

Eric (1966+) ucsb only - all aspects of education

Historical Abstracts (1967+) ucsb only - world history (except U.S.)

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  ucsb only - broad coverage of international material

International Index to Film Periodicals (1972+) ucsb only - film and media studies

International Index to Music Periodicals (dates vary per title) ucsb only

Left Index (1990+) ucsb only - leftist and radical perspectives on a various of issues

MLA International Bibliography (1881+) ucsb only - language and literature

PsycInfo (1840+) ucsb only - psychology and behavioral sciences

Sociological Abstracts (1963+) ucsb only - sociology

Worldwide Poltiical Sciecne Abstracts (1975+) ucsb only - political sciecne, international

 

Librarian

Profile ImageSherri L. Barnes
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Send Email

Subjects:
Feminist Studies, U.S. History, Writing Studies

 

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian!

Chat online with a Librarian

  • Open 24 hours a day,
  • 7 days a week.

Email a Librarian

  • Get help by email within 24 hours.

Research 4 U

  • Sign up for personalized research help.
 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait