What are Primary Sources?
Primary Sources are original materials that have not been edited, evaluated, or altered by a second party.
Examples include letters, diaries, interviews, speeches, audio and video recordings, statistics, legal or organizational records, and arifacts (including works of art).
Finding Primary Sources at UCSB
- Architecture and Design Collection (University Art Museum)
- Repository of architectural records
- Chicano Visual Arts Digital Image Collection
- Archival images in the California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives (CEMA)
- UCSB Department of Special Collections
Finding Other Primary Sources
- American Memory Project
- Free resource- search/browse the collections from the Library of Congress
- Archives of American Art oral history interviews
- Beazley Archive
- Collection of casts and photographs of Classical Greek and Roman Art from the University of Oxford
- Bücher zur Architektur und Gartenkunst
- Free resource- from the University of Heidelberg
- Over 80 rare books, among them, Palladio, Vitruvius, Vignola, Serlio, Blondel, and Fischer von Erlach-- from the 15th to the 19th century covering architecture and landscape architecture
-
Calisphere
- More than 150,000 items- including photographs, documents from libraries and museums in the UC and other institutions in California
- Chicago Architects Oral History Project
- Free resource from the Art Institute of Chicago Ryerson & Burnham Archives
- Digital Archive of Architecture
- Photographs and illustrations of European and American architecture from Professor Jerry Howe of Boston College
- European Archive
- Digital library of cultural artifacts
- OAIster
- Free resource. Included are archival resources, digitized books and articles, born digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and data sets
- Online Archive of California
- Free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections by more than 150 institutions
- Includes libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California
- Maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses
- Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
- Search the archival, manuscript, and photographic collections
- Provides access to the Smithsonian American Art Museum inventories and pre-1877 art exhibition catalogues index
- Western History Photography Collection
- Contains images and catalog records of Native Americans, pioneers, early railroads, mining, Denver and the surrounding areas
Subject Librarian |
Chizu MoriharaContact Info:
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-2766
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Architecture, Art
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-2766
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Architecture, Art
Subject Librarian |
Susan MoonContact Info:
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-3613
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Art History, Architecture, Media, Book Arts
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-3613
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Art History, Architecture, Media, Book Arts
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait