Need Help?
Ask a Librarian!
-
Open 24 hours a day,
- 7 days a week.
- Get help by email within 24 hours.
- Sign up for personalized research help.
Iconography Resources
- The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceana, and Native North America (Main Reference E98.A7 W49 2000)
- Entries on iconographic subjects and symbols such as animals, deity archetypes, natural phenomena, and patterns
- Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Art Reference N7560.H34 1979b)
- Provides background on subjects and their depictions in Western Art
- Flammarion Iconographic Guides
- Provides brief histories of subjects and their sources
- Descriptive examples of representations in art, often with an illustration
- Gods and Heroes of Classical Antiquity (Art Reference N7760.A34 1996)
- The Bible and the Saints (Art Reference N7825.D8413 1994)
- Buddhism (Art Reference N8193.L68 1995)
- "Guide to Imagery"
- Gods and Heroes in Art (Art Reference N7760.I4713 2003)
- Old Testament Figures in Art (Art Reference N8020.D4 2003)
- Gospel Figures in Art (Art Reference N8030.Z8413 2003)
- Saints in Art (Art Reference ND1430.G5513 2003)
- ICONCLASS: An Iconographic Classification System (Art Reference N7560.W22 1973)
- Devised as a classification system for image collections
- Dutch Prints (Art Reference NE667.I27 1994)
- Early German Prints (Art Reference NE651.L386 1995)
- Early Netherlandish Painting (Art Reference ND635.O44 2002)
- Italian Prints (Art Reference N7560.W22 1973 suppl.)
- Iconographic Index to New Testament Subjects (Art Reference ND1430.R6 1992)
- Iconographic Index to Old Testament Subjects (Art Reference ND1430.R63 1987)
- Extensive list of examples of biblical subjects depicted in paintings
- Primarily Italian and other European objects, without explanation of subject matter or references to locations of reproductions
- Ikonographie der christlichen Kunst (Art Reference N7830.S35)
- Recommended for more advanced, comprehensive research
- Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art (Art Reference N7740.H17 1994)
- Geographic scope includes ancient Egypt and Near East (Mesopotamia), India, and the Far East
- The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s (Art Reference NX650.M9 R45 1993)
- Summary of subjects
- References to classical literary sources
- Chronological examples of the subjects in all the arts
Primary Source Materials for Iconography
- Ovid's Metamorphoses
- Several editions in print (Main Library PA6522.M2)
- Perseus Digital Library
- Internet Classics Archive (MIT)
- English-language version
- Bible
- Several editions in print in Arts and the Main Library
- The Bible in English (990-1970)
- 20 different versions
- King James Version
- Contains Old and New Testament
- Full-text searchability of an edition pubilshed in print (New York: American Bible Society, 1999)
- King James Version and Revised Standard Version
- Side by side comparision of two versions from the University of Virginia
- Legenda Aurea
- Also known as the Golden Legend of Jacobus de Voragine (Main Library BX4654.J3)
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook
- English translation printed by Willaim Caxton in 1483
- Free web resource
- Iconologia
- Cesare Ripa's manual, editions available (Arts N7740.R5)
- Iconologia, or Moral Emblems
- Free web resource, digitized version of English translation
Subject Librarian |
Chizu MoriharaContact Info:
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-2766
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Architecture, Art
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-2766
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Architecture, Art
Subject Librarian |
Susan MoonContact Info:
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-3613
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Art History, Architecture, Media, Book Arts
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-3613
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Art History, Architecture, Media, Book Arts
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait