Need Help?
Ask a Librarian!
-
Open 24 hours a day,
- 7 days a week.
- Get help by email within 24 hours.
- Sign up for personalized research help.
Some Helpful Web Sites
- Desgodets, Antoine. Les edifices antiques de Rome : dessinés et mesurés très exactement (1682)
- Desgodets, Antoine. Les edifices antiques de Rome (1771)
Background Information
- Architecture and Design Collection (University Art Museum)
- Repository of architectural records
- Architectural Index (Art Reference Orange Z5941.A7 1950-Present)
- Architectural Periodicals Index (Art Reference Orange Z5941.A73 1972-1994)
- Print index to architecture articles
- More details about illustration type
- Atkinson Photographic Archive (UC Berkeley)
- Photos of buildings and grounds of UCSB and other UC campuses
- European Architectural History Network (EAHN)
- Supports research and education by providing a public forum about the history of architecture
- Great Buildings
- Entries including architect, location, date building type, construction materials, and style
- The Index to the Architect and Engineer (vol. 1-95 1905-1928)
- Online index helpful for those studying early California architecture
- Index to Italian Architecture (Art Reference NA1111.T4 1992)
- Find interiors, exteriors, plans, elevations, and/or sections in other books
- Structurae
- Free web resource, geared toward structural engineering
- Contains detailed information about (predominately European) buildings and other structures
- World Architecture Index (Art Reference Blue NA202.T4 1991)
Pictorial Architectural Dictionaries
- Architecture and Ornament: An Illustrated Dictionary (Art Reference NA2840.M36 1998)
- Illustrations arranged by building part precede the dictionary
- The Grammar of Architecture (Art Reference NA200.G75 2002)
- Arranged by period, contains glossary
- Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture (Art Reference NA31.B83 2002)
- Entries are arranged alphabetically, with cross-referenced subdivisions
- Materials, Structures, and Standards: All the Details Architects Need to Know but can Never Find (NA2540.M43 2006)
- Included are tables, charts, diagrams, dimensions, standards, codes and general data useful to architects
- Organized in six chapters
- Contains a cross-referenced guide
- The Visual Dictionary of American Domestic Architecture (Art Reference NA7205.C27 1994)
- Strictly visual- no glossary of terms
- Arranged chronologically by style/type
- A Visual Dictionary of Architecture (Art Reference NA31.C44 1995)
- Definitions clustered under thematic entries
- Includes many structural terms
Subject Librarian |
Chizu MoriharaContact Info:
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-2766
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Architecture, Art
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-2766
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Architecture, Art
Subject Librarian |
Susan MoonContact Info:
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-3613
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Art History, Architecture, Media, Book Arts
Arts Library
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805-893-3613
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Art History, Architecture, Media, Book Arts
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait