Finding short stories on the web
You can search Google for your story, but be aware that, as with all free websites, it may be difficult to confirm the accuracy and authenticity of the material.
The following sites contain the full-text versions of selected short stories:
- LION (from UCSB Library's Indexes and Databases
- Early American Fiction (from UCSB Library's Indexes and Databases)
Finding short stories in books and anthologies
Short stories appear in a variety of places such as literary magazines, anthologies, author collections and websites. Locating a short story can be done a number of ways, but a good place to begin is the UCSB catalog, or MELVYL, the catalog of all the University of California's Libraries.
If you know the title of a short story, use a keyword search and enter the title of the story. Add the author's name if you know it or if the title isn't very distinctive:
- Tobermory
- Brokeback Mountain
- Death of the Cool Boyle
You can also use keyword searches to look for anthologies and collections:
- Collections and science fiction
- Humorous stories, English
- Literary collections African Americans
- Short stories and collections
If you know or suspect that a short story is one of many in a book by the author, do an author search in the catalog.
If you know the title of the anthology or collection in which a story appears, do a Title begins with… in the catalog for the name of the anthology:
- McSweeney's Enchanted Chamber
- Lost on Purpose: Women in the City
If you'd like to browse short story anthologies, try using the Advanced Search in the catalog and type "short stories not criticism" as a subject. You can continue to limit this by adding keywords to your search in the next pull down menus
If you cannot find your short story in the library catalog, use one of the indexes below to determine:
- If, when, and where the short story was published
- Whether the UCSB Library owns that source
Finding short stories using indexes
- Short Story Index
Main Ref Z5917.S56 - This is the standard tool for locating short stories. It indexes stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections or periodicals, and can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, author, or story title. Volume 1 Includes stories published before 1949.
- Humanities Index
Main Ref Z1035.H85 - Look under "short stories" for a list of stories published that year. Or, search under Author’s name and look for the [story] next to a citation.
- Index to Best American Short Stories and O. Henry Prize Stories
Main Ref Z1231.F4 W52 1988 - Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Main Ref AI3 .R4 - Readers' Guide is a standard index to popular magazines, many of which contain short stories. Search Readers' Guide by story title, author, or subject. Or, look under “short stories” for a list by title of short stories published that year. The Library has the print volumes from 1900-1995; after 1995, try Expanded Academic Index (see below).
- Short story writers and their work: a guide to the best
Main Ref PN3373 .H6 1992 - Readers’ Guide Retrospective
- Index to popular magazines published in the United States from 1890-1982.
Subject Guide |
Jane FaulknerDavidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email
Subjects:
English, French
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait