Biographical ResourcesDictionaries and EncyclopediasGeneral Criticism
ENGL 10 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

English 

Last update: Nov 10th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles            Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

If you're off campus or using your laptop, first log in to the proxy server and return here.

 

 
 

Find articles

Click the UC e-Links link to find the full text of the article, either online or in print on the library shelves. If the library does not have access to the article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Good places to start:

 


 

Academic Search Complete (1984 - present)
Excellent place to start.  Covers the major literature journals; many citations include full-text access. Some content goes back as far as 1867.

America: History and Life (1964 - present)
Citations to articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) (1920 - present)
Index to books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. ABELL is available through the larger database LION: Literature Online.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
Access to leading scholarly literature in the humanities, sciences, social sciences, and arts.

Historical Abstracts   (1955-present)
Citations to articles in over 40 languages on the history of the world, from1450 to the present. 

International Medieval Bibliography (1967-present)
Index of 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellaneous sources including conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogs.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance   (1843 - present)
Index of scholarly articles, essays, books and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. .

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Alphabetically-arranged entries on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods

JSTOR   (dates vary)
An archive of the full-text content of scholarly journals from early issues to roughly 3-5 years from the present.

LION: Literature Online (dates vary)
A huge literary database that contains the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose written between the 7th century and the present day. Includes criticism, reviews, essays, biographies, plus the full text of over 200 literary journals. From the LION home page, click "Criticism and Reference", then limit your search to "criticism".

Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 130,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. The Advanced page allows you to limit your search to critical essays. An excellence resource for literary biographies.

MLA International Bibliography (1881 - present)
One of the first places to start in a search for literary criticism of all types. The bibliography covers the world's research literature in language, linguistics, literature, and folklore.  Indexes  journal articles, books, book series, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. The scope is so large that you may want to first limit your search by language, format, or year.

Periodicals Index Online (1665-1995)
Millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Useful for articles from the 1800s and early 1900s that are not indexed elsewhere. The scope is international.

Periodicals Archive Online (1665-1995)
An archive of many of the digitized journals indexed in Periodicals Index Online, above.

Project MUSE
Full-text access to hundreds of university press journals. Search by author, year, journal title and keywords from titles, subjects or full-text.

Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
index of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States

Voice of the Shuttle
Considered by many to be the best humanities resource on the Web, maintained by Alan Liu at UCSB and including countless links to literary and general humanities websites. Relevant topics for literary criticism include Literature (in English) and Literary Theory.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJane Faulkner
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2561 B
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
805.893.5380
Send Email

Subjects:
English, French

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait