Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Spanish and Portuguese 

Last update: Jun 22nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/spanport  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Find Articles: Online Indexes & Databses

Online Indexes and Journals
HAPI Hispanic American Periodicals Index  (1970 +) UCSB Only

  • Citations about Central &  South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region & Hispanics in the US indexed from over 400 social science and humanities journals
  • Truncates automatically; do not use *


MLA International Bibliography
(1963 +) UCSB Only

  • Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics & folklore from journals, series, books, collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies, published worldwide in numerous languages
  • When searching for literature of a certain country, use the adjectival form of the country’s name (ie Argentine literature)

    
Clase/Periodica (1975+) UCSB Only

  • Index from Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • Includes articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings and technical reports published in Latin America and the Caribbean with subject indexing in Spanish
  • Materials indexed are in Spanish, Portuguese, English, and French. For best results, search in Spanish or Portuguese


HLAS Handbook of Latin American Studies (1935 +)

  • Includes citations in all areas of Latin American Studies from journals, books and conferences


Redalyc

  • Fulltext access to over 500 peer-reviewed open access journals from Latin America
  • Most articles are in Spanish or Portuguese
  • Search in Spanish or Portuguese


Dialnet 

  • Free database from Spain that indexes journals across the disciplines from Spain and Latin America
  • Contains some fulltext as well. Search in Spanish or Portuguese


Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)
(1990+)

  • Includes the tables of contents only for journals published in Latin America.
  • Search in Spanish or Portuguese, not English

 
Chicano Database
(1967+) UCSB Only

  • Contains references to all sorts of materials about Mexican-Americans from 1967-present; in 1992 other Hispanic-American groups were added to the coverage


Academic Search Complete
(1984 +) UCSB Only

  • Indexes English language journal articles on popular Spanish and Latin American authors and literature
  • Some full text available


Iter: Gateway to the Renaissance UCSB Only

  • Bibliography of records from scholarly journals pertaining to the Middle Ages (400-1500) and the Renaissance (1300-1700)


Periodcials Archive Online UCSB Only (Periodicals Index Online Full Text)

  • Archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences
  • Full-text access

 

 
 

Find Articles: Print Indexes

Print Indexes
Index to Latin American Periodical Literature, 1929-1960; 1961-1965
     (Main Ref  F1401 .C73 and see supplements)

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSalvador Güereña
Contact Info:
California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives office
3rd floor Davidson Library
893-8563
Send Email

Subjects:
Chicana/o, Latina/o, Latin American, Iberian studies

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait