LibGuides: Medicine: Genetics and Medicine

Genetics and Medicine

For a comprehensive list of websites on genetics, see the guide for Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology.

Genes and Disease
Collection of articles that discuss genes and the diseases that they cause; includes a gene map & related links.
Human Genome Project Information Archive 1990–2003
The Human Genome Project (HGP) was an international 13-year effort, 1990 to 2003. Primary goals were to discover the complete set of human genes and make them accessible for further biological study, and determine the complete sequence of DNA bases in the human genome.
Hypermedia Glossary of Genetic Terms
Offers brief definitions for genetic terms; includes basic definitions and a list of related terms with their definitions.
The Mitelman Database of Chromosome Aberrations and Gene Fusions in Cancer
The information in the Mitelman Database of Chromosome Aberrations and Gene Fusions in Cancer relates cytogenetic changes and their genomic consequences, in particular gene fusions, to tumor characteristics, based either on individual cases or associations. All the data have been manually culled from the literature by Felix Mitelman in collaboration with Bertil Johansson and Fredrik Mertens.
MITOMAP
A human mitochondrial genome database; offers information on Mitochondrial DNA Function Locations and Polypeptide Assignments.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Offers free access to many databases and tools in molecular biology including dbGaP (the database of Genotype and Phenotype) which provides data from Genome Wide Association (GWA) studies, helping to elucidate the link between genes and disease.